2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5rating 4.61
4.6
(259 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AB
ALBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2018
Well made
It has been a year since I purchased my 2017 Veloster. Everything is running well with no problems. I enjoy the handling, good mileage, and my grandsons like it as too. They say it is Papa's race car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
Best car ever
This was my first car that I had then I want to a Jeep and totally missed the veloster so went back to it and love it even more. It’s great in gas mileage and can carry a lot more than you think. It’s a reliable car

Pros
Great in gas mileage

Cons
None I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/25/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I love the car it drives good but it doesn't have any power I love the blue tooth and remote start and sun roof plus the style of the car but what really attracted me to the car was the start 3rd door.

Pros
Styling

Cons
No Power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARGOT J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2018
Veloster
This is my fourth Hyundai vehicle. Have always received excellent customer service! Thank you!!!
The only item I would make an adjustment to is the seatbelt for driver. It doesn't stay where I like it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Leticia R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2018
Good car
Hey really like the fact that my car is the value addition yet it has all the bells and whistle‘s I need! Would like a little more power but other than that everything is good ..Maybe a little more room in the back

Pros
Comes standard with navigation and backup camera cute design great warranty

Cons
Not enough power would like a little more

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Debra W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
2017 modile
I've now has my car a year, nothing but great reviews. She picks up great and enjoy her low riding and most important the way she hugs the road. I feel great and will protected in the car. I would recommend this style you a lot of people. I've gotten great reports from my car to.

Pros
I love the style pack

Cons
No cons as of yet, I'm in the 15,000. Miles and no complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ralph L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/19/2018
The Dual Clutch transmission ruins a really good car.
The car is comfortable, nimble, fun, and attractive. There is so much to enjoy about this car that I'm upset that I dislike it so much. I do all city driving and get all of 17 mpg, no I'm not driving like a maniac, that's 100 percent on the DCT. Acceleration is anemic at best, auto shifting is smooth but comes at terrible times. When it downshifts into first from second, it rev matches so slowly that I think it's waiting for me to change my mind that the throttle position and speed of the car is really a first gear want. My wife has a 2012 Elantra where horsepower, torque, and weight are similar enough to be close in performance but it's nowhere near. I have talked to her about trading cars, legitimately, and she wants no part of driving the Veloster every day (because of the transmission.) Nearly every car I have ever owned, I'm 43, has had lower horsepower than the Veloster so, I'm plenty familiar with the performance I should expect. Now, for those of you that are still skeptical of my credentials as someone to tell you to stay away from any Hyundai DCT, I've driven a manual since I was 19, I deliver pizza and have for 25 years, and have been an avid car guy my whole life. What the DCT does is fully engage the clutches at idle and it has to build up steam from there, no other transmission does this. In a manual transmission you usually slip the clutch until fully engaged at say 1000-1200 rpm for a normal takeoff and a performance take off would have the engine speed higher. A regular automatic transmission would have the torque converter to serve that same function, resulting in the engine using more of the available torque to get going. The DCT could actually do this, it is in fact using clutches to do its job and the computer could be programmed to provide a slight slippage to put it in a better position to putting down the torque it does have. They don't do this because it would cause those items to more of a maintenance item, like a regular clutch is, and removing the whole setup and digging into it would cost thousands of dollars, so they do it the safe way. What this means is that a DCT transmission is so bad that it provides all the terrible traits of both the automatic and manual transmissions, while not really having an upside because speed of shifts isn't even particularly good on these economy cars because the standard public doesn't like that fast and hard shifting. I was positive they would get rid of them in the newer models, because it's so terrible of a transmission that it's not worth even trying to fix, but they have doubled down and put them in even MORE of their lineup. I wasn't aware of all of these downsides when I purchased this car, the test drive doesn't provide a way to see how the car will work in traffic or in an emergency situation where you have to accelerate quicker than you expected (remember that stupid downshift issue, that WILL get you in trouble.)

Buy a Hyundai, stay FAR away from any vehicle with this God awful transmission.

Pros
Wonderfully bolstered seats, auto climate control works well, it's very comfortable for someone used to sporty cars, it's a beautiful car, and for the price it's a really nice interior.

Cons
The only real downside is that transmission, ANY other type of transmission would make this car a 4 out of 5. Seriously, power and torque levels are fine, the transmission is the real problem when it comes to it's performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/20/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JW
Jonathan W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2018
Love it
I did not think I would like a car this size or style. But it has grown on me in the 4 months I have had. It's ease of drive and options are very good. It is great on gas and drives really well and has really nice comfortable seats for long drives.

Pros
Great on gas and seats well. Awesome speaker positions and nav screen. Third door comes in handy and good trunk space for a car it's size.

Cons
Sits low and a little hard to get in and out. Blind spot on the right is bad and could use a side mirror like on the left with the blind spot mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dini S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
Small but powerful
Veloster is my first car I love the design because it's unique and it drives nice too. It's a fun little car to drive and comfortable interior and I love how the fact 3-door car is the one thing making this car unique
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I absoultly love my car, it feels like your driving a go cart. I would defiantly recommend. The third door is nice for having a child/ friends. The trunk has plenty of storage for a weekend outing and you can add alot of aftermarket gear.

Cons
Not a turbo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Alpha G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
Awesome little car
I have my Veloster for less than 3 months now and the more I drive it, the more I love it. I didn’t think much of small vehicles until I owned a Veloster. I shopped for a vehicle for more than a year and I couldn’t find one that has the convenience that I wanted in a car. I initially shopped for an SUV but Veloster made me changed my mind.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/09/2018
Unique Sporty Body Style
The Veloster is compact and good in gas mileage. The body style is unique and sporty looking. The paint quality is acceptable but could be better. The turbo will provide a little more zip especially between first and second gear.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Handles well with parking and maneuvering. Great A/C.

Cons
A taller person might want more room. Needs turbo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
GUILLERMO V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2018
Love Veloster
I love this car for the design appearance and the power of the engine and most of all the interior is so fascinate. Love it definitely I be back for the black color and 2018. I will recommend this car for my family and friends definitely.

Pros
Every thing so good

Cons
No deserve cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Renee O.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
Love my veloster
It's a great car. I've been a Hyundai owner for the past 10 years. This is my favorite one. The ride, style, comfort, everything is just perfect. Couldn't get a better car for the money . Can't wait to get the 2019 veloster

Pros
Everything

Cons
Haven't found anything yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jessica G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2018
I love my Veloster!
Fun and zippy car to drive with an unbeatable warranty. Great fuel mileage with a nice giddy-up! Surprisingly roomy for its compact size; there aren't too many places we can't park! My husband and I knew we would love this car.

Pros
Fuel efficient
Compact
Stylish

Cons
Heated seats are nice, but a cooling feature in addition would have been better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANTHONY C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2018
Veloster
I love my Veloster. It's a sharp, sporty looking car. It handles well even at high speed. Gives a good comfortable ride. Brakes well. Plenty of room in rear with drop down rear seats. Overall it's a great value for the money.

Pros
Sporty

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dario J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Veloster
Es un vehículo excelente en su desempeño, muy cómodo, versátil y por su estilo llama mucho la atención, va con mi estilo, en viaje largo su suavidad y comodidad en los asientos se nota, es muy seguro por su estilo aerodinámico se siente que siempre va pegado al piso.

Pros
Es confortable, y tiene buen rendimiento de combustible.

Cons
Ah un no los veo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SHARON G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Love my Veloster
I’ve owned two Velosters and I love the car! Sporty and fully equipment for a great price! It’s fun to drive and great on gas which is super important to me! It’s sporty but very practical for every day driving.

Pros
Lots of bells and whistles for a great price!

Cons
I would like the third door to be located on the drivers side instead of the passengers side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Clementine J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2018
I love my Velli
I love this car and I'm so glad I made the purchase. I think if there is anything that I'd change it would be the take off. It holds back a little too much for me. I'm glad I made the purchase. CJ

Pros
Pricing is great.

Cons
Holds back, doesn't take off right away. Needs to get out of the way better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terri B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2018
Love it!!!!
Love my car!!Great on gas! a joy to drive!!! No regrets on this purchase!!!!!! The insurance was not as bad as i thought it would be for this kind of car. I would not recommend it for someone with children or someone who has alot of people riding with them bacause it is basically a two seater even though it has a backseat ,it is not for humans.

Pros
Grat on gas. Responsive steering

Cons
Do not like where the hood latch is . It is to the side and I tend to hit it with my foot getting in and out and release the hood. Would have been nice if it was moved to the underside of steering column. And i am fairly short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 259 in total