Business Solutions

2012 Toyota Prius v

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(36 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(36 Reviews)

LW
gravatar
LINDA W.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/11/2022
Verified Review

I Love my 2012 Prius V

If Toyota made a newer model, I would buy a new version. This car went from coast to coast four times, plus other trips, served as a commuter vehicle (60 miles/day 4-days/wk), and now is my retirement vehicle. I plan on keeping it as long as possible with regular maintenance. There is nothing else like the Prius V on the market. It is a shame that Toyota dropped this excellent model - a wagon, not an SUV, for those of us who needed a little bit more space and good milage for not much more cost.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
JUDITH T.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/26/2021
Verified Review

100k miles

Those unexpected red lights shining on my dash were the first maintenance requirement with my Prius. I’ve replaced tires and the engine battery, but nothing serious. I think it is really a truck as it hauls lots of stuff. And gets good gas mileage.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LW
gravatar
LINDA W.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2021
Verified Review

I love my 2012 Prius V

My Prius V has taken me across the country four times, on several long-distance trips, and now carries me around town and visiting family and friends. this is such a great car - with extra storage in the back - a station wagon without the station wagon look.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TB
gravatar
Terri B.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/29/2021
Verified Review

Good Car

This has actually been a pretty good car, though Prius V's are no longer made and they had some issues with them. Ours is 12 yrs old with 140,000 miles and still runs great. The interior is in great shape and the paint job still looks good other than a few dings. This car has really good acceleration and handles very well. It does have a good bit of road noise but not terrible. Great gas mileage of course - probably around 40mpg. Since there is no transmission per se, there's fewer parts to repair or break. I actually enjoy driving the car and we plan to keep it till it is no longer practical to drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PS
gravatar
PAUL S.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/14/2021
Verified Review

I wish Toyota was still making this vehicle

Bought the car new in 2012. Toyota sent an update for the electronic screen system, proved they can update their software. But the overall software is so bad. Toyota will not update, but they can. I have to use my phone for GPS info. Also, will not connect with Android phone. Toyota stopped making because people bought less and less of this car. And toward the end they changed the design to be a ugly as the rest of the angry vehicles. So I though of buying an updated model but the design said NO! Because Toyota has gone to aggressive and weird looking cars, I wonder what brand of car I will replace my car with. If Toyota makes a beautiful version of the V in the near future, I would trade up!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TP
gravatar
THOMAS P.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2020
Verified Review

Just right for me.

I love the convenience of a wagon, with the tight driving feel of a much smaller car. I wanted a hybrid, so I went with the best. Prius V may not be the sexiest model, but it is as advertised, incredibly reliant, and fuel efficient (I average 50 mpg in the summer and 43 mpg in the winter with mostly highway driving). Bought the car used (2012) three years ago, have had no problems with it at all. I am sorry that they did discontinued the Prius V after 2017. Now you need a RAV 4 if you want a hybrid "wagon", which is no doubt fine, but not quite as fuel efficient, and a bigger "feel."
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CA
gravatar
CHRISTINE A.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2020
Verified Review

Prius V

This is my 2nd Prius V and I love this vehicle. I was heartbroken to learn that Toyota stopped making the Prius V so I'm just going to continue to use my current Prius V until Toyota recovers their smarts about this car and start making them again. This is the best vehicle whether you have a family or you just want to go camping or your family consists of dogs, this is an all around perfect vehicle with excellent gas mileage!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JOHN M.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/27/2020
Verified Review

Love — except for rodent-friendly soy-based plastic

Apparently, sometime around 2010 Toyota switched to more eco-friendly soy-based plastic for wiring insulation and HVAC components. Consequently, the rodents caused ~$5600 damage. Apart from that significant issue, we clove the mpg, comfort, capacity, and flexibility of the Prius V.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AW
gravatar
ALICE W.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2019
Verified Review

My Favorite Car Ever

I have driven lots of cars, even a Lexus RX350, but this is my favorite car ever. Not only don't I have to worry about gas as much, but it's actually bigger inside for passengers and has so much cargo room. One example - We were able to get 12' flashing strips inside the car and transported home. I runs beautifully - has been incredibly reliable. I keep waiting for the 6 passenger model - might have to get a Highlander, but I sure love my Prius.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AG
gravatar
Amy G.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/18/2019
Verified Review

Love this V

I was sorry to hear Toyota stopped production. 41 MPG and it is bigger than many of the small SUVs. The seats fold to make a huge cargo area. I hope to keep it for many more years. Neighbors bought one too after seeing mine.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EP
gravatar
ED P.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/28/2018
Verified Review

Love it except.....

We love it with the one issue we have...and I read others have as well. Its frustrating when the car does not start/fire up/connect????….whatever happens when we push the button is nothing.....is it a softwear problem or what.....after trying and trying to get it to start.....or be ready, as the dash says....after about 15-20 minutes it connects and away we go. We love it with that one exception. Especially my wife.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PL
gravatar
PATRICIA L.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2018
Verified Review

Quiet ride

My car came from Virginia 6 years ago. The ride across country was smooth and quiet as noticed by my friends that adventured with me. Love my Prius, so does the dealer (they keep wanting to buy my car!).
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
SHERRI M.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2018
Verified Review

Still loving my car

Currently has over 70,000 milages and still runs with the big boys. Love to drive any where and have. Solid dependable and very maneuverable in all types of road and traffic. Love my smiley girl.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LW
gravatar
LINDA W.
2012 Toyota Prius v
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2017
Verified Review

2012 Toyota Prius V

I love my Prius V - my Toyota "station wagon". It's roomy. I bought it for a move from coast-to-coast so that I could carry the important. Stuff with me. We made it in good time, and averaged 50mpg on the highway. My local driving mileage is good, too. I average between 35 and 43mpg on my commute route. I really like the heated seats in the winter! It is reliable, and McCord's Toyota, here in Vancouver, WA, takes good care of my vehicle. My only criticism is that I wish Toyota would come up with more original colors for the vehicles. The gray, blue, white, black, red, sandy-tones are BORING - every car maker has the same colors. I expect to purchase another Toyota in the future, one that, I hope, includes all of the newest safety features (radar/auto stopping, lane monitoring, etc.) and a more exciting color choice.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GP
gravatar
GEORGE P.
2012 Toyota Prius v
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/26/2017

Prius V

Love it except there is a lot of road noise.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RH
gravatar
RICHARD H.
2012 Toyota Prius v
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2017

Great car

Great little car,
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MG
gravatar
MARY G.
2012 Toyota Prius v
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2017

Best all around car out there

These are excellent vehicles: comfortable, reliable, excellent gas mileage, great in snow. Roomy, can load my paddle boards atop, transport all of us comfortably, as well as drive all day in comfort... this is my second Prius V in family, love it!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CW
gravatar
CYNTHIA W.
2012 Toyota Prius v
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2017

very versitile

Great car with lots of room for carrying loads of equipment, camping, building materials, comfortable seating too!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
John M.
2012 Toyota Prius v
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2016

Everything I wanted and more

Millage better than advertised and a nice ride, even for long distances.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CW
gravatar
CYNTHIA W.
2012 Toyota Prius v
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2016

Everywhere everyday car

Of all the cars I've owned in past years, the prius V has been comfortable and spacious. I have had utility vehicles, sedans, and a sports car and my prius V fills all those needs. The gas mileage too, makes it even more desirable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 36 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1324 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2232 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22389 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10815 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7655 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores