Business Solutions

2005 Toyota Matrix

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22 Reviews)

YY
gravatar
YURONG Y.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/26/2021
Verified Review

Good car to have

Matrix is a reliable car, especially in moving, really convenient for putting up the boxes. I also like its moon roof, gets sunshine in your car. Generally it is reliable, and runs well, just like other Toyota cars. Too bad they don't make it anymore...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SY
gravatar
Susan Y.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2020
Verified Review

Best Car Ever

I guess the stopped making the matrix because it was just too good of a car. I bought my car new. 15 years and 220k miles later she is still going strong. She handles in the snow beautifully. To this day I continue to feel safe in my car. Thank you Toyota for one amazing vehicle!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SY
gravatar
Susan Y.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
Verified Review

Best Car

Love my Matrix. Excellent in the snow, car is holding up well for being 15 years old. Lots of interior space especially after back seats are folded down. Great on gas mileage too I still love my car as much as I did whenn I bought her
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JR
gravatar
JAMES R.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/03/2020
Verified Review

It’s a Toyota

It’s not a Honda, and if you’ve owned both you know what I’m talking about. It’s not a Honda. And will never be a Honda. Since I need a 200 word count here I’ll tell you that Toyotas are generally cheaper in perceived quality.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DA
gravatar
DAVID A.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2020
Verified Review

Definition of a grocery-getter

Toyota reliability and economy in a flexible vehicle platform. This is not a sports car. This is not a luxury sedan. This is a straightforward econobox that has gotten me reliably from point A to point B for 15 years. I would drive this car to California tomorrow with no reservations.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JE
gravatar
JANE E.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2020
Verified Review

Love my Toyota Matrix

I purchased my Toyota Matrix in 2005 and it has almost 120,000 miles on it. It is dependable and I have had no major problems with it. Of course, I do keep up with the regular maintenance. This car is so versatile. By laying the seats down I can haul a lot of stuff. I enjoy this car as much today as much as I did when I bought it 15 years ago.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SW
gravatar
Susan W.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/28/2020
Verified Review

Toyota Matrix

owner for about 6years.driven all over the states east coast to west coast.Toyota Matrix just keeps going without too many issues..reliable.tank fills up on $20.cost for any maintenance has been very low.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GK
gravatar
GEORGE K.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/11/2018
Verified Review

One of Toyota's best cars

Toyota ceased production on the Matrix which is the hatchback version of Toyota's Corolla. The Matrix 4 wheel drive is a compact car with a ride set higher than the Corolla sedan. The true 4 wheel drive means all four wheels are engaged all the time giving superior traction in snow covered roads. Add 4 winter tires and the car also performs very well on icy roads. I purchased my Matrix new in 2005 and it's still going strong. I wish Toyota still made a 4 wheel or at least an all wheel drive vehicle similar in size to the Matrix. Now the only all wheel drive option from Toyota even close to the size of the Matrix is their Rav4 which is highly rated but considerably larger. The 4 wheel drive Matrix is one of Toyota's best cars. Mine has never failed me in 13.5 years. It has always started with the first turn of the key even in the coldest winters. The Matrix has made me a loyal Toyota fan.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TK
gravatar
TODD K.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2018
Verified Review

Efficient

Bought this as a used car and have found it to be efficient and reliable. I really like the design as it is easy to drive and park and load groceries or anything else in the handy hatchback design. It get a great mileage for an older car, too.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JOAN B.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2017
Verified Review

Toyota Matrix

Received this car from a friend and have had an excellent experience with it. It is economical and easy to drive. Great in town and on the highway!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AH
gravatar
ANNETTE H.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2017
Verified Review

Matrix review

Car is great - has cost minimal amount to upkeep
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LD
gravatar
LYNNE D.
2005 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/19/2017
Verified Review

My Matrix

Im usually a Honda snob but toyota is a close second. I love my matrix...4 door w hatch and all wheel drive. Hoping it lasts for many more years!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JOAN B.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2017

Great small SUV

Very dependable and gets great gas mileage
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RT
gravatar
Robert T.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2017

Had this vehicle for ten years and 180000 miles

Great gas mileage and durability.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JOAN B.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2017

Matrix

Love the car and try to keep it running by keeping all the maintenance up to date and this has been working so far!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GF
gravatar
Gail F.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2017

Toyota Matrix 2005 Get 'er done car!

This sweetheart has headroom to spare in the front and the back. I have had 2 full grown men ride for 15 hours in the back seat without being cramped. When I went to the nursery to get trees, I was able to get three large skinny pines in the trunk with the seats down. The seats clean up like new and now, at 200,000 miles, I and just thinking about getting new mats. I have never had to replaced the brake pads. This car has only had oil changes at 5000 miles and new tires every other year. The trunk has a mesh net that is great for keeping my grocery bags and neck pillow in without cluttering up my trunk or being a flying hazard if I stop quickly. When we went on a long trip it was nice having a cooler in the open trunk area to grab snacks and sandwiches out without stopping to get into the trunk. If I'm on just the right place and have to punch the gas, this automatic transmission will squeal tires with it's sudden surge, keeping me safe when unexpected situations arise. The dash area touts an electrical outlet along with a accessory port that I keep a double USB port installed. We love to plug in the lap top when we're driving. The sunroof keeps me from being claustrophic and the visibility is wonderful. I wish I would have known how great this car was older and I would have bought it with more miles for less money. I'll never make that mistake again! My only regret is that I didn't get a manuel transmission to feel even more sporty and save even more gas milage. I know it rates 35 but I regularly get around 25-30 MPG.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GT
gravatar
GENE T.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2016

An enduring car

This Matrix has always served us well. Dependable and timeless in style. People have always been surprised to find out how old it is.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DB
gravatar
DORIS B.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/10/2016

2005 Toyota Maxtrix

I have enjoyed my car very much with very little repair...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JILL B.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/01/2016

my matrix rocks and has over 300,000 to prove it

My car has over 300,000 miles and i take great care of it. I do ton of driving for work and if i can make a car last, I will. This is a great commuter car, traveling car, and over all fun and ready to haul stuff while carrying around precious cargo like kids and animals. Now if only Toyota could fix the issue with the odometer stopping at 299,999.........I have made sure to always keep up with the car maintenance which is why i have over 300,000 miles. The goal, 1/2 a million and beyond. The miles should tell you everything about the Toyota Matrix and that its had only regular repairs and maintenance over the 11 + yearsI've owned it .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
Judi B.
2005 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2016

I love my Matrix!

This has been without a doubt the best car I have ever owned. If Toyota hadn't discontinued making them, I would by another one in a heart beat.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 23 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1327 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2238 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22417 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10819 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7659 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores