Business Solutions

2013 Jeep Patriot

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(12 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(12 Reviews)

MF
gravatar
MICHAEL F.
2013 Jeep Patriot
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/01/2021
Verified Review

Quirky, Underpowered, Surprisingly Economical

This Jeep is an oddball, if you are too, you’ll learn to love it. I have the freedom drive one model with the big four cylinder engine. Not gonna lie, some things about it bug me sometimes, but overall, I like it. What you’ve got to understand is this Jeep comes with a learning curve. In ways, the engineering of it is brilliant towards safety and economy, but the trade off is you sacrifice power. For example, in Auto mode D, the way the ECU, ETC, and CVT interact results in some very noticeable throttle lag off the line; and often, before you get the feel of this drive by wire system, the car seems to not know what gear it should be in at low speeds around a threshold of 2500 RPM. A lot of transmissions have been needlessly replaced multiple times in these for that, which – upside –makes buying one of these used super cheap. Now here’s the deal, learning to drive the way this Jeep makes you in Auto is all about fuel economy. Range isn’t bad considering you’ve got 4WD, and a 14gal fuel tank. Now here’s the real deal, you don’t get a touchscreen or Bluetooth, and you can’t tow more than half a ton, but you do get a capable small SUV with 4WD, traction control, and good safety features where it counts. You don’t get a button that gives you a sport or performance mode, but here’s real beauty of this Jeep, you get Auto Stick. Acceleration lagging? winding road? climbing in too high a gear? Use the most underutilized and underrated feature in recent vehicle history and downshift, shift like a manual, then switch back to D to cruise and save fuel whenever that makes sense again. Tripping about the feel of how freedom drive assigns more or less power to the front or rear diffs on the fly? Go full 4WD. You’ve got a lever for that. Think your ETC’s got you stuck in a rut? Push a button and try turning it off. Other than that, the only thing that might freak you out if it’s over 90 degrees outside and you’re driving over 90MPH for a couple hours, your tranny overheat warning light is gonna come on and your Jeep will go into limp mode until you pull over and let it cool off so you don’t kill it. So, short version, underpowered, but also underrated. If you’re a daily driver and a dirt roader, it’s a good Jeep. Read the manual, dig the balance of benefits and drawbacks, and have fun pushing this Jeep’s limitations. If you’re a rock crawler get something else.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
LESLIE L.
2013 Jeep Patriot
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2021
Verified Review

Jeep Patriot 20q3

100 k and she runs like she did when I drove her off the dealer's lot! No problems with anything at all. I will drive her until her wheels fall off...and then I will just buy her 4 more! This car is a champion and a workhorse. I am proud that she's an American!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MF
gravatar
MICHAEL F.
2013 Jeep Patriot
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/14/2020
Verified Review

I like it.

It's nothing too fancy, but a good car. Better than most people give it credit for. Just how I like it. Good economy, utility, and 4WD. The CVT takes some getting used to, but you learn to appreciate it for the fuel savings, and I love the autostick. Repair, maintenance, and overall cost of ownership is low. It's all I really need.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JP
gravatar
James P.
2013 Jeep Patriot
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/10/2020
Verified Review

Terrible Jeep

Not a real jeep..front wheel drive..no power..plus hit a deer at like 5mph and front disintegrated..Ive owned jeep Cherokee and grand Cherokees before ..awesome..not this lump of turd. Do not buy one of these.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TC
gravatar
THOMAS C.
2013 Jeep Patriot
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2019
Verified Review

Her name is “Pat” for short. She rides on rails in any kind of weather. Traction guaranteed. Peace of mind!!?

OIIIIIO beep!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OIIIIIO beep!!!! Only Jeep owners know the durability and the traditional aspect of our American Jeep..It’s a lifestyle..we are family!!!! OIIIIIIO Beep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SS
gravatar
STEVEN S.
2013 Jeep Patriot
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2018
Verified Review

Jeep Patriot Review

This is my second Jeep Patriot and this one now has 96,000 miles. There have not been any issues with my car except for normal maintenance. It will need new brakes and so on but these items are expected for a car that reaches 100,000 miles. This car has been very reliable and my two Spanish Mastiffs can fit in the back with no problem.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PB
gravatar
PAMALA B.
2013 Jeep Patriot
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/13/2017

Jeep Girl forever

This is my second jeep and I am still sold on Jeep - in the city or in the woods. They are well-built, stylish, and comfortable. I am especially glad that the Patriot is a less expensive option with the same kind of quality (doesn't have 4WD just AWD). Only complaint is the electronic throttle occasionally acts up - like it is stuck - and cuts the power. I believe this to be a case of something needing a cleaning so it won't stick. Also when you turn on the key (don't start the engine) and let it cycle thru the checks and lites go out, then start it - this issue doesn't happen as often. Something between the gas peddle and the throttle can be wonky.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PB
gravatar
PAMALA B.
2013 Jeep Patriot
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/13/2017

FIRST TIME JEEP OWNER

I have always wanted a Jeep and finally bought one. 2013 Jeep Patriot Sport. This is the low-end entry into the world of Jeep. Buyers need to be aware, this Sport package doesn't have all the bells and whistles (electronics, WiFi, electric anything, keyless entry, etc.), but that's OK with me (who can't roll down their own window?). Going to detail it this weekend (inside and out) - can't wait. I am a Jeep girl now. Next time - 4WD here I come.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
RUSS P.
2013 Jeep Patriot
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/14/2016

It creaks when it is hot.

Not very quiet. So far it has been dependable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DY
gravatar
DUDLEY Y.
2013 Jeep Patriot
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/07/2016

Great auto

No problems. Would buy another.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KP
gravatar
Kelli P.
2013 Jeep Patriot
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2016

Jeep Patriot

I LOVE MY JEEP! I could not be any happier. I feel very safe driving it and I like the height it sits. Easy in and out, a lot of room for carrying things. I will never own anything else, Except maybe one of the new ford x sports cars, but I don't think I could get out of it so I will stick with my Jeep!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KA
gravatar
KAREN A.
2013 Jeep Patriot
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2015

Love my JEEP

Have had it for only a few months. But love it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 12 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2416 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12408 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores