Business Solutions

2004 Toyota Matrix

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(18 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(18 Reviews)

SR
SHARON R.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2021
Verified Review

Excellent Buy!

Bought my Matrix 17 1/2 years ago. It has been extremely reliable...definitely have got my money’s worth!!! It continues to perform very well, handles well and is comfortable. Even the air conditioner continues to works extremely well in the Florida heat! Happy to say, radio still works too! Nice low maintenance inexpensive reliable vehicle making it difficult to purchase anything else. Love this car!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NB
gravatar
NATALIE B.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2020
Verified Review

Best little car

Best little underrated car ever.... I'm buying another one!!!! Toyota's an awesome car they're easy to work on... the matrix is the most underrated little rallyer she gets us up mountains and across the lands very very reliable great on gas comfortable to sleep in....
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BL
gravatar
BILL and TAMMY L.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/13/2020
Verified Review

Reliable

Love the steering and like the car sits higher. I was in a wreck with my 05 hit bu a semi and lived to tell. Thankful to Toyota Engineers for the safety put into their vehicles. My husband has a 97 Camry that still runs soundly. We will forever be a Toyota family.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EU
gravatar
Ethel U.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2020
Verified Review

Practical, good mileage and long lasting.

Great starter vehicle despite the highly plasticized design that will rattle at times due to lower quality material. This has been a low maintenance experience and with a decent 24 mpg average has been a money saver to me even after 333,496 miles later. On the other hand, I do have the 4 cylinder base model which is not very powerful on the acceleration and has a noisy cabin. Overall, I would buy this type of vehicle again knowing that I’d opt for premium model if I could afford it 17 years ago back in college.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LF
gravatar
LARRY F.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2019
Verified Review

Cheap transportation

I have owned this matrix for 4-years running. I really like it for its utility, repair record, fuel economy and pilot seat ergonomics. The car handles very well and the cockpit layout is ideal for me. I am very pleased with it and hope to keep for many more years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JR
gravatar
JAYNE R.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2019
Verified Review

‘My best friend’

15 years and 155,000 miles and still going. Wish Toyota still made this model. Has been a very dependable car. Great in town and terrific on the highway. Still gets good mileage and very dependable when passing on a two way highway.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
karen r.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/09/2019
Verified Review

RELIABILITY

Toyota is reliable auto. GAS, LOOKS, DEPENDABILITY IS ALL THERE I’M VERY HAPPY WITH MY CHOICE .. DUE TO NO MORE CAR PAYMENTS AND RELIABILITY OF THE AUTO.. DUE TO AGE SOME PARTS ARE RUSTY AMD TIME TO REPLACE PATTS .. AFTER GETTING NEW PARTS CAR RINS SMOOTH
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LF
gravatar
LARRY F.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/15/2018
Verified Review

Practical cheap transportation

The matrix is perfect for my needs. It’s cheap to run and own. It’s practical transportation for daily use. The car offers very useful interior features such has folding rear seats and hatchback, and economical transportation.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MALCOLM M.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2018
Verified Review

Still going

My car is an ‘04. I bought it new. It’s been a great car, my best car. It has 271500 miles and still running great. Just got the intake manifold replaced and back on the road. Never have driven a car this long and still happy with it’s performance. Would recommend it to anyone, but this version is not made anymore. Too bad.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AL
gravatar
Amie L.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2017
Verified Review

I'm driving this car until the wheels fall off!!!

Major deciding factors in choosing this vehicle were leg room, fuel economy, and all-wheel drive. I have not been disappointed! As a bonus, this car has a ton of cargo space! I'm an avid garage-saler, and with the back seats down, this car fits an incredible amount of stuff. Fuel economy has suffered a bit as the car ages, and I've put quite a bit of money into the car in the past couple years as major parts have worn out, but I turned 250k this year, so I guess that's to be expected. 14 years; I've never broken down and with good tires, this car still handles like a pro through Wisconsin winters! A couple issues I've had: radio/clock display has been out for years and you can't replace the fuse, and door locks that quit working with the fob (driver's door 2x for several months and back driver's side for a couple months), plus the front bumper is styled too low and 2/3 of it has gotten pulled off over the years from catching it on curbs/parking bumpers. Overall, I really love this car. If Toyota hadn't significantly reduced the cargo area and rear side windows in the newer models, my next car would be another Matrix.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
Jennifer B.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/02/2017
Verified Review

Love my car

I would not swap this car for anything. She is 13 years old and does not complain about doing 80 on the I-95. My next car will without a doubt be a toyota
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MALCOLM M.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/18/2017
Verified Review

I have over 261,000 miles and it is still going strong.

Engine, transmission, air conditioner, and other major systems going strong. Just got a brake job and replaced front rotors for the first time at 259,000. Rear brakes still original.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
Jennifer B.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2017
Verified Review

Wow

2004 and still going strong. I think that says it all. Regular maintenance and a good mechanic and I see another 125000 miles in my future. I love it!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
karen r.
2004 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2017
Verified Review

RELIABLE !!!

This is a great reliable car. It has gone the distance. Right now it needs its attention but it has over 100,000 miles as counting. Great in gas and mileage.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JV
gravatar
JANICE V.
2004 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2017

Love It!

I love my Matrix. Sorry that this model is no longer available. This car is still running great. Have had no major problems with this model.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

VH
gravatar
VANESSA H.
2004 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2017

Love my Matrix

My 2004 Toyota Matrix is THE best car we've ever owned, overall. It was the six-speed manual transmission that clinched the sale on this auto, as I love standards. Except for one major repair, that being the replacement of the clutch, the car has been VERY reliable over the 13 years we've owned it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EU
gravatar
ETHEL U.
2004 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2016

Best Value for your money!!!

Reliable and Best Bamg For Your Buck!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MALCOLM M.
2004 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2016

One of Toyotas Best cars

It's the best car that I've ever owned. I have 237000 plus miles on it and it's running like new. Gas milage around town is around 30 miles per gallon and 35 on the road. It rides better than the small Prius, holds the road well in turns and has plenty of room for 4 passengers comfortably. I hope to get 500,000 miles out of it if I take good care of it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MALCOLM M.
2004 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/25/2015

This has been the very best car that I have owned. It's eleven years old with over 223000 and has not had a major break down. It still gets great gas milage, 28-30 in town and over 35 mpg on the road. It is very dependable. I very much like the hatchback window and the loading space. The only draw back is some of the plastic body stuff like the front bumper and the side moldings below the doors. They sometimes get caught on concrete curbs and are pulled off.

I can remember the cars magazines putting this car down in the early years and not reconizing the many pluses the car has. Then in 2009, Toyota changed the rear end and made it cheaper by eliminating the hatch back window. So, if I want a new Matrix, I will need to buy a 2008. In 2013, Toyota stopped making the Matrix. I see so many of them here in Wilmington. Too bad Toyota; I will just have to keep this car running for the rest of my life.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 19 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1322 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2225 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22373 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10814 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7654 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores