Style image original

2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72

647 Reviews

Latest review 1 day ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 09/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great sporty car"

Stylish high performance car that's fun to drive and has great performance and economy. The turbo option give extra power without lowering the fuel economy; the car is very comfortable inside and a blast to drive.

Pros
Great looking Sporty Turbo performance

Cons
Passenger air bag indicator No mute feature Needs automatic headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love the style and ride, plus the crazy color."

I have heard people saying the engines in Hyundai's are not good and that the brain for the electrical system is not good. I have not had any problems as of now and hope not to ever find any.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/22/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"14 months later"

this is after 8500 miles,a new transmission at 2400 miles,and still going

Pros
styling,performance(sometimes),fun to drive

Cons
ride can be quite rought,buzzes & rattles,motor/transmission don't seem to always get along

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Veloster"

This vehicle has surpassed my expections. Comfortable, excellent gas mileage and hugs the road like I want it too. The Veloster surprises me with having more room inside than it looks like it would have. Bonus all around. It is a ride I enjoy each and every day.

Pros
ALL GOOD

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/21/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2016 Hyundai Veloster"

I have been a Hyundai customer for a number of years now. A previous Azera owner, I took a downgrade to the Veloster because I could not get financed for another Azera. The Azera was an exceptional vehicle and I hope to be the owner of another one in the future. The Veloster has served my purpose and great on gas. Although it does not give me the space I need when I am on long trips but overall I am pleased with it's performance and I love the style.

Pros
Great gas mileage, Style, beautiful inside and outward

Cons
small interior, sluggish when air is on full blast

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Veloster"

I love my Veloster, its exactly what I wanted and the color I wanted with great features.

Pros
it is great, great look, great gas mileage, great color, love my features

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/20/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo (sans Tech package and sunroof)"

A fun, zippy car, while remaining somewhat practical. Not perfect, but the pros far outweigh the cons for me.

Pros
I love the unusual, rounded, somewhat sporty styling - and it's nice that it was designed that way, rather than looking like a bunch of wings and skirts being stuck onto grandma's car by the boy racer next door (like the Ford Fiesta ST, for example.) Plenty of load space, especially with the rear seats lowered, and a good sized rear hatch opening with usable width. Seats are comfortable and supportive, although the headrest juts a little too far forward for me, making it awkward to turn my head to look behind, and the manual height adjust system seems to let the seat gradually drop with time and usage, so my seat height needs readjusting on a regular basis. Great approach angle in spite of how low the front is, so less likely to scrape the nose than many cars. Basic controls fall easily to hand, gearshift and pedals are well laid out, and pedals are ideally spaced for toe-and-heel shifting. Steering is nicely weighted and very direct, although it lacks feel from the electric power steering when compared to traditional hydraulic systems. Good power with minimal turbo lag - much less than you would expect from a relatively high-pressure system . Lovely gearbox shift feel (manual trans) - tight and mechanical-feeling with a short throw, without being balky or clunky. Suspension is quite firm, with minimal body roll and a little harshness when driving on rough roads...but I prefer that to something that's soft and wallows around corners. Feels very much a "driver's car" when you're behind the wheel for a spirited drive along back roads.

Cons
Rear visibility is very limited while driving, and you'll absolutely have to rely on the rearview camera when reversing. Strongly dislike the touch-screen system, especially the constant spam asking me to pay for BlueLink every time I start the car, and the lack of a working screen saver. Seems it also scratches very easily (just cleaning off the dust a few times has already left a number of scratches around the screen.) Interior plastics are hard and a little cheap to the touch, not too bad for a car at this price, but could be improved. Carpet and floor mats definitely feel cheap. Rear seat is usable, but really only for short trips and lacks good head room in the back...and rear leg room is limited, although still better than some small coupes and hatchbacks. Thirstier than expected - I do drive with a somewhat heavier than average right foot, but even the open expressway on cruise control only gives me around 27 mpg or so @ 75-80 mph...and around 20-21 mpg around town. Handling is great when driving around 8/10 or so, and very stable at speed...push closer to the limits, however, and the rear end feels a little nervous (probably because of the solid rear axle, rather than independent rear suspension)...not a problem for moderately spirited driving, but would be a handicap if you're thinking of taking it to the occasional track day. Wind and tyre noise is a little more than I would prefer, but not excessive. Likewise, engine/exhaust noise is a little less than I would prefer...but that's more of a personal preference of mine. Not a fan of the standard puncture repair kit - would strongly recommend getting the optional spare tyre and jack if you live out in the countryside, especially since the repair kit can't help you if you damage the sidewall of those low-profile tyres (I was rather surprised it didn't come with run-flat tyres instead of the repair kit.) Also wish there was an option for an ashtray and lighter...but I understand that's not important for everyone. :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great looking/Fun driving"

I wanted a less expensive and fun car to drive for my own use while maintaining a larger luxury/SUV automobile for the family overall. I was very impressed with the old European roadster look and driving experience with the Veloster. It is very inexpensive for the features included and gets surprisingly great gas mileage.

Pros
Inexpensive, FUN to drive, an amazing amount of storage - I have had to haul a wheelchair around due to my wife being in a severe auto accident and it fits very easily. The radio sound is good quality and the controls are easy to use.

Cons
Sports car ride and seats are a little uncomfortable after about an hour of continuous driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Fun on the Road with a Hyundai Veloster"

I love my Hyundai Veloster. It is sporty, yet practical. The third door is a great design and gives me my two door look, yet give access to the back seat without going through the front seat. It holds the road well and is just a fun car to drive.

Pros
Fun and practical

Cons
Don't hear enough about the car on ads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/19/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable "

Wish I had bought the turbo for more torque

Cons
Somewhat of a blindspot if I'm driving and have to merge into traffic or make a left turn.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/19/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"My car"

Second one in 3 months

Pros
Roomy and comfortable

Cons
The front cup holders are about an inch to high.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/18/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2016 Veloster"

Wish I had bought the turbo model.

Pros
Fun to drive. Very economical with great gas mileage.

Cons
Slow to accelerate.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Compact Car"

Pros and Cons

Pros
Sporty, easy to drive and great gas mileage. I love the 3rd door on the passenger side.

Cons
The open console area should be redesigned. Things fall out of the sides where it is open; sort of wasted space. The paint is already chipped in several places and not in the area of door dings. You can not listen to your own music. I would prefer to have the cd player than a monthly charge for and blue link.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/18/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2016 VT"

Almost at 40,000 miles, car runs great. 1 trip to dealer for warranty work. Wish it had a smoother ride, my go with different tires next. Overall satisfied with car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Most Reliable/Trouble Free Car I've Had"

In over 44 years and two million miles, they bested, most reliable and most FUN car I've ever had.

Pros
Everything, except....

Cons
It's not a Vette.😀

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/14/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Perfect Little Hot Hatch"

I've owned a lot of cars(and trucks), including a 2014 Camaro SS and a 2006 Mustang GT. This little car is so much fun to drive! Is it as fast as the Camaro? No. Would it give the Mustang a run for its money? Yes. There's something about driving a car that isn't a tire shredding monster. Driving a fast car, slow is a terrible waste but driving a (forgive me for this) slow car, fast is incredibly fun! I absolutely love this little thing! It's roomy(even for a big guy like me) and has as much cargo space as you could want for a little car. The turbo gives you a nice boost push in the lower RPMs, which is enough to bring a smile to anyone's face. It gets pretty good gas mileage and has all the creature comforts and gizmos and gadgets you could want from a mid-20teens car. Well done Hyundai, well done!

Pros
Fun to drive! Unique and eye-catching Good gas mileage TURBO!!! Super practical Only 3 doors(never have to move the driver seat to let someone in) Great interior room Great sound system Exhaust note is perfect

Cons
Slight dip in the power band right around 5000rpm. Only 3 doors As fun as it is, it's still viewed as "but it's a Hyundai" in the auto enthusiast world

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/14/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car"

Going from the original veloster to the turbo edition was the best move I could've made.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Veloster"

My car makeys me happy. I feel like I am in a special club!

Pros
Great gas mileage.

Cons
Don't have any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Its a very fun car to drive."

I have no complaints. It was the car's designing that drew me to it. 3 doors is creative out of the box thinking.

Pros
I like the cut of her stern.

Cons
There are no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Veloster"

Great car for the money

Pros
Fuel economy, tech packages, turbo

Cons
Bling spot rear view, needs lane change indicators in rear view mirror

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 647 in total