Business Solutions

2006 Mazda Mazda5

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(14 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(14 Reviews)

FH
gravatar
FREDERIC H.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2021
Verified Review

Still Love my 15 year old car!

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned. It has 152,000 miles on it. I won’t ever sale it! It is fun to drive like a sports car, a lot of get up and go, gets good gas mileage, sits lower to the ground, seats 6 people and back 4 seats fold flat so you can haul lots of items in it. I just absolutely love driving it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
JOHN C.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2020
Verified Review

Just the right size.

Just the right size whether around town or on a trip. Can carry 6 as long the third row folks are smaller. Good fuel economy but wish it had the 5 speed automatic, which came later. Also the little larger engine, 2.5 Lt. which also came later.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ZI
gravatar
ZOE I.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2020
Verified Review

I love this car! It has been one of the best cars I have ever owned. It gets great mileage and is able to carry the loads whether it is deliveries for my customers or transporting things for myself or my family.

Great car, great mileage, comfortable ride, surprisingly large cargo area to carry people or products, the third row of seats are also comfortable. Too bad Mazda decided to stop making the car because I am still considering looking for a 2015 online to buiy as my replacement for this 2006 that I have enjoyed so much.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MW
gravatar
Mark W.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/07/2020
Verified Review

Beats itself up

Very basic car w plenty of headroom. Dependable as long as I stay on top of every repair need. W the car “off at college”, it’s a very conscious repair topic every month. My concern: Very stiff suspension combined w low profile tires = loud road noise, but more importantly the transferred vibration up thru the chassis has taken a slow toll on the car in general. Perfect for maybe retired “around town” short use stuff. “Normal” commute; I have to figure in monthly repair costs way beyond my Toyotas in our livery.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CA
gravatar
CHERYL A.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2020
Verified Review

I love my mazda5

My Mazda is a great vehicle. I love the exterior and interior designs. It is very gas friendly and it fits most of my kiddies. It is great for little people and easy to maneuver inside. I know it is considered a van but a smaller stylish one to me. Thank you.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DL
gravatar
DEBRA L.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/26/2019
Verified Review

I love My Love my Mazda 5

There are some areas I wish I could upgrade. My GPS has the old flip screen with DVD connected in glove compartment. No way to upgrade this system. I have looked around and last dealer quoted my $2.000 to upgrade. They were not even willing to look and see if it was possible.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EW
gravatar
ERIK W.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/08/2019
Verified Review

Best car my wife and I have ever owned.

It’s taken us across the country and even trekked up a mountain, with snow chains, in a snow blizzard, while full sized trucks were stuck on the side of the road. Our kids grew up with it and because of the sliding doors, saved many cars parked next to us from door dings. Great, reliable family automobile. It just hit 100,00 miles and we just replaced the motor mounts. Besides that we have only had to fix the thermostat. That’s it. It’s not a minivan, it’s a sports wagon.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GM
gravatar
GEORGE M.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/03/2019
Verified Review

Zoom, zoomed!

Great car, mine is a 5 speed and engine is very strong. Driven it thru mountain and twisted roads and handles great very responsive steering and out handles most cars its class. Like Mazda says “Driver and car as one” as a horse rider. All my cars been a Mazda from a Miata, 1988 5 sp MX-6, Protege and now a Mazda 5. Great cars! Nothing else will do! I drove the MX-6,to 424k miles over a 25 year period with regular maintenance without any engine problems or major repairs. I decided to retire it and get a newer car. Zoom, zoom!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
DIERDE H.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/01/2018
Verified Review

Mazda 5 Reliable

Bought car new 2006 manual drive. Have 163,000 miles on original engine at present. Family car, roomy- seats fold down for Home Depot projects and dogs. Son borrowed Mazda and drove it across USA and back again to Calif. He saved money- folded down seats and slept in the back. Car engine is tough, and durable. However one major detail we overlooked is it’s safety record. The breaks are mediocre, so not a car if you want tight drive performance. It has been reliable, fun to drive with its manual drive, but next car will have a better safety record.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
DIERDE H.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/18/2018
Verified Review

Not safe

My 2006 Mazda 5 has a great and dependable engine, however after recently reading about the safety of this vehicle, I would have never bought it. The steering is squirly and it tracks every groove in the road- told by dealer this is typical for this car. It’s been great for large loads- roomy. Check out the crash tests,.... not good. Safety testing is lacking. It’s now 2028- car still runs great, Mazda engines are great. Check out Mazda 3 crash tests- very good.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EA
gravatar
Eric A.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2017

Great car

Love it and it's reliable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CO
gravatar
CATHY O.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/14/2016

My Mazda 2006

It has over 163,000 miles on it. I had hoped for 50,000 more. Runs about 26 MPG but rust is eating away at the frame - and claiming its back flanks as well.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GS
gravatar
GARY S.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/22/2016

Big disappointment

I made the mistake of buying the first model year sold in the US. This car has been nothing but problems since we got it in February 2006. First problem, the front and rear bushings weren't designed for US upper midwest winters. The cold and road salt caused the bushings to deteriorate. And the factory replacements didn't solve the problem. We had the bushings replaced each year of the four years the car was under factory warranty. In the fifth year a local mechanic recommended a high performance aftermarket bushing. We had both front and rear bushings replaced with the aftermarket, they are still on the car six years later. Remote start wouldn't work in cold weather. Struts had to be replaced sooner than expected. One was covered under warranty, the other had to replace out of warranty.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DF
gravatar
DAVE F.
2006 Mazda Mazda5
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/25/2015

2005 Mazda5

Great vehicle for my needs. Enough space, great handling, and decent mileage.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 14 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
  • Car Maintenance
Mr. Mazda
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(347 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Maintenance
All Auto & Truck Specialists
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(909 Reviews)

  • New Car Dealer
  • Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Towne Mazda
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2134 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(5) ReScores

Mazda
Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5
(0 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Oil Change
  • Auto Repair
Saddleback Cars
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(134 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • European Auto Repair
Baxter's Automotive
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(398 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Maintenance
Paradise Auto Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(541 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Transmission Repair
  • Auto Repair
Cabena's Japanese Auto Care
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(706 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Oil Change
Orient Auto Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(169 Reviews)

  • Import Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
  • Auto Repair
Sullivans Two Unlimited
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(684 Reviews)