2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(372 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SA
Samuel A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/12/2018
Don't buy a Hyundai hybrid
I've owned my Hyundai Ioniq hybrid for a total of 10 days. Its been in the Service Department twice for a total of about 4 weeks now. Hyundai Corporate is very slow at trying to figure out what is wrong. I just don't think they know what they're doing when it comes to hybrids.

Pros
Looks great

Cons
Electrical system failure

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kimberly F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/24/2019
Ioniq review
I am very pleased with the Hyundai Ioniq. I owned a Toyota Prius for 11 years and would’ve bought another one except I didn’t like the new styling. I wanted another hybrid and I learned that Hyundai has the best warranty in the business so I decided to check it out and I’m I glad I did. I love the styling of the Ioniq and the gas mileage is even better than the Prius. The ride is amazingly comfortable and smooth as a full size sedan. I am very happy I chose the Ioniq.

Pros
Excellent ride. Can’t beat gas mileage.

Cons
Interior storage isn’t great. Probably half of what the Prius had.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
Jenny Y.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/30/2018
Ioniq Limited plug in
I get lost all the time. GPS build in system is a must for me. I was told wrong information. If the only GPS system is in Utimate model only. I would have purchased it. I would have waited for one because there was none available. I was told the wrong information. I did not realize it until I drive the car the very next day.

Pros
Save gas

Cons
No build in navigation in Limited model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Elizabeth A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/12/2019
Ionic is Not what I expected
I came from a Prius and thought the Ionic would give me the hybrid options I want. But, I'm averaging 33 mpg (Prius never was below 40 in the cold). Car isn't quiet and storage is poor (only one seat back has a small pocket and both glove and center compartments are small). Outside temp indicator is very small and only the driver can see it (unless there's a way to get that on the dash screen which I haven't discovered yet). I'll probably go back to the Prius in a few years. Also, the back window gets very covered (with snow or rain) and there's no way to remove it while driving except to use the rear defroster. Would like a wiper to help. Thought I was going to be paying less for the Hyundai but ended up paying more for the same options as the Prius (everything you want is an add-on unless you upgrade to the highest level vehicle and then you get things you really don't want!). And you'll have to have oil changed every 3000 miles (compared to 7500 for Prius).

Pros
hook up to phone for maps/directions
comfortable ride
nice exterior appearance

Cons
poor mpg
noisy engine (not like expected for hybrid)
lack of interior storage
poor display features for outside temp
short time period between oil changes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
SUSAN W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/05/2019
Owner
I guess you get what you pay for. i was so happy with the price of the new car and the mileage is incredible but having a brand new car in the dealership this many times in 1 year isn't wrth it. i should have spent a bit more money on a more reliable brand as I drive a long distance to work every day. I would gladly give up 10 mies to the gallon in exchange for better quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angela B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/13/2019
Disappointing
The advertised fuel efficiency doesn’t match what the actual MPG. The sticker said 55/54 and I might get 43. The tank isn’t big enough. Had to refuel about 350 miles. The battery barely gets fully charged so it uses more fuel than electricity

Pros
Smaller vehicle

Cons
Small fuel capacity
Doesn’t reach the fuel mpg of 55/54 as advertised
Battery can’t handle cold climate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Archisha T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/16/2018
Fuel economy
Fuel economy is not per claimed.
The car does not meet expectation as per the fuel average . Claimed is 56/57 actual is 41/42. The dealership has not yet got back to me stating the economy figures ; this is disappointing

Cons
Fuel economy is very bad. Not as per claimed by Hyundai

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HUNTER H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/12/2018
Looks better than a Prius
Overall visuals are much better than its Toyota competitor and the interior is a treat as well. If the new Prius didn’t look absolutely ugly I would’ve purchased a Prius Prime instead. The Ioniq has an EPA estimated 55 city/54 highway, it does not achieve this. I average 50 city/45 highway in Las Vegas commuting to Indian Springs and back M-F, about 80 miles round trip. My only other complaint is that the headlights are aimed way too high from factory and will result in everyone flashing you at night on dark roads.

Pros
Best looking 50MPG+ hybrid in 2018
Looks better than a Prius

Cons
Does not achieve EPA estimated fuel efficiency

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
ANGELA T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/27/2018
Do you research before purchasing
This is a great car, but it's not quite like a Prius. The transmission often slips as it slows causing a small jerk. Their is a few second delay from reverse to drive. Sometimes if you turn the car on and shift into gear too quick the car freezes and you have to shift into park, turn it off, back on, wait and then shift into gear. It's gas milage is not what it says, no matter how slow I drive and how slow I take off, I can not get better than 44-49mpg. Everyone passes me and I stress out trying to "drive better" and break more. I do live in a hilly area. It's cute, but there's not much space or storage. I bought the top of the line, the features are very nice. I don't think the cost, compared to it's competitors in it's class is worth the total package. I was a previous Prius owner and I wish I could go back.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Roger B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/08/2019
Great car but gets 45 mpg instead of 58 mpg combined as claimed.
I think the car is very good, but it doesn't get the average combined mileage it should. Puzzled. Rattle in dashboard, and was told at service I need an alignment, but drove straight with no hands on way home. I wanted to go somewhere else for the alignment.

Pros
good driving, good interior, good electronics, good hybrid and good transmission and steering.

Cons
poor gas mileage under normal driving behavior, about 45 instead of 58.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lam L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/01/2019
Questioning our choice
After our initial several months of bliss with our Ioniq, we are not so happy. The gas mileage goes down in Winter because of the Winter blend of fuel, and we have had several issues. We drive on a gravel road and the tires have had more flats than any other car ever. The back up camera went out and the defrost lines on the back window went out. On the plus side, the warranty is fabulous and covers everything but the tires. The dealership had to order parts every time. We have not even had the car one year and have 24,000 miles so far. Still drives great and is zippy when it is needed.

Pros
Zippy, great warranty

Cons
already had some issues that would be expensive if not covered by the warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steven K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2019
Its a decent car
Looks, rides and usually performs well. Plenty of modern electronics and safety features. The back seat is tight. Rear roof line is very low. I am experiencing rough 3-2 and 2-1 downshifts when the trans is cold. I was routinely getting 55 mpg over the past year but after a factory battery management system software update the mileage immediately dropped to barely 50 mpg. I'm not happy.
Hyundai factory: are you listening??

Pros
Looks good. Good ride for a small car. I like the hybrid technology.

Cons
Very tight back seat and legroom. Roof line is very low. No rear wiper. Fuel economy has dropped significantly after a battery management system update.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEAN S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/27/2019
Great fuel economy, mediocre comfort
This is great on fuel economy but not a comfortable car for any type of road trip other than driving around town. Just came back from an 8 hour road trip and it was miserable. Standard features are okay. This car is very low to the ground. I've had it 12 months and I'm thinking about getting into something different.

Pros
Fuel economy

Cons
The car is too low to the ground, uncomfortable seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Clare B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/26/2019
Ioniq L
Quiet and easy to manover. Doesn't get the promised mileage. The battery died 3 times in the first 4 months. I was told to take the car on the road to rev up the engine and charge it for a few minutes when I got home. If the battery dies again, I'll ask for a new car under the Lemon Law.

Pros
Quiet

Cons
Battery died 3 times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jeffrey S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/17/2018
new car review
needs mudflaps; remove spoiler; fix blindspot, ................................................................................................................................................................

Cons
needs mudflaps; blindspot; spoiler blocks view ....................................................................................................................................................................................

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DAVID P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/24/2018
Doesnt get mpg rated
Bought this car for the mpg it was rated. But it doesnt get what its rated at. Outside of that its not bad. The road noise it to high. If I had known that I would have bought the Sonata HYBRID its rated at what Im getting out of the IONIQ HYBRID and theres less road noise. I really wanted the plug in HYBRID but was told its not available in my area.

Pros
Nice car

Cons
Doesnt get the rated mpg and has to much road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
EUGENE F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/28/2018
Needs rear window windshield wipers
Problem with Sideview mirrors reflection. Problem with chemical smell. Problem with lack of eindshiekd wipers and we are Problem with Sideview mirrors reflection. Problem with chemical smell. I have nothing more to say but you’re requiring me to have 200 characters in this box so I’m just rambling on until I reach your minimum requirement of words

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Stated before

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HP
HARVEY P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/21/2018
So far so good
I have about 600 miles on my Ioniq SEL hybrid and so far I've been impressed with the car. It delivers a smooth, quiet ride, especially around town, although I wish it absorbed bumps a little better. On the highway, there is a lot of wind and tire noise, but not extreme. My wife has a 2017 Honda Civic hatchback and the noise level is about the same. The gas mileage is great. So far I've gotten pretty close to 50 mpg and I expect that to rise as the weather warms. I really like the safety features, particularly the blind-spot monitoring, and the rear cross-traffic alert. The smart cruise control is also very handy. I haven't driven the car in snow yet, but from reviews that I've read it seems that winter tires might be needed. The stock tires are not very grippy in order to improve mileage, but the tradeoff is low traction in the snow.

Pros
Fuel economy, lots of storage, smooth, quiet ride, safety features, handling, long warranty, Apple Car Play/Android Auto

Cons
Brakes are grabby (takes some getting used to), no rear-window wiper, cheap-looking wheels (Hyundai says they're alloy, but the look and feel like plastic)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Alan W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/27/2018
Al Review
Scary Braking, fuel econ excellent 55 mpg avg. Look cool. Many people ask me about the car because not many on the road. Surprised you don't see very many other Ioniqs. Ioniq is a better looking car than Prius and has more features. Trip computer shows up to 60mpg+. Actual calculation 51 to 55.

Pros
Economy

Cons
Braking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jafarabad R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2018
Great car overall but needs minor improvements
First of all, let me say that this car is a great hybrid car and in my opinion, better than Prius having test driven both. With this said, there could be some improvements made to make it even better.

Pros
Gas Millage can be great (above 50mpg)
Has room although may seem small (no one has complained about lack of room yet)
Interior design looks good
Exterior design looks good considering hybrid
Price is reasonable

Cons
Needs heated steering wheel
Needs to have DRL to run all the time not just during the day (like most cars nowadays do to look fancy)
Needs to have option to change km/hr to mi/hr
Needs to have EBS with pedestrian detection and better collision alert (it alerts too late despite being on early setting)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 372 in total