2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56
4.6
(304 Reviews)
Latest review 14 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BB
Bob B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Veloster
Love the sporty look and the bold colors. Mine is electralight green. Very sporty and fun to drive. 7 years no trouble except for one hickup with creep mode. Gets lots of people coming up and saying they like the car and wanting to know what it is.

Pros
Sporty love the electralight green

Cons
Blind spots on corners in the back for seeing and backing up for short people because of placement of headrest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
My Veloster
Love my Veloster! It's sporty and cool! Very happy with it. It's a 2012 , has less than 70,000 miles and still going! Bought it brand new off the show room floor 7yrs ago! I will probably never get rid of it. If I do it will be another Hyundai 😁
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL T. M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2019
Just like kimchi
I bought the vehicle new and haven't looked back since. It's a joy to drive and economical on gas. I have had no problems with it. I follow the service manual and drive sensibly. If I had to buy another car I would look into the turbo Veloster.

Pros
Great mileage. Fun to drive. Easy access in and out.

Cons
It has some blind spots but you get used to compensating and watching aout for other cars and pedestrians.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Denise W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Veloster star
This little car is a work horse. I bought the 2012 in 2011 and she has been full of fun and durability. I love the fuel economy and I have learned how to adjust my driving for snowy conditions. I haven't experienced any problems with the sunroof and I enjoy the size of the retractable interior shade. 160,000 miles and counting.

Pros
Tiny size makes for ease of parking. The hatch allows for hauling more yhan you would expect. The fold down seats reveal a very large space for packing.
Gas mileage is awesome.

Cons
No spare.
Not much suspension so the ride can be rough on imperfect roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mathew S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/05/2019
Looks cool. That’s about it.
I bought this car back in 2012. It’s great on gas and looks nice but that’s about the only positives. You can hear and feel every bump from the road. I was highly dissatisfied with the stock tires that were faulty and needed to be replaced within 2 years of having the car. I literally drove maybe 5-10 miles a day on them because I lived so close to work at the time. Hyundai refused to work with me regarding the tires warranty and told me to contact the tire company. The tire company then told me to contact my dealer for tire replacements. I ended up having to buy newer tires on my own. This will be the only Hyundai I will ever own.

Pros
Good on gas. Looks nice.

Cons
Underpowered. Interior is incredibly loud. Not fun to drive on the highways.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joseph P.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Veloster 2012
Though we bought it used, certified pre-owned with 18k miles, It’s a keeper! family car for my and my wife. Not only is it stylish/sporty but really fun to drive, with economical maintenance,etc, We l💕 our Veloster’12

Pros
The Eco boost is awesome and does save gas a lot! in all my travels. It’s a fast car too, when I need to go fast ;) on road trips

Cons
Can my Veloster’12 be upgraded with Car Play as well as a Rear View Camera?
And just like the Kona that I rented last week on a business trip in North Carolina. There’s no key entry for passenger side of this version of Veloster. Also, can a push button to unlock/open hatch back be installed/added. I realized it’s cramped in the back seating, when I sat in the back in summer 2017 when my wife drove me, after I came out of surgery from the hospital.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stephen W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/16/2019
My Veloster
I have enjoyed my Veloster every day since I made my purchase over 7 years ago. I only wish the turbo had been available when I bought mine. They didn't bring that out till later. Gas mileage is great and the ride is smooth on the road but a little tight in town. I get the car bug ever so often but can't imagine not having my Veloster. I would have to trade for another Veloster. Turbo this time though.

Pros
Fun to drive, great gas mileage.

Cons
Suspension is a little tight on horrible Houston streets

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kellan D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/30/2019
Yikes
The Veloster is a garbage car. It has a coupling in the steering column that WILL cause you problems. The flimsy plastic piece has been recalled in a handful of other Hyundai cars, but for some reason it hasn't been in the Veloster yet, even though it has the same potentially deadly issue. If this piece completely breaks, you will entirely loose control over steering. Oh yeah and it typically starts to have problems around 60,000 miles, which is when the factory warranty on the piece expires. Pretty convenient for Hyundai, especially because their shops are the only places where you can get it repaired. I'm now beginning to have problems with the oil pan, axel, body panels, and various parts of the interior as well, such as the sun visor and speakers. Hyundai makes garbage, plastic cars that break like cheap children's toys. Don't just avoid the Veloster, avoid Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
Patti
I love my Veloster. I enjoy driving it. Most people don’t realize it has three doors. Even though I would have liked a blue Veloster, I would not trade it in as I have gotten used to the silver color. My Veloster is very reliable and I can depend on it to take me where I need to go.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
Faye W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/24/2019
xxxxxxx
Love this car I would buy it again Fun to drive. This is the first time I had a problem with the service .........,,,,...........
.....................,...........,,,,,,................................

Pros
Fun to drive & great on gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sean R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/22/2019
Needed improvements but still a great car!
Picked up my veloster used with 24k miles. It’s a 6 speed manual trans version with upgraded interior and pano glass sunroof. The cars been awesome for the most part. Some minor issues but it’s a joy!

Pros
Great driving position for someone who is 6’2”; and pretty good road feel despite the fly by wire tearing.

Cons
Loud tire noise with stock tires.
Fix needed for the wiper shroud
Speakers blow easily
Stiff suspension may turn some off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Sandra Y.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2019
I like my Veloster, Hyundai very much. I always get compliments on it. It’s a great little car that I enjoy driving all the time.
It’s a very nice reliable car. Always starts up for me without a problem. One thing that is missing is an extra tire in the trunk, which the Volester doesn’t carry. There should be a latch to open the trunk from inside the car; the latch had to be replaced. All in all I enjoy driving it around.

Pros
I enjoy driving my Volester very much. It’s easy to maintain & keep clean.

Cons
The tires are low profile, so, I’ve had 7 tires blow outs, because of the potholes. Which I try to avoid. You have to be careful because the back window isn’t wide enough to see out of. So, I’m careful driving or backing out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
Elizabeth J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/14/2019
Rust
I’m in my 7th year with my vehicle and stated seeing rust in 4 places. I took it in for repair and Lehman Hyundai took great care of my vehicle. Other than that I love my car, never had a problem with it

Pros
How it maneuvers

Cons
The key doesn’t pop open the hatch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Francis S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2019
Very good
Very good Great little car would like to buy a new one but I can’t get a good deal at the Honda dealership here good gas mileage good looking vehicle would like to buy a new one in the future Thank you

Pros
A good car

Cons
Can’t get a good price on a trade-in

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Ann P.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2019
Veloster raptor.
This is a fun car. It is sporty and great on gas. The third door is very good for extra passengers. It can hold 4 people comfortably And there is so much space to lug things with the hatch back and the seats down. I used this car to move from a big house to a townhouse. I went back and forth for 6 weeks moving all my stuff. No one could believe what the car could carry.

Pros
Great on gas Sporty look. Can carry a lot of stuff in the back

Cons
Suspension is tough on pot holes and you feel every bump

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stephen W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/26/2019
Love my Hyundai Veloster
Love my Veloster. Comfortable, very economical to run and reliable. It has all the amenities I need for the low low price I paid. Even though it is a subcompact, when you are driving, you feel like you are in a full size sedan.

Pros
Economical and stylish

Cons
Suspension is that of a sports car so you feel every seam in the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Drew C.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/23/2019
Attention Getting Style But Needs Some Tweaking
I'd never heard of the Veloster until we saw one on the lot in 2012. The bright blue color caught my eye not to mention the unique three door design. We got manual transmission so it's a fun car to drive, and it always attracts attention. I love to go to estate and garage sales, and people are always amazed at what I can fit into the Veloster, thanks to the hatchback and fold down seats. At first, I was a little worried about the lack of a spare tire but after six years, I don't even miss it now.

There are a couple things I wish Hyundai had designed differently, though. I owned a Hyundai Accent prior to owning the Veloster so I was used to being able to change light bulbs when they burned out. In the Veloster, I was dismayed to discover that replacing a burned out headlight cannot be done at home. What should cost just a few bucks for a bulb turns into $50+ because the dealer has to remove the front of the car in order to change bulbs! A burned out brake light can be replaced DIY - with a lot of effort and at risk of shattering the light cover (especially trying to do this outside during winter). Even after watching videos of people changing the brake light, I found it very difficult to take off the cover.

Having a key fob was a nice feature until the battery died. Even after replacing the battery, the fob no longer works. I discovered that the dealer must reprogram the fob, and that's another $70 or so. Forget it. I'll use the key the old fashioned way.

After six years, I've grown accustomed to using the side mirrors to compensate for the big blind spot. My husband dislikes driving the Veloster for this very reason.

Pros
great mpg, fun to drive, ample cargo room, conversation starter,

Cons
large blind spot, must have dealer replace front headlight bulbs, it is difficult to remove tail light covers to change burned out bulbs,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carlos F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Love my veloster
I love my veloster 6 years and I don’t have any problem, best car ever, if I have to buy another car I will buy a veloster again, complete satisfied, if you wanna buy a new car you should buy a veloster
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jonathan R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
My Wifes Veloster
We have owned 6 new Hyundai cars in the past and we went out to purchase 2 new Hyundai Cars... My wife picked out the Veloster simply becaHer use she loved the size and ease of driving it...Her Veloster gets great gas mileage...Does not break down...All the service gets done at Courtsey Hyundai...And she fits in the car great...

Pros
All features are great...Fun to drive easy to take care of...

Cons
NO CONS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mark P.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/15/2018
Underpowered and lots of repairs
We bought our 2012 Veloster pre-owned and have spent a not so small fortune reparing it constantly. Probably in the neighborhood of $3,000+ now. The vehicle is underpowered, and unless you are really short, you will no fit in the back seat. Teenagers do not fit. Should have bought a Toyota.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 304 in total