Business Solutions

2012 Subaru Legacy

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(16 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(16 Reviews)

VK
Victor K.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/11/2022
Verified Review

Wasn't bad but could be better

Bought car as new and now I have 140k miles on it . Own a car for 10 years , over that time had many problems . The biggest one is transmission and most annoying one is alignment. In overall car is Ok . Features of Subaru is 4x4 so its fine to have one .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
Ken R.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2022
Verified Review

Great all around family & sporty car

Great gas mileage, especially at highway speeds (80, avg 30+). Great on wet, icy and snowy roads. Very comfortable on long highway cross country trips. Roomy. Back seat roomy, especially for seniors. Easy for DIY folks doing most repairs & maintenance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KS
gravatar
KELLY S.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2022
Verified Review

My Baby

I love to drive this car. It’s very easy to drive. It’s one of the smoothest rides I’ve had in a while. I have driven this car through three states and I drive every day to work I will end up passing this car onto my son
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PL
gravatar
Peter L.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/17/2021
Verified Review

Legacy is a keeper!

This car handled well and gets 35 miles per gallon on highway. It can fit 6 footers front and back. Heated seats in winter make it cozy no matter the temperature. The car is excellent on rough roads and handled curves like a sports car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
John B.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/27/2021
Verified Review

Gets me where I wanna go

This car is not my style really, but I bought it as a get me around car from a relative. Plenty of room for my German shepherd. The all wheel drive was great this winter. It doesn't mean you can go anywhere though. Mine is a 2012 and at 85,000 miles i had to replace the waterpump/timing belt set. Later cars in this model year went to a chain.... I'm 5ft 8in tall and hit my head on the trunk lid when open putting in.... Very comfortable seats and heater is amazing. Love my heated seats too. Stereo is very good too. Much better than what I expected. System links up with phone easy. I don't use it while driving, but it has come in handy. Car has a nice ride. I'm sure 16in rims help. Milage is what I expected for all wheel drive. Overall a good reliable car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FT
gravatar
Frank T.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/04/2019
Verified Review

Good Car

We’re happy with our Subaru Legacy. Seating is comfortable. Pick up is a little sluggish but we have the 4 cylinder engine and didn’t expect burn outs when the light went green. Our mpg is pretty good. Around town and some highway gives us 30 mpg. My only wish? I wish the car was a little higher off the ground.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KS
gravatar
KELLY S.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2019
Verified Review

Had 2 new Subaru Legacy's

First Legacy had an issue at 50,000 miles and took awhile to figure out but then fixed. The second I still have 128,000 miles and few months ago just had first issue with transmission took a couple times back in shop to fix.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BR
gravatar
BRIAN R.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2019
Verified Review

Legacy.

Love it. Even if I had Oprah $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ I would buy and drive a legacy. ¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DM
gravatar
David M.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/07/2019
Verified Review

Great car very reliable

Love the car. My first Subaru. Happy with just about everything about it. easy to drive and maintain, a very handsome design. Only problem that I've ever had is the rattling windows. They never seemed to seal properly. They don't leak, but they rattle when in slightly open position. Windows are very loose when open..... you can move them with your fingers. In very cold weather they will not open at all. Took this to 2 different dealerships and they said that's how they operate!!??
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RA
gravatar
RAY A.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2018
Verified Review

2012 Subaru Legacy

I love my Subaru Legacy. It performs excellant on snow . Could use more speed when excellerate . It is very good on gas. 30 to 32 miles per gallon is very good for a medium sized sedan . I feel like it is very reliable and I can take it on long trips without any worry
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
jon b.
2012 Subaru Legacy
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2017
Verified Review

LOVE IT!!!

I have been a Subaru fan for a while and currently on my 3rd Legacy. My 2012 Legacy is by far my favorite so far! It handles very well, smooth, and is very dependable in any driving conditions. I wouldn't trade it for anything else.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AG
gravatar
Adiel G.
2012 Subaru Legacy
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/20/2016

Great Car

This was a great purchase. Great condition almost new, save on gas a very comfortable sedan.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MK
gravatar
MARJORIE K.
2012 Subaru Legacy
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/30/2016

GREAT CAR

Totally reliable ... weight safe GPS could be improved not people easy
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JULIE and BRIAN M.
2012 Subaru Legacy
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/06/2016

The car I'm currently leasing has been good, the dealers are the problem.

This is my fourth Subaru. I've owned two and leased two. This Legacy is a leased vehicle and I have not had a problem with it. However, it's only 3 years old. However, as a result of my experience with 4 Subarus, I have decided that I will never buy another one, due to serious reliability issues, the high cost of ownership and problematic dealerships. The two Subarus I owned needed extensive and expensive repairs prior to hitting the 100K mark. My Turbo Outback which had 27K miles on it when purchased from a dealership, had not even reached 60K when I was told by a local Subaru certified Dealer that it required almost $4,000 worth of repairs to the drive train. Unfortunately, it was 6 months past the warranty so I was on my own to pay, although Subaru eventually chipped in $1,000. Nobody at Subaru or the dealership could explain why this happened, except to say sometimes it does happen. Note I had documentation that every required service was done and done on time and I changed the oil with synthetic oil every 3,000 miles. I also put only premium gas (required for Turbos) in the tank at every fill-up.Two weeks after I got the Outback out of the shop, my other Subaru needed more than $3,000 worth of repairs after about 90K miles, despite having every required service and other maintenance performed on time. After having almost $7,000 in work done at this dealership I noticed that my Outback was still not running properly. I took it back to the same dealer and they confirmed that there was a problem but they couldn't figure it out and believe it or not, sent me on my way. After talking with a co-worker I was directed to a small shop whose owner was familiar with Subarus. He used a laptop computer to reset the Engine Control Module which completely resolved the problem and charged me only $30. I am about to turn in my 4th and last Subaru (Legacy). As mentioned above, the car has been decent but again, the dealership is being less than friendly (don't believe the Subaru Love crap and the quirky/friendly commercials you hear). After driving this car for 3 years, they want to charge me more than $300 because they say the seats are a little too dirty and the console, which sits right under my elbow, is not in a pristine state. The inspector who just did the pre turn-in inspection told us they steam clean the seats anyway, regardless of whether or not they appear a little dingy, so why am I being charged? Note that the upholstery in this car is almost white, so it shows every speck of dirt. Also, how is this not fair wear and tear? Maybe I'm being naive in believing this is unique to Subaru, but I've owned many cars over many years and I've never experienced anything like I did with this brand.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SB
gravatar
SYDNEY B.
2012 Subaru Legacy
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2015

Need a favorite car?

This might be my favorite car ever. The comfort and features for the price was great and they didn't skimp in quality to get there. It's been reliable and I don't think I can ever go back to anything less than AWD. When the time comes for another car, I'm not sure I'll even look at anything else.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HR
gravatar
HAROLD R.
2012 Subaru Legacy
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2015

Subaru pleasure.

My subaru is a fun car to drive and the 33 miles per gallon of gas on trips is delightful. It is so solid cornering it is a pleasure to drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 16 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(119 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(19012 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(35) ReScores