2001
BMW
5 Series

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88
4.9
(8 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AM
ANN M.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2019
2001 525i
Purchased new in Germany 20 years ago. I take care of her and she keeps going. No major repairs. She has been back and forth to Germany several times, always dependable. Every mark and dent on her was done by someone else.

Pros
Great looking car

Cons
Cup holders are terrible. I bought an insert.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JUDY F.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/23/2018
122,000+ Miles and Still Going!
I have a 2001 BMW 5 I bought in 2000, and it's the best car I ever had. Even my husband is impressed because the doors are as tight as they were the day I bought it and the mileage is close to what it was when the car was brand new. It drives like a dream (still) and the ride is so smooth. I love it! But I was good to always give it its check-up when it came due and kept it waxed. I can hardly think of having to give it up. The first time I saw this model, it was sitting at a stop light and it looked like it was moving even though it was sitting still. At that very minute, I decided I had to have one. I worked hard and paid for it myself, and it's definitely MY car.

Pros
Look at the 10s I gave it. It has been a tremendously reliable car.

Cons
Wind noise and the heater/ac fan is noisy when turned up high. The parts are too expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
GEORGE G.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/19/2017
My first BMW
I love the look of my car, it drives great!😊

Pros
Beautiful, drives smooth, comfortable interior!

Cons
The water plugs leak, get plugged up so your trunk, back seat floorboards, etc. Get flooded!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERT P.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2017
540i Bmw
I've owned this car for 16 years and never had any major problems Everything still works

Pros
Car has great lines

Cons
Cup holders block the access to the heat and cool controls when holding a cup

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PAUL C.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2017
BMW 525is
Bought this car as a CPO unit in 2003 with <9,000 miles. Fourteen years later I have over 120,000 miles and other than normal maintenance, the most expensive repair was a new clutch kit that cost me +/- $1,100 installed. The original rotors lasted 100,000 miles on the front and just replaced them with the clutch at 122,000. Water pump, some gaskets and twice replacement of the cooling fan were the only major repairs in 14 years. I will keep it at least another two years.

Pros
Never let me down, still as much fun to drive as it was 14 years ago, paid $35,500 then, more than got my money's worth. Still attracts attention - the red paint stands it out from a similar silver or black unit - plus it has the Sport Package which included BBS wheels, low profile tires and a lowered suspension.

Cons
Can be expensive to fix/maintain, but shop around and it is really no worse than any other premium car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PAUL C.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2016
My 525
I purchased this 2001 BMW 525IS in 2003 with only 9,000 miles on the clock. It literally sat at the dealer for over a year as it is a 5 speed and painted Electric Red. The dealer said that if the car had been silver or black it would have moved within a month. Thus, they were willing to deal and I made out quite well. Now, thirteen years later I have 116,000 miles on the car and have no intention of selling it or moving into a newer model. This is one of last so-called E39 models that anyone with knowledge of BMW agrees is the best. No I-Drive, no navigation, no useless other electronic nonsense. The car has been very reliable, low maintenance and no real costly repairs. Did need a water pump, had the fan disintegrate, replaced a couple of gaskets and power steering lines that were leaking. Just now replaced the original front rotors. Paint still looks showroom fresh; granted, it has been garage kept and not driven in the snow. Best car I have ever owned and it still puts a smile on my face every time I drive it.

Pros
as noted above, the car is an absolute delight.

Cons
It is fifteen years old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Barbara A.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2016
BMW 540i
My car is a 2001 and I absolutely love it!

Cons
Needs larger cup holders! But it is a 2001 so I really can't complain!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joe C.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2015
BMW E39 Sport Wagon
My E39 525iT 5 speed manual is my sixth BMW, while not as sprightly and sporty as my E30 323i Euro coupe, I do enjoy my wagon for daily use. Handles very well, great ride, comfortable and solid. 500 mile rides are a breeze, and at 27-28 mpg, what's not to like? I was told that the E39 series was one of the best BMW produced. I can see why it has that reputation. The 2.5 liter 6 cylinder engine comes on the cam around 3,000 rpm, while not a high HP engine compared to the big 6, or V-8, it gets the job done. Great car, hate to think of what I'll have to do when it finally comes time to replace her.

Pros
Great style, great ride, quiet, carries my stuff, heated seats keeps my wife very happy in the NE Winters

Cons
Lotta plastic, sun roof issues, interior leaks, have to use a car cover if out in the rain

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 8 reviews