2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56
4.6
(307 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ES
Ethan S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/22/2017
Cool
Nice car

Pros
Love 3rd door for back seat access but still looks like a sportscar

Cons
Feel every bump

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Anne T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2017
100,000 miles on my Veloster
I wanted an 'out of the box" car when I purchased my Veloster in 2012, the first year they came out. I love it! I will drive it for another 100,000 miles. It's cute sporty look. Comfortable for the size and gets great gas mileage. Surprisingly a nice amount of storage. Just haven't had any problems with it until a sensor needed to be changed this week.....not bad.

Pros
sporry
good gas mileage
small so easy to park

Cons
Not a big family car
doesn't have all the bells and whistles a more expensive car may have
high end interior trim lackiing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DAKOTA B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2017
Been through hell and back
I got my Hyundai Veloster when I started my first job. I bought it pre-owned and it had 24k miles on it. After four years of having my baby, I have put 85k miles on her. I was 17 when I got her and as everyone knows, 17 year old boys don't treat vehicles well. I have been off-roading in it (talking mud holes 4 foot deep and traveling through sugar sand), I used to drift around corners and do donuts in my work parking lot, my road flooded and water was over the hood and my car pushed right through. I went to check the oil one time and I realized there was absolutely no oil in my car. And she still runs like I just bought her. I cannot express how proud I am to own a Hyundai. Most definitely my Veloster.

Pros
Paddle shifters, Huge sunroof, Very wide car, Low and tight great for fast corners.

Cons
None. It's amazing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Claire M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2017
Sporty capable commuter
Quick response automatic with paddle shifters makes this gem a go. It can bring home the bacon in the roomy hatchback along with 4 passengers seated comfortably. Gas economy can get up to 40 mpg. After market parts are becoming more available. Options are good but it takes a while to defrost and heat up in 32 degree weather. Wheels and tires should be more durable as several flats have occured in 3 years of ownership. Yes, Hyundai does provide road service, but plan on losing your car for a fews days.

Pros
Speed, room, responsive, comfort,.

Cons
Cold weather warm-up, wheel and tire wear, no spare, hard to clean between seats and console.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
Diane O.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/14/2017
Love Love love
I love it handles well
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Cora M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2017
Love love love!!
Love my Veloster. It still gets a lot of attention. Great sound system and nice pick up. Good on ⛽. But I do urge future Veloster owners to insure the tires. The sales people will explain further as to why. Overall, nice nice ride!

Pros
Great & cute 🚗!

Cons
Tires need servicing and replacing too often.
Sometimes Bad blutooth connection.
Navigational system needs updating often.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Ashley B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2017
Love my Veloster!
I get compliments all the time on how sharp it looks and everyone loves the 3rd door! Good gas mileage and sound system. Seats could be a little more comfy but that's my only complaint!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Shawn H.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2017
Love at first sight
I have two young boys that ride in the back of my Veloster every day. They call it a race car due to it's fun design and my manual 6 speed. I've had this car since 2012 with no issues or complaints 140,000 miles and counting. I use to go through a car every two years all different manufacturers. This is the only car I've been happy with. Love my Veloster !!!!

Pros
Fun to drive with plenty of room for the kids safely in the back seat. Love the touch screen display and USB/audio input's, a place for you're sunglasses, coffee cups with plenty of trunk space.

Cons
NA !!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jennifer A.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2017
My Best Car Evet
I love my veloster. It's drives amazing, great on gas and plows through snow like a beast

Pros
Beautiful car and great on gas

Cons
Back seat is a little snug

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Samuel J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2017
My Review
I like this vehicle it's good on gas it looks good and is it slick

Pros
clutch

Cons
Glass too much

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PI
Phyllis I.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2017
I love my veloster
from the first test drive and 5 years later, I still love it.

Pros
All of the above

Cons
none so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Judy S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2017
2012 Veloster
We are enjoying the comfortable ride. Not a small card ride but a nice easy ride. Lots of plus to this car. The looks are good and the performance is amazing. We have been pleasantly surprised by the way the car is performing. We are having fun tool88ing around in this vehicle.

Pros
cute car lots of fun

Cons
Used car has some cosmetic issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/30/2017
Economical
Not a quiet ride, but sturdy and sure handling
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Beverly W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/30/2017
MY 2012 Velostor
Purchased in May 2012 and it gets great gas mileage. I have put 170,000 miles on it and it runs like a charm!!!

Pros
Great sound system with Bluetooth.

Cons
Blind spots due to small back windows and back glass.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Francesta M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2017
Great Fun Automobile
The Veloster is just an overall fun great automobile and I plan to buy another one once I'm ready to car a new car and only from Tracy Hyundai

Pros
Great Sporty Car; I'll buy Again

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Charles T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2017
great car
economy, comfort and style all a feature in this vehicle, love it!

Pros
mileage

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Anthony T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/30/2017
Under power and you have to modified
My car have about 118 hours which is stupid if your going to buy one get the turbo on it. The car also makes a chirping noise around 15-2k rpm so be careful of that and you can't do uber in your cause cause it only have 3 doors

Pros
Unique car to drive
Good on gas
Cheap insurance

Cons
Crappy transmission
Need to buy a rear torsion bar to keep the rear stabilise
Can't uber with it
Need more Power!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
Michael Z.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/27/2017
Nice car but cheap build
This car looks really nice and has great gas mileage. I liked having the infotainment unit come standard. Keyless entry and push button start are also great features.

Unfortunatly the build quality of the in cabin accessories is really shoddy. The stereo and cruise controls on the stearing wheel no longer work. The fan control for the airconditioner cuts out every once in a while and I have to twist it back and forth to get the fan to come on. The touch screen on the infotainment unit doesnt always respond unless you press abnormally hard. The inside door handles are wrapped in a chrome looking sticker material and have developed air bubbles in them. I seem to also be going through batteries abnormally fast. One of them which I purchased through and had installed at the dealer died in a little over a year.

Pros
Infotainment unit comes standard
Great gas mileage
Looks awesome

Cons
Stereo controls on stearing wheel break really quickly
Cruise control wont last long before breaking also
Inside door handle wrapped in cheap chrome sticker paper
Power windows occasionally stick
Air conditioner fan control flaky

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2017
A well thought out and put together vehicle.
This car has been quite reliable and easy to maintain. It handles very well and gets excellent fuel mileage. It looks faster than it really is but it is plenty capable. It does excellent in the snow and ice and I have not gotten it stuck once in 4 years of northwest ohio winters. It has more features and performance than vehicles that cost far more. It's styling isn't for everyone but it still turns heads everywhere I go. This car is very flexible with the 3rd door and hatchback. I haul my son and most of his stuff no problem.

Pros
Reliable, great fuel mileage (35mpg-38mpg usually), low maintenance, good handling, very flexible, eye catching styling, well laid out interior, lots of features for the price, good aftermarket for those who like to modify/customize.

Cons
Good tires can be a little pricy but spend the extra money because the stock ones are not that great. The trunk can be a little small for some things but the seats fold down and the package tray can be removed to make room. Back seats are not made for people over 6ft. Seats can be a little snug for bigger people. Center exhaust makes it difficult to put a hitch for bike racks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Stephen B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2017
Awesome car!!
Awesome cool car! Very reliable!

Pros
Gas mileage! Comfy! Cool design!

Cons
Transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 307 in total