Style image original

2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58

215 Reviews

Latest review 1 day ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 01/18/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I LOVE my Veloster!"

I started looking at Velosters when they first rolled out. I couldn’t find data on mileage at that time, so I bought a Beetle (mileage below 30 mpg) and was happy for the next few years. When my bug started showing signs of age and the mileage started dropping, I went car shopping again. I was drawn to Hyundais because of their safety ratings and their cost. At my local Hyundai dealer, I test-drove an Elantra GT and was ready to buy one, but I wanted a manual transmission, and they didn’t have one in the color I wanted. I had a flashback and asked the salesman if they had any Velosters in anything but the orange I saw out front. To my surprise and joy, they had a used one in the color I had chosen, with a manual transmission, AND with an upgrade package I wouldn’t have chosen to pay for had I bought it new. BONUS!!! I have LOVED my little car, got 40 mpg on my first trip to Dallas, and consistently get over 35 mpg with every tank. What’s NOT to love??

Pros
Great mileage Fun to drive Just sassy enough

Cons
Not a plush, comfortable ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/17/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Just what I wanted"

I bought the Velestor because of the good gas mileage( although there was a class actin suit because it didn’t get the advertised mileage and I have not received any more information about it. The settlement was appealed was all I heard. That was a few years ago.) loved the extended warranty that I purchased when I bought the car.

Pros
Economic, looks sporty

Cons
Rough ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/13/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Starship Transport Utility Vehicle "

I strap into the Starship Transport Utility Vehicle in one location and when I'm finished, I'm in a completely different location. Amazing! And, by golly, I feel very pretty during the entire process.

Pros
I've never been to prison.

Cons
Currently, I'm dealing with a "loose stool" issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Red Veloster 2012"

Very nice small car, great on gas and it’s a greT car for going back and forth to work in a city. No major issues with this vehicle. Had to replace tires and hatch latch. But for a 6 year old car it’s running great. Not recommend this car for traveling but for getting are the city for school, work or grocery’s it’s great on gas and parking.

Pros
Great for city use and to get around for work, school or grocery’s.

Cons
Not for long distance travel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/11/2018
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Veloster Performance"

I enjoy that you can get up to 35 miles per gallon. The over all look of the car is very sporty. Good trunk space for a compact vehicle. I don't like that it shifts so hard. It becomes very jerky at times when it's shifting. I have an automatic, but feels like a stick shift at times. The hatch becomes very noisy as it ages, because of the glass. It's not as quiet and smooth anymore. My paint is only 5 years old and it's already starting to peel. It's not a horrible car, but I'm a bit disappointed with the overall performance.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Large trunk when seats are pulled down. Sporty appearance.

Cons
The hatch is noisy. The shifting of the vehicle is very jerky and uncomfortable. I have an automatic, I don't find the rough shifting very acceptable. It's trip tronic and dual-clutch isn't the best quality for performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/11/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"great car"

I love my veloster and with the recent service that I just had, I hope to have it around for many years to come. It is sporty and fun to drive and good on gas. I would buy it all over again without hesitation.

Pros
sporty and fun to drive good on gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/10/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Neat little commuter"

Bought my Veloster with about 9500 miles on it. I was commuting 45+ each way to work by myself in the car about 95% of the time. Air and heat work very well. Nice XM radio. Bluetooth telephone calls come through clear, however the mic picks up too much wind noise above about 45 mph, making it unusable. Not the most sure footed car in winter as it is too light to provide much traction, but works ok for me. Great mpg, offset with the lack of raw power. But for a cool little commuter, it serves me well.

Pros
MPG, style, technology

Cons
Traction in winter conditions, road noise in higher wind conditions, touch screen radio had some issues in hot weather.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/06/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Rocket Car"

Sometimes I wish I had the turbo because I miss the pep, but I really appreciate the great mileage I get with my Veloster. People always ask what kind of car is it because they really like the look.

Pros
Sharp looking car Great features Great millage

Cons
No rear window washer No snap pick up from dead stop

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/29/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2012 HYUNDAI VELOSTER"

Overall, a great car, with an cockpit that is ergonomically well laid out. It has eye catching body styling. When it's time, I would trade mine in for a new model.

Pros
Dollar for dollar, a much better "bang for the buck" than cars from Japan, due to the exchange rate.

Cons
Sun causes reflection of dashboard into drivers eyes. Some small items fall out of the sides of the center storage area, located in front of gear shifter. No spare tire as standard equipment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2012 Veloster"

I have it four years, and had my first major repair recently. The repair was for my trunk not under the hood. People always stop to comment on it in parking lots and at the airport. I checked Consumer Reports before the purchase which rated it highly.

Pros
3rd door hidden, but nice to have.

Cons
Can't think of anything that I am dissatisfied with.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
" Very happy "

I bought my car in 2012 and I have loved it. It does not have turbo and does not need it. I drive between Las Vegas and Colorado going up mountains and have no problem with power. I also get great gas mileage. I have my car serviced at Sahara Hyundai in Las Vegas and have always received the best of service from the nicest of people.

Pros
It’s cute it’s comfortable it’s easy to drive it hugs the road around corners has plenty of power going up the mountains there’s so many positive things about this car

Cons
The only Cons I really have are I wish it had more fun features like electric seats air support for your back heated seats that kind of thing. It is also has some road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/22/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"My 2012 Veloster"

I have had this car for nearly six (6) years now, I have had very few issues with it. The main problem with this car is the LAG at initial acceleration, this has been an issue with this car since purchase, I had the same issue with my 2010 accent with the same 1.6 engine in it, It is a factor with this motor. Other than that and the fact that this car sucks in the snow, I am mostly satisfied with the car. It can be very fun to drive.

Pros
Cool sporty Lots of standard features reliable

Cons
Lag at initial acceleration could have more power sucks in snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Car"

I love my Veloster! Best little toaster ever!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/17/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great fun car!"

Best car I ever had. My one gripe is that it doesn't perform well in the winter in the snow but other than that I've had an absolute wonderful time it and I've owned it for for the last five years...have had little to no problems with it would definitely recommend it as a fun car to drive & own. I've gotten many many compliments!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car for the money "

I just love my Veloster, great gas mileage and sporty. Parking isn't a problem, and I have so much room left in the garage after I park it. Interior has plenty of room and I can put some pretty big stuff in the hatchback. It came well equipped for being the bottom trim level. All the gages are easy to read and everything is at your fingertips on the steering wheel. Seats are comfortable and plenty of leg room. Hyundai once again made an affordable reliable car, but still waiting for their pickup trucks.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"FUN CAR TO DRIVE"

The Veloster gets great mileage which makes it very economical. Though I had a little trouble at first getting used to the automatic gears I learned to use the steering wheel paddles when I needed extra power. They have also helped to preserve my brakes when slowing down. I tried other tires on the car but came back to Hyundai because their tires lasted longer for the same price. Overall I'm very happy with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Jim's Veloster"

Fun Little Car, Great Commuter Car, Gas Mileage Can't be beat !!! Traction Control & Snow Tires makes this car Great In The Winter !!!!

Pros
Gas Mileage , Handling, Winter Traction,

Cons
Back Up Lights Super Dim, At 63 yrs. Old its Tough to Get In & Out of !!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/09/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my Veloster"

Great car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"5 years later"

And this is still the best car i’ve ever owned. This car fits me, it performs the way I like it and it makes me look good while i’m Going. I love my Veloster

Pros
Responsive, fuel efficient, sexy looking.

Cons
Stiff shocks. Lots of bumps. Some road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love this car!"

From the first time I drove it in the dealer lot I loved and it still gives me great pleasure to drive it.

Pros
all around a great ride!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 215 in total