2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1013 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EM
EDUARDO M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
I love this Car!!!! Hyundai IONIQ
If you are looking for a car to commute and get around the city, this is the car for you, economical and comfortable! Everything about this car is great!

Pros
everything is awesome

Cons
brakes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAVID S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Wonderful automobile!!!
This Ioniq exceeded all of my expectations at an incredible price!!!

Pros
60 miles per gallon, comfortable drivers seat, low road noise, solid build, great sound system, plenty of legroom! It's Wonderful!!!

Cons
Not the best visibility in the rear window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WILLIAM R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
I love the Ioniq
Great hybrid car. I'm spending a fourth of what I used to spend in gas with my previous car. Hyundai has done a great job with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Jacob T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Simply amazing!
I can't say enough good things about this car. Amazing set of features considering the low price. Gas mileage is awesome! and so quiet to drive! It's gorgeous looking too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Rolla L.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Ioniq limited with all opinions
I really like this car with all its safety features and fuel economy.

Pros
Safety features

Cons
Loud tire sounds on some roads at high speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SHIRLEY L.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2017
Ionic
Great little car and great fuel economy!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BILLY C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
A hybrid that is not ugly!
What a change that does not look like or feel like a hybrid!

Pros
A better hybrid design

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
NANCY N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Great performance, style and economy--outclasses Toyota Prius
Owned a Prius for 10 years and really liked it but the Ioniq exceeds on all levels of comfort,styling and performance!. More space, solid and extremely quiet, and has better interior finishing. The 6 clutch transmission is far superior to the Toyota variable transmission. It is a hatchback with more room than Prius but looks more like a sedan.

Pros
Smooth, quiet, economical and comfortable

Cons
Headlamps cast an annoying shadow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
THOMAS G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Better than Prius
Slightly better in major categories, mpg, room,lifetime warranty
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Arthur W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Amazing mileage/great suspension
Could not be happier with the mileage, features, and comfort of the base model

Pros
Great ride .. amazing mileage.. suspension and handling are top notch

Cons
Interior door shape does not allow for comfortable resting of tall drivers left leg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BERYL H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Sel
We are thoroughly enjoying our Ioniq. It is such a joy to drive. It has been trouble free so far and the gas mileage is excellent about 54 most of the time.

Pros
A super car. We love it.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BRADLEY G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2017
A hybrid that's actually fun to drive
It's difficult to describe how well integrated the mechanical and the electronic are integrated in this car. The little things you would never think of in driveability and ease of use have been taken care of and I discover a new little feature every day. The interior leaves a little to be desired, but you'll be so distracted by how much fun the car is to drive and how little gas you're burning that you'll hardly notice.

Pros
Fuel economy
Great acceleration and handling
Well-designed media system

Cons
Somewhat plain interior in base models
Minimal rear seat legroom and headroom

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BARBARA F.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2017
Better Than My Prius!
I never thought I would find another Hybrid vehicle better than my Prius, but I did and it was several thousand dollars cheaper! Ride, styling, and fuel economy all superior to the Prius. Cargo space is larger so the golf clubs and ski gear fit well! Prius owners should definitely take a look at the Ioniq when replacing their hybrid.

Pros
Fuel economy
Styling
Handling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KIMBERLY S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
Love it
Would recommend an IONIC to anyone

Pros
Gas mileage and sleek look

Cons
If you are not tech savvy you need guidance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JOHN T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
Fantastic Car at a great price!
I was looking for a car that would fit my job well. I travel a lot everyday and need something that will help keep costs under control. Right now I am averaging 56 MPG with city/hwy travel at about 70/30. It took some retraining of my driving habits to get to this point but it is amazing to go so far on a tank of gas! If cost had not been a factor I would have gone for the extra tech packages but they were too much.
The only negative features I can see so far are both related to the trunk. First there is a weirdly placed bar that divides the rear window and cuts down visibility. Secondly the trunk is designed in such a way that when it is raining and you need to get into the trunk, water falls into the trunk.

Pros
Quite nearly everything!
MPG
Sound System
Cruise Control (I like the resume feature)
Trunk Space
Comfort

Cons
Bar in the middle of the rear window that cuts visibility.
Water issue when it rains and you open the trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SAMUEL E.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Review
I was surprisingly impressed with the Ioniq. It's fun to drive and get's decent fuel mileage. Looks better than the Prius and other hybrids in it's category. The lifetime battery replacement and the rest of the warranty is what really sold me in getting the Ioniq. Many people I talked to would not get a hybrid because of the battery concerns. When I informed them, their eyes lit up with curiousity. Im hoping no future problems arise and if they do, a replacement vehicle will be provided while it is fixed since I have to work.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RODNEY C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/20/2017
Ioniq false mileage claims
Nice car but when you buy a hybrid (or any new vehicle) you expect to get the published mileage, not 20% LESS. Very disappointed.

Cons
Totally false mileage claims. I don't drive to have fun-stupid question. How can I rate reliability after 3 weeks? Sliders will not allow a 1 rating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RIZALINA K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
Economy at it's best...
This is truly an amazing car at 58-62 mpg. It is very responsive and comfortable to drive.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Very responsive
Fun to drive

Cons
Wheel design is not so appealing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Monika R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2017
was soll das?
Verstehe diese Frage nach der Umfrage nicht!

Pros
Sehr leise beim Fahren

Cons
Mitmenschen hören nicht, wenn der Motor läuft. Das kann gefährlich werden!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
Luella N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/17/2017
An unimpressive start, but hoping it will improve to match its features
Car has nice features (typical of current model cars), and the seats were among the most comfortable of the cars I test drove (beat the socks off the seats in the other brand's hybrid that it closely resembles). I'm not extremely fond of the rear visibility, but am getting used to that. It would be nice to have the blind spot mirror on both sides, not just the driver's side, given the limited visibility through the back and the rather wide structure back there.
The acceleration is very smooth; brakes work well (altho there is a tendency to creep forward after a stop if you don't keep your foot very firmly pushing down -- far more firmly than on my previous car). I can confirm that the estimated mileage is real; I was averaging 57-58 for the first 233 miles.
The shoulder room is good; leg and head room in the back seats would not be good for a tall passenger. Love it that there are multiple ways to charge up a cell phone or other device. More cup holders than any human should need, but at least you won't run out of places to put your coffee and your water. Good integration of the panel on the dash with cell phone. (But warning: the cell phone battery gradually runs down if you pair it; not enough juice through the USB connector.)
I was prepared to give it at least 4 stars until a week ago.
Alas, 233 miles into its life, it left me stranded 50 miles from home in a small town on a Sunday, with 3 systems' warning lights on the dashboard. One, the alternator, meant I would not be wise to try to drive it 50 miles before getting it to a dealer, so I had it towed. Unfortunately, I had an elderly friend and her walker with me; she wasn't going to be hopping into the tow truck to get home. The only car rental location in town wasn't open on Sunday, so I paid $140 to get her home in a taxi. This has taken the bloom off the rose long before the new car smell faded.
The good news is that it only took from Monday morning to Wednesday morning for the shop to find and fix the electrical problem (2 loose wires). I hope that's the end of the electrical problems. I have only had the car back for a week, and I have been out of town on business for most of that time.
The bad news is that Hyundai leaves it up to the dealer whether to provide a loaner while a car is in the shop under America's Best Warranty. The dealer nearest me only provides a negotiated discount rate on a rental car. Before buying the Ioniq, I had considered not having a car, and just using rental cars, taxis, car sharing, etc., to get around. ZipCar says that's more cost-efficient if you drive fewer than 10,000 miles in a year -- which is very much true of me. I opted to buy a car for the convenience of having it right there when I wanted it. I wound up using alternative ways to get around AND looking forward to my first car payment. IMHO, Hyundai would be well advised to subsidize all dealers to provide loaners. You can't drive America's Best Warranty to the doctor's office.
So, now that I have it back from the shop, we'll see how it goes. In a year, if all goes well, some of the ratings related to last weekend's experience could improve. Or not.

Pros
Acceleration, brakes work well.
Excellent mileage.
Has the normal modern car amenities (rear view camera, ability to pair with phone for GPS/calls, etc.)
Has some features standard that you pay extra to get in its primary competitor.

Cons
Whoever assembled it didn't do a great job attaching the wires. Or they shook loose far too easily.
Rear visibility is weird, but no worse than its primary competitor. If Hyundai wanted to improve it a bit, they would put a blind spot mirror in both outside rear view mirrors rather than just on the driver's side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 981 - 1000 of 1013 in total