2016
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(584 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
Melanie S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
Love my baby
Bought my Elantra GT new in 2016 and I am completely satisfied with our time together.. I bought the sport package and it is so nice. Steering wheel tension adjustment, 6 speed automatic (which I rarely had to use because I had plenty of get up and go). Merging onto the freeway never a problem. The interior details on the sport model are chrome and very cool looking. Seats hug you nicely with lumbar support and long distance driving always comfortable. I didn’t get the model with the backup camera but the radio display was clean and easy to read and the sound system was adequate. Hatchback area carries a ton of what you need and folding seats give you even greater cargo space. Being a hatchback I was told I would hear a lot of road noise. Never a problem. Overall all a terrific ride.

Pros
Besides all of the above, good gas mileage, stylish body style, plenty of room, and reliable. Never a problem with features or engine reliability.

Cons
While the sound system puts out plenty of sound, I like my music loud and may have opted for a different sound system. Also wish the sport package had a back up camera. I did have brighter headlights put in but only because I have diminished night vision and prefer brighter than stock lamps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Raymond F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Elantra GT (2016)
My wife loves her car. It is her favorite toy. I have a Genesis and I love it. Styling both exterior and interior is excellent. The 4 cylinder engine has plenty of pep. This has been my wife's favorite and her first new vehicle.

Pros
All positives

Cons
Light, so it doesn't take bumps all that well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jason S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/05/2019
Wish I Could Upgrade...this Car Has No Power
I bought this car brand new in 2016. At the time I thought the looks were sporty and has some room for upgrades. Not to mention power...should have realized that during test drive. But I was so excited in buying a new car I'm sure I overlooked it.

Fast forward to 2019 and ive noticed over the years this car lacks power. This is the base model but some minivans and other vehicles seem to have more power than my car

Doing an upgrade will be pricey so I have to live with it. Anyways you can do better with the newer models.

Pros
Great gas mileage and headroom space .Maintenance is not

Cons
Lacks power. Headlight could be a bit brighter. An automatic trunk or hatch door would've been great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Margaret C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
2016 Elantra
This is an excellent car, and I'm learning to appreciate all its features. My favorite so far is the optional car seat heater. When I drive home at night it really helps my back ache from a long, hard work day. Thank you for all your support.

Pros
Pleasure to drive

Cons
Mainly the trunk sticks a little when I try to open it. This is an issue as I use a cane to get around.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Daniel C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2019
Great car!
I really am very satisfied with my Hyundai Elantra GT. It runs real well, smooth ride and good on gas. It is a solid car and it looks good too. The interior is nicely designed and the sound system is awesome.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Susan D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Excellent Investment
I bought my car brand new in 2015, even though it is a 2016. I have not had any problems with it at all. I decided to get my transmission flushed because the mileage was getting into the early 90,000. I bought this car the the longevity of the vehicle. We have always changed the oil at 3000-5000 mile marker. I love the color, gas mileage, comfort of the drive. I would recommend a Hyundai Elantra to any person looking for a dependable car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
Honora D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
LOVE MY ELANTRA GT!!
This is a great vehicle for me. Lots of storage space, comfy for a vertically challenged individual, and great gas mileage. Think the upgraded package would have been well worth the money. Shouldn't have been that frugal.

Pros
I like that I can manually adjust the height of my seat so I can see over the steering wheel. The windows are great for driving and vision of space around me.

Cons
This is on me - I should have spent the extra $$ to get the upgraded package that had the electric seat adjustment, back up mirror, etc. Next time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Suzanne B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
My Little Red Tomato
I love, love, love my little car. It's red so I call it the tomato. It has all of the bells and whistles on it that I wanted at an affordable price. Most important, I feel like it's a quality car. I drive long distances to/from work each day and have no worries I'll arrive safely.

Pros
Everything! I love it. Amazing stereo, roomy, excellent gas mileage.

Cons
Just wish it had a sunroof and a back up camera but I can buy one aftermarket.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
PETER W.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
Hyundai's are very well built
The Hyundai Elantra GT is a great all around vehicle. Handles well in snow ,ice & freeway cruising. It's easy to fold the seats and load large items through the back hatch. The Elantra GT is very responsive on freeway on ramps.

Pros
Everything from price, handling & features.

Cons
Horn button could be placed closer to steering wheel rim.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROY M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/14/2019
ELANTRA GT
Best warranty on any vehicle in America!
Gas mileage is exactly as reported and extras are fantastic!
Hyundai of Florence, Best dealer in SC
Greatest personnel, especially in the maintenance area
would not buy anywhere else

Pros
great vehicle

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LORENZO S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
Great car
My 2016 Hyundai Elantra GT came with leather trim, nav, panoramic sunroof and lots of other stuff. I have driven it 36K with no issues. There is a lot of tech within the car and engine that I became aware of while driving.., like the valve adjustment as you travel up slight hills.. before changing down a gear the engine perks up as the valves adjust to give you more rpm's - or at least this is what I think goes on - quite fun when it happens! Anyway, I enjoy driving this car a lot more than I thought I would!

Pros
All good!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bronda P.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
Great car
I love love love having ventilated seats and the ability to start my car from my phone. Texas heat is a little more bearable because of these features. Good sound system and great gas mileage. Great little car. I also love that the back up camera is concealed while not in use so it’s always clean, no matter how dirty car gets!

Pros
Really cute car. Mine is a 2016. I like its looks better than the newer body style

Cons
Shocks don’t last, but they lasted longer than the factory tires. Has a bit of road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Mark T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
Love this little car
Great style, good performance. It is amazing what I can fit inside this hatchback and the driving experience is quite good.
I will keep it for a while.
The newer model is bigger, not sure why they did that. Also, this one doesn't have the stupid panel sticking out of the dash. Won't buy a newer model until they integrate that better.
I do wish the seat was more supportive. They fixed that on the new upscale model.
The console bin could use so partitions for better organization. One deep hole means I have to dig around in there to find what I want.

Pros
Nice style, decent performance.

Cons
Could use more power, headlights not as bright as I would like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Guillermo F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/21/2019
Needs improvement!
Suspension is too rough. Muffler is too loose, and when you drive over a rough area, a bump or a hole, the muffler hits the side of adjacent areas and makes noise.
Seems like they need to improve on the smoothness of the ride of this car. On suspension.

Cons
Suspension is too rough

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Beverly A.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/07/2019
Elantra
I’ve had my Elantra for a few years and it has served me well so truthfully I can say it’s a reliable car I recommend it one hundred percent, but my next car will definitely be the 2020 Santa Fe just because I’m tall need the leg room plus it’s my dream car

Pros
I have a Elantra but I love the Santa Fe, But the Elantra I like

Cons
I have nothing bad too say because the Elantra is a good vehicle and has served me well but I just like the Santa Fe is my love car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BONNIE H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2019
Good commuter car
I needed a reliable commuter car to get me to and from work and one that was smaller and lower to the ground so that my senior dog could easily ride with me when needed. This car fit my needs perfectly. With the rear seats folded down both of my dogs can ride back there comfortably (they are medium sized dogs). The car performs very well on the highway when I go on trips. It is a very satisfactory car.

Pros
Good price. Decent gas mileage. Easy to drive and a very good sounding sound system. Fold down rear seats are a major plus.

Cons
Not a very smooth ride and somewhat noisy inside at highway speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Sharla A.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2019
Mostly a great car.
The 2016 Hyundai Elantra GT is a great sized vehicle for me. I love the hatchback. Being a small, inexpensive model, it doesn't have quite as smooth a ride as the larger vehicles but overall a very good car for the price. I am only four feet, nine inches tall and need the seat to raise a couple of inches higher than it will go. My husband had to add to the accelerator height so I could reach it. I have to sit too close to the steering wheel, which would be deadly if the airbag deployed. I wish it had the same feature my sister's car has -- hers allows you to bring the pedals closer. It is also a Hyundai. The Elantra GT is still one of the favorite cars I've ever had.

Pros
Great price, good looking, nice features.

Cons
Seat doesn't raise quite high enough for short drivers, pedals need to be higher for the same reason. Ride could be smoother.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HT
Harold And Dalanne T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Nice product!
Have watched reviews and highlights of the Elantra GT. Nice commuter car with space inside for shopping. Fold down rear seat backs and flip up lower seats create a large space for stuff. Nice ride on the smooth roads and thruway, not so good on rough roads, to be expected for this type of car. Corners very well!

Pros
Appearance inside and out. Nice interior arrangement of driver controls.

Cons
Gas mileage not the best for a compact car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lisa B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2019
Reliable and Sporty
I enjoy my Hyundai Elantra GT. It has been very reliable and handles well in the winter and cools off nicely in the summer. I got the keyless start thru my cell phone and I am very satisfied with that. I have a cool car to get into in the summer and a warm car to get into in the winter.

Cons
Maybe have heated mirrors and the mirrors fold in when in park. Otherwise, I can't think of anything to change.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sandy J.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Great Car
I love Elantras and this is my first GT model. The interior is well designed and comfortable. When more cargo space is needed the rear seats are easy to fold down. I have the proximity key for ease of unlocking the doors by pushing a button on the door handle and also, the car starts with the push of a button.

Pros
Heated and cooled seats are very comfortable
Hatch is easy to open
All controls are easy to use

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 584 in total