2019
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(60 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CG
CLAYTON G.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2020
Good Vehicle
My only complaint about this car is the placement of the door lock switch, it's on the dash board instead of the door. I have owned the car for one year now and it has given me great service and I currently have 14k on the odometer.

Pros
Excellent value for an economy car, great warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Laban H.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2020
A Great Car
A very usable transportation vehicle. As pictured on the photo. Drives good and very functional able. Unusably competent, roomy, and comfortable. Being a hatchback, the storage compartment is easily accessible and adequate.

Pros
Competent.

Cons
Somewhat lacking in performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2020
Terrific car
Fun car to drive. Carries a bunch of cargo.
Holds the road nicely. Accelerates well. Feels safe to drive.
Had an Elantra, liked the GT for the extra storage area. Love how my iPhone 7 works with carplay app.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
Hector O.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2020
Great for commuting
The car has a good sporty feel with a fast acting transmission and also feels planted when driving on the highway. Interior design is nice for long commuting trips, and the tech package would make an exceptional option. Good for a road trip car where capacity for luggage is unlimited once roof racks are installed and a rack to accommodate more space from the hatch back.

Pros
Reliability, sporty, fast transmission gear change, feels planted on the highway,

Cons
Engine load is medium to low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Donald G.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2020
Love this car
This car is so fun to drive. By far the best car I have had in my price range. You get a lot of bells and whistles and not a high price tag. So sad that they will not have this model in the US anymore.

Pros
Great car over all

Cons
Wish it had more styling like rear spoiler and badging as the i30 n line

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mark M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/21/2020
19 Elantra GT N-Line
With the 2019 model Elantra GT Hyundai abandoned the somewhat baroque styling of the first-gen Elantras for something more mainstream. It works; the car retains an aggressive, sporting appearance and has the power and handling to back up it up. The interior is exceptionally well laid out ergonomically, with all controls falling readily to hand; the only possible exception is the sport mode actuator, which is located on the center console to the left of the shifter. It would have been nice if the designers could have found a space on the steering wheel controls, but that's a minor quibble. In sport mode, the vehicle accelerates smartly; it also accelerates at a reasonable rate while in "normal" mode, although the transmission tends to search a bit between 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear. Best solution is to leave the trans in sport around town and use the normal setting for freeway cruising and long distance driving. When the turbo kicks in, sport or normal mode, the punch is such that you half expect a view out the windshield something similar to that seen in the various "Star Wars" movies, ie, the stars all rush together, completely with an appropriate wooshing sound, great fun. The handling is exemplary, making the twisty roads southwest of StL or in and around the Mississippi bluffs on the Illinois side of the river an absolute delight; there is little or no discernible torque steer. The seats are supportive if not overly grippy (you want Recaros, buy Recaros) and completely comfortable for long-distance drives. This is truly the Korean GTI; my only regret is I didn't shop around a bit longer and find a six-speed but then again, with my 40+ mile commute through a major urban area with major urban area traffic, I can live with the automatic. My other regret is the average mpg usually runs around 30 BUT, then again, I spend a lot of time with my right foot down, so the blame's on me, eh?

Pros
As mentioned above

Cons
Ditto

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STEVEN G.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2020
Great value and performance for money
We purchased this vehicle to use as a commuter vehicle and allow our new teen driver to earn her license and drive it as needed. We test drove the Honda Civic, Mazda 3 and Chevy Cruze for purchasing the Elantra GT. We were won over on the overall performance and features for the money. The 10-year warranty is a bonus too. So far we have had no mechanical problems and our only big complaint is the door panels and lower interior plastics seem to scuff easy. The vehicle is also less expensive to insure and register relative the the competition above. MPG has been 38-40 mixed driving.

Pros
Luxury options at economy price
Excellent performance
Great styling (except for wheels)
Exhaust noise is sporty
Reliable to date
Excellent MPG (avg. 38 mpg mixed)
Very low cost to operate

Cons
Interior plastics on doors scuff easy
Windshield glass seems soft (pits easily)
Manual passenger seat lacks adjustment for tall people
Engine noise is uninspiring under full load
Wheel style is bland

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KEVIN S.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/23/2020
Korea's GTI
I have the Elantra GT NLine model. Except for a laggy, non-linear power delivery from the 1.6t engine, this car is every bit the equal of VW's GTI. It is a worthy hot hatch competitor. If you are considering a sport compact, such as a GTI or a Civic Si, you should give it a look.

Pros
Brakes, clutch and shifter, steering, suspension are all topflight.

Cons
Engine's power delivery is not up to current standards. It is too laggy and non-linear. This car would benefit from a 2.0 liter turbo, such as a mildly-tuned version of the Veloster N's engine. Or it needs a sport-tuned version of Hyundai's 2.5 liter normally-aspirated engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JULIO M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2020
Very nice
Very nice car Drives very nice the service department and gentlemen, Gary. takes care of picking up my car and bring it to me which I appreciate it and if it continues to be like that I will always give the customer service and recommend everyone

Pros
Very nice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DONATA D.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2020
Elantra GT
Fantastic vehicle love to drive wether I’m going to work or just for a drive great on gas and a zippy car to get around in very comfortable inside for all who are in the vehicle with me an overall fun vehicle

Pros
Every thing

Cons
Not 4 wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DIANA S.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2020
Economical and Fun to Drive
I initially bought my GT as a way to help offset the gas consumption of my Ram 1500. But I was not only trying to do that, I was looking for something that would be fun to drive on a daily basis. This fits the bill to a "T". Yes I know people will say the N-Line is a better version of this car and they may be right. For me though I did not want the hassle of a Turbo. They are great but require a little more work. This however, I feel is well rounded and balanced. The car is fun to drive and also comfortable enough to live with on a day to day basis around town. Taking it out on the weekends in Sport mode really makes this feel a little more like a GT. It changes the shift points on the transmission and tightens the tolerances on the steering, brakes, and throttle response. The Appearance Package options are great and a welcome addition. I just wish they included navigation, cooled seats, and a heated steering wheel. If your on the fence between this on a Veloster, I encourage you to drive both in traffic and in a few other situations you would do on a day to day basis. I loved the Veloster but this is just as stylish and easier to live with day to day. You will not go wrong with one of these.

Pros
Great fuel economy while still being sporty
value options for the money
fun to drive on a daily basis
day to day livability

Cons
no navigation on top base model trim level
No heated steering wheel in the USA but standard in Canada
No cooled seat option

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Nathan N.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2020
N Line
Great car, fun to drive. The manual transmission is responsive and transfer of power is sufficient. The radio is underpowered, if you get the base radio. The car handles well, as it came equipped with 215/40/18 Michelin Sport Pilot 4 tires. The wheels are specific to the model and look great.

Pros
Great styling and fun to drive.

Cons
Small trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
WILLIAM G.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
Excellent vehicle
Great car, dealer experience was not all that great. Delivery was rushed and sales rep offered very little information on functions and features. There was no after sale follow up and I actually had to search the vehicle to find the owners manual and warranty info, actually finding it in the spare tire well.

Cons
Dealer delivery and after-sale follow up was not up to my expectations

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MQ
MOHSIN Q.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/12/2020
Great car, reliable, fun to drive
Love the look of the car, love it's a manual transmission, love how it drives, obviously wish Hyundai would realease the Elantra N in the United States, but overall very happy with my decision. Will definitely recommend others to Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BENEDICTO G.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/11/2020
2019 Elantra GT N Line
good overall value. Great fuel economy and but wish the safety features standard on the Elantra sedan was made standard. Again, the ride is too harsh and doesn't necessarily equate to good handling, The ride feels busy and jittery as opposed to supple yet stiff.

Pros
great fuel economy. Good interior design and exterior design. Good interior space and plenty of rear seat leg room.

Cons
The ride is too stiff and not very refined. The stiff ride doesn't necessarily equate to great handling but only gives the impression of one. The ride is jittery compared to the regular Elantra GT. I have the N-line. The doors are misaligned. Noticed this on other Elantra GTs on the lot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Barbara D.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2020
Elantra GT
I absolutely love my GT! Great on gas mileage and plenty of room! Gets me every where I need to go weather I have to go to work or on vacation , zippy car and comfortable for my passengers or if I’m driving solo!!

Pros
Every thing

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DONNA M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/01/2020
Terrible hesitation problem
Not the 1st turbo hyundai I've owned but this one with the 1.6 never knew what gear to be in or how much turbo boost to give in around town driving. Braking/handling/appearance in n out/comfort/viability all top notch. Power to weight ratio wasn't good. Desperately needs the 2.0T engine and all will be well.
Trades it in after 6 months because of the hesitation, pulling out in traffic making a LEFT was always a problem...SAFETY 1ST!!!

Cons
GT-N, 1.6 turbo, needs to be replaced with the 2.0T from the Genesis (had one, righteous).
Even with the traction control "off', when you hit the loud peddle to make a left, you never knew how long it was gonna take to get throttle response. That's a HUGE Safety issue!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/01/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

RK
Richard K.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
gets an A+
Drives well, corners great, accelerates well, brakes are A+++ for feel and controllability .
Acceleration out of corners in sport mode best described as "eager".
Would buy another - best car I have ever owned.

Pros
most everything, especially brakes

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
NAVIL P.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Th Best Car for your buck
I love my Elantra, I use to have a VW Golf (2015) and I loved that car but it was so pricey and it was one maintenance issue after another, very disappointing. It’s been 1 year with my Elantra and I have not had any issues and it’s so roomy and great on mileage! Have gone on a few road trips already 😊
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Reynolds W.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2020
2019 ELANTRA GT/ EXCELLENCE
ON THE HEELS OF MY PREVIOUS 2016 ELANTRA GT I CCAN REPORT THAT THIS IS VERY DIFFERENT AND VASTLY IMPROVED. THE LARGER ENGINE IS QUIETER.AND MORE POWERFUL. THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM DOES NOT SEND VIBRATIONS TO THE STEERING WHEEL AND ROUGH ROADS ARE NOT NOTICED BUT NICELY DAMPENED. iNTERIER SPACE IS OR SEEMS LARGER. THE SUNROOF SIZE IS A PLUS SANS WIND NOISE FULLY OPEN. SPORT MODE IS QUICK AND INSTANT. I AM TOTALLY INTO RELIABILITY AND THE VEHICLE ASSURES ME OF THAT PLUS THE ROAD ASSISTANCE SUPPORT, ALTHOUGH NEVER NEEDED, AND THE 5 YEAR WARRANTY WERE HELPFUL IN MY INITIAL ,. DID I MENTION THE FINE ROADABILITY AND ACCRUTREMENTS I.E. TWIN TEMPERATURE ZONE CONTROLS, HEATED SEATS,SIX WAY SEATING ADJUSTMENT AND EASY FLIP DOWN OF REAR SEATS? lOTS MORE TO BRAG ON BUT i SHALL JUST COMMEND HYUNDAI DESIGNERS /STYLISTS AND ENGINEERS ON A VERY FINE PROJECT.

Pros
BUILD QUALITY, HANDLING, QUIETNESS, SUSPENSION SYSTEM
EXTERIOR FINISH GREAT,
GOOD RADIO / SPEAKERS.

Cons
INFOTAINMENT SYSTEM COMPLICATED AND NOT USER FRIENDLY,
LACKS WHEEL ANI-THEFT LUGS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 60 in total