2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(234 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MR
MARC R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Amazing!
I did not expect much when I chose this vehicle solely based on estimated mpg. I am surprised how much I love this car and how great it is. It is chock full of tech and room for an eco vehicle. It handles crappy driving conditions way better than I would have thought. Its footing and stability on wintry roads is comparable to my 4x4 truck.

Pros
Cavernous trunk space. Handles great in adverse driving conditions. Superior mpg's. Extremely reliable.

Cons
Blind spots. Snow/rain getting in the car via door or cracked window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BRUCE R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Hyundai Ioniq
I am very pleased with my 2019 Hyundai Ioniq. Besides having attractive styling, it has excellent interior comfort, good storage, smooth handling, and outstanding fuel economy (better than 60 MPG with sustained driving). I also had a good experience purchasing it at AutoNation Hyundai.

Pros
Great fuel economy.
Helpful safety features.
Very comfortable interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Douglas S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Ioniq hybrid reflections after 40,000 miles.
I was drawn to the Hyundai brand because of positive reviews regarding quality, durability, customer approval ratings, and my own sitting in the driver seat. The experience has been satisfactory in nearly every respect. The reviews I read noted two areas that could use some attention by Hyundai. The noise level in the cabin is above average and sometimes bothersome. A source of this is the noise of the tires. Frankly, the tires on the vehicle are the loudest in road noise I've ever owned. I am eager to wear the tires out so I can put quieter rubber on the road. The other area of contention is that the Ioniq Limited simply will not achieve the 55 mpg promised on the sticker. Other models of the Ioniq will, but not the Limited. It weighs more, has larger diameter wheels and tires, and the mileage is very consistent at 47 to 50 mpg. Would I buy this car again? Yep. I might buy the lesser equipped models in order to raise my mileage. But I have had a very satisfactory experience with my Hyndai product.

Pros
Quality of construction and fit of assembly. Overall value for the amount of money. Very good mileage. Comfort of ride. Dependability.

Cons
Road noise. Does not achieve the expected and promised mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Carla R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2020
Hyundai continues to improve buyer experience
This is my third Hyundai. I love The layout of the interior and the exterior but still continue to anticipate an improvement in comfort in regards to seating. Will consider them again for my next vehicle.

Cons
Navigation experience while driving

Seat comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CHRISTOPHER T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/15/2020
Great city vehicle
I compared a bunch of full electric vehicles and decided that the Ioniq was the best range to value while also being a more spacious vehicle. Hybrids get better range, but they're mechanically complicated and you still need oil changes and smog checks. The range of around 132 miles per charge is perfect for city driving, but not ideal for longer trips or commutes unless there is a fast charge where you work. If you're in a place that gets quite hot or cold, the climate control system will eat 30%-40% of your range. Take that into account if you commute uphill from Albuquerque to Santa Fe in the summer or winter. That being said, both of those cities now have several level 3 chargers available in the Walmart parking lots.

Pros
Price to range ratio good for a normal sized car. Most cars under the Tesla have trouble achieving over 100 miles for a similar price to the Ioniq.

Cons
Range significantly diminished while using climate controls. (normal for an electric car).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
George H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Great car!
In 2011 the styling of the Sonata drew me to the dealership and the Ioniq has continued to be a style leader. Love the gas mileage!! People don't believe me when I tell them I can get 55 to 60 mpg. I am in sales and this car is ideal with the hatch back for me sales cases and gas mileage. A gas hybrid is the way to go.

Pros
Mileage, hatchback, safety features

Cons
The rear window is to small!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
WILLIAM P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2020
Good value for the money
I have previously owned a 2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited, and was looking for another one that was new. Instead drove a new2019 Ioniq, liked it and after driving, and researching mileage, desired to lease it.

Pros
mileage, great navigation system, voice command functions like texting, and navigation besides Bluetooth for phone,

Cons
Paint quality could be better, very thin scratches easily, needs an unobstructed view out the rear window without spoiler and needs a rear window wiper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Chanika C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/13/2020
Ioniq
I'm enjoying my case except the same route has had a slow leak since I've gotten it and I'm tired of adding air! Got it for gas mileage as I travel quite a bit and I'm truly satisfied in that department!

Pros
Gas mileage
Sleek look

Cons
Only children can sit in the back comfortably on long trips if you're tall.
No back windshield wiper
No auto start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DEBORAH S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Great ca
Bought the hybrid that was recommended by service department. Love the mileage, pickup, interior style and ease of use. My second Hyundai and would buy again. Cost and reliability were reasons for purchase. We have an exceptional service department for maintenance.

Pros
The gas mileage and ease of driving makes this a great car. Love the space in back and seats collapse down.

Cons
Would love to see an automatic trunk closure.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Beverley P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
my opinion
car fits me and my needs. only drive short distances and low miles. Plenty of trunk space. Wish I had heated steering wheel. I am short person and still have to sit on pillow to feel comfortable about seeing right front of vehicle while driving
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DI
Dan I.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
ioniq
Great car I like the car cvcvcvcvcclicuwhwoifufupofr2pfiur23ir-02i-0ri23rfkf;lsdwmcsdlvmvlml;dv';lv;'l;elkgpeiogf[weiw3[pkfpw3';kfp['w3kjb;wqeorrrrrrpjowh[
ikh2]phlkfdbk[kh[rphr[o][pho]rhp4pu5]u[p54]w[klkhgrophirpyp[wy[plkg,gplkhhplkhpgophrtghjplrthl5r]pho]rhol[]rlh[]rthlo][rhop[th'[t;ht;[]tp[]t

Pros
Great customer service , continue the good service

Cons
no comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
EVELINE/ENRIQU F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
Ioniq in tucson
Comfortable. Economic. Tech current. Stylish.
Safety conscience. Reliable. Fun to drive. Great features. Navigation useful. Quality built. Comment comment comment. Comment. Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
ANNETTE L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
Affordable and Efficient PHEV
Want make the switch to an electric and gas hybrid car? With The best hybrid rating, a 28 mile electric range, a low sticker price, and the roomiest back end. The ioniq could be the car for you. It packs in lots of thoughtful creature comforts at a really affordable sticker price.

Pros
Electric
Hybrid gas engine
Best steering wheel (shape, dimension, comfort, adjustment)
Heated seats
Both front seats are height adjustable
Low road noise
Most roomy hatch for PHEV class
The sun visors slide (so they can protect from side-sun!)
Integration with Android Auto and Apple Car Play
Tight breaks

Cons
A bit too many menus on the driver's dash
Some functions (like the cruise) are not intuitive
The acceleration seems erratic -- good pickup sometimes, slow on the uptake others
Only 2 trim levels

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LINDA M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
Ioniq rocks!
This vehicle was researched for 6 mo prior to purchase. It has met our expectations. Very functional, good quality, and fun to drive! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a gasoline hybrid!

Cons
Road noise at crushing speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
Hyundai Ioniq Electric 2019
This is a great car, extremely quiet ride, very smooth. Interior is comfortable, good controls, lots of tech. Does everything I need in a car. Wish it had better range or charged faster on 120v. The car has far exceeded my expectations, and I can definitely see the advantages of electric.

Pros
Super quiet, high tech fun car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MARK T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/03/2020
Got it earlier than planned
We were planning on getting this car in July but the breakdown of our old car sped the timeline up. We don't regret buying it. Love everything about it, but the rear window. It's hard to see cars behind you in the same lane until they are almost on your bumper. But the side mirrors make up for it.

Pros
Easy set up with all the features, love the app that allows you to find the car

Cons
The rear window is a little wonky and partially blocks your view behind you out the rear view mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MALVERN H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Review
We purchased on November 29, 2019. So far, this car is amazing. It has whistles and bells with blue tooth, the phone center, the media package, etc... But the hybrid has a motor that is a generator that charges batteries that run an electric motor that runs the car. Incredible technowledgey. We are averaging 55 mpg, 50 mpg with five adults and bags on long drives. Our fuel budget for that vehicle went from $75 a week to $10 a week. So our new car is costing us less than $100 a month, FOR A NEW CAR. It gets up and goes. It's very quiet. Sounds like a golf cart half the time. Has plenty of power. Looks great. Family loves it. They all want to drive it now, not dad's truck. Gotta love it!!!

Pros
Very reasonably priced new at $21,000
55+ mpg (almost offsets the monthly payment)

Cons
low ground clearance
no jack or spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
PETER G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/30/2019
Great value hybrid vehicle
I got a new Hyundai Ioniq limited with the ultimate package. Love this car so far. Had one issue with the check engine light coming on. Took it to the dealer and they found a hose that was loose. Have not had any issues since, and dealership was really nice and responsive. This is my first experience with Hyundai, and they seem to really care about the customer satisfaction, which is reassuring.
As for the car itself, I am really happy with it so far after a moth of ownership. It has a nice set of features, is a comfortable drive, and great gas mileage. My favorite feature is is the ability to easily switch to sport mode. I was hesitant about getting a hybrid because I hate sluggish acceleration, especially when trying to get onto a freeway. With the Ioniq you can just pop the shifter into sport mode to jump onto the freeway and then switch back to hybrid mode when at speed. The car handles great overall and is a pretty quiet. There is a little more road noise on the freeway than I would like, but it isn't terrible. The lane departure and automatic braking are nice features, but I feel like the lane assist is a little slow and the automatic braking is a little too eager. The lane departure warning tone is also a little too loud, and it would be nice to adjust the volume, but that a minor complaint. There is a little body roll on cornering, but this isn't meant to be a sport vehicle. The turn radius is good, and overall handling is nice.
The sound system easily integrates with Android Auto. The speakers sound pretty good, but I am pretty picky about my music, and feel like you can really hear the difference in low quality music - so bluetooth does not sound great. I haven't had the chance to play any FLAC files yet, but using Spotify premium connected via cable to the car sounds pretty good.
I love the driver memory seat. This is a great feature if you have more than one driver (for example my wife is much shorter). The heated seats are a nice feature when the mornings are chilly. The AC is responsive and easy to use. The interior feels roomy enough and is overall pretty comfortable.
I like that the mirrors angle down to see the curb when you are parking. The backup camera is easy to see with, even at night, but may require a wipe-off when raining. There is a soft tone when backing up for safety which I don't mind.
I wish there was an all weather mat option, but these were pretty easy to find online, though expensive.
Overall a fun car to drive, gets good gas mileage, and has a lot of really good features. Only minor complaints about this vehicle, and would totally recommend this car to anyone looking at hybrids.

Pros
Gas mileage
Interior comfort
Sport mode!
Easy to use controls
Spacious interior and storage
Lifetime battery warranty

Cons
Interior design could be updated
Tall drivers may have hard time with rearview mirror angle
Trunk button does not actually open the trunk, just unlocks it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEPHANIE R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/29/2019
Phenomenal Fuel Economy!
This car is much less expensive to operate than my conventional cars. I love that I'm averaging over 60 mpg around town. I've driven nearly 1,000 miles and have only filled up once and I'm still over half in the fuel tank. The car is smooth and very quiet and I love the way the electric motor and gas motor work together in hybrid mode.

Pros
Amazing fuel economy at a price that's thousands less than other Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV) vehicles. Super fun to drive in electric mode.

Cons
The car is slow to accelerate in hybrid mode, but once at speed, maintains speed and cruises very well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bernard W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
1st Hyundai and hybrid
Wife loves this car. Picked over a Prius. Better looking interior and much better looking car. We have the limited and are very happy with all the safety features
Also our android phones were so easily paired. Also like the dual clutch transmission over a Cvt. Really pleased how smooth it works. Did I say wife loves this car. Was getting 51mpg in warmer weather. Has dropped some in colder temps. Still very happy with Mpg
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 234 in total