2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5rating 4.61

263 Reviews

Latest review 1 day ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RB
Richard B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2018
No major issues
Aside from two times in sub zero weather when it gave me a computer error if I tried to go in reverse, I have not had any issues with this car. Mileage has been great, 32-36 mpg hwy, a little lower than expected city (25 ish). Fun car always gets compliments from passers by. Dig the sunroof and the subwoofer. Tweeters could use a bit better high frequency response.

Pros
Good gas mileage, fun to drive, good sound system, car is maneuverable

Cons
Acceleration in automatic mode not so great, must use manual mode for safer passing and emergency lane changes
Car is difficult for handicapped passengers to exit
3 doors means you can’t drive for Uber or Lyft

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VJ
Victor J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2018
2012 Hyundai Veloster
I love this car no questions asked. But it in a more detailed explanation I love the sporty look it has as well as its appeal so body kit design. I also like the inside of the car it's spacious but small compact for a bachelor or a very small family. It's cozy and the drive is very soothing. Wouldn't trade this car for the world.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Erich K.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2018
Great Small Car
I have had this car for 6 years. I have put on 50000 miles. It has run flawlessly. It is comfortable, hauls our two dogs easily and handles other loads easily as well as being able to haul four people. It averages around 40 mpg an the interstates and gets around 34 mpg in town.

Pros
Does everything I expected it to do.

Cons
Seems to wear out tires faster than any other car I have had.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PERRY B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/06/2018
veloster Hyundai
The car is low to the ground and fun to drive the transaxle makes it go from an automatic to a manual transmission in seconds which can cause a lot of smiles for the driver, great on gas has an economy mode and sport mode. There is a surprising amount of space in the vehicle the small 3rd door makes it easier for people to get in the back. The radio is great even without serious radio and all that paid stuff, plenty of power ports the back seats come down, the hatch is lighted and can store more than you would imagine, air conditioning is super cold and my tints came out perfect. The wheels are on nice alloy trims and there is no spare tires so be careful and try to keep a donut handy. The car is perfect for short runs or long hauls. She wants to be a sports car but isn't but still can maneuver well on the highway to avoid other people. I don't like the plastic clips holding the bumpers in place as they can easily be knocked off with a bad road. I rate the car a 9 out of ten and I am sure the newer models are even more advanced and better performance parts.

Pros
Great on gas, fun to drive, transaxle makes you feel like you have the best of both worlds. Low stance and rims are eye turners. Great audio quality and easily connected to your phone for mapping and music and communication.

Cons
Rides so low could tear off bumper. Warranty was said I had the ten year 10000 miles but the first owner had it not me. Purchased additional warranties and services that were useless. No spare tire only a patch kit, rims are easily damaged. I was told I bought it certified pre owned but was just a used car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Alvenia M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2018
My Veloster
I love the uniqueness of my Veloster it runs well and it's comfortable to ride in and to drive and it's an eye-catcher everybody always ask me what my car is and I also tell them where I got it because as I said before the staff was wonderful but from the time I sat in the car before I even test drove it I knew that it was my car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Joseph R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2018
Love My Velo
Bought my veloster March 2012. Love it. Sporty, economical and fun to drive. I'm considering upgrading when the 2019 model is released..
The standard equipment options make even the low end model an excellent value.

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maria B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
My Veloster
Love it!
I love the ride
I also love the Navigation and hands free talking.
I always wanted to have one and finally bought it.
One thing I was very surprised to see is the way the trunk carpet is. Easy cleaning.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Ted M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/04/2018
2012 Hyundai Veloster
I bought the auto after totaling another hybrid vehicle I had for 10 years. I couldn’t afford a new hybrid again so I went with the Hyundai Veloster.
Overall very little maintenance needed. Of course after 6 years I only have 26,000 miles on it.
The visibility is not the best out the rear view and rear side windows.
The GPS can’t be updated. Drives me nuts. Get put into some dead ends.
But other than those relatively minor issues, it a good car. I get compliments on it, usually from younger guys. I’m 62, so my middle age crisis vehicle works for me . But I would NOT get the style package. With the skinny tires, I feel every bump. And the aluminum alloy wheels get all scratched.

Pros
Looks cool

Cons
Aluminum alloy wheels, GPS, rear view visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Noe R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
Mr Noe Reyes
the Hyundai Veloster is a very comfortable and safe car on the road: and also its performance in gasoline is formidable. I would be happy when the time comes to change it for another car of the same model but a more recent year.
Also many of my friends have admired my car and for that reason I would be more than satisfied to recommend the Hyundai Veloster to my friends and family.
gracuias for having built and distributed this car here in the valley of south Texas.
Sincerely
Noe Reyes
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lesther M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2018
Nice Design
Runs good on gas. Nice design. Excellent sport car design. Prices are great. If we want fun driving, cool looking Veloster is the perfect hatchback car since it is very elegant. They are available in many different colors.

Pros
Save Gas

Cons
Small Size Back Seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Eric S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/25/2018
My veloster is coo
Gets me from point A to point B. It saves alot on gas. Its three doors so the driver door is above average size. So far the car hasn't gave me any problems at all and I'm over 100k. The ecoactive is a good function.

Pros
Gas save and hasn't broken down

Cons
Insurance considers this a sports car so insurance is high also transmission acts funny

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Art S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
Best car ever,
Fun car to drive and great stylein, should have baught the Trubo, I like speed, everyone ask what is that! I changed the two hands emblem with the on line replacement badges! I would love to get some grafics to make it even better!

Pros
Great gas mileage, fun to drive,

Cons
Replace a lot of front light bulbs 😳

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2018
Veloster??
This is the most stable and road hugging car I ever drove. And I have driven many cars in my day including CRX Honda, Miata, Camaro and Kia. This car has a solid field to it. Nice!
Whoever had this car before me was hard bent on destroying it and this would include the engine as well. With a little help from my advisor together is much better than before. Yet, I still have to work on the engine more! The car does perform well and is a lot of fun but, I do not understand why they call this car slow? Note however, my Veloster is a manual shift car and not a CVT.

Pros
Exterior color in marathon blue which is a Persian Blue !
I never own a blue color car in the pass before this was the first!
This is a solid and stable car!

Cons
This is the 2012 Veloster: the seats are awful; they stain very easy and they must be cleaned a lot. A part from that there is only one thing I dislike about my car is the engine and the 2012 engine do not exist or discontinued.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jonathan R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2018
Brought car brand new for wife...Never a problem with car or getting service done ....Great car...Great Service...Great Dealership!!!!
Love our Hyundai Veloster...Never a problem with car or service...great car for wife..Very economic car...Easy on Fuel...No service issues...and always fun to drive....I wanted to buy my wife a new one ...But she said no...I only have 48,000 miles on my car ..it"s still new...go figure...Can"t get the car away from her...She loves it so much.....

Pros
GREAT CAR>>>FUN TO HAVE AND TO DRIVE

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Beatriz M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/24/2018
Hyundai veloster
The car is not a speedsier but economical, fits in a lot on parking spaces , doesn't cost too much to fill it, and haS PRETTY GOOD GAS mileage on the highway. Cute design in and out has XM radio. slow to pick up fast speed. Low tires-hit curbs a lot. Faulty engine at 80,000 miles and cracked engine base.

Pros
Cute design and economical

Cons
Too low to the ground, hit curbs frequently,
Slow to pick up speed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gregory G.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
My 2012 Veloster
Although we encountered a few problems after purchase (which were handled in an efficient fair manner) I love the car and plan on buying a new one again from Piazza - as long as they don’t discontinue the model (I owned 2 Tiburons before they discontinued the model)

Pros
Fast, fuel efficient and I’ve always loved the styling of the exterior...

Cons
The dual clutch auto trans is a little finicky at times and the car doesn’t have a spare (I’ve the 18” wheels) the stereo / navigation system with the touch screen is more than a little finicky when it’s extremly cold out...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Linda F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/09/2018
FUN TO DRIVE BUT NEEDS MORE POWER
The car does not get the mileage that was indicated when bought. So that is a sore subject with me, and the gas stipend does not come close to making up the difference.
However, the car is fun to drive, but it truly needs more horse power. I like the cargo room. It's easy to park. There's lots to like about the Veloster. The front of my car was damaged by hitting a tire tread in the road, and instead of being able to replace the damaged area only, the whole entire front has to be replaced, thereby costing a lot of money.
Seems like there could be improvements in that area.

Pros
Fun to drive
Easy to park
Good looking
Sporty

Cons
Mileage
Power
Visibility behind rear passenger door

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2018
Veloster
The veloster is a fun sporty car with all the room and tech you need. I recommend the full tech package. the sunroof is awesome. the way it handles is great, I just drove it thru the winter and I live in the boonies. Front wheel drive with anti-slip worked great during those snowy rides. now that the summer tires are going back on i look forward to a summer of fun rides. plenty of space in the trunk for all your stuff. my kids like the bluetooth and the third door. its a nice option for when there friends are riding with us. 4 is all she'll carry tho and even that's tight if there adults. engine is a bit noisy but once it warms up, you can barely hear it. comfortable car to drive.

Pros
gas mileage,
handling
tech package
sunroof
interior seats.
thrid door

Cons
noisy engine.
to much stuff on the steering wheel, a bit distracting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Suzette D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/06/2018
Vivacious veloster
I love my Veloster. I have had for 6 years and wouldn’t trade it for anything. It’s cute and sporty, quite the head turner. I am constantly getting compliments on it. This beauty is great on gas and maintenance costs have been low. I’m looking forward to keeping it a long time.

Pros
Great gas mileage, all the bells and whistles for a great price, cute

Cons
No lock on glove compartment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Diana R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2018
Best small car out today
Best car on gas,very low maintenance, compact but can hold a lot with seats down,my 75 pound standard poodle loves this car! Back seat is all here! Bags goes in trunk.great sport look great choice in colors also I lean towards the orange, love the cup holders in door for extra holdings, lots of leg room, great panorama views from glass roof .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 263 in total