Overview

Overall Rating 4.09/5Overall Rating 4.09/5Overall Rating 4.09/5Overall Rating 4.09/5rating 4.09

1978 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (32)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.1562528/5Overall Rating 4.1562528/5Overall Rating 4.1562528/5Overall Rating 4.1562528/5rating 4.1562528
Original
Overall Rating 2.15625/5Overall Rating 2.15625/5rating 2.15625rating 2.15625rating 2.15625
77% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review about 16 hours ago

Reviews


JB
Jessica B.
Angier, NC
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/13/2018 Category: Service
My repairs were done timely
My repairs where completed when I was told they would be. The staff was nice, but clueless if it wasn’t “their ticket,” so could not answer my questions. Communication was the worst I’ve experienced from Hyundai. Facility was nice and clean and the shuttle driver was respectful.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 03/14/2018

Thank you for the feedback.

--Jamie


CB
Claudia B.
Raleigh, NC
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/13/2018 Category: Service
good visit
There some service visits in 2017 where I did not have good experiences and I was hesitant to return to Southern States. On 12/28 I came in for an oil change/ tire rotation and to have the driver's headlight bulb replaced. Some weeks later in January it was pointed out to me that the same driver's light bulb was burned out. I tried for a week to call the Hyundai service telephone number and was never able to connect with anyone. I was finally able to return to Southern States on 02/16 and was told by Decoda Poyser that the phone system had not been working properly. She was very friendly and provided her card with a direct contact number. I was able to have my light bulb replaced that day and she also helped me schedule an appointment for a Transmission Flush (for 03/08). On the 03/08 visit I was assisted again by Decoda and also by Mike Webb. I very much appreciated their courtesy, professionalism, and teamwork on that visit. I also appreciated the honesty conveyed by Mike in explaining that my vehicle did not require a transmission flush after all but that the Hyundai service team could proceed instead with a coolant flush if I so desired. Keep up the good work and I will keep returning.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 03/14/2018

Hi,
 
 Both Decoda and Mike have been wonderful additions to our team! Thank you for the review, see you soon!

--Jamie


Verified Customer
Oxford, NC
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/12/2018 Category: Service
Service ok
Needs improvement on communication
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 03/13/2018

Thank You for the feedback, your suggestion is noted.

Jamie


JM
Joseph M.
Raleigh, NC
2016 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/05/2018 Category: Service
Mike Webb was Awesome
I'm a hard to please customer when it comes to what I am being charged and the service expected for that price. cheap price and I'm far more flexible. Southern States charges a premium and overlaps jobs which means two things can be completed within the same hour which essentially doubles their income - so I do not bring my car in for overlaps services. However, I think the biggest complaint that I have is I am required to state everything expected, for example: Tires when rotated or removed should "Always" be hand torqued. Southern states will always over torque and mess up the lugs nuts with their air impact wrenches. So I requested hand torque and I believe the mechanic delivered thanks to Mike Webb. Also, I brought my own oil for an oil change, the oil was slightly overfilled and manufacturer requirements say fill within the two lines on a Genesis. Hopefully Hyundai can remove a bit of the oil. Last item, my Azera and Genesis both require or at least it is a very clear guideline that both cars should have tires balanced on the "Road Force" machine which they don't do unless the consumer is aware of the machine and requests balancing on the Road Force machine. Mike came through again after my request to use road force, although I have to say - it's just their word at Southern States that any of my requests were actually met.
Southern States, to instill confidence in your service, please ask each of the mechanics to Sign off on the customers requests. We are not engineers and neither are you. Hyundai used engineers to design the car and state Torques settings, air pressure, and more. Does Hyundai's Engineers Lie when they say to Torque tires and oil filter caps? For the premium you charge and over charge for parts, you should be delivering something more to your customers. I can help you build this model. Once last thing, when Hyundai states the time to complete a service, that time also includes using a Torque wrench and not skipping corners. If your mechanics knew everything, they would be engineers for Hyundai, but they are not and require a great management team to set expectations for service and customers.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 03/05/2018

Mike is a great guy. Your recommendations are noted!

Thanks,
Jamie


JF
Joseph F.
Raleigh, NC
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/24/2018 Category: Service
car service
The service personal are very good and friendly. as for your sales they are sneaky and they lie would never buy another Hyundai from this dealer.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/26/2018

Sounds like a poor experience in sales? Maybe a miscommunication? The people in sales are good people. Thank you for the survey, hope to see you soon.

--Jamie


MB
Mary B.
Knightdale, NC
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/22/2018 Category: Service
Dakota was excellent
Dakota was very courteous and knowledgeable. She is a great asset to your team. The loss of Dennis Washington will probably force me to buy my new car somewhere else
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/23/2018

We welcome all makes and models, but Terry and his team up front are great guys! (as is Dennis). Dakota is the newest member of our team and is shining for sure! Thank you for the review and your business!!

--Jamie


Verified Customer
Raleigh, NC
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/22/2018 Category: Service
Good Customer Service!
When I arrived at the Service Dept.. I spoke with Service Advisor Nina Holmes. She was very professional, helpful and attentive to detail about the issue I was experiencing with my vehicle. She took the time to go above & beyond to inform me of a current recall that I was not aware of, and also contacted the Parts Dept to make sure the part was in stock prior to repair. I was able to have the recall issue completed and installation was done in a timely matter. Although, the technician was not able to diagnose my initial issue..Overall I am satisfied with the Service I received!
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/23/2018

Thank You!!

--Jamie


Verified Customer
Fuquay Varina, NC
2013 Hyundai Azera
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/16/2018 Category: Service
Clean, well lit, bright spacious.
I was pleased. The only issue I ha was that they had me go back out to the parking lot to drive the car in. Typically they would go out to the car themselves, get the info they need OR bring the car in. These little touches can make the difference between above average and excellent.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/16/2018

Thank You! Your response is noted and we will use this to improve>

---Jamie


CD
Camrie D.
Wendell, NC
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/15/2018 Category: Service
Friendly and Clean
everyone I worked with was friendly and the place was very clean. I was confident in the service I received. They did over tighten a lag bolt that I had to get changed at my normal service place. I really liked the free oil change. As all dealerships, the price was a little higher to change tires and brakes than a normal auto service company.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/16/2018

Thanks for the review. On your next visit, remind me of the bolt and I will make it right!

--Jamie


Verified Customer
Cary, NC
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/11/2018 Category: Service
Excellent service
None
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/12/2018

THANK YOU!!!!


--Jamie


JC
Jeremy C.
Clayton, NC
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/11/2018 Category: Service
Good service but long wait
Was told that service would take an hour and a half and I ended up waiting close to four hours. Other than that, the experience was great!
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/12/2018

Hi,

We are taking steps to reduce the wait times! Sorry about the delay.


--Jamie


Verified Customer
Raleigh, NC
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/03/2018 Category: Service
great customer service
I am so impressed with your service center. Wonderful customer service they accomodated my schedule in record time ( appointment next day), the facility is spotless . I will be back and will also recommend to my friends.

Thank you for a great experience,

Jeanne Billman
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/05/2018

Thanks!!!!!

---Jamie


CF
Catherine F.
Clayton, NC
2016 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/01/2018 Category: Service
Friendly knowledgeable and interested
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 02/02/2018

Thank YOU!!!!


JH
John H.
Raleigh, NC
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/27/2018 Category: Service
Clean professional on time
Scott was fantastic the car was delivered on time the mechanic was outstanding but it was way overpriced for the work that was done
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/29/2018

Hello,

 Next time you are in ask for me (Jamie Holcomb) and I will see that we explain the bill/make it right. A little raped?? lol.

---Jamie


MZ
Mark Z.
Raleigh, NC
2011 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/26/2018 Category: Service
Service 2017
They took care of an odd problem.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/27/2018

Thanks for the opportunity and the review!


--Jamie


JM
Joyce M.
Raleigh, NC
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2018 Category: Service
Friendly staff, nice customer lounge....I love my Sante Fe Sport!
Overall, I have been satisfed with my service at Southern States Hyundai. However, on this visit I had a scheduled appointment for an oil change, which should have taken no more than an hour. I was there for more than 2.5 hours. They did check out another issue with my controls on the steering wheel, but a part had to be ordered, so no other service was done. The wait time was unacceptable!!!!!
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/17/2018

Complaint noted...We will strive to remedy this. Thank You for the feedback and your business!

--Jamie


Verified Customer
Raleigh, NC
2015 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2018 Category: Service
Service appointment.
Great vehicle, courteous service. Could improve on updating service progress and expected time of completion.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/16/2018

We are working hard on communication....Thanks for your business and the review.

--Jamie


CS
Christina S.
Raleigh, NC
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/12/2018 Category: Service
Review
Nice visit
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/13/2018

Thank You!

--Jamie


BH
Brian H.
Raleigh, NC
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/10/2018 Category: Service
Better service
Better service....nice looking facility
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/11/2018

Brian,

 We have been improving slowly but surely...Thank You!

--Jamie


Verified Customer
Raleigh, NC
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/10/2018 Category: Service
Excellent Service
They have a good waiting area and I just had my engine oil changed and I was out of that place within no time.
JAMIE B H. from Southern States Hyundai responded on 01/11/2018

Nice!! Thanks for the business and the review>

--Jamie