2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(381 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RB
ROGER B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Excellent car
Great car for budget and mileage.
The looks, performance and drivability are excellent. It's comfortable, tight getting in and out of car. This is a small car, but engineered very well. It's light weight and ergonomics are superior.

Pros
all good

Cons
Navigation unavailable for this model. driver must use cell phone interface for navigation. How can one use navigation this way and use the phne for a call?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
ERIN M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/28/2019
Fuel efficient, Sporty Mom Mobile!
The gas mileage is what sold me on this car and it has kept its promise! Love the Hyundai warranty and free oil changes!! As far as mom needs, It fits my two car seats and huge BOB stroller with room for groceries! Just wish I would bought the electric!

Pros
Gas mileage!! I feel better about reducing my carbon footprint while driving this hybrid! I have a 30 mile commute round trip to work and only fill up 2x a month! Plus, it’s fun, sporty and zippy! I’m impressed with cargo space in back for the size of car! It fits my BOB Stroller and all the other necessities! Very practical! Great warranty!

Cons
Back seat is very small and noise on highway is quite loud!! Not made for tall or people!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jeff R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
Great car fantastic milage
This vehicle has a very comfortable ride. The mileage is between 55 and 60 miles per gallon depending on the driving conditions. It is my wife's primary vehicle and she prefers it over her previous hybrid from another manufacturer that had a very stiff and bumpy ride. Plenty of room on interior for 4 people, could fit 5 if the three in the back are friendly. Good cargo space, and very mechanically sound. Love this car.

Pros
gas milage, comfort, ride, quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KIMBERLY D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
Hyundai Ioniq
I love my Hyundai Ioniq. I compared several other hybrid vehicles and in every case, the Ioniq handled better, had better pick up, and had a great look just like a regular sedan. I am truly impressed with the gas mileage which on average is higher than the posted MPR.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Clare B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/26/2019
Ioniq L
Quiet and easy to manover. Doesn't get the promised mileage. The battery died 3 times in the first 4 months. I was told to take the car on the road to rev up the engine and charge it for a few minutes when I got home. If the battery dies again, I'll ask for a new car under the Lemon Law.

Pros
Quiet

Cons
Battery died 3 times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSIAH G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Love this vehicle
The price is great, the gas mileage even better! We have no complaints. This is definitely our forever car. I can’t say enough about the amazing customer service we have received from the dealership since day one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
ERIC D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Hyundai Ioniq 2018
I simply love this car. It appealed to me the instant I test drove it. Love all the features it has and the fact that I have the plug-in option that just saves on gas more than I imagined I would. I highly recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KEVIN W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Really love this little car
This is a small, light car, which some would consider a downside. But it handles well and, in the Sport mode, can accelerate quite promptly and effectively. Mileage is awesome! Storage space amazingly good

Pros
Gas mileage is the obvious one - consistently in the mid to high sixties. Has been very reliable; no mechanical issues whatsoever.

Cons
I bought the base model, so it's fairly basic but still has Bluetooth, and navigation is readily available through iPhone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Charles D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
Mostly GREAT
alert buyers that mileage goes down in cold weather, paint scratches too easily even with soft cloth, seats are too low, CD player needs to be added, more cup holders needed, add beeps or alerts for safety

Pros
great mpg in warm weather, acceptable comfort and performance

Cons
seating too low in the car, ...more safety features would be nice. like warning beeps, etc ...paint finish is too easily scratched by even soft objects

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
TIMOTHY K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
Over 60 MPG!!!
I've had my Ioniq for over 3 months now. The worst mpg I've gotten for a tank of gas is 62! The best is 67.5 mpg!!! I live in a rural area, so I feel that helps me get mpg above what Hyundai has the car rated at. Also, I think you need to 'learn' how to drive a hybrid. I love how the car will go into EV mode when going downhill and even sometimes on level ground depending on you speed. I live on an area called Sand Mountain and I drive into Chattanooga, TN a couple of times a week. There is an 880 foot elevation change between home and Chattanooga. The car picks up more mpg's going into Chattanooga than it loses coming home.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
FRANCIS B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
I love my car
I enjoy driving my car. The drive is smooth and quiet. It's amazing to me that it can know when to be electric or gas. You can't feel it switch between them. I don't visit the gas station much anymore.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Douglas P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
good commuter
Good Commuter car averaging 59 mpg on mostly highway driving. Nice car and would recommend to anybody who drives like I do, 150 miles RT daily.
Not fast and tranny is a bit sluggish but i did not buy it for racing.

Pros
GREAT MPG, easy to drive, nice features

Cons
sluggish shifting in transmission.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
ELIZABETH W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/14/2019
Love it!
I love my ionic! I commute 80 miles a day and the amount of money I saved on gas is amazing! The car is comfortable and reliable! It is always scary when buying a new car, but this one has exceeded all expectations. Good job Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DOUGLAS M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Great mileage
No problems and better than advertised mileage. All the safety features work great, unlike my Honda CRV!! Has enough power and acceleration is adequate. The hatchback adds a lot of usable space, too. Very good price, but I had a bad experience at the purchasing dealer, however had better luck when I went to a different dealer.

Pros
Fuel efficiency,

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jay S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Excellant Value
I specifically chose the Limited Ultimate Trim model. Glad I did, last winter the heated leather seats kept me warm and currently I am enjoying the sunroof. I also enjoy the Infinity audio system and Android Auto every day. Currently I averaging 57/58 mpg; better than the rated mpg. When it gets cold again, it will drop (common for all hybrids). Not enough space to store items in the front. The trunk is very spacious, even with the seats up. The safety suite is top notch (Tech Package for the '18 model year). Overall, a good value. It took me a few weeks to get used to driving this hybrid (my first one). Learning to keep in electric mode as much as possible took some practice.

Pros
Better MPG than rating in the warmer months
Infinity sound system
Sunroof and heated seats
Safety Suite
Android Auto
Effortless electric power steering
Braking is smooth

Cons
Not enough room to store items as compared to my old car (an Accord)
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KONRAD B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Excellent fuel mileage, excellent car
Better in almost every respect (gas mileage, comfort, ride, noise) than the two successive Prius I had before. The ioniq feels more like an Audi than a Prius. Smooth automatic transmission much nicer than Prius CVT. Engine on/off unnoticeable. Can run on battery even at 80 mph. Sole minus: high trunk liftover.

Pros
Superior gas mileage, quiet, great transmission, unnoticeable engine start/stop, comfortable, great value, roomy

Cons
High trunk liftover

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LISA R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Love my Ioniq
I purchased my Ionic last summer and have been very impressed with it. It is great for driving to and from work as well as on the highway. I have averaged close to 60 mpg without driving any different than I did in my Sonata that I traded in. It has many safety features that I love including the rearview warning if there is something behind me and the warning system if something is in the lane I intend to change into. I love the front seat warmer and option to have the temperature in the front set individual or sync.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Ioniq Hybrid
Love my new Ioniq. The styling is so contemporary for a hybrid. My friends are dazzled by the diamond lights in the front! And they tell me they find the back seat quite comfortable. At first the ride was bumpier than my prior vehicle, but I've gotten used to the suspension now, and LOVE that I'm getting 50+mpg!!!! It's very quiet and easy to drive. There's plenty of oomph if I need it for accelerating on freeway ramps. The Hyundai warranty is a clear advantage over the competition. I test drove a lot of new compact hybrids before deciding on the Ioniq and I'm so glad I chose it!

Pros
Easy and fun to drive
Contemporary styling compared to other compact hybrids
50+ MPG!
Good power when needed
Apple CarPlay

Cons
Wish the interior had a locking compartment for when I want to leave phone or cash inside the vehicle.
Would have preferred a lighter interior color than black / dark grey -- too hot in the summer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ARON C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
Great gas milage, no serious issues.
Getting 70+mpg in real world driving. Nothing terribly exciting, honestly... but no complaints either. Great as a daily driver vehicle. Only 2 cup-holders would be my only real complaint. Already sold 2 other folks on this car.

Pros
Amazing gas milage
Great value

Cons
Only two cupholders
Nothing specifically exciting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CYDNEY B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
Great car.
I love this car. I bought it because of the mileage. I get between 55-60 miles per gallon . But I love it for other reasons as well! It is nice looking and fun to drive. It is reasonably priced and for the size it has good "trunk" capacity.

Pros
Pretty much everything. Especially the mileage.

Cons
I live in Minnesota and it is not as good as a 4 wheel drive in the snow. But I think it is as good as any other standard front wheel drive. So I know that this really is not a con but I don't have any other cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 381 in total