2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(353 Reviews)
Latest review 10 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MC
MATTHEW C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2021
Great gas/elec hybrid
I was dead set on returning my Prius and picking up the newer Prius model for my next lease. Toyota made this virtually impossible. Newer model was AWD and the raise in price was substantial. So I searched "cheapest hybrid lease" and came across the Hyundai Ioniq. Very cool car for the money. I will say this though- they got my foot in the door with advertisements of incredible monthly payments (due to rebates), but beware the "0 down" quickly goes out the window in the financing office. They WILL tax the original MSRP cost of the car. This was nearly a zero-hour dealbreaker for me. I was very disappointed in the lack of transparency there and almost changed my mind. You can plug it in (if you choose to) in a standard outlet but it will take about 8 hrs for a full charge. And it would mostly get depleted in my 17 mile drive to work. HOV EZPass (NY state) is a necessity for me.

Pros
Heated seats, bluetooth, plug-in feature is optional

Cons
Takes a long time to charge, and gets depleted quickly. Finance office will tax the original MSRP, so beware claims of "0 down"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MATTHEW G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2021
Best styled hybrid on the market
I absolutely love this car. It can make it from Los Angeles to Austin on three tanks of gas and the battery always charges itself up a few miles on flat land. The car is the only hybrid with a hatchback that doesn’t look like a weird wanna be futuristic design.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DEBRAH R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/09/2021
Great but wind noise loud!
I like this car. Didn't try the sunroof until summer and turns out you better open the windows unless you want a really bad headache. Some people won't mind but I don't like so much wind noise. Everything else spoils me ....The Styling, the media, Touch Screen the heating controls... love it all except that road noise when the sunroof or windows are open . Also after the car wash, all these rain spots along the track when you open the car or hatch. I presume that supposed to be that way. I don't know. Otherwise I love this car.

Pros
Easy to see all around.

Cons
Water spots along edging after washing or rain. Always dirty under door panels with water spots. Sound from sunroof is awful...have to roll down windows!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SU
Sergey U.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/07/2021
Can be better
Ki, I bought this car back to November 2019, attracted by price, stile and fuel consumption.
1. When I signed all paperwork and checked the car, I discovered problem with rear left door it was slightly bent and driver door was broken in the place on handle plastic cover lock in case to open goor by metal key. I didn’t take the car and to fix it. On the dealership I was told leave the car and take another one by time when they got a parts. It took one month. Okey after that time finally I got my car but first impressions was spoiled...
2. In two weeks, I got a noise in the trunk in bumpy road, asked dealership, nothing changed after fixing.
3. In Summer time I changed oil on dealership, they forgot to tighten oil changed bolt button of the car.
I have got a oil licking just on my driveway. They pick up my car and fixed, I been driving for three days with low oil level.
4. The worst thing after almost an year of driving my car, 15k on odometer, MPG fallen from 55mpg to 45mpg. I didn’t change anything, same car, same driver, same fuel, same conditions......
I don’t have any explanation...
Think twice before to buy this car, 8 years ago, I owned Prius, sold it after 3 years and 35k odometer. Never had a issues like this.
Definitely Hyundai and Toyota is not the same car.

Pros
No

Cons
No

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HW
HEIDI W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/05/2021
Great value
I regularly get 60 mpg with this car and sometimes even higher. I also own 2 Toyota Prius C's. In comparison, the Ioniq has much more room and higher mpg for a much lower price. Very glad we went for the Hyundai.

Pros
Value for the price
High mpg
Roomy
Big trunk

Cons
A little hard to see out the back sometimes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JONATHAN P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2021
Fantastic car!
PHEV is a great value with state/ federal rebates and still goes 600 miles with a tank of gas. I only bought 20-30 gallons of gas in 2020. Mostly used the 29 miles of electric range and charged at home. Drives amazing in EV mode and the convenience of charging at home is great too! Saved hundreds in gas and spent surprisingly little extra in electricity.
Compared to the Prius Prime, the cargo space is huge!! Dealbreaker.

Pros
EV mode driving is incredible!

Cons
Engine can rev loudly when you run out of EV driving range.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LOUIS D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2020
This vehicle is a 10
The style, comfort and performance of the vehicle is great. I have rated this a 10 because of the value you get for the money it cost to lease and operate the vehicle.. I really can't say more than I have said to make 200 characters..

Pros
I have leased this vehicle.... Your question "My experience with this vehicle" implies I purchased it. No other option

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
HAL S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2020
Hyundai Ioniq
I love my Ioniq. I drive over 400 miles a week and the gas mileage is amazing - 58 miles to the gallon. This car is comfortable and responsive. The headlights have great illumination and the transmission/acceleration is much better than I expected from a hybrid. I do not regret going from small SUV to a sedan.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jacquelyn A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/14/2020
Too Many Issues
Breaks jump and feel horrible upon first drive of the day. Shifter seems to skip when accelerating as well. Entertainment screen randomly blacks out. I’ve owned two and they both had the same issues.

Pros
Great gas mileage.

Cons
Quality. Does not feel like this vehicle will last more than 3 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 12/14/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

RD
REGINA D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2020
9 out of 10 overall
i'm only writing this part because they make you. i really do like my little car. its great on gas and i haven't had any major issues. i have over 22k miles in one year on it. most are hwy because i lived in a different state than where i worked. i would recommend this as a good safe fun 1st time car for a teen graduating high school or entering college. we will buy another in this brand simply because the ioniq was so great

Pros
its so fun

Cons
leg room in the back if you are over 5'8

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRISTOPHER B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2020
2019 Ioniq
Awesome car. Laid back but if u put it in the sports mode, it has great power. Love this car. Awesome gas mileage, always over 45mpg. Will buy again in a few yrs when I run this car into the ground.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHRISTOPHER C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2020
wouldn't trade it
I love my ioniq all electric I wish the range was longer, but in day to day driving its very useful. I just can't go on very long road trips with it, which is the only downfall to a very efficient ev.

Pros
price, performance, and features on base model

Cons
range, lack of spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MONIKA M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2020
Great vehicle
Bought at the end of 2018, still have the vehicle and I am extremely satisfied with how it drives. Having bought a new 2019 car at the end of 2018, I saw the price of the car dropped early 2019. Anyway, Push to start button is great. Connecting to Apple carplay is quick. Fuel economy is fantastic; I drive on the highway majority of the time andI can usually get around 55mpg. I just wish the battery capacity for EV driving was bigger.

Pros
Great fuel eco

Cons
Wish the EV Battery had a bigger capacity

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
PAMELA A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/04/2020
I am not sure what you are asking here.
First time owning a hybrid. Seems fine so far, except for the hesitation when accelerating from a stop. Maybe that is because its a hybrid? Workmanship seems good. Everything is working well so far. Engine performance is lacking, although maybe I just need to get used to it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/03/2020
Great commuter
100% satisfaction. We purchased this vehicle to cut back on the wear and tear on our other vehicles and to save money on gas. We've had no issues and it's done just that. Very happy with our first Hyundai purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RONNIE G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2020
Great car
Works as designed. No complaints. Little noisy. Ride a bit bumpy compared to a luxury vehicle. Gas mileage great. Wish it had cooled seats not just heated. Sports mode works. I really have no complaints so far and have owned it for over a year now. We actually bought two at the same time, no problems with either.

Pros
Everything

Cons
No cooled seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEPHANIE R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2020
Best of all worlds
I had wanted to get a plug-in hybrid vehicle to take advantage of the tax incentives while they still available. I researched most of the models on the market and the Hyundai Ioniq was the best one for me due to a lower price, and my familiarity with the brand (I've been driving Hyundai vehicles since 1991 and I really like their driveability and reliability. I didn't expect to like this car as much as I do. The fuel economy is amazing, but what I love, love, love about this car is 'Sport Mode.' This car has two engines, an electric engine and a small gasoline engine. Sport mode allows both engines to work together, giving me great acceleration. As a result, the car is super fun to drive. The gas mileage is great for the long trips, but even better is the comfort, and the many thoughtful touches that Hyundai has added to the vehicle. There is no real need to upgrade to the higher vehicles as everything you need is included in the base model. Even my son, a man not easily impressed, likes to drive this car. So glad I bought it and I hope to keep it for many, many years. Love my Ioniq!

Pros
Great tax incentives as well as local incentives from AQMD and SCE. I can literally drive for free periodically as the batteries charge when driving in sport mode. When I'm doing short trips, I typically use electric only (free driving!) Car is bomb to drive when in sport mode.

Cons
When driving in hybrid mode (without sport mode activated), the acceleration is poor, though once the car is up to speed, it's not bad at all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
RANDY V.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/21/2020
Good economy with acceptable performance
Vehicle provided the increase economy we were seeking. The performance while not spectacular is acceptable. Well appointed with most of the features we wanted. Comfortable on long drives with sufficient space for golf clubs, luggage, etc. All in all a good vehicle.

Pros
Economical, comfortable, well appointed.

Cons
Performance is acceptable but not spectacular.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Thomas M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2020
Fast, fun and reliable.
For fun, quiet, responsive, reliable, and inexpensive everyday transportation the Ioniq can't be beat. It has become our everyday vehicle for shopping and errands around town. Longer trips require some planning but the advantages of an electric vehicle outweigh the limitations to long distance travel. "Filling up the tank" is easy with a level 2 charger at home and not having to stop at gas stations is a joy.

Pros
Inexpensive, reliable, responsive, quiet, fun to drive, flexible

Cons
Small, not suited for long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LARA G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/12/2020
Eco friendly and a blast to drive!
I love my 2019 Hyundai Ioniq and I tell all of the nurses, nurse pracitioners and doctors I work with about how much I love it! It is fun to drive, gets 50-60mph consistently, and makes me feel good driving something which is more ecofriendly than a lot of other cars on the road. There is no downside to driving this car, the handling is snappy, it is low to the ground and lightweight so it just cuts through the air like a knife through butter. I highly recommend this car!

Pros
good gas mileage
fun to drive
sharp looking car

Cons
Artificial leather too thin on the steering wheel and the shifter,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 353 in total