2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1138 Reviews)
Latest review 10 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EV
ELVIN V.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/10/2019
my son loves his very first car
I purchased this vehicle after my Elantra was rear ended, the plan was to get another one, but because this was eventually going to be handed down to my son, he nudged me into a Veloster. I drove the little guy for two years and fell in love. it's a very nice looking car with some pep, "when using the sport's mode". I will be buying some quiet tires to help with the road noise, but for the price i cannot complain. I have not had to do any serious maintenance on it other than oil change, and add a drop-in "sports air filter". I would recommend the Veloster tor anyone, and it makes a good first car for a youngster.

Pros
Very nice looking sporty car
Fun to drive
The sports mode is a very useful detail
Very economical
Nice deep exhaust noise
oh yeah, and it still has a CD player on it!

Cons
Need to keep that "sports mode" engaged to get that performance you want
A little road noise, so try to get some nice quiet tires in the future

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kelly S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/09/2019
Runs great.
The car runs great. My only complaint is the body seems to be easily damaged. The paint chips easily. The car is really low to the ground which makes it look great but also makes it easy to scrape and makes for a rough ride. Otherwise a wonderful little car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SUSAN H.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2019
Love this car so much, I'm on Veloster #2
This car has comfort, performance, luxury features, a sporty look that draws many compliments and a reasonable price. I have the 6 speed turbo which is fun to drive. My 1st was the basic Veloster and it still was better with more features than competitor's small sporty versions. When you shut the doors on those cars, it feels like aluminum foil. The Veloster goes "kachunk" heavy and substantial. I'm able to put the seats down and slide in my kayak too.

Pros
Engine performance, fast acceleration. Very comfortable on my recent 6 hour road trip.

Cons
Visibility from driver seat. Backup camera is improvement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SARAH C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
I love my Veloster!
This is the most fun car to drive that I’ve ever owned. Everything about the vehicle is tight including the steering, ride, brakes, etc. I chose the color orange because it’s so unique! Really stands out on the road. Gas mileage is great. Stereo and blue tooth phone controls allow me to enjoy my music and make/take work calls while on the road.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jessie D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Great car
This car has been by far our best car we have ever recieved! I highly reccomend the veloster. We have had it for about 5 months now and have had no problems with it. The veloster has really great features.

Pros
Its overall a great car

Cons
No cons at all

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Cannot beat the price, economy, reliability and fun.
We have had our CPO Veloster Turbo for 10,000 miles and just ran out of factory bumper to bumper warranty. We average 32 MPG and have had no mechanical issues. The front bumper attachments seem to be quite weak (hit a pot hole and some of the bumper fasteners came undone) but the car is a solid performer. No, it is not a GTI or a EVO, but it's a great eco friendly commuter with some mild performance and good handling. Our best MPG was 39. It is great in the snow. The interior is holding up well and materials are durable. The leather still looks like new. Tires are wearing evenly and the car is still solid with no squeaks or rattles.

Pros
Interior quality, styling like no other, performance, handling, reliability

Cons
Weak front bumper attachments.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
Windell H.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
Great little car with zip!
My Veloster is a 2016 model with a super charger. It handles on curves and hills like a champ. The only thing I dont have inside warning and lane assist. It does have blind spots but being careful I have been able to concur the blind spots. My next car will be a Veloster.

Pros
Great car fun to drive and has good gas milage.

Cons
No lane assist and no blind spot warning on my 2016 veloster super charger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DENNIS L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
fun car for my teen
My daughter loves it! She feels like its a sports car. Its great to have the third door so her brother and sister can get in and out easy. My kids are tall and they fit in the back and seem to really like it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Bette S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Recommend Volester
I love my car. My only complaint is it rides a little rough. I definitely like the three door feature. The gas mileage is roughly 34 mpg. Everyone thinks I drive a sports car. I like the style. I would recommend putting a rubber strip on the back below the hatch because it tends to get nick's if you are loading heavy items into the back.

Pros
Love everything about the car

Cons
Rides a little rough. Did not come with spare tire. Had to purchase one myself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
Nathan G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Extremely reliable!
My Veloster has been so very good to me !! It drives very smooth, and is a great car for traveling! I recommend to everyone to get not only a veloster but a vehicle from Hyundai, they’re cars are super efficient and reliable!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christian D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/16/2019
So far not so good!
Certified Pre-owned Hyundai Veloster with 36,000 miles. So far a new transmission, that took way longer to fix than it should and the communication during the process was poor at best. More issues with the transmission after replacing, as well as other issues. Took it back to the dealership to have them look it over and make sure it was all good before my daughter drove it off to college. Less than a 1,000 miles into the trip, my daughter's Veloster had to be towed, because it broke down! What a lemon!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steve K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
3rd Veloster in 6 years! Great car.
I work in insurance sales and use my car daily. I am 64 years old and bought my first Veloster in 2012. My second was a turbo in 2014, Now I own a 2016 turbo. I get compliments every day from customers on the styling of my car. Come out with the N model in the dual clutch auto and we may be looking st number 4!! I am a customer for sure. Need any testimonials, just let me know.

Pros
Styling and performance

Cons
Little stiff on ride and low profile tires contribute.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gallando E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Awesome
It's an very reliable vehicle, great on gas, fun to ride. Space pro since its an small size I would definitely recommend anyone to buy this car
You wouldn't regret I enjoyed every moment driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Great little car for the price with Hyundai reliability and excellent warranty.
I bought a Veloster turbo (my first Hyundai) based on seeing other friends with Hyundais having good experiences with theirs. The base Veloster is a bit slow for my taste but the turbo is excellent. Its unique design always stands out in the crowd of crossovers and SUVs. Very happy with the Veloster turbo and Hyundai.

Pros
Great looking, fun to drive, excellent sound and NAV system.

Cons
None if I can get my little problem solved of gasoline smell coming in through the a/c vents.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
Excellent
The Veloster has been a pleasure to drive for a small car. It’s economical and has all the bells and whistles I need. Being a turbo, I find it has all the pickup and speed I need to pull out into fast moving highway traffic, which is impressive for a small car. It may be small but I also have plenty of room to fit all my “stuff” wherever I go

Pros
My car is always fun to drive
It has been dependable and enjoyable to own

Cons
I can’t really think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Mr V
My sweet little veloster has been a joy.Wierd that ac went out at 3 years but your service department was outstanding & on we go Thanks to Ty& all that completed the service with perfection!I think this car was a buy for the $ & to my surprise it has been an amazing experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Volester 6 speed turbo
This car is awesome. It is probably one of my favorites of the cars I have ever owned. It is very stylish inside and out. This car is so much fun to drive. I really like having a stick shift plus it has a lot of get up and go.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sheree B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
Love my car!!!
Bought my car new and I’m very happy with it !!! has great gas mileage... car has a lot of get up and go and it looks good ...I highly recommend it !!! the only problem I can see with it is it does lose some power when you run the eco and air conditioner at the same time

Pros
Great little car...fun to drive...has get up and go...great gas mileage

Cons
When eco and air conditioning are being used together car isn’t very powerful...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joel C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Turbo lag.
Turbo lag hesitation is mildly annoying. Acceleration should be more immediate. Low end torque is appreciated. Seat comfort is good with good lateral support. Lack of spare tire is disturbing, at least a small spare tire should be supplied with each Veloster. Either that or equip car with run flat tires or self sealing tires.

Pros
Torque

Cons
Turbo lag

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sandra W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
I love driving this car. It is sporty, drives well, and is a great sports car for the money. The exterior lines are awesome. I am always having someone tell me they love my car. I've even had people contact me wanting to buy it.

Pros
Excellent take off and the turbo moves you on down the road. Hugs to the road and takes a curve like a dream!

Cons
No back seat only a 2 seater. The car has the traffic app but you have to select buttons to see what is on the route you want to travel. Other than this small issue, excellent car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1138 in total