2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(149 Reviews)
Latest review about 10 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PS
Paul S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/13/2019
Still going well
I have over 25k miles now and MPGe is still going very well, which is the most important to me. Cold weather is approaching and as expected it is dropping a bit, but that is understandable. I have noticed some shifting concerns while slowly accelerating and had the shop investigate. They report no issues however it still seems to slip a bit between 3rd and 4th to me. Not a lot but it is noticeable to me. Most of the negative reports about this vehicle as far as road noise and restricted view are not as important to me as I feel it is a bit nit picky. Still on the original Michelin tires with good tread wear (I'm a Michelin Fan!) and I expect I will make it thru another season with these doing well.

Still a great car and I would still recommend!

Paul

Pros
Awesome mileage, great looks, Very reliable.

Cons
A bit concerned with the way it shifts after driving for 25K and some restricted rear view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MARGARET K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Sweet spot
Having happily driven Priuses for years, I was tempted by the PHEV Prius Prime but it looks so goofy. I liked the look of the 2019 Honda Insight, but wanted a PHEV. The Honda Clarity was not as good looking and a little bigger than I wanted. The PHEV Ionic had the right look and the right range - the 29 all electric range is usually all I need in a day and can recharge it on my home 110 line at night, so I haven't made a dent in the gas gauge in the month I've had the car. I got the 2nd highest trim level - no moonroof, no built-in navigation, but the Android Auto works great for navigation. Love the leather interior. I also love the left paddle that downshifts and provides any sudden acceleration you might temporarily need. That was a feature that I didn't comprehend until I got used to using it. It's part of the advantage of having a six-speed transmission rather than the CVT I was so used to in the Priuses I've owned. Also, the drivers seat adjustments including an excellent lumbar support also exceeded my expectatons, making the ride very comfortable.

Pros
Style, mileage. Range of 29 miles before a drop of gas is used, but also the range of 605 miles so there's never the range-anxiety you'd get with and all-electric vehicle. At the Limited trim level, the interior is just superb. It's a pleasure to drive, and I just get a kick out of plugging it into a 110 volt outlet at night and finding it fully charged the next morning.

Cons
Because of the lack of inventory of the PHEV Ioniqs at the trim level I wanted, I wound up paying top dollar, and the dealership knew they could refuse to give me a break because they could sell the car in a couple of days. I'd been to two other Hyundai dealerships that had told me on the phone that they had PHEV Ioniqs in stock and neither had any - they had the Hybrid and one had the EV, but no PHEVs. So I had to pay what they asked including the various extras and the extended warranty. But I did drive off with the car I wanted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Marilyn K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
A Great Vehicle
Even though it was difficult to find, we pursued and fortunately found the exact model, features and color. Engine is exceedingly quiet and runs very smoothly. There are no events where the car stalls or has difficulty starting. When I park the car, I have to keep looking at the dashboard display to see if the car is on or off.

Pros
Lots of head and leg room, interior comfort is extreme.

Cons
Interior door panels scratch easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KELLY H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/10/2019
Excellent Car, Excellent Price
This car is perfect for my needs and the price was excellent. I love having a 100% electric car. The fact that it came with several incentives was icing on the cake. The ride is smooth and I feel very virtuous when I drive it !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Luanne T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/10/2019
My "BLUE".
I feel like holding my head up a bit higher when driving "BLUE". She's beautiful. Her inner soul has 'all the latest' and she knows it! She wraps her arms around me, protects me, performs for me and is just fun to drive. Her fuel economy was what led me to her and since this is my second IONIQ, it's obvious what I think of her family!! Thanks to her parents for bringing her into my life!

Pros
fuel efficiency, newest technology, comfort, overall design.

Cons
UH --- can't think of any!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RONALD K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
I Love This Car!
For 20 years I wanted a Prius. I sold cars for Toyota in upstate New York when the Prius first came out and I wanted to be an early adapter. Well, it wasn't to be. Now that the kids are grown it's my turn to splurge on me! And I didn't hold back. I'd been watching the Prius in all its iterations drive down the street for many years and I thought for sure that I wanted the Prius Prime, so I started doing research. The more I researched the Prime, the more I kept coming across the Ionic. I had never heard of the Ionic but the more I read the more I was intrigued and the more I liked. When I learned that it was the highest mpg hybrid available and had been for 3 years running and that it came with a lifetime battery warranty to the original owner and that it has an IIHS Top Safety Pick, that was it! I had to drive it! So I headed to my local dealer, fell in love and now I own one! In Scarlet Red Pearl! Turns heads! Also, in Ohio at any rate, my Ionic is unique! Other than mine and the black version I also saw on the lot, I have only spied 2 other versions in my travels, both in white. So, at least around here, I feel like an early adapter and wave as I pass all my Hyundai cousins daily on the road. It is great to be part of the Hyundai family!

Pros
MPG. Hands down. Better than the Prius! Great safety features! On par if not better than Subaru!

Cons
Interior rattles at 2,500 miles. Rough idle also at 2,500 miles. Engine kicks in ay 1,500 rpm with a noticeable jolt. Too bad. I hope the shop can fix it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
My New Ioniq
I searched for 5 months to find a white exterior/beige interior with the ultimate package. I considered replacing my Elantra GT with a current model but did not like some of the changes (front grill design, Nav system mounted on top of dash & less stylish design). I saw the Ioniq at an Auto Show. My husband was reluctant to consider a hybrid until he did a test drive. The vehicle meets all my requirements and although my driving is more highway, reducing the fuel mileage below the stated mileage, the mileage is better than any vehicle I have owned.

Pros
Design of front grill, cargo space, Nav system integrated into dash instead of looking like an add-on, mileage range, hatchback

Cons
Fuel mileage on highway not as high as expected but more than any vehicle I have owned in the past, Ioniq ends in "Q" not "C" but every dealer pronounces as if ending in "C".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KELLY G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Love this beautiful car!
Many "Pros" very few "Cons" (see below). Plenty of room in the front and back seats for full grown men. Cup holders in front and back seats. Arm rests in front the back seats. Seat, music & media, adjustments are easy and accessible. Controls start on the steering wheel.

Pros
Sleek styling both inside and out. Bluetooth capabilities, heated seats (SEL), Great gas mileage (hybrid), Solid feeling car. Great handling, smooth ride. Has lane assist capabilities as well as back up camera and beeps when a car is passing behind. Also will start breaking if there is a car ahead and collision is possible.

Cons
May have a plastic back bumper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mary A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
It's a no brainer best around town mileage.
Drive between 40-50 mile a tank for gas could last 3 -3 1/2 weeks. Very comfortable. Smooth ride.plenty of space to carry things ( golf clubs, fishing gear, beach chairs ,cooler,towels,flip/flops.pails shovel )

Pros
Phenomenal gas mileage...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JOHN K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid SEL
Having driven model year 2000 or older cars for the last 25 years I am astounded by all the features available on new cars. The electronic safety and warning systems are very effective and will give me and others a little safety buffer as I enter geezerhood. Heated seats will be so nice this winter; I have used them sparingly so far but they start to warm up within 30 seconds and are very warm within a couple of minutes.

Calculated miles per gallon for the first few tanks of gas sits at 60 (USA gallons, not imperial gallons). I keep up with traffic, drive at the speed limit or slightly above, but drive without much vigor for increased mpg when there is nobody behind me. I expect the mpg to drop considerably this winter per online research.

Somehow photographs of the Ioniq do not do it justice. For quite a long time I put it on the bottom of my short list of potential purchases due to appearances. I was pleasantly surprised when I actually saw it. My outlook changed, I stsrted examining speciications more closely, read all the reviews I could find, then bought the car immediately after the first test drive.

Pros
Great mpg and mileage range between fill ups.
Very reasonably priced for a hybrid.
Fun and safe to drive.
Heated seats are a pleasure.
Blind spot monitoring, adapative cruise control, lane keep assist, cross traffic alert.

Cons
Does not come with a spare tire as standard, only an inflator and a container of 'goo".
Depending on the type of road surface there can be a lot of road noise above about 60 to 65 mph.
The tank mpg computer tends to be optimistic.
I wish the owner's manual was model trim specific; There is much extraneous inapplicable infornation that has to be interpreted, waded through, and ignored.
It could be my aging ears but I seem to be missing some of the depth of lower frequencies on the radio no matter how the tone is adjusted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHELSEA S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
Great MPG. Fun & stylish.
Recall you like the way the car handles. Purchased for an hour long commute. Getting incredible gas mileage and the car is fun to drive. I wish I could have bought the model with sunroof and heated seats as I miss this from my last vehicle but this is a great commuter car so far. Handles well and the apple CarPlay is great.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Stylish and fun to drive.

Cons
Lumbar support. No blue link capability on the hybrid blue model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GEORGE C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
New Ioniq SEL 2019
Bought new. Pleased with fuel efficiency, style and performance of vehicle. Price range was also good. Dealership was helpful with purchasing of new vehicle and offered any assistance necessary. To meet my needs. Programs available to purchase was nice too.

Pros
Fuel efficiency.

Cons
Going up hills power transitions hard on engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Ebosh H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
Best plugin hybrid on the market
I was shocked at how nice the vehicle was for the price. I never considered Hyundai until a friend told me to drive one. After days of online research a couldn’t find a reason not to buy this vehicle.

Pros
Fuel economy and no range anxiety

Cons
Cabin could use some better noise canceling technology

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Luciene S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
Incredible car
This is my first hybrid vehicle and I am just so thrilled with the performance, although I haven’t been able to achieve 55mpg, my average is 48 mpg. I love the sport mode option and the engine performance, this car is very comfortable and quiet, easy to get used to it even for someone who used to drive a suv before!
Trunk has a lot space, I do wish it opened automatically!
Overall this car is amazing, I am very satisfied with it and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a hybrid.

Pros
Very comfortable and economical

Cons
I never been able to get 55mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MICHAEL W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2019
Love my 2019 Ioniq Plug-in Hybrid
I'm pleased with my decision to buy the 2019 Ioniq Plug-in. It was a long wait for me, as this was the first dealer acquired Ioniq PHEV in Texas. It's comfortable, looks great and has fantastic mileage. So far, 60% of my driving is EV on battery power. With slightly more battery range, this could increase up to 70-80%. I'm pleased with the additional safety features in the car. The audio & navigation systems is easy to use, intuitive, and better than other vehicles in our household.

Pros
Great mileage and efficiency
A lot of driving on battery
Looks great
Excellent storage in the hatchback
Easy to use audio and navigation system

Cons
Feels a bit small compared with SUV & trucks on Texas roads
Road noise is a bit high at highway speeds and engine running
Rear mirror and window took some getting accustomed to the view

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
NESTOR H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2019
Amazing fun car
This is a fun car to drive. It has smart cruise control, lane assistant, back up camera, bluetooth, saves tons of gas, and drives smoothly. The audio is not that great and there could be more leg room but other than that the car is amazin.

Pros
Saves a lot of gas

Cons
Sound system could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAVID G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/28/2019
Garmendia Ioniq
Love the improvements made to your hybrid. Also very impressed with electronic options thru computer.
Miss having on board gps though. Also miss panoramic sky roof, not sure if it was available with Ioniq.

Pros
Hybrid and great mileage ,Wow!

Cons
No Jack and spare provided in initial cost!
No cargo cover provided or included with the vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Rickey K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/27/2019
Like and dislikes
Like - gas mileage/ quality feel/ overall has a nice ride with decent power/ base blue doesn't seem to lots to offer.
Dislike - maybe it's my imagination, but it seems as the outside temp goes up my average gas mileage goes down, 100 degrees avg 42-44, 90 degrees 46-49, 80 degrees 50-52, 70 degrees 52-54, why????
Would be nice to have a manual trip mileage/ back seat center arm rest with cup holders/ auto passenger window.
When making a u-turn has a jerky feel, like the wheels aren't adjusting to the turn.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOHN F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
Is This Really a Hybrid?
This car drives and handles like a quality small sports car. I was shocked at how fun this car is to drive. It is quick, responsive, tight around corners and will easily take you into triple digits on the speedometer! Every day I drive it and forget that its supposed to be a fuel efficient hybrid until I pull into the gas station and spend $25 dollars to see a range of over 600 miles on the display. Since purchasing this car I have averaged 55 mpg without trying to drive it fuel efficiently.

Pros
Not a Prius, very fuel efficient, fun to drive

Cons
Ugly wheels

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BRADLEY G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
Love this car!
Great car with excellent gas mileage.For it averages 54-58 miles per gallon. Very quiet with minimal road noise. So quiet you forget if the car is running. Great purchase for us with the amount of driving that we do.

Pros
Very quiet, great gas mileage, sporty look to it and comfortable. Love the touch screen radio with all the features. Steering wheel controls are easy to use. Pretty roomy for passengers in the back and trunk space is a good size. Suspension is great, you don't feel a lot of the bumps on the road.

Cons
Not a big fan of the plastic hub caps. Planning to switch them out to some nice rims.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 149 in total