Business Solutions

2009 Toyota Yaris

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(23 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(23 Reviews)

AT
ANTHONY T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/03/2021
Verified Review

Gas saver

Car is excellent for a daily driver. But also still e very decent fast car. Rarely has mechanical issues. Has a good price for how reliable it is. Reliable and economical, the subcompact Yaris is Toyota's least expensive car. Fuel economy is excellent, with a tested 32 mpg overall in the sedan with the automatic transmission, and 30 in the hatchback with the manual.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KK
gravatar
KATE K.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2021
Verified Review

, 135000 miles and no major repairs.

With a stick shift and conservative driving, I get 43 mpg. A small thing , but the vent design is so much better than the usual shutter types that always break, don’t ever shut completely. This shows the thoughtfulness of design that went into every part of this vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DANIEL J.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2020
Verified Review

Amazing value

Amazing value. Great gas mileage, 40 mpg. No major issues and had car 11 years 200k miles. Still have not replaced exhaust. I have even pulled a 1500 lb boat with this car which is well beyond what the Yaris was designed for.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SA
gravatar
SARAH A.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/22/2020
Verified Review

This vehicle is underrated!

I used to drive a luxury car and switched to the Yaris for a more efficient, reliable option and it is. It gets great gas mileage, has plenty of room for transporting large items, and fits in tiny parking spaces. Its the perfect commuter car. It is missing some (unecessary) luxury components and doesn't have the power of a big engine, but I don't miss it. Nor do I miss going to the mechanic's shop all the time and paying a fortune for repairs and maintenance. Maintenance services for the Yaris are inexpensive and repairs are rare. I'm so happy I switched to this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
DONNA H.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
Verified Review

Love my Yaris!

I’ve had my Yaris since 2009. It is the best car I’ve ever owned. It has 175,000 miles on it and I’ve no problems with it! I would definitely buy another Yaris in a heartbeat! I gave this car to my daughter to use down at college. She would drive home about once a month for two years. This car just keeps going and going!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
JERAMY C.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/27/2020
Verified Review

Awsome little compact

The reliability of the yaris is great. I only have 83k miles. But they've been known to last 300k, with just basic matinence. They're not a power house but the 110hp and light weight make it very peppy and quick handling. Great for dodging potholes. I average 30-35 mpg total in a automatic. I have a metallic grey 2dr hatchback (which I think looks better than the 4dr hatchback. Even though that's more practical for most people, and both of the hatchbacks look 100% better than the sedan) the wide door opening makes it easy to get in and out and it doesn't feel super low to the ground. Theres plenty of headroom and leg room(I'm 6ft). With getting tinted windows and adding a spoiler it has a unique sporty look. I'm putting 17in rims on this summer, to replace the current 15in. Being a sub compact I was supprised it has 15in rims and tires, because normally compacts have 14in or I've even seen 13in. Thoes sizes are getting harder to find and sometimes have to be ordered special, because they aren't kept in stock. 3 glove boxes are handy for keeping things seperated, I keep the registration and insurance cards in the one above the steering wheel. Most people don't even realise there's one there. The speedometer is in the center, which I thought was going to be awkward. But it turns out to be more convenient and easier to read. The back seat can be reclined some so its more comfortable for passengers. It come with either a split fold down rear seat (that's what I have) or a solid 1piece fold down rear seat. It makes for a lot of room if you need to cary something bigger. Two cup holders fold out in front of the vents, that will keep your beverage hot or cold when you have the hot or cold air on (Smart). If the one you want doesn't have a center armrest, you can order one that bolts into the center console.There's already a bolt there in the 3rd cup holder spot where it slips right in, and that makes it very sturdy. If it doesn't have cruse control you can order the control stalk and just have it installed, or install yourself, because all the wires are already there. It just needs the control stick. I recommend upgrading the headlights as soon as you get it also. They are a little complicated to replace, But watch youtube videos on it, and you'll see its not so bad. I replaced them both in about 15-20min. There is a great supportive online community www.yarisworld.com for all your questions and service needs. They also share photos of their cars, so you can get ideas of what you can do to make your car unique. They do have the takata airbag recall, but Toyota will replace them for completely free. If you want more power. Look at the scion xd. It has 128hp and can be turbo charged. Where the yaris can't be modified for more power easily. It can be done, but is difficult. Enjoy your ride.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KK
gravatar
KATE K.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2019
Verified Review

Love my car!

At 116,00 miles the only repair needed has been shocks and struts. I am a conservative driver, and this is a stick shift which helps but I get Prius level gas mileage on my Yaris., usually 41 mpg. Even small details are good, like fan controls, cup holders, good use of space, large trunk.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JOSIANE-MARIE S.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2019
Verified Review

Love the vehicle

I have had this vehicle for a bit over 10 years now with no major issues. Drives great. If you do not have a big family would recommend. This vehicle. I have had it since right after college. Now that I am married with kids, will need a bigger vehicle for the confort.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JOHN G.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2018
Verified Review

2009 Yaris

I am blind in one eye so I needed a car that was easy to maneuver. My Yaris fits the bill. It turns on a dime, has great visibility and gets about 40 mpg. I love that I have 7 cup holders and multiple glove boxes. My husband threatened to paint himself bayou blue because he knows how much I love my car!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2018
Verified Review

Toyota Jaris

Fine automobile --- don't have any complaints. Very dependable. Favorite cars are Toyota, Honda, Volkswagen, and Ford in that order. Only way I purchase automobiles. I would only buy a Ford for a US automobile. John TItmas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2018
Verified Review

Toyotas -- good running autos.

Have had a Toyota for several years -- an Ecco and now a Yaris. Great running autos. Very dependable and good running cars. Prefer Toyota to any other auto sold in United States of America. John Titmas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MC
gravatar
MARILYN C.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/03/2018
Verified Review

Reliable

I purchased a used Toyota Yaris from a friend. I previously owned a 530i BMW that was killing me with repair bills. Since owning the Yaris I have saved thousands on repair costs and gas! This car isn't a neck breaker, but what is important to me is dependability, and economy.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/26/2018
Verified Review

Good car

Good running car. I enjoy the space and reliability due to work done at McBrides. However, driver's seat very uncomfortable. Sure would like to get a fix for the seat. Car always rides nice after visit to McBrides. John Titmas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DL
gravatar
DENNIS L.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/11/2018
Verified Review

next to my Avalon it,s the best car i,ve owned.

I drive around town like a jackrabbit so my mpg isn't the best ,but generally it's 40 in the summer and 34 in the winter. hwy mpg 42-48 @ 70mph-60. that's why I bought it. also safety features--abs-- front side curtain airbags. and it's zippy! and it's low maintenance--just had 1st brakes replaced at 102,000 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TD
gravatar
THERESA D.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2017
Verified Review

So glad I purchased a Toyota Yaris.

Love my Yaris. It has been a Great ride in my travels. I recommend to anyone.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2017
Verified Review

Toyota Taris

I enjoy the comfort of the Taris. Hope it goes for another year or two. John Titmas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2017

2009 Yaris

I am satisfied with the Yaris. I liked my Ecco, but it was in an accident so had to junk. John Titmas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SG
gravatar
Sharena G.
2009 Toyota Yaris
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/28/2017

Great Starter Car & Reliable!

I love my Yaris! It gets great gas mileage and rides nice. The seats are very comfortable and the seating for passengers is pretty spacious given the size of th car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2009 Toyota Yaris
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2017

Yaris Review

Car seems to ride okay -- especially after a McBride treatment. I have confidence in Toyota. Not crazy about automatic -- rather have Ecco like I had before. John TItmas
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
gravatar
LARRY L.
2009 Toyota Yaris
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2017

Great Automobile

I am completely satisfied with my 2009 Toyota Yaris. One of the few cars my 300 pound frame can get in and out of easily. MPG is unbeatable. Wish they were made in the U.S.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 23 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1327 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2238 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22417 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10819 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7659 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores