2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(234 Reviews)
Latest review 25 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/24/2019
Agile little EV, extremely fun to drive
Terrific, much more fun than I expected, I am very pleased with this lease. Performs fine in bad winter weather with Michelin XICE I3 winter tires, very quiet and smooth ride, but agile performer when needed.

Pros
Super fun to drive!

Cons
Cabin quality could be a bit higher.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
STEPHEN H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Love this Car!
I love this car. It is great not only because of the economy, but for the overall form and function as well. Came out of a Mustang convertible and this one is just as fun to drive. More fun in Sport mode!! Feels good to get AMAZING gas mileage while still having fun behind the wheel.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CAROL M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Loyal Hyundai Owner
I have been buying Hyundai's for 20+ years, and couldn't wait for them to come out with a Hybrid model with decent gas mileage. I purchased a brand new 2019 Ioniq and am so pleased with my purchase. Hyundai has the best warranty and the fact that I get around 50 miles to the gallon with my vehicle makes me very happy! I have always had great luck with my Hyundai cars and hope this purchase does not disappoint me. I wish the Hyundai dealerships in this area would do a better job of marketing the Ioniq. I always walk the Hyundai dealership floor when getting my cars serviced, and have never seen an Ioniq on the showroom floor. If I had not done research on hybrids, I would not have know the Ioniq existed. Hyundai please do a better marketing job on this amazing car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Morgan D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Great car.
I love this car! I enjoy driving it. There's plenty of room for all my stuff. Great gas milage,....,.........................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!###########################$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Cons
Front bumper is a little low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
George H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Trouble free!
I have driven this car 25000 miles and never had a problem. I have owned three Hyundai cars and feel them are a very reliable vehicle. The mileage is great, most people can't believe the mileage. 650 mile on a tank!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THOMAS M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
EVs Will Take Over
This is my first Hyundai and I am very pleasantly surprised. The overall impression is very positive and I will consider purchasing another. This is my first electric vehicle and I am extremely impressed. As a retired electrical engineer with solar panels on my house I understand the advantages and disadvantages of an electric motor over an internal combustion engine. Now that I have one I am convinced they will replace ICE if given proper incentives to encourage adoption. The world needs more of these.

Pros
Solid sporty responsive comfortable (for a small person) wonderful to drive

Cons
Split rear window interferes with rear visibility. Rear seats don't fold flat reducing overhead clearance for storage. Front black shiny 'grille' could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
TAMMY G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Great car.
This car is fun to drive. Perfect size, easy to drive and get into parking spaces. With a few little changes, the car would be perfect. I enjoy driving the car. The size of the car is perfect. A nice amount of legroom in the back seat area.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CQ
CINDY Q.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
This one is a keeper
If you’re looking for value, peace of mind, and a great hybrid all around, look no further than the Ioniq. I am confident that this car will take me well into the 300,000 miles range for a very pleasurable experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOANNE M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
Ionic
Sales people were good, but they did not emphasize how different a first electric is from gas cars. I really had to read the manual. One big complaint: the navigation destination programing is very difficult to use. I find I am using my cell phone and wished the car system was as easy to use.

Pros
I LOVE the space to put my purse between the front seats.
Great leg room front and back.
Once I figure out how the use the destination directions the car will be perfect.
Not old enough for a reasonable reliability report.

Cons
Hard to get used to the bar across the back window.
Setting the destination driving directions is nearly impossible to use. I tried several times and still have trouble.
Would love a little more battery power, I can just make it to my daughter's house and back home on a full charge. Not sure if I could if I ran into heavy stop and go traffic on the interstate.
Bar across back window is distracting and hard to get used to.
Windshield was streaky after the dealer detailed the car before driving it off the lot and I still can not remove all the streaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Margaret C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/13/2019
A dude on mpg.
I was told the car would give 55 mpg hyw and 54 city. It has not even been close. Very disappointed for the money spent. I should have bought a VW. A 300 Chrysler has all the features for less money. No one has any answers on why the gas mileage is so bad. I was told the Elantra is getting better mpg than the Ionic. It is sad when a dealership can’t or won’t stand behind what is printed on the paper they put out to the public. Folks this is just my experience yours might be better. Ask a lot of questions before you sign and maybe a little proof.

Pros
It’s a nice car except for the mpg.

Cons
Terrible gas mileage!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kathryn G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2019
Hyundai 2019 Ioniq10
Overall very happy with vehicle. Is easy to drive and can understand the maintenance book. Media instructions are a bit confusing. Wish rear window were easier to see out of and that there was less road noise.

Pros
Gas Mileage

Cons
Loud road noise
Not easy to see out rear window

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DAVID F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/10/2019
Good value for PHEV
I have a 30 mile round trip commute to work and the battery/EV mode allows me to use no gas during the months of the year where I don't need to turn on the heat. It is enjoyable during the warmer months to see 999mpg during my work commutes. Charges overnite on 110V in garage. During the winter months, when I turn on the heat, the gas engine fires up and I then get around 80-200mpg (depending on how I set the heater temp), typically 120 or so. Overall this is a good car. With the rear seats folded down, I can fit my mountain bike with the front wheel removed into the hatchback - very important to me. I enjoy the ride, especially in EV mode, and a bit less so when the gas engine kicks in due to the engine noise. I prefer this cars styling as compared to the Prius Prime, as well as the transmission/shifting points. This is my first hybrid and PHEV and it was a good value. I hope it won't cost alot to repair in the years ahead, since it is not a high volume vehicle.

Pros
EV range is good for my commute
Hatchback/trunk is spacious
Buttons/knobs for most controls
Value for the money

Cons
Heater requires gas engine
Gas engine, tire and road noise a bit prominent
ECO mode is a bit too sluggish, would prefer another choice between ECO and Sport.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jack W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/10/2019
first Hyundai
I've owned several Toyota's over the years. This is my first Hyundai. I chose it for my next new car because it offered more options and a much better warranty than Toyota. After the purchase I found more things that the Hyundai has over the Toyota.

Pros
Better warranty. More power, great getting on the highway. More useful features. Summer mileage better than Toyota Prius C.

Cons
Needs more interior storage areas. Winter/cold weather mileage worse than Toyota Prius C. Driver seat uncomfortable on long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DANNY K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
2019 Ioniq
Very satisfied so far. ***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Pros
Fuel economy, fun to drive.

Cons
Entry, exit height.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STACEY S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
Ioniq hybrid
The Ioniq has surpassed my expectations. Gas mileage and reliability have been excellent. It handles quite well in dry, wet, and frozen conditions. No experience how it handles in snow, yet. The hands free aspect is beneficial.

Pros
Gas Mileage, and handling

Cons
Loud on the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ALAN S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Ioniq Plugin Hybrid
I really like my new Ioniq, I'm glad we bought it, it is great for the around town driving I do. Most of my daily driving is less than 30 miles, so I use only the electric engine. I like not using fuel as one small way to work toward helping reduce my contributions to climate change.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Stephen L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2019
A fun car to drive.
Great value for an EV. So much fun to drive. The smart cruise control is great for long commute with lots of stop and go. Charging with level-1 is sufficient most of time. Many level-2 charging stations available everywhere.

Pros
The smart cruise control is great for long commute with lots of stop and go.

Cons
A choice of large wheel size would be great

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Gloria P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/04/2019
Died within 1 month, fixed within 2 weeks.
That said, I love my Ioniq. I was disappointed with the fact the battery management system failed within a month of buying the car, but it has now been fixed and I do love my mileage! The dealership that I took it for service was great, they gave me a loaner and I was charged nothing.

Pros
Again, love the mileage! I like the sport mode when I need a little more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Donald R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2019
Poor MPG
I bought the IONIQ based on the MPG of 54/ 55 city/ highway driving. The IONIQ was driven well within the economy driving indicator and only got city/ highway MPG 47/ 48. If your main reason for buying an IONIQ is MG you need to be aware of this..

Pros
The car is a good value for the money.

Cons
The vehicle MPG is not as good as stated in advertisement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Service Rental T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2019
Great Car
I love my new Hyundai. It gets great gas mileage and looks very sporty. It's the perfect size for me and the price was right. I love my Hyundai dealerership (Tuscaloosa Hyundai) as well. They have the best warranty in the business and the entire staff is great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 234 in total