2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(372 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KB
KATHLEEN B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/31/2019
Great Mileage and Value
I am getting about 56 mpg in the warm months and about 47 in the cold months (I live in CT). Both numbers are higher than the average I received in my 2010 Toyota Prius (42-45). Although the mpg is high, the vehicle still has sufficient power and I never feel that it is too slow.

One thing that was missing that I never thought to investigate is that it does not have a rear windshield wiper - it should.

Also, it can be tricky to get in and out of, we frequently hit our heads.

I think this is an excellent choice for a fuel efficient vehicle and it is priced well below the Toyota Prius with much better gas mileage.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
No rear windshield wiper

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RICHARD G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2019
2018 Ioniq PHEV
I purchased my Ioniq out of necessity, I commute 150 miles each day in southern California traffic. With California's high cost of gas and bad traffic I was able to reduce my monthly gas bull by over $400, and am able to drive for free in the HOV lane saving me toll money. The folding rear seats and hatch back make it's cargo holding capability great and I was able to carry half of a 12 foot Christmas tree and other large boxes with no problem. The only drawback I have with the vehicle is it takes getting used to the limited rear viewing through the small rear window, the driver seat can get uncomfortable after long drives and it does have limited acceleration which is understandable and I value gas mileage over going fast. Overall coming from having an F-150 to this you can't compare, but the savings make up all the difference. I actually really like this car and am not embarrassed to say it is mine.

Pros
Great gas mileage, With short trips and charging daily I have gone over 1200 miles on 1 tank of gas. With Solar and a 220V charging station at my home it is the best of the best for short trips and reduced my Commute costs from $600 a month to less than $120

Cons
The driver seat can get uncomfortable over long trips and I find my legs go numb and my low back starts to hurt for prolonged periods of time even after dismounting the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOHN H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2019
Great car
Have been extremely pleased with the overall performance of this car. It is roomy; has plenty of cargo space; is comfortable; gets great mileage; is quiet; handles nicely; and accelerates well when needed. Would recommend to anyone looking for a family sedan.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEAN S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/27/2019
Great fuel economy, mediocre comfort
This is great on fuel economy but not a comfortable car for any type of road trip other than driving around town. Just came back from an 8 hour road trip and it was miserable. Standard features are okay. This car is very low to the ground. I've had it 12 months and I'm thinking about getting into something different.

Pros
Fuel economy

Cons
The car is too low to the ground, uncomfortable seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
2018 Hyundai Ioniq review
The car has surpassed my expectations of its gas mileage and the room inside the vehicle. It is everything I was looking for in a hybrid and it is so much bigger than the Civic I had before. The thing that I like is the lifetime warranty on the battery, which I didn't have in my Honda.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
RICHARD H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2019
Great Buying Experience and First Two Years
We purchased the Ioniq primarily for the gas mileage and price. We are totally satisfied in every way. Ride, acceleration, comfort are all excellent. We have owned the car for just over two years and have averaged just under 60 mpg! We are getting ready for our first long road trip and look forward to paying half of what we would have for gas with our previous car.

Pros
Gas mileage, handling, comfort.

Cons
Only negative so far is text messaging with Android Auto.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CHARLOTTE N.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Hyundai Ionic 2018
I wanted good gas mileage and I got that. I wanted dependability and I got that. I wanted comfort in the rear as well as the front and I got that.A place for attaching a small trash container would be nice.

Pros
Nice drive. Great gas mileage Handles well

Cons
Placement of seat warming buttons. No place to attach a waste container. some road noise. Difficult to find an attachment for mounting phone-- I finally found two- I prefer the movable double ring that attaches to the air vent slats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
PEGGY W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Great fuel efficiency and fun to drive
I love that this car gets around 56-57 miles per gallon in city driving and that it is a pleasure to drive. I feel that it is one of the most green cars available today due to the mpg plus using as many recycled materials as possible in its construction. The sound system is very good for a factory sound system. The media center is easy to use. The car handles well. It is a pleasure to drive and own.

Pros
gas mileage
styling
fun to drive

Cons
Rear window visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BRITTANY P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Better than Prius
Better bang for your buck than a Prius. Slightly better gas milage, better warranties and looks very similar to the Prius. It's feels different driving a hybrid vs a regular car especially when you accelerate, but you get used to it.

Pros
Love pretty much everything

Cons
I'm not sure if I'm a fan of android auto. It's great when you're navigating in the city but GPS on my phone doesn't work as well in the country. Might be better if the car had its own stronger GPS for navigation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Steven D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
The best vehicle decision I could have made
I had to replace a 2007 ford focus. I narrowed the choices down to 2 hybrids and 2 regular engines. I chose the 2018 Hyundai Ioniq gas/electric hybrid! I have not regretted this choice one minute since purchase in July of 2018. It rides great, several 1,000 mile round trips and no problems. The mileage is as promised. I live in Atlanta -- and have a mix of city streets and xpressway -- and can get close to the 58 mpg always. The car is quiet interior, very quick acceleration, and all of the safety features are excellent. I love that the vehicle warns me if I am too close, and warns me if I have a vehicle beside me in the blind spot, if I have put my directional signal on. . I never could back up well -- but with the screen, easy and perfect backing up every time! I love all of the IT and computer features. sensible and well laid out. I have the Sirius FM subscription -- didn't think I would use; but listen all the time. The rear seat is roomy and comfortable. The trunk is very roomy -- as compared to other hybrids where they have designed the battery for the hybrid to take up trunk space. I do use the cargo net in the trunk to hold my car cleaning supplies. Yes, it cost a few more dollars, but every dollar is worth it. I have had a need to use Hyundai Roadside Assistance twice, and excellent. covered under my 100,000 mile warranty. -- Highly Recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steven K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2019
Its a decent car
Looks, rides and usually performs well. Plenty of modern electronics and safety features. The back seat is tight. Rear roof line is very low. I am experiencing rough 3-2 and 2-1 downshifts when the trans is cold. I was routinely getting 55 mpg over the past year but after a factory battery management system software update the mileage immediately dropped to barely 50 mpg. I'm not happy.
Hyundai factory: are you listening??

Pros
Looks good. Good ride for a small car. I like the hybrid technology.

Cons
Very tight back seat and legroom. Roof line is very low. No rear wiper. Fuel economy has dropped significantly after a battery management system update.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARVIN W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Excellent Vehicle
Car has exceeded my expectations. Getting 62 mpg. Carplay system works well with phone. No problems with vehicle after a year of ownwership. Deaker service has been excellent-in and out in a timely manner

Pros
great gas mileage
Large media screen
rear sensors

Cons
transition from electric to gas is shaky at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
A best in class mileage machine
Very thoughtfully designed vehicle that delivers everything that is advertised and more. A tank fill up provides 650 miles between the next gas station stop. What's not to like! Great options including Apple Car - great truck capacity too.

Pros
Mileage and purchase price plus low maintenance involved

Cons
Really nothing to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AZ
Alyssa Z.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/17/2019
Love this car!
After test driving and researching for months we settled on the Ioniq limited. Couldn’t be happier. Fuel mileage is consistently in the 50s, it’s comfortable with great features, and when you kick it in to sport mode it feels like a sports car! Very happy I chose this vehicle after all my research!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stella S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/17/2019
Terrific vehicle
I have driven a Hyundai Santa Fe since 2009, and am sold on the brand. We wanted a newer model, but we didn't really want to spend that much money, so we were looking at the Kona & Tucson. I studied the specs, and found the Ioniq sat a whole one inch lower than the Kona & Tucson, and nearly the same cargo room. Being able to have full access to the back was very important, so the hatchback and folding rear seats was a terrific bonus. Then, there was the gas mileage. Holy!! I really wanted an SUV, but for the money, the Ioniq had too many bonuses to ignore. I took a trip three weeks after purchase. Much of the time, there were two people, luggage, and pottery, and for several hundred miles, a good head-wind. During this trip, I put over 3,000 miles on it (ugh), but spent less than $150.00, with gas prices hovering around $2.50/gal!!! I was totally impressed. A little more road noise than I'd prefer, but it's tolerable. Wintertime is a little different - I started my car to let it warm due to severely cold temperatures, and if you run the car without driving it, the mileage drops. Mine dropped to around 30 mpg. Even driving it didn't help too much because I ran the heater and heated seats (one of God's greatest inventions ;). This drop in mileage is the ONLY reason I give this car four stars instead of five. Most times in the summer, I averaged 67 mpg, even running the A/C. The safety features are terrific, and I feel safe, which is super important to me, as I've been in a couple serious car accidents (not my fault). I'll be excited to see the Kona go hybrid, instead of electric only. I would definitely buy another Ioniq, tho. I've taken two long trips in this car and have close to 18,000 miles, and I've owned this car for just over a year. Still think we made the right choice.

Pros
Great gas mileage, folding rear seats and fully accessible back, safety features.

Cons
Gas mileage isn't as good in the winter. Not easy to enter and exit for tall people - a friend who's over 6' tall has trouble getting in and out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SUZANNE K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Chevy, Ioniq
One of the best cars I've ever driven! I'm getting incredibly good gas mileage and this car has a lot of get up and go! Very comfortable seating and lots of leg and head room. Handles well in inclement weather.

Pros
Roomy, comfortable, gas mileage is great, sporty looking

Cons
Headlights too dim, bad blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JAMIE T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Great Car
I love my Ioniq. It has great gas mileage, and rides very smoothly. Also, very stylish. I also love the warranty, with the battery replacement for life as long as you own the vehicle. That's one thing I always hear about a hybrid is concerns with the battery, but now it's something I'll never have to worry about.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WOLFGANG R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
Economy
I love the fact that I almost don't need gas. I had an all electric Nissan LEAF and the constant worry about running out of power drove me up a wall. I can now drive as if I had an electric car but every once in a while I get some gas to help it along. The hybrid feature is the best.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Seth P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
Great car!
I love my Prius Killer. She's extremely efficient and peppy. Held up in the snow with little problems. I am however disappointed with Hyundai's PR conduct regarding the portrayal of males in their commercials. I certainly won't buy my next vehicle from Hyundai.

Pros
All around excellent car well built with stylish, comfortable, and quality refinements. Fun to drive and seamless transition between motors. I call it my "sleeper" hybrid.

Cons
I wouldn't go so far to say these quirks are "Cons". The seatbelt buckle on the right hand rear seat is positioned awkwardly behind the middle belt. About 80% of my passengers have issues buckling up. The speedometer display can be hard to see at times when the sun hits it at a certain angle. Another issue I have is the way males are portrayed in some your commercials. My opinion on Hyundai has been affected significantly. Portraying men as being helpless and stupid without women is abhorrent. I'm a man, why would I decide to reccomend this car to anyone when the company who relies on my money to survive makes the awful PR decision to take a crap on a gender because they can't find a creative way to sell cars? Using the Homer Simpson trope, real original. Well guess what, I'm not a "Homer Simpson". I demand a public apology for portraying men as stupid and a rewrite of those commercials.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
I LOVE my Ioniq!
This car is such fun to drive! My mileage is usually about 53 MPG. I live in the W PA mountains. It did fine in snow this winter. I love the safety features, however it's often beeping at me. :) We have an Ioniq Owners Facebook page where there are a lot of questions and hints shared. The general feeling there is that folks are very satisfied with their vehicles. I cannot understand WHY Hyundai is no advertising this vehicle!

Pros
Mileage. Safety features.

Cons
A little more leg room in back would be nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 372 in total