2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(372 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JS
Jay S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
I am enjoying my first hybrid
I specifically chose the Ioniq Hybrid for its gas mileage (now that the weather is getting warmer, I have achieved my first tank of 55.1 mpg), looks (it does NOT look like a Prius) and warranty (lifetime warranty on the hybrid battery was a major concern). It does take some time to get used to driving a Hybrid and learning how to maximize your fuel economy. In hindsight, I may have chosen the Sonata Hybrid as it is a larger vehicle. The Ioniq is much smaller than my old Accord so that also took some time to get used to. I do like all the safety and convenience features (my Accord was over 10 years old so all the safety features I really appreciate). I am also enjoying Android Auto and the Infinity sound system. I have noticed Android Auto does seem to 'act up' from time to time but I just read that Google will be releasing a major redesign of it this summer (Summer '18) so I hope that helps.

Overall, I am not disappointed with my purchase.

Pros
Gas Mileage
Safety and Technology packages
Heated Leather Seats
Large Storage caoacity

Cons
The Cheap plastics on the interior
I have experienced comfort issues with the drivers seat
lack of usable storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Wayne D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2019
We are really happy with ours - it met our needs exactly.
Better MPG than competitors. FAR better performance than competitors (due to the traditional transmission). Better looks than the competitors. We bought the Ioniq because my wife's commute was getting ridiculous (close to 1000 miles per week). After the first year we put 42,000 miles on the car. It still runs and looks great. We are solidly getting 52-52 MPG (slightly less than advertised) - but expected with the speeds and hills we drive it at. We saved 1,016 gallons of gas in the first year over her previous crossover - which offset almost half of the car payment. If you want a hybrid for the economic reasons but still want one that looks good and performs well, you really should try the Ioniq - we are thrilled with our purchase.

Pros
MPG
Doesn't perform like a hybrid
Doesn't look like a hybrd

Cons
Road noise.
Lack of spare time (includes pump and sealant).
Handling in wet conditions needs improvement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

S
S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2019
IONIQ
BEFORE I GOT MY HYUNDAI IONIQ, I HAD PREVIOUSLY LEASED THREE TOYOTA PRIUS'S THEY WERE VERY GOOD.
THE IONIQ IS MUCH BETTER. IN BOTH RIDE AND ECONOMY. i have loaned my car to some friends and they were
really impressed by the ride and handling.

Pros
VERY COMFORTABLE RIDE AND ROOM FOR 4 OR 5 PEOPLE.

Cons
HAVEN'T FOUND ANY YET.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
William M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/04/2019
2018 Ioniq
As a first time Hyundai buyer I was a bit hesitant. I am pleasantly happy with my purchase. The car is as advertised. Comparing it with my other car, another brand of hybrid, It is larger and gets better gas mileage.It has better pick up speed and keeps up with highway traffic easier.It could be quieter. Road noise is sometimes annoying.The tires could be the problem. I will try to buy a quieter tire when needed.

Pros
Gas mileage is very good.

Cons
I would like to have folding side mirrors when I park. I would like a permanent storage place for my rear storage retractable curtain like my other car. I cannot adjust the rear view mirror for a complete view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steven K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/03/2019
Ioniq one year review
After one year and 7500 miles my Ioniq hybrid has been trouble free. Extremely excellent fuel economy (usually around 55 mpg). I love the optional technology package. Seamless transition from electric to hybrid. Unfortunately the rear seat is snug, very little leg room, and the roof is very low. I have a child seat in the rear and it's tough to get my 4 year old grandson into the seat. The passenger seat has to be rolled all the way forward or else he kicks the heck out of it. Overall, it is very economical but in a sense it's really only a two person car due to the poor rear seating.

Pros
Outstanding fuel economy and it looks good. Lots of safety technology.

Cons
Poor rear seating: narrow seat cushion, poor leg room, very low roof.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Eugene F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2019
Ioniq
Better than previous Priuses. Rear seating not very good for long trips! Safety features are excellent, but rear visibility could be better. Also could use a rear window wiper, we live in the desert(very dusty).
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Douglas B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2019
Hyundai Ionic Hybrid
I love the car. I look forward to driving it. It is a small Hybrid and it saved my life when I hit a thirty year old Lincoln Continental. My car was totaled, I was completely safe.The detail is absolutely perfect. It is quick and it is quiet. and costs very little to operate it. I will own it ten years, or trade it in when Hyundai has a more interesting model. I never worry about its safety and it is easy to maneuver in thick traffic. and it does get approximately 56-58 mpg.

Pros
Economy, style, MPG, safety and performance.

Cons
None. It is built to a price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
Pleased with the car
Great car. It performs well and has nicely designed features.

Happy with the car, but if the company and dealership wants to be perceived as a higher quality company, they need to invest in their dealerships, more specifically, cater to the customers experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Daniel K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/17/2019
Love the 50+ mpg
I love how that my Ioniq is so smooth and quiet. And I really love how far I can go on a tank of gas. I'm not thrilled with how it brakes though. And the seats could be softer. Visibility is fair thanks to the bar in the middle of the rear window. Because of the rear window design, there is no rest wiper, which makes it difficult in bad weather. But the other features, such as acceleration in a hybrid, gas mileage, heated seats, sun roof, spacious interior, and at a modest price all make up for the few things I dislike. I'd give it an 8 out of 10.

Pros
Gas mileage! Quiet. Warranty. Looks sharp. Roomy.

Cons
Doesn't brake as well as I'd like. Seats are too firm. Rear window design looks sharp, but not practical.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Gary M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2019
Hyundai IONIQ Hybrid
So far I can not complain. Like the gas mileage and still seems like a good vehicle.
Few options will receive a 10.
For some darn reason, this Review Summary REQUIRES ME to type AT LEAST 200 Characters OR IT WILL NOT ACCEPT...
AGAIN HYUNDAI and dealer are failing in the communication area.

Pros
Seems very good in most areas - back window lower pane is a pain.

Cons
Dash services show too much I would never use. Would be better is it stayed off with just date & time displayed as a DEFAULT.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jonathan D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2019
Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid SEL
The Hyundai has many features that make it safe and easy to drive. Stop lights are not as annoying when you have regenerative braking. The silence of the drive train when in EV mode is remarkable. When the temperature is above 60 degrees Fahrenheit, it routinely achieves over 60 MPG.

Pros
Fuel efficiency, blind spot monitoring, cross traffic monitoring, back up camera, Carplay, comfortable seats, good visibility, quiet ride, low road noise, handling, braking, heated seats, exhaust heat recovery system for winter heating, idle mode, hybrid screen monitoring, high quality construction with high end materials, best warranty in the business, easy to park and easy to get into my garage.

Cons
Hatch does not open when you push the hatch release button. It only unlocks the hatch door. It would be nice if it would open with the push of the key.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IE
Ilona E.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2019
Best car ever
Best gas mileage. Comfortable. Safe. More than enough technology. We had a terrible time buying this car. We had to work at getting a resolution for months. We would not recommend the dealer. But we would recommend the car and would buy another one from another dealer.

Pros
Great price for a quality car.

Cons
Not quiet enough on highway. Rear window distracting design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
Page F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Ioniq
I have had my hyundai Ioniq for 9 months now. I'm very pleased with the car. It is easy to operate, I get better gas milage than it is rated for. I enjoy being able to listen to Sirius XM or connect my phone to hear Pandora or Spotify. Connecting to Maps from my phone has reduced the stress of going into areas that I'm unfamiliar with. The seats are very comfortable for me. My husband is comfortable also even though he is 6'2". I like the energy saving features like the air system that you can adjust for just a driver and turn off the passenger. I am happy to have made the choice of an Ioniq.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Easy handling. Over all good design.

Cons
Can't fit all our camping gear in it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lam L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/01/2019
Questioning our choice
After our initial several months of bliss with our Ioniq, we are not so happy. The gas mileage goes down in Winter because of the Winter blend of fuel, and we have had several issues. We drive on a gravel road and the tires have had more flats than any other car ever. The back up camera went out and the defrost lines on the back window went out. On the plus side, the warranty is fabulous and covers everything but the tires. The dealership had to order parts every time. We have not even had the car one year and have 24,000 miles so far. Still drives great and is zippy when it is needed.

Pros
Zippy, great warranty

Cons
already had some issues that would be expensive if not covered by the warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
IONIC HYBRID
I enjoy my 2018 IONIC, I bought it in November 2018 and have not had any issues with the car yet. The miles per gallon is great I average 54-60 miles to the gallon. I bought the because I travel at least 100 miles per day to work not counting multiple long distance trips around the state. The car is very comfortable to drive.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
none at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
David O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/20/2019
What gas station
I use to travel 38 miles one for a commute by car. I decided on this car for the mpg. I was surprise to find that in the summer which is an ideal condition for batteries that i was averaging between 60 and 65 mpg. The dashboard is laid out well the safety features are great. The automatic braking has saved me a few times when I was cut off in traffic an the other driver hit the brakes. I would give it 5 stars but there is a lot of road noise in the passenger compartment. Other than that I would highly recommend this care especially if you have a long commute. I would try for the plug in hybrid though. I could not buy it because it was not available.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2019
I love my Ionic
I really, really like this vehicle. It is my favorite car of the many I've owned, to include my Sonata. This car has lots of amenities to include heated seats and keyless start. The stereo system is a quality sound system. What more could you ask for? Don't answer that!

Pros
The drive is fun, the knobs and switches are in places you'd expect. The push button start is convenient, and the hybrid makes me feel good because I'm getting great gas mileage, and working towards a better enviornment.

Cons
The heater doesn't work well, nor is the car the easiest to get in or out of. The car is so quiet, sometimes if I'm distracted, I'll forget to turn it off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Edmond R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2019
My second hybrid
My Prius died after only 141,000 miles. I looked around and found the Ioniq. It handles great, better gas mileage than the Prius and seems to have a little more room. Very comfortable too. I'm very happy with my chaice.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Elizabeth A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/12/2019
Ionic is Not what I expected
I came from a Prius and thought the Ionic would give me the hybrid options I want. But, I'm averaging 33 mpg (Prius never was below 40 in the cold). Car isn't quiet and storage is poor (only one seat back has a small pocket and both glove and center compartments are small). Outside temp indicator is very small and only the driver can see it (unless there's a way to get that on the dash screen which I haven't discovered yet). I'll probably go back to the Prius in a few years. Also, the back window gets very covered (with snow or rain) and there's no way to remove it while driving except to use the rear defroster. Would like a wiper to help. Thought I was going to be paying less for the Hyundai but ended up paying more for the same options as the Prius (everything you want is an add-on unless you upgrade to the highest level vehicle and then you get things you really don't want!). And you'll have to have oil changed every 3000 miles (compared to 7500 for Prius).

Pros
hook up to phone for maps/directions
comfortable ride
nice exterior appearance

Cons
poor mpg
noisy engine (not like expected for hybrid)
lack of interior storage
poor display features for outside temp
short time period between oil changes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/09/2019
Could be one of my best
First, the pertinent facts for doing a car review: I'm 75 yrs old (owned over 150 vehicles), 6' 4" 220lbs (don't fit well in a lot of cars) and a car nut (super-critical and somewhat knowledgeable). The 2018 Ioniq Hybrid does most things well. I fit well. The seat cushion supports OK, The A pillar impedes a bit of visibility at corners. (BTW, I cannot drive with the power seat all the way back.) The 6-speed dual-clutch tranny isn't the smoothest and when slowing to a stop I sometimes feel a slight jerk as the electric part of the drive engages..

The tech package is impressive and intuitive (both Apple and Android) and I'm still on the learning curve. I have a long-term car need and the warranties were a deciding factor. How can one ignore a life-time battery replacement/free old battery recycle plan for the original owner? 10 year/100,000 mile is great, too.

Two things that kept this car from getting its 5th star: Rear wheel road noise - really needs some insulation back there AND don't push the eco-friendly tires too hard in a turn. The high sidewalls do roll some. I would get the 17" wheel/tire package and sacrifice a bit of economy for better handling.

Last, but not least, is the outstanding economy. At day's end the mpg read-out is 55 or higher 90% of the time! And the 1600cc Atkinson-cycle gas engine seems more than up to the performance task when running in "sport" mode and using the cool paddle shifters.

Yep, this could be one of my best.

Pros
Gas economy, interior room, price, warranties, overall quality

Cons
ROAD NOISE, stock tires/wheels, driveline smoothness

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 372 in total