Style image original

2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71

798 Reviews

Latest review 2 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 01/19/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"'16 Veloster R Spec "

The car was initially delivered with a battery with a dead/dying cell which was replaced under warranty after requiring 2 assisted jump starts -also covered by warranty. After this inauspicious start, the car has performed flawlessly. To be honest, I had always had reservations about the build quality of Korean autos based on the reputation of initial efforts decades earlier. Now, after 15 months of ownership, I have absolutely no such apprehensions. Indeed, I have recommended Hyundai's to friends shopping for new vehicles. Specifics about the R Spec: 1. The best single feature of the car is the B&M sport shifter. Shifts are crisp and positive, absolutely no slop or vagueness. An absolute pleasure to use. This combined with... 2. The torque of the turbo (at relatively low RPM's) makes "rowing" you own gears so very easy. Anyone apprehensive of manual transmissions should know that this vehicle is the ideal choice to learn manual shifting. 3. Ride quality is relatively stiff to the uninitiated, but totally in line with a performance vehicle. This may be in part due to the wide low profile tires in addition to the suspension set up. 4. Despite it's exterior dimensions (size) it is exceptionally comfortable and roomy for the front two occupants. 5. Bolstering in the front two bucket seats, surprisingly, combine the two (usually disparate) qualities of comfort and great lateral support. Note: and I am a relatively large person. 6. Acceleration and the visceral feeling of the turbo kicking in never ceases to bring a smile on my face. For geezers old enough to remember, it's like feeling the secondary barrels (of a 4 barrel carburetor on a strong V-8 engine) opening up on hard acceleration. 7. The only single fault I have on the car is the lack of a spare tire. The car only comes with a flat fixing kit. The car should at least come equipped with a "space saving" compact spare--which runs an additional $350-$400 with the compact tire actually installed on the compact rim. With this omission, I'm considering refitting the car with self sealing or run flat tires. 8. The purchase process I experienced was painless and pleasant. I have nothing but positive comments about my dealership. Overall, a very happy camper. Note: Hyundai was offering a $4,000 discount on 2016 Velosters the last 4 months of 2016 when I made my purchase. With the announcement this week (Jan. 15, 2018) of the newly redesigned 2019 Veloster, look for similar significant discounts on 2017 Velosters. If you can take advantage of such a discount, your purchase will be a fantastic bargain on a 201 horsepower turbo sporty car.

Pros
Crisp positive B&M sport shifter. Seat comfort. Acceleration Low end torque

Cons
Turbo lag. Outward visibility, rear quarter. Fuel economy, mpg (lower than EPA rating)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/18/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Babys turbo veloster "

Fast , smooth , handles great at high speeds . Good braking . Super performance on fuel in sport mode with Lucas injector and gas treatment regiment . Catch this car if you can , it’s a truly a trill ride !

Pros
Faster than you think !!!!

Cons
Still don’t have any !!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/18/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car!!"

The Veloster Turbo is a fun quick little car. Great bang for your buck. It get great gas mileage on 87 octane gas and still gets out of its own. The car handles good and is fun to drive. The car looks great.

Pros
Good mpg Good looking Good performance Good handling

Cons
Car does not hold it’s value very well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/17/2018
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Just okay"

Car has some issues. Seven speed transmission jumped around some. Car has rattles which distract from driving experience. And has a harsh ride. On the plus side the tech options are first rate and the styling of car is unique.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/17/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Service for my Veloster"

Very prompt at getting my car serviced and taken care of. Staff very professional and friendly. Will return to this dealership again. The waiting room was nice and comfortable, free coffee and water was offered. Very satisfied.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/16/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car"

I love this vehicle. I’m a college student and the third door works really well for all my books. For the money I don’t think there’s s better option out there. Plus it’s very stylish. Hyundai is famous for making costly options standard equipment. Best car on the market.

Pros
Third door, sporty, reliable, comfortable.

Cons
Have found any yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Fast"

Love the sleekness of this vehicle, it is cute and performs well. I am In The car for quite a few hours daily and the comfort of it is great and extremely important. The sound system is great as well as functionality.

Pros
I can park just about anywhere and whip in and out of tight spots quickly.

Cons
I hate that the breaks slide.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Does not disappoint "

I love my car. It handles well, drives smooth and looks good. I wanted something sporty without getting into a higher end sports car and this car meets those requirements. I got the turbo with the tech package that has the nicer sound system upgraded rims and leather seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Turbo"

I love mine the turbo is a very nice sporty car with distinctive looks, you either love or hate, hardly nobody is on the fence. Every I park mine somewhere I always get good comments, as i stated elsewhere I think the front end look could be improved, but the res of the car is super and the turbo compared to the normally aspirated is night and day, I've owned both and I can't believe it's the same i-4 motor.

Pros
does everything I ask of it, sporty, has room to carry all my junk,

Cons
front end could use some styling tweaks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"I like my Rally."

Got my Rally for almost 2 years now and still my boy don't give me such a major pain in the arse. but i have this minor problem with my Purge solenoid which is there is a lot of reason why it happened. well, other than that i drove my rally to NC or to DC no problem with such a small car.

Pros
Like the style.

Cons
Rough ride but i can deal with it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/11/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Veloster"

I've had my Veloster for almost a year now. It has been trouble free and running great for all the time and mileage. Getting it serviced has been GREAT Too!!! I arrive for my scheduled appointment have a comp snack and beverage and they take care of everything else with NO hassles.

Pros
Too numerous to mention!

Cons
I'll let you know when I find one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/10/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My veloster"

This vehicle has turned out really good for me.i have already driven it to california and las vegas(3 times) without any problems..really good with the gas and really comfortable too..not to mention that its stylish..so far i am very happy and glad that i bought this vehicle

Pros
Runs really good..stylish

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/06/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Veloster"

I own a 2016 Veloster turbo. I am extremely happy with the performance of this vehicle. I have had intermittent problems with connecting my phone via Bluetooth. I haven't isolated the source of the problem so I can't really say it's the vehicle or its software.

Pros
Easily merge with fast traffic. Comfortable seats. Stearing wheel controls for radio. Back up camera.

Cons
Blind spot on the driver side. Small window in the left rear passenger side. Must take a really thourough look before changing lanes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/04/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Car!"

Truly a great car for me and I save money in gas too. I enjoy driving a six speed since manual transmissions are the way to go for me. Backing up in this car is is made easy with the rear view camera also.

Pros
Just what I wanted!

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/04/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Hyundai Veloster "

I love my little veloster i love that its a 4 cylinder but still fast enough to run with the big dogs with out it being as thirsty but overall i would recommend to anyone that has a V-8 i do it now daily to anyone thats asks me i have people stop me just to ask what it is and i tell them where to go test drive its just the cutest car for the best price

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
I don't to much like the transmission wish I could have gotten a stick shift it may need to see if it needs another up grade other than that I'm satisfied

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/04/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Veloster "

N/A Nando’s sksksksj ksksksksksj jaksksksjsj ksksksksksjs kajsksksksjs kakdndjsj kaksjsjsjsjs kaksjsjsjsjsjsksksk kaksksjsjsjsjsks jsnsjsnsjsjsjjs jaksjsjsjsjsjsjs jsnsjsnsjsjsjjsks nsnsjsnsnsjsjs nsnsnsnsn

Pros
Satisfied overall.

Cons
Horn don’t like it needs to be stronger, deeper and louder.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/01/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Daily Driver"

I bought the Hyundai Veloster as a daily driver. I am not disappointed. It gets great gas mileage. It has enough zip to make it fun. I would recommend the manual for the most enjoyment. Enough room to fit the family in an emergency.

Pros
Peppy Turbo engine Great sunroof

Cons
Massive blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Hyundai Veloster"

Absolutely love my Veloster! Great gas mileage! Easy to drive. Great features love the built in GPS and touch screen. An couldn't live without my backup camera and sunroof! Love love my Veloster. Tiffany

Pros
Love the comfort, reliability, gas mileage it gets, stereo is great, love all the features it has

Cons
Don't really have any cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Style--- Love it"

Just a great car--- Look cool, Feels good driving..

Pros
Being 6'3 I can get in the driver side with ease.

Cons
Being 6'3, I have trouble getting in the passenger side, also, The rear view mirror is not made for somebody over 6 feet tall. Cannot adjust the mirror as much as I wish. Sometimes the car feels slightly under powered, But I am not racing, so it is okay.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent car"

I love my car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 798 in total