2016
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(602 Reviews)
Latest review 12 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FC
Fitzgerald C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
Great vehicle
Highways or byways, my Elantra provides a comfortable ride and plenty of 'pep' when needed. Drove cross country and felt quite safe on major highways, and day to day city driving is exceptionally manageable.

Pros
Small enough to navigate on city roads, yet large enough to feel safe when driving

Cons
Wish I could have had the option of vinyl seats rather than cloth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Brittany L.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2020
Zippy personality yet grocery & dog transport super star
I love the features of this car, sporty but practical. I like a luxury ride so that is the only area I would improve. The size of the cargo area is well more than you would think would fit. For city driving its spectacular.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Doyle D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Service
Red Hoagland Service department is a stand up group of people. I talked to at least 5 employees stopped and talked to me as I was being processed out. Brian Cox was tremendous throughout the process.

Pros
Just a great all around vehicle

Cons
None to mention.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Thomas H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/19/2020
Affordable fun.
This car with manual transmission is very sporty...responsive. The hatchback makes for flexibility in hauling people and things. Seats in back are very easy to put up or take down, depending on one’s needs. Very good quality for your money.

Pros
Sneaky fun at a good price!

Cons
The slightly impaired view on driver’s side (from frame, intersecting windshield and driver side window) required getting used to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Danielle R.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
I love her
Good gas mileage, fits in small parking spaces, still can hold a surprising amount of stuff, and my 6’6” fiancé fits in the passenger seat without issue. I love my little GT!

I almost forgot, I love the heated seats.

Pros
Heated seats, fits a lot of stuff, still fits in small parking spaces

Cons
No cons for this model. I don’t like the look of the newer models as much so I guess my only con is that I’ll struggle when it’s eventually time for a new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
Patsy T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
Best car I’ve had in years
At 67 years old , I can say I’ve had a few automobiles over my driving years. Comparing many different vehicles I’ve owned, the Hyundai Elantra GT is the best purchase . Overall , it is almost a worry free drive, excellent gas mileage, kept its good looks and I enjoy driving it as I did the day I bought it 4 years ago.

Pros
Dependable vehicle, well made, excellent gas mileage, very stylish, Fun to drive, sound system is well balanced and enjoyable. Also I feel it is a very safe vehicle for its make and size.

Cons
Could use more head room ( I am 5 ft 5 female). Driver seat has lumbar support , which is a plus, as passenger seat and rear seats are not very comfortable. A/C tends to be weak , with no way to cool rear passenger area. This is a concern as my grandson sits in rear in his car seat and it can get quite warm.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2020
Sold on Hyundai
This is my second consecutive Hyundai and when the time comes to replace it, I will not hesitate to consider another Hyundai first. Personally, I'm fond of the Elantra series but that doesn't mean I wouldn't move to another in the brand.

Pros
Stylish, fun to drive, easy to park... comes with lots of bells and whistles but still top of the heap cost competitive with other manufacturers. And, of course, it comes with the best in the industry Hyundai warranty.

Cons
I'd have to really work at it to come up with negatives about my Hyundai experience so that means I'd only be putting words together to fill this "CONS" box. Because of that... no cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Dawn F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/27/2020
I love my Elantra GT!
This has been a great vehicle. Good gas mileage. So fun to drive. I am so happy with this vehicle and even happier we made the decision to buy it. This vehicle should last us several years especially since retiring and I am driving a little less now.

Pros
Great gas mileage, roomy interior, sporty and fun to drive, great get up and go

Cons
My only complaint would be that it doesn't have a hatchback open on the key fob

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
Honora D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2020
LOVE MY 2016 ELANTRA GT!!
I purchased this car new in December 2015 and have been very happy with it. Its dependable, comfortable on long trips, good gas mileage and still looks great. If I had it to do all over again, I would spend the additional money to get the upgraded vehicle with electric seats and rearview camera. I find that I like those features.

Pros
Everything about this car is wonderful in my opinion. As some one who's vertically challenged I like the fact that I can raise (or lower) the driver's seat as needed. Its easy to adjust the mirrors should I need to do that.

Cons
I should have gotten the upgraded package with electric seat adjustments. I will with the next one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Elnora D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
I have been very pleased with this car.
I researched the Hyundai brand before I bought this car and I have not been disappointed in the dependency of it. I previously had been a 40 year GM owner but became very disappointed in the brand. I am so glad I made the switch.

Pros
All Good never a disappointment.

Cons
NONE..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
Peggy K.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2020
Such a fun car with great gas mileage!
I love my Elantra! It's a standard and its zips around with great pick up going on the interstate or anyway, I need to control for merging etc. It's super cute, love the seat warmers, its heats up SUPER quick in the winter and the hatchback makes it so easy to put stuff in it. Definitely recommend this affordable, fun to drive, dependable car!

Pros
Great pick up when you need it, great gas mileage and it heats up quick in winter. And its adorable like those other, yet unnamed Italian and British cars, but much more affordable!

Cons
Wish it has a more sophisticated blue tooth system and a rear backup camera. Wish it was a sassy color, mines gray (:O)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Katherine M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2020
Love this car
This is the best car I have ever owned. It is a perfect fit for me with no blind spot, gets great gas mileage, and I love the heated/cooled seats.
It may not work as well for someone who is tall. I would definitely buy another Elantra.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Tammy T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2020
Good reliable car
The car is really good. I only have problems when the temperatures drop, at least one of my tires will always need air and I have to run to a gas station to fill it. Then the film in the back window started to get bubbles after two years. Those things need improvement
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/11/2020
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
My 2016 Hyundai Elantra GT is the perfect car for a person who likes the spirited driving experience. The car has it all, performance, fuel economy, great handling, and room galore!! It's the perfect "Low Budget" sports car. My next vehicle will definitely be another Hyundai Elantra GT "N" series.

Pros
Best priced "Low Budget" sports car on the market that has it all.

Cons
None!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Daniel C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Great car!
I am completely satisfied with my Hyundai Elantra GT. It is a solid car and it has a good ride. I also like the power it has and it is a fun vehicle to drive. The exterior is smart looking along with the interior.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/03/2019
elantra gt
My car good on gas. Only things I would like is an automatic button to move seat backwards or forward. I cannot always feel comfortable if I am in the passenger seat. I also have trouble with seat belt as always seems to be to high on p assenger side .

Pros
good milage, good sound,drives nice for a smaller car.nice steering wheel.

Cons
seat belts. Wish passenger side had automatic button to move seat, windshield wipers Just OK.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandy M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/26/2019
It’s not the Sante Fe
I’ve driven Santa Fe’s for over 10 years. This time due to price and wanting to add an extended warranty I was convinced to give the Elantra a try . I’m not happy nor enjoying this car. It’s small ; low to the ground; doesn’t have the pick up or power I was told it would I already need an axle and cabin filter less than a year into owning it! My Santa Fe’s literally never had problems - just standard brakes; oil changes etc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/27/2019
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

MS
Melanie S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2019
Love my baby
Bought my Elantra GT new in 2016 and I am completely satisfied with our time together.. I bought the sport package and it is so nice. Steering wheel tension adjustment, 6 speed automatic (which I rarely had to use because I had plenty of get up and go). Merging onto the freeway never a problem. The interior details on the sport model are chrome and very cool looking. Seats hug you nicely with lumbar support and long distance driving always comfortable. I didn’t get the model with the backup camera but the radio display was clean and easy to read and the sound system was adequate. Hatchback area carries a ton of what you need and folding seats give you even greater cargo space. Being a hatchback I was told I would hear a lot of road noise. Never a problem. Overall all a terrific ride.

Pros
Besides all of the above, good gas mileage, stylish body style, plenty of room, and reliable. Never a problem with features or engine reliability.

Cons
While the sound system puts out plenty of sound, I like my music loud and may have opted for a different sound system. Also wish the sport package had a back up camera. I did have brighter headlights put in but only because I have diminished night vision and prefer brighter than stock lamps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Raymond F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2019
Elantra GT (2016)
My wife loves her car. It is her favorite toy. I have a Genesis and I love it. Styling both exterior and interior is excellent. The 4 cylinder engine has plenty of pep. This has been my wife's favorite and her first new vehicle.

Pros
All positives

Cons
Light, so it doesn't take bumps all that well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jason S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/05/2019
Wish I Could Upgrade...this Car Has No Power
I bought this car brand new in 2016. At the time I thought the looks were sporty and has some room for upgrades. Not to mention power...should have realized that during test drive. But I was so excited in buying a new car I'm sure I overlooked it.

Fast forward to 2019 and ive noticed over the years this car lacks power. This is the base model but some minivans and other vehicles seem to have more power than my car

Doing an upgrade will be pricey so I have to live with it. Anyways you can do better with the newer models.

Pros
Great gas mileage and headroom space .Maintenance is not

Cons
Lacks power. Headlight could be a bit brighter. An automatic trunk or hatch door would've been great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 602 in total