2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(381 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MV
MICHAEL V.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Why I traded my Chevy Silverado for this car
Excellent car, I get excellent gas mileage, and there is a lot of room. I traded a full size crew cab truck for this little guy, and I cant tell the difference in space (at least as the driver/passenger)

Pros
Great Gas Mileage, I get about 58 - 61mpg, on average.

Cons
New car smell not that great (Smells like plastic for the first 2000 miles, then like tacos because that's what I eat in my car lol).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Larry C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
2018 Ioniq Limited
Like everything about my Ioniq except the front cup holders and front door cup holders. They border on useless. Everything else about the car, the truly important parts are outstanding. Mileage is better than expected around town and a little lower than expected on the highway. Most of our highway mileage is somewhat up and down from our Reno elevation of 4500 feet down to 2000 feet and up to a little over 8000 feet so I am happy with the overall 48 mpg when we take a trip. Pickup around town and on the highway is surprisingly good in standard eco mode. I have tried sport mode which does provide a noticeable difference but don’t see a need to use it except in a situation where I would really need to accelerate onto a very busy highway or passing quickly. Eco mode is fine 99+% of the time. My normal around town mileage runs between 56-57 mpg. Love all the extra safety features. It does take a while to tweak them to the way you prefer to have them

Pros
1. Quiet 2. Very economical 3. Trunk/Hatch space is very good 4. Seats are quite comfortable even on long trips (and I am 67)

Cons
Front cup holders are terrible! There was/is room to have done so much better!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Audra A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Ionic Blue
Saved me a bunch on gas. Nice ride. Does great on long trips. Large trunk. Seats can go down in the back for more room. Very happy with my car. I would reccamend to people who are looking for hybrids to consider this vehicle.

Pros
Great gas mileage, nice body type.

Cons
Low to ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Rebeca D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Ioniq is the b st
I’m so glad I purchased the Ioniq from Hyundai!!...the gas savings and the comfort are amazing ..plus so many bells and whistles for such a low price!!...love this vehicle!!!..I will recommend this vehicle to anyone who is a smart car buyer!!!

Pros
Savings on gas and comfort!!

Cons
None!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JEREMY O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Ioniq
Great vehicle for the money and mpg is amazing. I am getting over 600 miles per tank. Bluetooth Apple car play is great. HD radio is fantastic. Car does not look like a typical hybrid and I have had a lot a complements about how it looks.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
William P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2018
2018 IONIC
We were looking for a hybrid, but all other makes were just out of our range so we decided to try the Ionic. We had owned Hyundai previously and never had a complaint. Cars are reliable, look good and best of all, not too expensive. We've had it for 3mos now and taken two (2) road trips with it. It's been wonderful!! Handles great - and the
mileage……I sometimes forget to look at the gas gauge - it takes so long between fill ups. Can't say enough, we are very happy with our purchase!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MATTHEW W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2018
Outstanding vehicle
Great fuel efficiency and styling overall. Back seat is a little tight, but tolerable. Subwoofer is a little weak and connecting phone with USB drains phone battery more than it charges. Safety features are great and tech features are exciting.

Pros
Great fuel mileage, lots of features and safety features, quiet, handles well, looks great.

Cons
Subwoofer is lacking, connecting a phone and using Android Auto drains phone battery more than it charges.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AZ
ALLEN Z.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2018
Hyundai Review
Overall very satisfied so far with this vehicle. I would like to have a better seat height adjustment mechanism, the start/stop button put in a place I can see it, the hatchback door wrap around the back of the car to allow wider loads, a door lock button on the hatchback itself and the seat belt repositioned so it would be easier to access. Would be nice if CD player were an option.

Pros
MPG, MPG MPG! Quietness Price

Cons
Ease of entry/exit.,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PAUL F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
My First Hybrid
This is my first hybrid but my third Hyundai, they just keep getting better. I swapped out a suv that gets 18.5 mpg for 58 mpg. This car is no slouch on space either, there is plenty of room for a big guy like me. I wanted a Limited but settled for a SEL and i'm not disappointed. Definitely miss the blue link it's ok thou there's always next time

Pros
MPG! MPG! MPG! Need a say more? And style it's got style.

Cons
It's a little rough going up the hills but that could be expected, but it didn't kill the MPG!
I can't see anyone having complaints on this one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
Best little car I have every owned
I was a little nervous about buying a Hyundai as my first hybrid car but got over that concern from the get go. I bought the SEL version so there are not many creature comforts that come standard with this model but the features that do come standard are nice. Have yet to open the owners manual as the user interface (UI) is very intuitive.
I am constantly getting anywhere between 48 to 52 MPG. I attribute the MPG range to a steep hill that I have to drive up every other day or so. I have found this car with its 1.6L engine just does NOT like to climb hills, you can watch the instantaneous fuel MPG go down significantly. Might be a little under powered for the weight. Another thing I find, which seems basackwards, is I get better MPG in the city than I do on the highway. I think that maybe due to the charging of the batteries more in city driving than highway driving, thus allowing you to drive more on batteries thus using less gas.
The only negative I have found thus far for this car is it is noisy, and even more so when driving it while the rear seats down. Don't get me wrong its not over bearing just a little more noise than I expected.
All in all, I really like driving it, love the gas mileage I am getting and find it just a little entertaining to see how often I can get the car to run in EV mode.
If you are thinking of buying one I would say go ahead I think you will love it.

Pros
Gas mileage
intuitive UI
Ease to drive

Cons
Noisy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DEMETRIA S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2018
New Car
Great Car! Extremely Reliable for long commutes. Gas Mileage is AMAZING! All of the electronic features are easy to use. BlueLink is a great feature to use. Interior is comfortable and easy to clean. I would buy this car again!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Loren A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2018
Ioniq's are great!
The Ioniq runs great and is eerily quiet!! It handles extremely well, is highly responsive to meeting the needs of the road, especially other, unpredictable drivers that one must be defensive around! There is a lot to learn about all the controls, but it is easy to handle and manage and the mileage is fantastic. What a great way to snub the price-gouging, greedy oil companies and make a positive impact on the environment for all.

Cons
Leg room on the left side of the passenger seating is reduced by the center piece.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
AMI D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2018
Love it!
I wasn't even really looking for a hybrid, but I saw an Ioniq on the road and thought it was really sporty. i was shocked when I realized it was a Hyundai. I went home and did some research. Went in to drive the only one within a 100 mile radius of my home and fell in love with the styling and the value for the price. The sport mode is very important to me as I need some get up and go to get out of my community in the mornings. Having the option to put it into Sport and use the paddle shifters wears a bit on the gas mileage, but makes it much more fun to drive. For the first month, I've averaged 51 mpg with almost all of that being city driving.

Cons
No memory seat setting in the Select

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BO
Brad O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/17/2018
Ionic
We absolutely loved the vehicle but we do find that it has difficulties going uphill there is a struggle it seems gas mileage is absolutely fantastic 55 to 57 miles a gallon. In the beginning we had planned on buying a equinox and changed her mind

Pros
Kind of reminds me of driving a go-kart it's a lot of fun

Cons
The pickup is not good on hills

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DANIEL G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/17/2018
technological progress
I own an 11 year old Prius in addition to an Ionic plug in. The improvements are really impressive. DSG transmission is usually only found on high performance cars. I like the ability to plug and and got >1000 miles on my first tank! But going 29 miles isn't very far- most people will want to plug in at home. The seats are ride are fairly firm- a positive as far as I'm concerned. Visibility is generally very good. i find the road noise less than the 11 year old Lexus I traded in.

Pros
braking very good for a hybrid, love being able to drive locally 100% on electricity, seats nice and firm with good bolstering. ride is firm but compliant DSG (tranny) with paddle shifters a nice touch. LED lights and DRLs are nice. spacious for a small car

Cons
no spare tire. Stereo works well but speakers not great. Power is of course not great. Hyundai should follow Toyota and make advanced safety features standard, not part of a $3K package.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CAMERON F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2018
Great car
This is a great car. Good mpg. Good amount of features. I do not regret in any way getting this car. Great value, especially considering mpg value. Better than a Prius for sure. Comfortable to drive and sit in.

Pros
Mpg
Style
Comfort

Cons
Bar over the back window. Not a deal breaker, but annoying

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BRANDON R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2018
Great car for the price
This is a perfect starter hybrid. I was looking for something eco friendly and a hybrid, but just couldn't afford the prices. I found the Ioniq and researched it and Hyundai had the best deal for the money. Amazing warranty, great stylish car and even better starting price.

Pros
Price, nice exterior and interior design, great mpg.

Cons
There are major delays in acceleration from complete stops and from coming over a hill. The sound system is pretty bad. No sun visor extension. Use of cow skin in some models. It's 2018, why are we still killing someone and using their skin to put in our cars?? There's plenty of alternative options that are just as good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DENNIS A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2018
Good Car
Good car and I do not know if I will get the value for money as I keep my cars over a long time. I have a Prius and Insight and they are great cars, hope Hyundai will match their quality. Please make your music and navigation systems better.

Pros
Good car my first Hyundai

Cons
Music and navigation suck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANDREW F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Ioniq Blue
This is my first Hyundai and first Hybrid vehicle. I'd like to say that my favorite aspect of this car is the in-city fuel economy! I went about 550 miles before having to fill the tank and even then I could have gone another 80 miles. I am also satisfied with the quality and amount of options of the base model (Blue) because I felt like it has everything I need for light driving (i.e. power windows, A/C, Bluetooth, Sirius XM option, the controls on the steering wheel, backup camera, and infotainment center controls). The driveabliity is also great for a base model, it drives smooth has pretty good visibility. The styling of the Ioniq Blue is a little more refined over other popular hybrids on the road in my opinion. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase/ lease of the Ioniq Blue and love the gas mileage!

Pros
Great gas mileage.
Great interior design and features.

Cons
Lack of fast acceleration.
Visibility out of the back window isn't ideal with the center bar running through it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WOLFGANG R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
What gas?
I bought this car mainly for its fuel efficiency but have now found out it is a gem in many other ways. I can't think of a single thing I'd like to improve except to raise the car about a foot so I can in and out easier. If there had been an SUV version I would have bought that.

Pros
the mileage is phenominal

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 241 - 260 of 381 in total