2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1183 Reviews)
Latest review 27 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CD
Carpiaux D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2020
Fun and sporty little car
I bought my used 2016 Veloster on Oahu and had driven around the island for several months before shipping the car to Maui. I really find this a very comfortable and fuel efficient car for being so small and sporty. The asymmetrical door layout is very convenient for loading large items through the rear hatch or to just plop groceries in the back seat. Everything works as designed and has a high quality feel to it. I wish I had bought one these sooner.

Pros
Value for the money, fuel efficient, styling, sporty and fun to drive.

Cons
no interior rear hatch release, no spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Marsha F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/15/2020
Veloster 2016
I love cars. I take exceptional care of my car and I enjoy driving. My Veloster is fun, sporty and just cute to look at. It only has one flaw that is awful! The blind spot on the front passenger side window area where the mirror sets in the door. It is really, really bad. You'd think it would be the minimal vision from the back window. It's fine. When I'm driving I have to make sure I move my head and body all around when looking for traffic/activity on the right front/side of my car. I have missed seeing, cars, bicycles, and people because of this blind spot. I actually counted how many seconds before the headlights of a car came into view that was traveling from a distance on my right. It was almost 3 full seconds. That's unacceptable. I've learned to over compensate and thoroughly check for activity on the right side of my car after almost running over a bicycle. Scared the crap out of both of us. So please be aware of this unacceptable blind spot.

Pros
fun to drive. Looks sporty and fresh.

Cons
Horrible blind spot on right mirror door area.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
George B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/26/2020
Veloster Turbo 2016
I really love my car is my first new car bought it for me and my kids meaning my Dogs Love the space inside I love the style love the way I feel driving it it’s a really cool car I hope you feel the same way I do

Pros
To me is very Economic on gas miles Easy to find parking and tight spot Like NYC

Cons
To me absolutely nothing like I said I really love my car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Justine W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/22/2020
I LOVE LOVE LOVE my vehicle
I just LOVE my vehicle. I have not had any major problems since I had my vehicle in 2016...the only problem I've ever had was not from driving my car but simply from regular maintenance...ie nails in my tires, basic oil change, tire rotation. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone wanting a nice economic car, good on gas, and certainly a very good looking car. Too bad I can't afford a brand new one, but I'm very happy with the one I have.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Samantha P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2020
Gas saver!
This is a great vehicle for saving money on gas. Drives smoothly and has a variety of useful features, plus for its small size it is very roomy and comfortable. I recommend this car for traveling to far destinations.

Pros
Roomy
Gas saver
Comfy
Good handling
Drives smooth
Lots of useful features
Keyless ignition

Cons
Not good for driving through floods
Back window is very small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CZ
Cindy Z.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/23/2020
My 2016 Veloster turbo
I love my 2016 Veloster turbo! It is fun and fast! Stylish too! Corners great and turns heads. Lots of room. Great leather seats and my 6 speed stick shift is smooth! My next one will be the Veloster N for sure!!!

Pros
Fast! Turbo rocks!!
Cornering
Smooth lines
Sporty
Roomy
Great look
Tight steering
Great truck space
Awesome pano roof
Smooth 6 speed manual stick

Cons
Needs more power!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Richard L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
Don't know what it's asking...
Fun 6 speed hatchback... Very quick and fun to drive... I plan on driving this car for a very long time! I hope to one day buy a Hyundai Veloster N when I move to the North Georgia Mountains but in the meantime, my hyundai veloster turbo gets me around metro Atlanta....

Pros
Fun little 6 speed hatchback... Very quick and peppy!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Danielle G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
All-Time Fave Vehicle
I bought this car new from the Hyundai dealership in 2015 and have enjoyed driving it every single day. So much fun to drive. Absolute comfort seating and sporty interior. Great on long road trips, with no driver fatigue. Tons of cargo space, which you'd never guess when looking at this sporty little gem. I love this zippy little whip!

Pros
Design, performance, reliability, comfort, features

Cons
Air conditioner vent placement in relation to steering wheel/column. Direct air flow to driver is mostly blocked. Florida heat and humidity is uniquely constant year-round, so air vents aren't of negligible consideration here.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Ronald N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/18/2020
Fun little hot hatch
I love my Veloster. While not necessarily a fast car, it is a fun car to drive especially with a stick shift. It is quick, loves to turn, and people always either compliment or need to ask me all kinds of questions about the car because of how unique it is. If you are into tuning, it is very easy to work on and modify. It does not take much to boost the fun factor as just a few bolt sons and tune can make it easily better than some of the bigger hatches like a Ford Focus ST. The Interior is very comfortable and roomy for such a small car. Plenty of trunk space for all your needs. The only downside is the fact these cars a little quirky. They have their little annoyances like laggy or inconsistent throttle response or a gearbox that does not always want to do what you tell it to do. It absolutely sucks to drive with traction control on because the slightest indication of wheel spin and the engine cuts off for a second. The throttle can be a bit jerky at times because of the stock intake design. Simple mods and tuning changes fix that and this is a car that typically you will want to improve as the factory version of the car is not the best of designs, especially because of the turbo GDI engine.

Pros
fun to drive
looks great
unique 3 door design
easy to modify

Cons
bad engine design
throttle issues
not amazing to drive out the factory

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
Pamela F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
Love it!
I had no idea what a Veloster looked like. All I know is I asked God for a car since my last car had been flooded out. After a couple of months, He told ne to go to Hyundai South Loop. He was already there when I arrived...from the beginning to the end. And I drove out with a brand new sporty Veloster with all the bells and whistles. I felt young again and still do. It's quick, fast and easy to handle. It has all the bells and whistles I need. When traffic is light on weekend mornings , I take off driving as fast as I can mindful of my surroundings and it is exhilarating.I am energized. Even more because I know my car is in excellent service care from my dealership. You are the best!

Pros
Everything above and looks

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Devon S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Highly Recommended
Being that it’s my first ever “brand new” car, the Hyundai Veloster doesn’t disappoint. It’s fun to drive and has stunning good looks that’s unique to the car world. I also love the compact design with its sexy curves and low stance. Additionally, my car came with the Style Package which includes; upgraded Dimension Radio, 18” wheels, panoramic sunroof and piano black finishes throughout. Although I wish it had the Tech package to round everything out but it’s a fun car to take on road trips!

Pros
- excellent design
- great fuel economy
- roomy cargo space
- handles well

Cons
If you have the non-turbo model, the acceleration is lacking and sometimes there’s dead spots when turning (turning to accelerate onto highway).
Little to no headroom in the back seats for an average size adult. So I recommend only having children in the back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sharon D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/28/2020
Fun Ride
I enjoy driving this little car. It has lots of leg room and good mileage. Not the smoothest ride - you'll feel the bumps - but I had read that before buying. Love the panoramic sunroof. Interior design is sporty.

Pros
Style, mileage, comfort, 3 door

Cons
Small trunk, no spare tire (fix-a-flat), feel all the bumps

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tracy R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Best car I’ve ever owned
I am a first time Hyundai owner, I took time prior to buying a car to review ratings on various cars, the Veloster had exceptional reviews and what sold me was not many people wanting to get rid of them. I had a family member that owned one and got 300,000 miles out of it. I love the sporty body design. I have been very pleased with my purchase and won’t buy anything else.

Pros
I love the 3 door feature, sound system is great, fun to drive and sport around town in.

Cons
Rough ride compared to most

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Railer C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2020
2016 Veloster Turbo
I’ve read most articles describing the Veloster as quirky with its 3 doors. Some have even said it’s not fast.
Let me debunk that theory.
Quirky, no quite practical. Incredible cabin space, lots of vision to see out.
In my day 0-60 was 6 seconds. Now it’s half that with certain 50k+ vehicles.
This car looks great even sitting still, better when going fast.
I used to race 90mph karts in Europe. This car feels like racing a kart with its quick handling, nice short shifter. Was nice to go from a vehicle that had just over 100hp to one that has 201. This car has the amenities that you want and need. It’s quick from my era of growing up. Replace the factory tyres with some stickier ones and wow what a difference it will make.
I enjoy the long drives and getting close to 40mpg with A/C on.

Pros
Value for money. Fun to drive. Go kart like steering. Good mileage. Nice looks of the vehicle.

Cons
Down time to keep it clean when not driving. There really is no cons to this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Vaughan S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2020
My Blue Machine
A fun little sports car. I love the way it drives and definitely the automatic /manual stick. The aerodynamic and smooth body. My car came fully loaded, wonderful sound, and speakers. Love the different features. It hung, picks up, and smooth movement as it glides down the road. Love it!

Pros
Fully loaded

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Madison M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2020
Absolutely love my car
My car is fast safe and such a fun weird looking car. I got it used but was so much had the engine for over 2 years. She purrs Abe is so fast. Please consider this if u want a unique car for you or yourself .

Pros
Fast and fun

Cons
There is none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kim S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Love my car!
Purchased a used 2016 (was used for corporate) and love it. It's a 3 door with a hatchback and surprisingly enough, has more space than expected or one would think viewing from the exterior. 2 full size seats in back with plenty of leg room - surprising!! It's a fun car that will fit 4 adults very nicely. However, on a trip, one would have to arm-wrestle my 17-lb pooch for the back seat as she loves her car also!!! However, she has told me, with the right person, she would gladly share. :)

Pros
Pros listed above

Cons
Can't think of any thus far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Humberto R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Great ride
owned 4 years great handling great gas mileage. Comfortable interior. Nice features including panoramic sunroof. Seats 4 comfortable. Great car for price and experience with it has been a delight. Happy with this purchase
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Jack F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2020
Veloster is a cool car
This car has great styling. Now is it not powerful with under 150 HP but it handles quick and that makes it feel fast. Inside it is sharp and comfortable. We love this car. we got 50 miles to the gallon on a long flat drive. We looked at other cars like the Nissan Juke, this is a much better car and better warranty.

Pros
great handling
great styling
good organization of instrument panel

Cons
Low horsepower

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Jean Paul V.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Veloster Turbo
I must admit that this Veloster Turbo is perfect for me. It has a very efficient Turbo engine, it has a CD player that I need in my work, and it looks absolutely beautiful. One of the best cars I ownedPlease continue to produce that car and keep that stylish look.

Pros
Wonderful car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1183 in total