Business Solutions

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(15 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(15 Reviews)

DA
gravatar
Dustin A.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/05/2022
Verified Review

540i is part of the Best BMW Era for sure.

Honestly one of the BEST BMWs ever made. My only complaint is the front leg room is not as good as the other 2 Bmws I own. Having owned E38/E39/E46 all were excellent cars and took me into the 300k mile lifespan. This 540i is a great example of what it really means to own a bmw. It is very well built and at 300k miles still this car amazing me just how good it can be.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PF
Pamela F.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/03/2021
Verified Review

The Ultimate Driving Machine

Can’t say enough how great BMWs are. I’ve test driven a lot of makes and models of Japanese vehicles and honestly would only buy a German vehicle. They just perform better and I will probably also buy a BMW SUV very soon!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
Mike M.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/18/2021
Verified Review

2001 BMW 540i

In my eyes, one of the best sedans BMW ever made (not counting the insane use of plastic parts) Forget the fact that it’s a 20 year old vehicle, it still handles well and the power still impressive compared to many newer vehicles out there.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MICHAEL M.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/26/2021
Verified Review

Still love this car

The E39 body style 5 Series was, and still is, a favorite of mine ( and many others). While I wanted an M5 6speed, I couldn't find one. So I "settled" for a v nice, used, 2001 540i w/sport pkg, steptronic automatic, 35000mi. That was in 2006. There is now 99500mi on the car. Yes, they are quirky and expensive to fix and maintain. Nonetheless, this car is a beast and is very fun to drive, especially on road trips. With good tires, it stays glued to the road at speeds well in excess of 100 mph. If you need to accelerate quickly from say 70 to 100+mph, this car exceeds expectations. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is due to the quirky emissions, check engine light madness among other oddities inherent in this performance sedan.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TA
gravatar
THOMAS A.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/05/2021
Verified Review

Best Bimmer Ever Made

This car has soul. The perfect driver - best machine I have ever owned. The E39 series was prior to BMW, and others, of becoming electronics crazy. My 2001 has all electric and electronic systems working as new with very minor exceptions.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TA
gravatar
THOMAS A.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/17/2020
Verified Review

19 years and 170,00 miles and going strong

Outstanding E39 series often called the best BMW ever built. When first reviewed by Road and Track they called it "an almost perfect car". Sure footed and serene I love this car. On the con side it is getting old and needs periodic maintenance - especially the unfortunate use of plastic parts that do not age well. I expect it will see 250,000 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KW
gravatar
KEVIN W.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/11/2020
Verified Review

A good Vehicle

Good driving vehicle Comfortable ride lots of room interior The body design is nice air conditioning is cold an Leather seats in good condition nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AM
gravatar
ANN M.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2019
Verified Review

2001 525i

Purchased new in Germany 20 years ago. I take care of her and she keeps going. No major repairs. She has been back and forth to Germany several times, always dependable. Every mark and dent on her was done by someone else.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JF
gravatar
JUDY F.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/23/2018
Verified Review

122,000+ Miles and Still Going!

I have a 2001 BMW 5 I bought in 2000, and it's the best car I ever had. Even my husband is impressed because the doors are as tight as they were the day I bought it and the mileage is close to what it was when the car was brand new. It drives like a dream (still) and the ride is so smooth. I love it! But I was good to always give it its check-up when it came due and kept it waxed. I can hardly think of having to give it up. The first time I saw this model, it was sitting at a stop light and it looked like it was moving even though it was sitting still. At that very minute, I decided I had to have one. I worked hard and paid for it myself, and it's definitely MY car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GG
gravatar
GEORGE G.
2001 BMW 5 Series
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/19/2017
Verified Review

My first BMW

I love the look of my car, it drives great!?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
ROBERT P.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2017

540i Bmw

I've owned this car for 16 years and never had any major problems Everything still works
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PC
gravatar
PAUL C.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2017

BMW 525is

Bought this car as a CPO unit in 2003 with <9,000 miles. Fourteen years later I have over 120,000 miles and other than normal maintenance, the most expensive repair was a new clutch kit that cost me +/- $1,100 installed. The original rotors lasted 100,000 miles on the front and just replaced them with the clutch at 122,000. Water pump, some gaskets and twice replacement of the cooling fan were the only major repairs in 14 years. I will keep it at least another two years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PC
gravatar
PAUL C.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/27/2016

My 525

I purchased this 2001 BMW 525IS in 2003 with only 9,000 miles on the clock. It literally sat at the dealer for over a year as it is a 5 speed and painted Electric Red. The dealer said that if the car had been silver or black it would have moved within a month. Thus, they were willing to deal and I made out quite well. Now, thirteen years later I have 116,000 miles on the car and have no intention of selling it or moving into a newer model. This is one of last so-called E39 models that anyone with knowledge of BMW agrees is the best. No I-Drive, no navigation, no useless other electronic nonsense. The car has been very reliable, low maintenance and no real costly repairs. Did need a water pump, had the fan disintegrate, replaced a couple of gaskets and power steering lines that were leaking. Just now replaced the original front rotors. Paint still looks showroom fresh; granted, it has been garage kept and not driven in the snow. Best car I have ever owned and it still puts a smile on my face every time I drive it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BA
gravatar
Barbara A.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2016

BMW 540i

My car is a 2001 and I absolutely love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
Joe C.
2001 BMW 5 Series
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2015

BMW E39 Sport Wagon

My E39 525iT 5 speed manual is my sixth BMW, while not as sprightly and sporty as my E30 323i Euro coupe, I do enjoy my wagon for daily use. Handles very well, great ride, comfortable and solid. 500 mile rides are a breeze, and at 27-28 mpg, what's not to like? I was told that the E39 series was one of the best BMW produced. I can see why it has that reputation. The 2.5 liter 6 cylinder engine comes on the cam around 3,000 rpm, while not a high HP engine compared to the big 6, or V-8, it gets the job done. Great car, hate to think of what I'll have to do when it finally comes time to replace her.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 15 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • BMW Dealer
  • European Auto Repair
M-Chanics
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(13 Reviews)

  • BMW Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
BimmerOnly
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(21 Reviews)

  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(116 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • BMW Dealer
  • Oil Change
Beemers Shop
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(79 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Maintenance
  • BMW Dealer
Baltimore Bimmer
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(291 Reviews)

  • BMW Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne BMW
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(4203 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(5) ReScores

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • BMW Dealer
Benz N' Beamers
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(63 Reviews)

  • BMW Dealer
  • Oil Change
  • Auto Repair
Dynamic Auto Tune
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(860 Reviews)