2016
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(586 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RM
ROY M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/14/2019
ELANTRA GT
Best warranty on any vehicle in America!
Gas mileage is exactly as reported and extras are fantastic!
Hyundai of Florence, Best dealer in SC
Greatest personnel, especially in the maintenance area
would not buy anywhere else

Pros
great vehicle

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JACK H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/29/2016
Test drive before you buy
The Elantra GT is a rough driving car

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
rough ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandy M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/26/2019
It’s not the Sante Fe
I’ve driven Santa Fe’s for over 10 years. This time due to price and wanting to add an extended warranty I was convinced to give the Elantra a try . I’m not happy nor enjoying this car. It’s small ; low to the ground; doesn’t have the pick up or power I was told it would I already need an axle and cabin filter less than a year into owning it! My Santa Fe’s literally never had problems - just standard brakes; oil changes etc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/27/2019
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/29/2015
2016 Elantra GT
Power from stops is abysmal. Once rolling it is OK, but from stops engine sounds as if straining. Also, there is no remote garage door opener on the rear view mirror. That is a small item that should be added.

Cons
Needs more power and remote garage opener on rear view mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARY B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/02/2015
Safety
Believe safety design flaw in engine is allowed to shut down while in gear

Pros
Love everything else but apprehensive that i will inadvertently shut off in gear and cause accident.

Cons
Can't reach ATM or drive thru window due to door curve design and I am average height (5'5")

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PATRICE J.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/26/2016
Elantra
Way to small but omg so so fast!!! I love the speed it gets too.

Pros
Very very fast

Cons
I don't understand how I have a 2016 model and I have no back up camera, no sunroof , no navigation! I feel like I got ripped off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
NEIL B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/19/2016
New car
OK car, steering is funky, doesn't inspire a lot of confidence. Crawling in stop and go traffic is really tiresome as it is near impossible to maintain a steady speed. You are either accelerating or decelerating with no in between. That is my primary complaint.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KENNETH R.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/04/2016
Average at best
Car gets less mileage than advertised. Noisy interior. Hard to hear the radio! Handles well. Front end is so low that we have scraped the front bumper facia
twice costing several hundred $ to fix. It is an OK car for the $ but I would not buy another one. The remote key design is really stupid. When you pull the keys out of your pocket the remote falls off of you key chain. It happens all of the time. We lost one remote & the dealer wants $ 200 to replace it with the same stupid design. I can help you design a much better key fob in about 10 minutes. All in all it is just an OK car. Nothing special.

Pros
Reliable! Handles well! OK performance!

Cons
Really stupid key fob design. So easy to lose as it falls off of key chain too easy! Noisy interior. Could be a little better mileage for the size of the car. Front end is so low that it is easy to scrape the bumper facia.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
JACQUELINE E.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/17/2016
na
na

Pros
For the price its an all around good car.

Cons
needs washer on back window..
If you have the ice conditioning on -your engine does not have much power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Diane D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/04/2016
Underperformer
Interior is adequately Comfortable. Bouncy, hard ride with shifting up sluggish. Enjoyed the extras such as power roof & Bluelink. Bluetooth stopped working. Would not recommend this car. Would not buy this again.

Pros
exterior design.
interior Is comfortable.
Extras enjoyable.

Cons
Sluggish shifting especially higher.
Feel every minor pothole.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Brittany F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/07/2017
I miss my accent
Overall it is a decent car

Pros
I love the added features I didn't have with my accent such as blue tooth and satellite radio

Cons
The gas mileage isn't that great and I feel like it isn't a smooth drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JOSEPH A.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/26/2017
n/a
n/a
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
THERESA C.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/26/2017
Good gas milage
My car gets good gas milage but the road noise is bad. Not as comfortable as I hoped.

Pros
Gas milage

Cons
Road noise, uncomfortable seating, back seats dont lay flat, I ended up paying alot more and now owe more than the car is worth.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Donna M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/09/2017
Nice Car - but after paying extra for hatchback - it should have some other amenities
Car is nice, sunroof is nice, but there should be a way to open the back without getting out of the car. And it cost extra for the hatchback, so why don't I have the sensors that tell me if another car is too close or I have gone over the lines. A relative bought a Tucson at the same time and paid less than $1000 more - but it has all the bells and whistles.

Pros
good looking, dependable

Cons
console design is terrible, no way to open hatch without getting out of the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Pamela G.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2017
seats need improvement for comfort
back hatch opening needs to change/difficult to load without hands free

Pros
handles well on the road/easy to park/

Cons
seats a little uncomfortable/back hatch cumbersome to open/should have a release automatic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tina H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2017
The Elantra Gt is very disappointing.
I waited so long to graduate from the lower
level of an Hyundai Accent for nothing.
This Elantra GT has given more problems
than any car . I wish it was possible to get
back my Accent.

Pros
Nice looking, fun to drive, and comfortable.

Cons
Had replaced alternator and battery before
car was 2 yrs old. Had to also replace the
arm rest and foot rest as well. Then throw in
Around 6-10 jump starts because of defective alternator and battery. So very
sorry I bought this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Veronica S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/16/2017
Sporty
A great car for the money! The one drawback for me is it's my only vehicle and though it handles well on the road and is fun to drive, in the winter it has been a disaster! The car sits too low to the ground and easily gets stuck in the snow. I never had that experience before.The car is also much too light and the tires do not perform well at all on snowy or slick roads. My Santa Fe was a much better choice all around for the Long Island environment! I'm looking into a trade in. Probably go back to the Santa Fe or similar model.

Pros
Fun to drive. Handles very well on good condition roads. Sporty looking.

Cons
Seriously poor performance in winter weather conditions. Not recommended unless you have access to another vehicle designed to better handle snow and ice!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Milton H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/28/2017
X
Xbox

Cons
Very unhappy with transmission.. very uncomfortable when shifting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Donna S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/30/2017
Hyundai Elantra GT
Overall good car. Could use some adjustments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JACK H.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/07/2017
An okay vehicle
In my opinion you get what you pay for.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 586 in total