2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(159 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NH
NANCY H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2019
Love the drive, feel, mpg and the tech!
The car is fun to drive. I love the blind side beeper, all the tech and how the car feels when driving. It has enough pep and so quite. I work 56miles from home and drive daily! Only have to fill up weekly and cost is low!

Pros
Body style, the wireless charging, mpg and comfort!

Cons
Only con is my Android auto override usb is too sensitive but honestly think its my cable that makes me lose connection often.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
THOMAS F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2019
As Advertised and More
We purchased this vehicle mostly due to its all-electric driving for daily in-city commutes. Full charges take care of most of our daily driving needs, but it's nice to know that when longer drive times are needed, the hybrid mode delivers. The gas engine was surprisingly powerful for a hybrid vehicle. Overall, we couldn't be happier with our Hyundai Ioniq.

Pros
Obviously fantastic gas mileage. Not many of these cars on the road, so it's still a very unique car that turns heads (especially when driving in electric mode), which I like. Great quality and the best overall functions and accessories I could find out of all the car brands I researched.

Cons
Exterior styling is better than most electric cars, but still a little too non-sporty for my personal taste. A little difficult to see out of the rear window using the rearview mirror for a taller person (6' or over).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MICHAEL D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Ionia Review
This is my first Hybrid and I couldn’t be more satisfied. The Ionia is stylish, quiet, and most importantly it gets better mileage than advertised. This model advertised 59 highway, 58 city. I often get over 60 mpg.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JORDAN G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Hyundai Succeeds with the Ionic
As a traditional Prius owner I was impressed and happy to make the switch. I had a hard time believing I would get 54 mpg, but routinely do that and better on good weather days. Sport mode instead of brake mode gear transition took a bit to get used to, but now that I’m comfortable with it dang Sport mode is fun! Also can’t beat the iOS/Android CarPlay/Auto integration.

Pros
Gas mileage is best in class. Sport mode is super fun when initiation is timed right during acceleration. Ability to leverage iOS/Android apps and media is a plus.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ALISON G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
2019 Ioniq sel hybrid
My first ever new car and only because it is an Hyundai Ionic hybrid with a lifetime battery warranty, all of its SEL safety features, the promise of 55 mpg city and the practicality of a hatchback. I personally would not take the replacement battery cost risk with any other hybrid, new or used.
Bought extended warranties on top of already long warranties so as to not have any expensive repairs to a hybrid and the multitude of complex components that modern cars have today. Sept. rebates and a dealership sale made this safety equipped SEL within an obtainable and resonable price. Since this is to be a never to be traded purchase, and used Ioniqs can't obtain the brand new warranties, purchasing new was the most logical, as to piece of mind warranties.
My attractive looking gray Ioniq is about one month old, so not able to say much about gas mileage as still on first tank of gas. It says 53.7 but still have a third of a tank to go. Drive on mostly flat Florida roads. AC works great and is very quiet. Attractive interior but wish dash was all dark gray ( light reflects onto front glass). Also wish two tone seats were not light ivory in the middle.( for possible future visable smuges ). Prefer the seats softer for comfort but average comfort. Not sure if Hyundai could make the cabin quieter from road noises or if that would detract from gas milage.
Drives well and has all the modern tech. Wish the back seats would go down flat but still a lot of room being a hatchback. The bar in the middle of the hatch is what it is. I still feel safe with vision out the back . Good leg room front and back.
With all the safety features, this SEL costs far less than other hybrids that places most all of the safety features in the most expensive trims. Safety should not be tied to the most expensive trim, that most people can't afford !! Bravo Hyunda, they got that !! Heated leather seats, moon roofs, and the best tech sound system can be obtained in the highest trim if that is what you want.
Great tech on the dash and iphone/android compatable so you can use your phone on the screen with down loaded app. Wish phone visable map and music stick could be used at same time. Needs two ports instead of one. Maybe there is an adapter for that.
Couldn't wait on 2020 model, with a few more safety features and redesigned hood, because of trade in value and purchase price. The 2020 will be able to give pedestrian/bicyclists warnings. I will miss radar warnings of things in front of the car but love lane assist and smart cruise control that slows your car down and keeps pace, the rear cross alert and blind spot sounds and visuals. Hyundai packed a lot of value in the SEL trim. I recommend if you are interested in safe hybrid.

Pros
Safety - warranties- mpg 55 is promised - good tech - attractive

Cons
Needs a more soft, comfy seat. Glare from dash light color but bought a dash cover. Needs to include a spare donut tire ... Don't like an expensive tire patch kit. Doesn't protect from all tire issues. No piece of mind there...Bought a donut tire off ebay.
Would like a double area for android phone visable map and music stick.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARK B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
GREAT VALUE IN A HYBRID
I had a 2019 Ioniq for EXACTLY one year. I loved the car and I drove it 75 miles to/from work every day. It got GREAT mileage, and it did it without my having to be careful about stops and starts and driving in any unusual way at all. If I needed power, the Sport mode was easy to kick on and the car was as zippy as almost anything on the road that would not pass as a "muscle car." The infotainment system was easy to use, and low distraction to operate. In short, I'd buy another one in a minute. I have written this in the past tense because, sadly, I totaled the car about ten days ago. The new ones are not out yet, and the selection right now is non-existent, which is really a drag. But if you are thinking about a hybrid, you have GOT to at least test drive one. It has a TON of features you won't find on competition (paddle shifters, lane-keep assist, lane change warning if someone is in your blind spot, smart cruise control that slows you down if you are getting too close to the car ahead of you [like in rush hour traffic] (and you can adjust how far or near to the other cars is comfortable for you) are some examples.)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Javier S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
unbelievable value
Former Honda customer. After trying Hyundai, find it lot better than expected. This car beat his honda competitor the honda insight. Best value ever. Amazing drive, crazy efficient and decent power. Great everyday commute, perfect for daily work drive. Lot of gas saving with a low payment.

Pros
highly efficient, easy to drive

Cons
no cons for me
maybe too small for some people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
ALEXANDER K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
ionic-great gas mileage
This vehicle has great interior space for its class and the best gas mileage for any comparable hybrid (beats the honda and toyota gas mileage!) It is a perfect commuter family car. The looks are great, and the handling is decent.

Pros
great looks; great price for the product and what you get; great gas mileage

Cons
no lumbar adjustment for drivers seat in the base model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Larry L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
Beautiful high performing car
Amazing mpg and driving performance, beautiful styling, operate electric only for shorter drives, high tech safety and entertainment/ communication features. I purchased the limited with leather seats and many features. The warranty is unbeatable.

Pros
Amazing gas mileage, beautiful styling, nice driving performance, high tech safety and entertainment/ communication features. Unbeatable warranty.

Cons
Would prefer longer range on electrical charge

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LESLIE B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/15/2019
Overall Vehicle review
I wish the car had come with a spare tire, even if it cost more. The seats could be a bit softer. The vehicle definitely should have a CD player. The "tilt down" feature of the exterior mirrors when in reverse has already stopped working and I have less than 300 miles on the vehicle. I am disappointed with the gas mileage as compared to the 2017 Toyota Prius I traded in. The best mpg so far is 50.0 on the highway at a stady 65 mph and 45 mpg around town. This is a minimum of 10% less than my 2017 Toyota Prius, with the Prius getting around 60 mpg on the highway at a steady 70 mph. I was told by the dealer's ,mechanic that this will improve as the engine "breaks in".....we'll see. (I'm not too optimistic).

Pros
Overall I am satisfied with the vehicle (other than the few items I mention in the "cons" below). I really enjoy driving it.

Cons
No spare tire. No CD player. Lower MPG than expected. Seats are "harder" than my 2017 Toyota Prius. Less than 300 miles on the car and already the "turn down" feature of the exterior mirrors when in reverse has stopped working. The "turn by turn" navigation does not appear to work. The "swifel" headlights feature does not work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/13/2019
Still going well
I have over 25k miles now and MPGe is still going very well, which is the most important to me. Cold weather is approaching and as expected it is dropping a bit, but that is understandable. I have noticed some shifting concerns while slowly accelerating and had the shop investigate. They report no issues however it still seems to slip a bit between 3rd and 4th to me. Not a lot but it is noticeable to me. Most of the negative reports about this vehicle as far as road noise and restricted view are not as important to me as I feel it is a bit nit picky. Still on the original Michelin tires with good tread wear (I'm a Michelin Fan!) and I expect I will make it thru another season with these doing well.

Still a great car and I would still recommend!

Paul

Pros
Awesome mileage, great looks, Very reliable.

Cons
A bit concerned with the way it shifts after driving for 25K and some restricted rear view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MARGARET K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Sweet spot
Having happily driven Priuses for years, I was tempted by the PHEV Prius Prime but it looks so goofy. I liked the look of the 2019 Honda Insight, but wanted a PHEV. The Honda Clarity was not as good looking and a little bigger than I wanted. The PHEV Ionic had the right look and the right range - the 29 all electric range is usually all I need in a day and can recharge it on my home 110 line at night, so I haven't made a dent in the gas gauge in the month I've had the car. I got the 2nd highest trim level - no moonroof, no built-in navigation, but the Android Auto works great for navigation. Love the leather interior. I also love the left paddle that downshifts and provides any sudden acceleration you might temporarily need. That was a feature that I didn't comprehend until I got used to using it. It's part of the advantage of having a six-speed transmission rather than the CVT I was so used to in the Priuses I've owned. Also, the drivers seat adjustments including an excellent lumbar support also exceeded my expectatons, making the ride very comfortable.

Pros
Style, mileage. Range of 29 miles before a drop of gas is used, but also the range of 605 miles so there's never the range-anxiety you'd get with and all-electric vehicle. At the Limited trim level, the interior is just superb. It's a pleasure to drive, and I just get a kick out of plugging it into a 110 volt outlet at night and finding it fully charged the next morning.

Cons
Because of the lack of inventory of the PHEV Ioniqs at the trim level I wanted, I wound up paying top dollar, and the dealership knew they could refuse to give me a break because they could sell the car in a couple of days. I'd been to two other Hyundai dealerships that had told me on the phone that they had PHEV Ioniqs in stock and neither had any - they had the Hybrid and one had the EV, but no PHEVs. So I had to pay what they asked including the various extras and the extended warranty. But I did drive off with the car I wanted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Marilyn K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
A Great Vehicle
Even though it was difficult to find, we pursued and fortunately found the exact model, features and color. Engine is exceedingly quiet and runs very smoothly. There are no events where the car stalls or has difficulty starting. When I park the car, I have to keep looking at the dashboard display to see if the car is on or off.

Pros
Lots of head and leg room, interior comfort is extreme.

Cons
Interior door panels scratch easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KELLY H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/10/2019
Excellent Car, Excellent Price
This car is perfect for my needs and the price was excellent. I love having a 100% electric car. The fact that it came with several incentives was icing on the cake. The ride is smooth and I feel very virtuous when I drive it !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Luanne T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/10/2019
My "BLUE".
I feel like holding my head up a bit higher when driving "BLUE". She's beautiful. Her inner soul has 'all the latest' and she knows it! She wraps her arms around me, protects me, performs for me and is just fun to drive. Her fuel economy was what led me to her and since this is my second IONIQ, it's obvious what I think of her family!! Thanks to her parents for bringing her into my life!

Pros
fuel efficiency, newest technology, comfort, overall design.

Cons
UH --- can't think of any!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RONALD K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
I Love This Car!
For 20 years I wanted a Prius. I sold cars for Toyota in upstate New York when the Prius first came out and I wanted to be an early adapter. Well, it wasn't to be. Now that the kids are grown it's my turn to splurge on me! And I didn't hold back. I'd been watching the Prius in all its iterations drive down the street for many years and I thought for sure that I wanted the Prius Prime, so I started doing research. The more I researched the Prime, the more I kept coming across the Ionic. I had never heard of the Ionic but the more I read the more I was intrigued and the more I liked. When I learned that it was the highest mpg hybrid available and had been for 3 years running and that it came with a lifetime battery warranty to the original owner and that it has an IIHS Top Safety Pick, that was it! I had to drive it! So I headed to my local dealer, fell in love and now I own one! In Scarlet Red Pearl! Turns heads! Also, in Ohio at any rate, my Ionic is unique! Other than mine and the black version I also saw on the lot, I have only spied 2 other versions in my travels, both in white. So, at least around here, I feel like an early adapter and wave as I pass all my Hyundai cousins daily on the road. It is great to be part of the Hyundai family!

Pros
MPG. Hands down. Better than the Prius! Great safety features! On par if not better than Subaru!

Cons
Interior rattles at 2,500 miles. Rough idle also at 2,500 miles. Engine kicks in ay 1,500 rpm with a noticeable jolt. Too bad. I hope the shop can fix it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
My New Ioniq
I searched for 5 months to find a white exterior/beige interior with the ultimate package. I considered replacing my Elantra GT with a current model but did not like some of the changes (front grill design, Nav system mounted on top of dash & less stylish design). I saw the Ioniq at an Auto Show. My husband was reluctant to consider a hybrid until he did a test drive. The vehicle meets all my requirements and although my driving is more highway, reducing the fuel mileage below the stated mileage, the mileage is better than any vehicle I have owned.

Pros
Design of front grill, cargo space, Nav system integrated into dash instead of looking like an add-on, mileage range, hatchback

Cons
Fuel mileage on highway not as high as expected but more than any vehicle I have owned in the past, Ioniq ends in "Q" not "C" but every dealer pronounces as if ending in "C".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KELLY G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Love this beautiful car!
Many "Pros" very few "Cons" (see below). Plenty of room in the front and back seats for full grown men. Cup holders in front and back seats. Arm rests in front the back seats. Seat, music & media, adjustments are easy and accessible. Controls start on the steering wheel.

Pros
Sleek styling both inside and out. Bluetooth capabilities, heated seats (SEL), Great gas mileage (hybrid), Solid feeling car. Great handling, smooth ride. Has lane assist capabilities as well as back up camera and beeps when a car is passing behind. Also will start breaking if there is a car ahead and collision is possible.

Cons
May have a plastic back bumper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mary A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
It's a no brainer best around town mileage.
Drive between 40-50 mile a tank for gas could last 3 -3 1/2 weeks. Very comfortable. Smooth ride.plenty of space to carry things ( golf clubs, fishing gear, beach chairs ,cooler,towels,flip/flops.pails shovel )

Pros
Phenomenal gas mileage...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JOHN K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid SEL
Having driven model year 2000 or older cars for the last 25 years I am astounded by all the features available on new cars. The electronic safety and warning systems are very effective and will give me and others a little safety buffer as I enter geezerhood. Heated seats will be so nice this winter; I have used them sparingly so far but they start to warm up within 30 seconds and are very warm within a couple of minutes.

Calculated miles per gallon for the first few tanks of gas sits at 60 (USA gallons, not imperial gallons). I keep up with traffic, drive at the speed limit or slightly above, but drive without much vigor for increased mpg when there is nobody behind me. I expect the mpg to drop considerably this winter per online research.

Somehow photographs of the Ioniq do not do it justice. For quite a long time I put it on the bottom of my short list of potential purchases due to appearances. I was pleasantly surprised when I actually saw it. My outlook changed, I stsrted examining speciications more closely, read all the reviews I could find, then bought the car immediately after the first test drive.

Pros
Great mpg and mileage range between fill ups.
Very reasonably priced for a hybrid.
Fun and safe to drive.
Heated seats are a pleasure.
Blind spot monitoring, adapative cruise control, lane keep assist, cross traffic alert.

Cons
Does not come with a spare tire as standard, only an inflator and a container of 'goo".
Depending on the type of road surface there can be a lot of road noise above about 60 to 65 mph.
The tank mpg computer tends to be optimistic.
I wish the owner's manual was model trim specific; There is much extraneous inapplicable infornation that has to be interpreted, waded through, and ignored.
It could be my aging ears but I seem to be missing some of the depth of lower frequencies on the radio no matter how the tone is adjusted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 159 in total