2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56
4.6
(307 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SN
Steven N.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/29/2017
2012 HYUNDAI VELOSTER
Overall, a great car, with an cockpit that is ergonomically well laid out. It has eye catching body styling. When it's time, I would trade mine in for a new model.

Pros
Dollar for dollar, a much better "bang for the buck" than cars from Japan, due to the exchange rate.

Cons
Sun causes reflection of dashboard into drivers eyes. Some small items fall out of the sides of the center storage area, located in front of gear shifter. No spare tire as standard equipment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Josephine S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2017
2012 Veloster
I have it four years, and had my first major repair recently. The repair was for my trunk not under the hood. People always stop to comment on it in parking lots and at the airport. I checked Consumer Reports before the purchase which rated it highly.

Pros
3rd door hidden, but nice to have.

Cons
Can't think of anything that I am dissatisfied with.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Barbara S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2017
Very happy
I bought my car in 2012 and I have loved it. It does not have turbo and does not need it. I drive between Las Vegas and Colorado going up mountains and have no problem with power. I also get great gas mileage. I have my car serviced at Sahara Hyundai in Las Vegas and have always received the best of service from the nicest of people.

Pros
It’s cute it’s comfortable it’s easy to drive it hugs the road around corners has plenty of power going up the mountains there’s so many positive things about this car

Cons
The only Cons I really have are I wish it had more fun features like electric seats air support for your back heated seats that kind of thing. It is also has some road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sean C.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/22/2017
My 2012 Veloster
I have had this car for nearly six (6) years now, I have had very few issues with it. The main problem with this car is the LAG at initial acceleration, this has been an issue with this car since purchase, I had the same issue with my 2010 accent with the same 1.6 engine in it, It is a factor with this motor.
Other than that and the fact that this car sucks in the snow, I am mostly satisfied with the car. It can be very fun to drive.

Pros
Cool
sporty
Lots of standard features
reliable

Cons
Lag at initial acceleration
could have more power
sucks in snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Pamela J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/21/2017
Car
I love my Veloster! Best little toaster ever!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lu W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/17/2017
Great fun car!
Best car I ever had. My one gripe is that it doesn't perform well in the winter in the snow but other than that I've had an absolute wonderful time it and I've owned it for for the last five years...have had little to no problems with it would definitely recommend it as a fun car to drive & own. I've gotten many many compliments!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Dennis D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2017
Great Car for the money
I just love my Veloster, great gas mileage and sporty. Parking isn't a problem, and I have so much room left in the garage after I park it. Interior has plenty of room and I can put some pretty big stuff in the hatchback. It came well equipped for being the bottom trim level. All the gages are easy to read and everything is at your fingertips on the steering wheel. Seats are comfortable and plenty of leg room. Hyundai once again made an affordable reliable car, but still waiting for their pickup trucks.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Billie P.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2017
FUN CAR TO DRIVE
The Veloster gets great mileage which makes it very economical. Though I had a little trouble at first getting used to the automatic gears I learned to use the steering wheel paddles when I needed extra power. They have also helped to preserve my brakes when slowing down. I tried other tires on the car but came back to Hyundai because their tires lasted longer for the same price. Overall I'm very happy with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2017
Jim's Veloster
Fun Little Car, Great Commuter Car, Gas Mileage Can't be beat !!! Traction Control & Snow Tires makes this car Great In The Winter !!!!

Pros
Gas Mileage , Handling, Winter Traction,

Cons
Back Up Lights Super Dim,
At 63 yrs. Old its Tough to Get In & Out of !!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2017
I love my Veloster
Great car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LARRY J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2017
5 years later
And this is still the best car i’ve ever owned.

This car fits me, it performs the way I like it and it makes me look good while i’m Going.

I love my Veloster

Pros
Responsive, fuel efficient, sexy looking.

Cons
Stiff shocks. Lots of bumps. Some road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Judith F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2017
Love this car!
From the first time I drove it in the dealer lot I loved and it still gives me great pleasure to drive it.

Pros
all around a great ride!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IG
Irene G.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2017
Love my Veloster
Only issue I have is I haven’t received my MPG class settlement payment yet after 3 years, very frustrating.

Pros
Fun to drive, good on gas

Cons
Bumpy ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Erin C.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2017
An economical fun drive
My 2012 Veloster has been a pretty reliable ride. I like how Hyundai backs their vehicles while providing sleek styling at an affordable price. Would definitely consider another in the future.

Pros
Economic, stylish, fun to drive, affordable

Cons
Back seat a bit stiff and crowded

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Barbara S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2017
Love my little yellow car
I call my Little yellow car but it holds a lot. I can even fold the backseats down and hold even more. I’m a little yellow car gets great gas mileage and I have never had any trouble with this car. I bought my car in 2012 brand new and it just goes and goes. I need a dependable car because I drive back-and-forth between Colorado and Las Vegas 500 miles one way and I Drive this a lot. My little yellow car is never let me down. I can even pass cars going uphill with it there’s plenty of power.

Pros
Great gas mileage
Pretty comfortable
Everything is easy to get to
Fun to drive
Love the third door
Handles really good
Hugs the road in turns

Cons
Wish it had heated and cooled seats
Heated mirrors
Heated steering wheel
Electric seats with lumbar support

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Linda F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/01/2017
MILEAGE UNDERSTATED
The mileage is not what Hyundai stated so now I get a gas stipend, but I have to remember to go in to the dealer every 5,000 miles to submit the paperwork, then wait for a paultry check to arrive. Needless to say I do not have trust in the Hyundai name and will not purchase another one of their cars. Also, it does not like the heat of this area or maybe it's the summer gas, but it hesitates from a complete stop.

Pros
Cute, get comments and compliments. Fun to drive. Easy to park.

Cons
Gas mileage not as stated. No spare tire. Hesitates in the heat. Road noise. Could use more horsepower. Broke front air dam and have to replace the whole front of the car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
Frances R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2017
Love my Veloster
I’ve had my Veloster since 2012. Runs great, no major repairs so far.

Pros
Reliability, comfort...

Cons
So far none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/24/2017
Great car. Very versatile
I bought my Veloster in October 2011. I have enjoyed every day with it. The gas mileage is excellent and the smaller size makes it very easy to navigate in large metropolitan areas. The engine is not sporty, but I can cruise at 80mph and it doesn't make a single fuss about it.

Pros
Fun drive
Excellent gas mileage
Maneuverability

Cons
Some trim pieces face color
Not as quick as it could be

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Anthony G.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2017
2012 Veloster
Great and reliable car

Pros
Good fuel economy still I have 173000 on mine

Cons
18 inch tire rough ride and be careful of potholes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2017
Fun and sensible.
I love it

Pros
Handles well, love the manual trans.

Cons
Not enough power and dose not come with a spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 307 in total