Business Solutions

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5
4.1
(7 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5
4.1
(7 Reviews)

OR
gravatar
Oleg R.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/17/2022
Verified Review

Too many factory defects!

Gear box and clutch are inadequate. Break calipers are subpar. Timing sensors are not robust. Undercarriage significantly underperforms Toyota and Honda in terms of rust. Engine too powerful for gear box, clutch and cv joints. Requires recalculation of all forces and subsequently parts adequacy, Some parts are extremely difficult to repair (sway bar bushings, lower control arms) as access is restricted by engine. Air cabin filter is super difficult to replace. Air filter cap does not seal off air ducts appropriately. Light bulb replacement is inordinately difficult. Maintenance is expensive. Great engine nonetheless. Very practical and versatile vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

OR
gravatar
Oleg R.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/26/2021
Verified Review

Great functionality / Major issues with reliability

In terms of functionality car is unmatched as all other options are either too big or lack versatility. In terms of reliability, already on 3rd clutch for this car, as it uses Mazda 2 and 3 clutch platform. In addition, the gear box was replaced under warranty. I have never had clutch problems with our manual VW or Honda. Rear suspension, struts and mounts, was replaced 3 times as it is not robust to handle the weight of Mazda 5. Air-conditioning compressor locked, blew the AC clutch, and subsequently the condenser and some of the piping. Break pads, regardless of brand or type ceramic or organic compound last no longer than 2 years. Already replaced the crankshaft sensor (around 89k) and the air intake sensor (105k). Fully replaced the exhaust pipes as the original fell off while driving on the highway.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WP
gravatar
WALTER P.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/18/2018
Verified Review

good car

I've had this car for 6 years now...only complaint is that the car rides low so when there are potholes or issues with the road it does affect the car more often...other than normal wear and tear, car is reliable...fits 6 comfortably...does not waste gas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EB
gravatar
Edward B.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2018
Verified Review

Mazda 5 2009 Touring

I love my car. I looked at many before purchase. I have owned a Mazda since 1984, they are fun cars to drive and own. Comfortable on trips. Important to me as an avid cyclist is that I can fit my bike or bikes inside. It is a fun car to drive. I pick my car over the wife's Honda Accord. I had a broken back and still have issues bending, the seat is easy in and out and just the right height . And comfortable . I will own it as long as I drive most likely. i don't care for the screens and other distractions on newer cars. I cycle more than I drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TM
gravatar
TRACI M.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2017
Verified Review

Amazing family car

I love the convenience of a 3rd row without the big size of a mini van/SUV. It is so easy to park and the gas mileage is amazing for a family car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PS
gravatar
PARBATTIE S.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2017

Running great

My husband love his mazda 5
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LM
gravatar
LEA ANN M.
2009 Mazda Mazda5
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/24/2016

Mazda 5 review

I love my Mazda 5. I'm disappointed that they aren't making anymore.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 7 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
  • Car Maintenance
Mr. Mazda
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(351 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Maintenance
All Auto & Truck Specialists
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(911 Reviews)

  • New Car Dealer
  • Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Towne Mazda
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2135 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(5) ReScores

Mazda
Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5
(0 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Oil Change
  • Auto Repair
Saddleback Cars
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(135 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • European Auto Repair
Baxter's Automotive
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(399 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Maintenance
Paradise Auto Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(541 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Transmission Repair
  • Auto Repair
Cabena's Japanese Auto Care
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(708 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Oil Change
Orient Auto Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(169 Reviews)

  • Import Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
  • Auto Repair
Sullivans Two Unlimited
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(686 Reviews)