2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1010 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


GR
Gerardo R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/11/2017
HEAD ACHE
PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR SINCE DAY ONE!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KU
Kimberly U.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/03/2017
ioniq
the car had a major failure in 4 days it's at the dealership where purchased

Pros
looks good

Cons
major failure after 4 days

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

C
C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/04/2017
A wonderful hybrid!
Great car!

Pros
Great car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/25/2017
Lots of problems
I've had nothing but trouble with my Ionic. Three days after buying the check engine light goes on. It seems after 4 trips to the service dept for the same problem, they say it's a computer glitch. Yesterday the entire system shut down. Car completely locked up. Every warning light came on and car completely disabled. Service manager at dealership is unavailable suddenly. Obviously they don't want to deal with it anymore. Don't buy this model.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOELMAR G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/24/2018
Scham
Dghvxdcvhgggfgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Pros
Gfdd

Cons
Hyff

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/24/2018
Disappointed
2018 version came loaded with safety features. The hurry to launch in 2017 penalized early customers bbbhbbbbbbbhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EZ
Edgar Z.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/24/2018
not filling this out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
not filling this out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
not filling this out!

Cons
not filling this out!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RODNEY C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/21/2018
EPA mileage rating is pure fiction.
Hyundai corporate refuses to deal with my complaints. Original test run on mileage was incorrect. That dealer reported 72 MPG. In fact, they reported 72 MPH as MPG and when I returned and showed them the error, they refused to correct the report. Hyundai corporate will not admit that one of their technicians could have possibly made an error despite accurate proof to the contrary.

Pros
Bright blue shows up well in a crowded parking lot.

Cons
EPA estimates are total fiction. Not attainable in the real world.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 06/21/2018
We want to learn more about your experience. Allow us to have a secularist contact you very shortly. Thank you. ^cc

JR
Jessica R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/28/2019
Interior is terrible
Salesman lied (what a surprise) about interior cloth seats. They are poor quality and stain easily. I am embarrassed to even open the door. The finance guy lied about the extended warranty. It doesn’t even cover air filters although he said o wouldn’t have to pay a dime while having it.

Pros
Great gas Milage.

Cons
Disgusting interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
George P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/05/2019
Ionic
Does not meet the criteria promised this is NOT THE CAR THAT I EXPECTED. I think that this is enough for you to make a determination on how I feel about purchasing this vehicle. I think two hundred characters is ridiculous
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HOWARD H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/09/2019
2017 Hyundai Ionic
Best New car I have ever purchased. Most economical car from a fuel consumption standpoint I have ever owned. Comfort level for a smaller vehicle is more than adequate.Rear vision thru back glass is compromised .

Pros
Exceptional Fuel Economy.

Cons
No service manual provided by Dealership General Manager as promised. Left
Rear Door opening mechanism non-functional at delivery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Carrie A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/06/2019
Do Not Buy a Hyundai
Hyundai says making things better for people is what they do best. NOT TRUE. Making things better for their wallets is what they do best.

My 2017 Ionic has had four instances of unintended acceleration. One of them caused a crash.

I took the vehicle to a dealership in its post crash condition. They diagnosed it and said there was nothing wrong. Then, they said they couldn’t diagnose it because the crash caused too much damage. They told me, in writing, I needed to get the car fixed and bring it back for diagnosis.

I had been in contact with a Corporate Customer Service rep and asked if it was okay to get the car repaired? No answer. Yet, the rep sent an adjuster to the body shop to inspect the vehicle. The adjuster knew it was there.

The day the car was repaired I took it back to the dealership for diagnosis. Within a few days I received a letter from the Corporate Customer Service Rep saying they wouldn’t take responsibility for the unintended acceleration because I had the car fixed. What???? I was told by Hyundai to fix the car.

Hyundai is an underhanded company, making shoddy automobiles and even more excuses.

If your car works fine, you probably think Hyundai has your back. But the moment your vehicle suffers from their less than stellar manufacturing process, you will quickly know just how dishonest they are.

When I post this story on Hyundai’s Facebook page, I get a private message asking for my VIN and case numbers. I provide them and am told I’ll get a call from a Customer Service Rep.

The first rep called and made excuses for the original rep’s actions. He said the other rep didn’t know this was a product defect issue. I asked how much clearer could unintended acceleration be? Then he told me I should have told the rep I was scared to drive the car. I told him I made that very clear several times. Especially when I said I know this car is going to kill me. The rep asked if he could call me back and guess what happened? He never called me back.

The second rep called and left a message. I called and left her a message. She called one more time and left a message. I have called twice in two weeks and left messages. Guess what is going to happen? She will not return my call.

Hyundai you need to take care of those who invested in your company by buying your cars and who are getting the shaft by your deceptive business practices.

If one person reads this message and chooses to buy a car from a different manufacturer, congratulations. You just saved yourself a ton of problems.

Hyundai, my 2017 Ioniq is going to kill me.

Pros
Cute car, great gas mileage

Cons
Four cases of unintended acceleration and one crash as a result. Deceptive company. Will not stand behind their work and make every excuse to shirk responsibility. Do not buy a Hyundai or Kia.

Go to the National Traffic Safety Board’s website and check out the major issues have been having. Check out Hyundai’s Facebook page as well. Too many customers with the same customer disservice experiences.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jason M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/21/2019
Junk cars
I have only owned my car for a year and it has been broken and at the dealer way to many times for a new car (dead batteries, recalls, malfunctioning seatbelts, etc.). Never going to buy Hyundai again.

Pros
Great looking car both inside and out

Cons
Always something breaking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
Luella N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/17/2017
An unimpressive start, but hoping it will improve to match its features
Car has nice features (typical of current model cars), and the seats were among the most comfortable of the cars I test drove (beat the socks off the seats in the other brand's hybrid that it closely resembles). I'm not extremely fond of the rear visibility, but am getting used to that. It would be nice to have the blind spot mirror on both sides, not just the driver's side, given the limited visibility through the back and the rather wide structure back there.
The acceleration is very smooth; brakes work well (altho there is a tendency to creep forward after a stop if you don't keep your foot very firmly pushing down -- far more firmly than on my previous car). I can confirm that the estimated mileage is real; I was averaging 57-58 for the first 233 miles.
The shoulder room is good; leg and head room in the back seats would not be good for a tall passenger. Love it that there are multiple ways to charge up a cell phone or other device. More cup holders than any human should need, but at least you won't run out of places to put your coffee and your water. Good integration of the panel on the dash with cell phone. (But warning: the cell phone battery gradually runs down if you pair it; not enough juice through the USB connector.)
I was prepared to give it at least 4 stars until a week ago.
Alas, 233 miles into its life, it left me stranded 50 miles from home in a small town on a Sunday, with 3 systems' warning lights on the dashboard. One, the alternator, meant I would not be wise to try to drive it 50 miles before getting it to a dealer, so I had it towed. Unfortunately, I had an elderly friend and her walker with me; she wasn't going to be hopping into the tow truck to get home. The only car rental location in town wasn't open on Sunday, so I paid $140 to get her home in a taxi. This has taken the bloom off the rose long before the new car smell faded.
The good news is that it only took from Monday morning to Wednesday morning for the shop to find and fix the electrical problem (2 loose wires). I hope that's the end of the electrical problems. I have only had the car back for a week, and I have been out of town on business for most of that time.
The bad news is that Hyundai leaves it up to the dealer whether to provide a loaner while a car is in the shop under America's Best Warranty. The dealer nearest me only provides a negotiated discount rate on a rental car. Before buying the Ioniq, I had considered not having a car, and just using rental cars, taxis, car sharing, etc., to get around. ZipCar says that's more cost-efficient if you drive fewer than 10,000 miles in a year -- which is very much true of me. I opted to buy a car for the convenience of having it right there when I wanted it. I wound up using alternative ways to get around AND looking forward to my first car payment. IMHO, Hyundai would be well advised to subsidize all dealers to provide loaners. You can't drive America's Best Warranty to the doctor's office.
So, now that I have it back from the shop, we'll see how it goes. In a year, if all goes well, some of the ratings related to last weekend's experience could improve. Or not.

Pros
Acceleration, brakes work well.
Excellent mileage.
Has the normal modern car amenities (rear view camera, ability to pair with phone for GPS/calls, etc.)
Has some features standard that you pay extra to get in its primary competitor.

Cons
Whoever assembled it didn't do a great job attaching the wires. Or they shook loose far too easily.
Rear visibility is weird, but no worse than its primary competitor. If Hyundai wanted to improve it a bit, they would put a blind spot mirror in both outside rear view mirrors rather than just on the driver's side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RODNEY C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/20/2017
Ioniq false mileage claims
Nice car but when you buy a hybrid (or any new vehicle) you expect to get the published mileage, not 20% LESS. Very disappointed.

Cons
Totally false mileage claims. I don't drive to have fun-stupid question. How can I rate reliability after 3 weeks? Sliders will not allow a 1 rating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RODNEY C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/31/2017
Nice but overrated
I like everything about the car except the gas mileage falls over 20% short of the advertised MPG. Service people avoid answering why.

Pros
Good looking, great safety features for Interstate driving. (Limited, ultimate pkg)

Cons
Averaging 42-43 mpg, much lower than advertised. Dealer says I do not know how to drive. I guess I need another 51 years of experience.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JAYSON J.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/03/2017
Great mileage, loud as hell.
Great little car that can go forever on a small tank if you drive conservatively. Road noise it's beyond the acceptable level.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
THOMAS S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/27/2017
Ioniq
Disappointed in the milage the bar on the back of the hatch destructs the view

Pros
The body style looks good. The interior was good.

Cons
The gas mileage was my main concern. Not getting the gas mileage that was advertised on the sticker very disappointed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
FRANCIS T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/13/2017
Mome
Nome

Pros
Nome

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
BRIAN K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/29/2017
Disappointing
Decent car, horrible nav/display, below expected fuel economy
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1010 in total