2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(444 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
Mary S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2019
Ioniq Hybrid
Love my new Ioniq. The styling is so contemporary for a hybrid. My friends are dazzled by the diamond lights in the front! And they tell me they find the back seat quite comfortable. At first the ride was bumpier than my prior vehicle, but I've gotten used to the suspension now, and LOVE that I'm getting 50+mpg!!!! It's very quiet and easy to drive. There's plenty of oomph if I need it for accelerating on freeway ramps. The Hyundai warranty is a clear advantage over the competition. I test drove a lot of new compact hybrids before deciding on the Ioniq and I'm so glad I chose it!

Pros
Easy and fun to drive
Contemporary styling compared to other compact hybrids
50+ MPG!
Good power when needed
Apple CarPlay

Cons
Wish the interior had a locking compartment for when I want to leave phone or cash inside the vehicle.
Would have preferred a lighter interior color than black / dark grey -- too hot in the summer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ARON C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2019
Great gas milage, no serious issues.
Getting 70+mpg in real world driving. Nothing terribly exciting, honestly... but no complaints either. Great as a daily driver vehicle. Only 2 cup-holders would be my only real complaint. Already sold 2 other folks on this car.

Pros
Amazing gas milage
Great value

Cons
Only two cupholders
Nothing specifically exciting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CYDNEY B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2019
Great car.
I love this car. I bought it because of the mileage. I get between 55-60 miles per gallon . But I love it for other reasons as well! It is nice looking and fun to drive. It is reasonably priced and for the size it has good "trunk" capacity.

Pros
Pretty much everything. Especially the mileage.

Cons
I live in Minnesota and it is not as good as a 4 wheel drive in the snow. But I think it is as good as any other standard front wheel drive. So I know that this really is not a con but I don't have any other cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kathleen T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2019
Excellent hybrid car!
I put 83k miles on my Ioniq in 14 months and I highly recommend this car! About $5k cheaper than a Prius and higher mpg. I routinely get 57 mpg at about 70 to 72mph. With cruise set at 80, I still get 48 to 51 mpg. I had one warranty issue where a relay went bad, but otherwise a flawless car.

Pros
Great hybrid car with interior technology for a great price.

Cons
The seats could be a bit comfier.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
SUSAN W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/05/2019
Owner
I guess you get what you pay for. i was so happy with the price of the new car and the mileage is incredible but having a brand new car in the dealership this many times in 1 year isn't wrth it. i should have spent a bit more money on a more reliable brand as I drive a long distance to work every day. I would gladly give up 10 mies to the gallon in exchange for better quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
Vickie T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2019
Great gas mileage .. this car is amazing for many reason we love it.. thank you for the wonderful experience. We will be back for a truck in the near future.
Great gas mileage.. this car is amazing for many reasons thank you for the best buying experience ever. We will be back when we are ready to purchase a truck from you. We love our new car and again we thank everyone who dealt with us at Darlings.

Pros
Mileage, comfort, we just love everything about it

Cons
Can’t say anything bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HEIDI D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/05/2019
Love the car, but a few, minor issues....
Again, we love this Ioniq overall...it's a very good, vehicular, value-proposition...good usage of space & like the hatch, though would really like to be able to open it both from the inside & from the key fob...very odd to have to do so only via the hatch itself. We would have preferred the plug-in hybrid version, but understood the availability issues. We also would have preferred to have different color choices, inside & out, & the ability to add the additional electronic/security package, but that, too, was not possible. We love the gas mileage during the warm months, but, however, it really seems to tail-off -- though still better than gas-alone -- during cold months. Some of the build-quality items are suspect & it's a bit sluggish pulling-out into traffic, but this is also not a Mercedes-Benz E-550, which is what we replaced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Steve L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/04/2019
Ionic, a great option for fuel efficiency, comfort and performance
I thoroughly enjoy this ionic. It has been a good car to this point and at 34,000 miles has only needed scheduled maintenance and one alignment. The styling one of the strengths of this vehicle as is the comfort of the interior. it is well laid out and everything is within easy reach of the driver.

Pros
Acceleration, handling, stopping power, and overall looks. The interior is also durable material that is easily cleaned.

Cons
If I have a con it would be the horizontally split rear window. Reminiscent of the split rear window in a 63 Corvette, what's the purpose? I think with a slight modification to the vehicle design that's split rear glass could be eliminated without losing any of the aesthetics of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
ALEX N.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/04/2019
Hyundai Ioniq
Excellent choice! Great mileage! I love driving it! I commute daily and I love it! ❤️ I'll recommend it anytime. Wonder why there is not much advertising of it on TV or internet! As one of my friends says, I'll keep it until it dies!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2019
In Love
I love the car but not so much the communication. Hyundai is a little enthusiastic in their GPM claims but not by much; my overall mileage is around 52mpg. I drove from lower Alabama to Michigan's Upper Peninsula, a distance of more than 1400 mile and back, all highway;48 mpg.

Pros
mileage, of course, plus voice control and all hand controls within easy reach

Cons
I prefer having an active lane control rather than an audible beep. Also, WIFI would have been handy for my passengers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
Edward Y.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2019
2018 Ioniq
Once my commute went from 4 miles a day to 80, I needed a more fuel efficient car. Shopped around and found the Ioniq. Without hyper-miling the car, I’m averaging 58.8mpg. The interior is comfortable as well.

The only negative is road noise. It’s not obnoxious, but it’s higher than it should be.

Pros
Superb MPG

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Robyn N.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2019
Great value, trouble-free EV
For the price, especially after government incentives, this is a great first EV experience. I love that the higher-end model feels like driving a near-luxury sedan and not like a golf cart. No need to spend more to ride the California carpool lanes in comfort. My commute is 43 miles each way and I charge at work. It's a cinch.

Pros
High-end model has all the bells and whistles and is a great value. Feels like driving a sedan, not a golf cart. Trouble-free car.

Cons
Plastic grill not my favorite. Significant side-rear blind spots but blind-spot warning feature takes care of that nicely.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2019
Great choice!
We are so pleased with our car. A difficult choice between the more expensive ionic and our mid level price. The mileage was the big choice. I’m thrilled with the mileage do glad we didn’t get the heavier car.

Pros
Great look, great mileage.

Cons
Very low, gets caught on many parking curbs. Would like it if the back seat folded down flat like my old CRV.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LEE C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2019
great choice
I am very pleased with the 50 to 55 mpg. Also very surprised with the amount of power with the drivetrain in excelleration and ability to merge with moving traffic. I would and have recommended this vehicle to family and friends.

Pros
great economy

Cons
rough on ride suspension. have problems keeping key fob together keep hitting release button while carrying key in pocket

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patricia M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2019
Very Happy Ionic owner
I use my vehicle for Rideshare meaning it is quite demanding. I'm very Happy with the service of the dealership I purchased it from and it has been an excellent vehicle giving me an average of 54 mpg. Smooth handling! I can't think of anything I don't like about it!

Cons
No hatch release in front. (Would be nice)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2019
My Review
Excellent Vehicle. I had not considered the Ioniq before I went to the dealership but it is a good fit for me and my driving needs. It is smaller than what I am used to but it makes it up in savings for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Matthew S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/25/2019
40k Miles and still going strong
The Hyundai Ioniq I purchased from Freehold Hyundai last may is still running flawlessly. In a little over one year I have driven my vehicle 40k+ miles and plan on owning it for 10 years or roughly 350k miles. As of today my car has not had a single issue and feels as good to drive as it did the first mile I drove it. It handles very well in all precipitation. It is a comfortable car to drive in, however, my passengers have complained about leg room. I highly recommend getting the intermediate model due to its slightly upgraded interior and controls.

Pros
Gas mileage is the best
$25 to fill in NJ
Discount off of NJ EZ Pass

Cons
Not the most attractive
Not the most comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MELISSA S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/25/2019
Great value with little improvement needed
I have no complaints about this car with the exception of the rearview mirror. I like the styling of the dashboard and the power is surprisingly good for a small engine. The road noise is much quieter than the Toyota Prius which added to the deciding factor since I do most of my driving on the highway. A very comfortable ride too.

Pros
Surprising power for a small engine. After over 3k miles I'm getting an average of 53 mpg with a mix of highway and city driving. Apple CarPlay features through a good entertainment system are a plus.

Cons
The only complaint I have would be the view through the rearview mirror as it is a bit obstructed by the ceiling if the interior and the crossbeam on the back of the hatchback. Livable but it could be better. It might be improved with a lower placement of the mirror to clear the curve in the ceiling.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
VICTORIA F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2019
I chose wisely
I drive an average of 100 miles a day for work. I needed a new car that had amazing fuel economy, looked nice and didn't cost an arm & a leg. I researched vehicles that got the best mileage and the Ioniq was on the short list of cars I liked. Online research can only take you so far, so I checked out my local dealerships inventory and they had the exact model and year I wanted! I went in first thing the next morning and checked the car out. It was great. There were a few things that I didn't need but found beneficial and made the car an even better value to me such as rear folding seats, heated seats, and power seats. I'm SO happy with my purchase. I highly recommend the Hyundai Ioniq!

Pros
Fuel economy
Reliability
Interior room
Styling

Cons
Rarely a short lag when I mash on the gas, but it's a hybrid, so it's okay with me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/24/2019
Sporty, Efficient, Dependable, Affordable, Comfortable
Ioniq intuitively gets over 52 mpg. Driving sensibly easily gets you 55 mpg or more. Handles well. Interior is nicely Iaid out and comfortable despite limited space! The car feels and looks sporty. The price is nice compared to many hybrids. Offers value and performance in a small, efficient package with unbeatable guarantees that provide peace of mind!

Pros
Consistent MPG performance. Handles well. Interior space thoughtfully done. More sporty than many hybrids. Nice price. Awesome Hyundai warranties.

Cons
Extreme wind affects handling and cabin noise is a little loud on some roads but both are trade offs to achieve a lighter body for better mpg. I'd like to see nicer looking wheels on this otherwise very attractive vehicle!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 444 in total