2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(252 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TS
Terrie S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Reliable automobile
Fuel efficiency, great reliability!! I would definitely recommend any hyundai to my friends. This is the third hyundai I've owned and neither car has ever left me stranded. Hyundai has come a long way. Keep up the good work Hyundai!!

Pros
Great fuel mileage, reliable!!

Cons
Road noise, no spare tire, some interior squeaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/08/2019
2017 Volester
the car is fun to drive, and fits the use I intended it for a second car for the wife and kids. shopping, school, kids camp. Looks sharp, handles well, the only issue we have is the slight hesitation at full acceleration. I plan to bring it to the dealer for this soon. Lee in Florence, sc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Maria D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2019
Sport looking sedan
Clean looking sedan. Runs ok in automatic. Jerks a bit if you try to go fast. But just switch over to paddle shift and it will run great. I like all the smart electronic panel. Nice loud radio. Over all it's ok. For a single person. For a family of 4 not so much. The back is super small. The 3 door feature horrible. It's not made for tall people, or someone on the hefty side.

I have also noticed that the seatbelts in the back get caught on it's guide. Not letting the seatbelt retract properly. I will call customer service and complain because that's a safety issue.

Pros
Sporty looking sedan

Cons
3 door feature. Rear seat belts get caught on it's guide.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Katherine C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Enjoy immensely!
I like everything about the Veloster. Have had many compliments on the sporty looks. Specially like the availability of service and their excellent care with the maintenance. Being a widow it is a comfort.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHANIE L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
Great car
I receive many compliments (appearance, performance, features)on my 2017 Hyundai Veloster. This is my second Veloster which is a upgrade from the first one. I worked with the same car dealer because he was friendly, accommodating, and professional.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
Service Department
Cydney P. was very helpful when serving my daughter car for a oil change. She made sure that i was very satisfy with my service.She slso made sure that i was taking care at speedy service. I would her recommend my friend to come visit you guys for serbices.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
RYAN N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2019
2017 hyundai veloster
love the car, I knew the car's engine was smaller than my older car.
took me awhile to adjust to the slow acceleration, but there is a sports mode that helps out.
the design of the car and the comfort for this car for the money is amazing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
WANDA L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Fun To Drive
The Veloster is very fun to drive. It looks very sporty and handles well. It does have a bad blind spot on the front passenger side that you will have to constantly be aware of. The only improvements I would suggest is bigger wheels, more options in the mid-level model (i.e. remote start), and a convertible model.

Pros
Lots of bang for your buck. Very fun to drive. Great looking car.

Cons
Bad blind spot. Moderate engine pick up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Ann S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/04/2019
Just average
I like noting about this car except the look of the car, should have done more research before I bought the car. there is no acceleration, the gas miles are not great. I actually spend more money in gas in this car than I did my 2013 Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tony B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
Sporty! Economical! Great features!
This is the second to last her that I’ve actually owned. I currently have a 2017. The first was a 2012. Good price range for what you get. It’s economical. Great look. Awesome features for the value addition.

Cons
Standard engine could use a little more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joyce M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
JoyJam
Great Vehicle he’ll holder needs work gets good mileage cold AC nice radio works well with Roko Alexa three door entry presents a little bit of a problem for older riders you should include at least a bubble tire in case of a flat tire

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Hill Holder needs work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/26/2019
2017 Hyundai Veloster Valve Edition
I think it definitely needs a lot more horse power (intake system upgrade) and a arm rest in the back seat also a back dome light that you can turn on and off. A much better stereo system maybe a Bose or Infinity would be nice.

Pros
I love the over all styling interior and exterior.

Cons
Needs more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Charles J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2019
17 veloster
Economical good mileage,automatic transmission sluggish,noise level high,can’t hear radio on expressway.Comfortable ride for size of vehicle.All in all happy with car,would have loved to had a turbo,but none available,due to it being 2017,no 2018 were made,but that’s the way it goes.

Pros
Economical.

Cons
Automatic transmission sluggish,high noise level.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
The Car for me.
The Veloster's are great vehicles for drivers who value convenience, follow up service, styling and features. While probably not the car if you have kids, for a single man who enjoys driving and performance and styling, my turbo is the perfect car for me. It's every bit as good as a BMW or Saab (I had 7 of them) and I wouldn't trade my car for other of those makes. It's not for everyone but perfect for me.

Pros
See above

Cons
Better brakes
Gear display on screen
The "no CD" thing should have been explained and paired to my phone at time of purchase

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Virgil B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
I'd buy it again
I looked at the Velosters for several years before getting this one. Kind of wish I'd done it sooner, but then I wouldn't have this model.
Great car, holds the road nicely and rides very well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Sofia V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2019
I think it needed the carpets, looks poor and cheap without it.
My Veloster is good, but inside it looks poor because you guys didn't give me full equipment carpets as It supposed would be. I think the day I went to the dealership was a big mistake. I wanted this car so badly that that becomes a nightmare because my experience as a buyer was not good. I already had an Elantra, it was perfect, then I did think your brand was good to continue but after my Veloster's carpets, I would re-think before another car's change.

Pros
the children like it.

Cons
As I said early, inside look awful. I bought plastic carpets, they aren't that nice at all

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Felix M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2019
love it
fun to drive and good on gas, hands wonderful ,very responsive in sport mode, I am a 61 year old child with a long drive to work.I will open the sun roof and crank up the XM redio and have a great ride to work
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rigoberto R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/05/2019
Buy the turbo..
I would recommend you by the turbo. At the dead stop, car takes a bit to catch. Leather seats might have been a better upgrade.
No CD player for us old folks. Paint caught many minor scratches after a few washes..

Pros
Better of the compact cars..

Cons
Slower on the pick up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kahlil B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2019
Best Car Ever!
Honestly the technology in this vehicle is outstanding and the ride is great. It is very fuel efficient. I will have to write another review to Explain how good it is but I'm in a hurry to go to work. Needs a Heads up display. More detail in the pros and cons of the vehicle. Must buy though.

Pros
Lots of Technology, Car Apple play, Fuel efficient with a great kick. For a front wheel drive vehicle. It accelerates fairly quick. quite ride. Spacious in the front. Its definitely better than the 2019 model. The only thing the 2019 has is the heads up display. This version has more trunk space and is roomier. Interior was designed better.

Cons
No heads up display. Would have been cool if they made a model with Battery type hybrid. Wish there were more apps to add onto the computer. Wish there was an option for Xenon lights. But other than that vehicle is outstanding.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jon L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/24/2019
Different
I would definitely change the way the car accelerates and shifts. It's also a very tiny 2 person car. It has 2 seats in the back, but really only 5 year olds would fit comfortably. The trunk is spacious, and I love my sunroof.

Pros
Great Looking Car.
Good on gas

Cons
Bad Acceleration Issues.
Not enough back seat space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 252 in total