2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78

173 Reviews

Latest review 4 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CK
Chuck K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2018
I really love this car!
Full disclosure: I traded in a 2007 Dodge caliber for my new 2018 Hyundai Ioniq Limited. I felt it was important to note that so you know what I have as a comparison. The upgrade from one to the other in relation to the tech and features is not something I have time to put into words.

Here's the quick list of things I found to be awesome
- The audio on the limited is wonderful. I'm not an audiophile to be fair, but when i bring this up listening to music i feel like i'm in a world of my own.
- The ride is smooth. Bumps are not very noticable
- Seats are comfortable and the drivers side has plenty of options to find that sweet spot which can be locked in with the memory buttons (2) .
- Gas milage is pretty much as advertised. Really depends on if I am less or more aggressive. I've only had it for about a month but I feel like I've adapted to the style needed to maximize the milage I get.
- Plenty of places to charge devices.
- I'm 6' tall and I feel like there is plenty of space for my legs to not be banging on the stack or the door when long distance traveling.
- The adaptive cruise is the coolest thing i think i've ever seen in a vehicle. Seriously it relieves so much stress when driving because when that person in front of you who either doesn't understand how cruise control works or perhaps doesn't have it at all keeps hovering in specific range that encompasses plus or minus 3 miles per hour, the car automatically adjusts to keep pace so you don't have to worry about anything other than making sure you stay in your lane and be ready to hit the brakes if a quick stop is needed. The car will do a lot of braking for you but you are still needed to finish the job. Additionally, i've found that if I set the cruise a little higher than the person in front of me, i get more EV mode driving because it's constantly in pacing rather than trying to catch up.
- Trunk space is fine and the back seats drop down to provide even more if needed
- I don't have to jump start anybody because I was told by the sales person one of the dealers I tried to buy this from (not the one I ultimately ended up going with) that this care does not have the capability to jump start another vehicle
- This car can jump start itself.
- Blue link app on my phone is super sweet for remote start from my desk to have the AC started and running so the car is cooled down from these mid summer 1 billion degree temps by the time I get there. The other features in this app are also awesome but this is the one I use the most. Locking my doors when I forget is another one I use from my desk.
- The back up camera and the blind spot warning system are awesome and accurate and very helpful to keep me safe
- The HVAC system is amazing. Dual zone control is great and keeps my girl comfy while I sit comfortably in my zero Calvin temps (over dramatized) on my side.
- The sun roof is easy to operate and is a nice creature comfort to have when we catch moderate temps in my area. It is also a great system to keep tailgaters off the back of my new car. On a completely unrelated note, I like skittles.
- The lights on this car are terrific. Very powerful and bright. With this limited version, they also direct to where i'm driving so I can better see whats ahead. I travel through many heavily wooded and country areas on my daily commute. Some times I end up having to come in very early or stay very late so having these lights makes me feel a lot more comfortable while traveling in those hours.
- I love not having to gas up as much and I would feel comfortable saying that I average anywhere between 52 and 55.5 mpg during my work week.


Things that are not as great:
- The steering wheel while very smooth and comfortable to hold on to most times, has a plastic piece that spans down to the 6 o'clock position. It is created in such a way that I have to turn my hands backwards to find a semi-comfortable place when traveling long distances. I would suggest just a single straight down peg from the same material so that peoples hands can fit comfortably on that flat spot on the bottom.
- The view out of the back window is rough. This is not a deal breaker because as noted above, the blind spot warning sensors are awesome. Just something that I noticed.
- The rear view mirror does not rotate to an angle high enough to encompass the whole back window. It might just be because it's new and needs to be broke in but I can pull it up high but it retracts back down to the point where a small portion of the top of the back window is not in the viewing area of the rear view mirror. I can adjust the seat lower to capture the whole view but it's not as comfortable on my daily commute.
- Probably not an Ioniq issue and probably just an issue with me not fully understanding the tech but all my household cell phones that we connect with this system have to have the passcodes entered on the device before it will connect via the USB and enable those phone features.
- The amount of space for headroom in the backseat is not ideal for a 6ft tall person. My head is on the headliner while sitting back there. Thankfully, my wife and the girls in her family are all vertically challenged so they usually ride coach and give driving directions from back there while her father and I sit up front and nod our heads.
- I finished this list and scrolled down and realized there was a pros and cons list section. That's not so great. I'll copy and paste and leave this here because I did all the work.

Pros
Here's the quick list of things I found to be awesome
- The audio on the limited is wonderful. I'm not an audiophile to be fair, but when i bring this up listening to music i feel like i'm in a world of my own.
- The ride is smooth. Bumps are not very noticable
- Seats are comfortable and the drivers side has plenty of options to find that sweet spot which can be locked in with the memory buttons (2) .
- Gas milage is pretty much as advertised. Really depends on if I am less or more aggressive. I've only had it for about a month but I feel like I've adapted to the style needed to maximize the milage I get.
- Plenty of places to charge devices.
- I'm 6' tall and I feel like there is plenty of space for my legs to not be banging on the stack or the door when long distance traveling.
- The adaptive cruise is the coolest thing i think i've ever seen in a vehicle. Seriously it relieves so much stress when driving because when that person in front of you who either doesn't understand how cruise control works or perhaps doesn't have it at all keeps hovering in specific range that encompasses plus or minus 3 miles per hour, the car automatically adjusts to keep pace so you don't have to worry about anything other than making sure you stay in your lane and be ready to hit the brakes if a quick stop is needed. The car will do a lot of braking for you but you are still needed to finish the job. Additionally, i've found that if I set the cruise a little higher than the person in front of me, i get more EV mode driving because it's constantly in pacing rather than trying to catch up.
- Trunk space is fine and the back seats drop down to provide even more if needed
- I don't have to jump start anybody because I was told by the sales person one of the dealers I tried to buy this from (not the one I ultimately ended up going with) that this care does not have the capability to jump start another vehicle
- This car can jump start itself.
- Blue link app on my phone is super sweet for remote start from my desk to have the AC started and running so the car is cooled down from these mid summer 1 billion degree temps by the time I get there. The other features in this app are also awesome but this is the one I use the most. Locking my doors when I forget is another one I use from my desk.
- The back up camera and the blind spot warning system are awesome and accurate and very helpful to keep me safe
- The HVAC system is amazing. Dual zone control is great and keeps my girl comfy while I sit comfortably in my zero Calvin temps (over dramatized) on my side.
- The sun roof is easy to operate and is a nice creature comfort to have when we catch moderate temps in my area. It is also a great system to keep tailgaters off the back of my new car. On a completely unrelated note, I like skittles.
- The lights on this car are terrific. Very powerful and bright. With this limited version, they also direct to where i'm driving so I can better see whats ahead. I travel through many heavily wooded and country areas on my daily commute. Some times I end up having to come in very early or stay very late so having these lights makes me feel a lot more comfortable while traveling in those hours.
- I love not having to gas up as much and I would feel comfortable saying that I average anywhere between 52 and 55.5 mpg during my work week.

Cons
Things that are not as great:
- The steering wheel while very smooth and comfortable to hold on to most times, has a plastic piece that spans down to the 6 o'clock position. It is created in such a way that I have to turn my hands backwards to find a semi-comfortable place when traveling long distances. I would suggest just a single straight down peg from the same material so that peoples hands can fit comfortably on that flat spot on the bottom.
- The view out of the back window is rough. This is not a deal breaker because as noted above, the blind spot warning sensors are awesome. Just something that I noticed.
- The rear view mirror does not rotate to an angle high enough to encompass the whole back window. It might just be because it's new and needs to be broke in but I can pull it up high but it retracts back down to the point where a small portion of the top of the back window is not in the viewing area of the rear view mirror. I can adjust the seat lower to capture the whole view but it's not as comfortable on my daily commute.
- Probably not an Ioniq issue and probably just an issue with me not fully understanding the tech but all my household cell phones that we connect with this system have to have the passcodes entered on the device before it will connect via the USB and enable those phone features.
- The amount of space for headroom in the backseat is not ideal for a 6ft tall person. My head is on the headliner while sitting back there. Thankfully, my wife and the girls in her family are all vertically challenged so they usually ride coach and give driving directions from back there while her father and I sit up front and nod our heads.
- I finished this list and scrolled down and realized there was a pros and cons list section. That's not so great. I'll copy and paste and leave this here because I did all the work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gail H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2018
Ioniq Hybrid Blue
I absolutely love my new car. The interior fabric is a lovely light charcoal black. The seat portion has an interesting pattern which adds a very appealing visual effect. The interior vinyl surface is a medium to light charcoal black and the ceiling is a much lighter gray which gives one the illusion of a spacious interior. It certainly feels much more spacious and comfortable compared to my previous car which had a black interior. There is also a very attractive contrast of the white exterior with the headlights and other aspects of the surface parts. I absolutely love the ease and usage of the touch screen for using the hands free phone and radio which has a convenient and numerous channel listing. The quality of the speakers as well as having the option to listen to excellent music on sirix makes driving a much more enjoyable experience. I also enjoy the ease of the air conditioning system and the comfort it provides. The Ioniq Hybrrid Blue blue provides a very comfortable ride, it accelerates very well and is an absolute pleasure to drive. It definitely feels very luxurious without the expense of other so-called luxury cars. As a hybrid it will mean less trips to the gas station and more money in your pocket. I highly recommend this vehicle!

Pros
This car appears to have exceptional value for the price and is a nice upgrade from my previous car.

Cons
This vehicle comes with an inflating tool if your tire loses air and incurs minimal damage but does not come with a spare if your tire gets ripped. I purchased a spare tire and kit for my peace of mind.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Dominick P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Great car
I wasn't in the market for a new car. But after a tree fell and crashed my daily driver and destroy another car, I had no choice but to get a car. After doing some research I found the Ioniq. It was best suited for the long commute that I have. The mileage is great! I was getting 18 MPG on the old car and now get 58 MPG. The lowest mileage I've gotten was 54 and the highest was 60, which is better that the EPA mileage rating. Trust me I use this car. I even brought an engine block to the machine shop (60 miles away in Newark) with it in the trunk of this car. It didn't even effect the mileage.

Pros
Mileage and comforts I didn't have in previous vehicles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sandra B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2018
2018 Ioniq Hybrid Hyundai
Drives great and great on fuel, can get over 600 plus miles to a tank and that is great since I drive 160 miles around trip to work. Drives smooth and quiet. Looks great and I love it! Would recommend this car to anyone.

Pros
great on fuel and overall driving

Cons
none at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Charles L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
Awesome
Love the car great mpg, horsepower is average. First impression on the car appearance sleek design beat other competitors before I was thinking getting Prius c but it was too small. The trunk is big too can fit 26 inches.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bradford K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2018
Great hybrid & not ugly!
After owning another Hyundai for 5 years we decided to buy their hybrid model, the Ioniq SEL with tech package. After 4,300 miles we exceed advertised mpg and find operation of the hybrid system intuitive and seamless. Handling, ride and braking are similar to non-hybrid alternatives and it doesn't shout "weird' by it's stying which most would say is attractive, much like Sonata or Elantra. The tech package automatic braking, lane staying and smart-cruise work great and are worth the price. We have recommended the Ioniq to others and expect to drive it well past the warranty period. (lifetime battery warranty!)

Pros
Attractive. Economical. Safe & comfortable.

Cons
Rear seat doesn't fold completely flat. Because of the extremely aerodynamic shape, the rear visibility is not ideal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Debra S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
Ioniq
Amazing mileage- average 59-60mpg usually. Saving a lot of money there... sleek looking/unique... runs smooth as silk... very easy handling, wonderful features... very roomy ... so happy with choice to get the Ioniq... have had 8 Hyundai’s from Garvey... all great, but ioniq is my favorite by far...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Justin W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2018
Gas saver max!
Very nice even at the lowest trim level. Very smooth ride I avg. 53 mpg but I run it hard. Running it easy I get almost 70 mpg. This car basically pays for itself I highly recommend and you can’t beat the warranty!

Pros
Gas saver
Attractive
Comfort
Hybrid with power

Cons
Beige interior gets marked easy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KV
Kathleen V.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2018
Ioniq Blows Prius Out of the Water
Owned 2 Prius' prior to the Ioniq. The Ioniq fuel mileage exceeds the Prius compared at the same total miles driven. The Ioniq has superior acceleration. The Ioniq has far less engine noise under load and acceleration. The Ioniq has less interior road noise. The Ioniq has more interior space, comfort and can stow more luggage in the back. Compared to the Prius the Ioniq does not drag the front end on the curb/headstones in parking spaces or when pulling into steep driveways and roads. The Ioniq has an outstanding warranty.

Pros
Warranty.
Fuel economy and range.
Spacious.
Doesn't drag front end.

Cons
Difficult to obtain, even harder when desired options are a must have.
Interior color choices available as long as you like black.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
David H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2018
Comfortable and Huge Gas Mileage
I am 6’5” and the car fits me well. The Apple car play is great. We’re getting just over 60 mpg. We like the car a lot. As original owners, battery is warrantied for life. The acceleration is good under the economy mode, but can pick up a lot shifting to sport mode.

Pros
Gas mileage in well-built car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2018
Surpassed expectations!!
I drive a LOT of miles every year (90K). I'm always skeptical of MPG boasts on TV. My Ioniq has surpassed my expectation by a lot! It's so roomy and very comfortable. A very reasonable priced car and well worth every penny!

Pros
Nice looking and a joy to drive! The MPG is amazing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terry S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2018
Great value and great mileage.
I average 62 mpg on highway mileage. Car is comfortable and most importantly it has heated seats! I just wish it had a roof rack and hitch. Then it would be perfect. The upohlstery is much better than in my Subaru because it doesn't stain and is easily cleaned.

Pros
Great mileage

Cons
No roof rack, no hitch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2018
Ioniq fan for life !!
We are solid Ioniq fans. Great gas mileage is only the by product of this fabulous automotive experience. The sport mode is awesome. The look is so cool and all the extras just put it over the top. We couldn’t be happier.

Pros
Can either use the sport mode or go for the gas sipping mode.

Cons
The body is so lightweight it feels like it could crumble very easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HN
HENRY N.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2018
The best kept secret on the road
I never heard of the Honda Ioniq until my friend bought one. I kept it in mind and truly planned on buying a new Prius. I visited the dealer and was highly impressed with the Ioniq and felt is was an excellent car and highly competitive with the Prius. The warranty threw me over the top as well as a lower price than Toyota was offering.

Pros
Great car at a good price with an awesome warranty.

Cons
Hesitation when accelerating. A/C is undersized.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
LAURA P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2018
Great Car!
I love this car! The ride is smooth and comfortable and also saves me a ton of money on gas! I love that it has car play as well so I can connect directly with my phone. Another bonus is the huge trunk space!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
VINNA D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/23/2018
Ioniq Hybrid
I would probably have opted for the PHEV version if I had known that it did not come equipped with the features that I wanted. Reliable but wish it came equipped for bluelink compatibility since I added the technology package.

Cons
We don’t like the bar that’s on the trunk of the car...it blocks the view. I also don’t like the fact that it is not equipped with the required parts for bluelink compatibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Stephen K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2018
A stranger to most
I had never heard of the Ioniq until I visited the dealership. I wanted a Hybrid. This far surpassed my Prius in performance.
Friends are envious of my 60+ mpg. I just wish it had roof rails.
I will be holding on to this car for quite a while.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MURILLO G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2018
Ioniq plug-in
Great choice . The Ioniq plug-in is the way to go when it comes to having the best of both ev and gas power . Rang on a full tank and a full charge a great estimated 650 miles . Has enough room for the family and friends
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANE G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2018
Ioniq Electric 2018
An amazing car -no gas, excellent handling, and the systems truly improve my driving safety. The seat comfort is stellar. All additional apps that assist in finding electric stations, pre-heat or cool the car make going to electric an easy transition.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mark A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
Ioniq is great
My new Ioniq has gone through over 7,000 miles and has been wonderful, great car to drive and getting excellent gasoline mileage. Generally over 66 mpg, in fact 72.8 mpg in mixed highway and city driving on my last Tank (692 miles and 9.5 gallons).
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 173 in total