Business Solutions

2006 Toyota Matrix

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(20 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(20 Reviews)

MS
MARY S.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/03/2021
Verified Review

Great vehicle

Bought used 3-4 years ago. First time going in resulted in minor repair to muffler. Cannot say enough about how reliable it has been. Interior is slightly small for bigger person, but I have no other issues.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JOSHUA B.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/20/2020
Verified Review

2006 Matrix

It is great in the snow. The muffler has been a problem three times. I have had a Camry,highlander,carolla,and 2 rav 4's this is the only toyota that has had that issue. The tire sensors are a pain as well. I also dont feel same on 5he highway. In a week my new car is coming and this car will be for local errands. L
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
SARA M.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/28/2020
Verified Review

2006 Matrix

Good CUV for the money. I've had this car 14 years and besides regular maintenance, it has been reliable. I wish Toyota would make this model again. These were great cars and mine is still. Whenever I took it to the dealership I always had employees tell me that if I ever got rid of it to let them know.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SJ
gravatar
STEVEN J.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/06/2020
Verified Review

I call the silver bullet

I love 💓 my matrix I'll call her the silver bullet because I'll keep getting tickets speeding she rides so fast and so smooth you don't know you're speeding🤣👍🏾. At this rate I'll have to claim my car as a dependent on my taxes. 🤦🏾‍♂️😂😂
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DD
gravatar
Darlene & Kenneth D.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/04/2020
Verified Review

2006 Matrix

It is a great, reliable vehicle consistent with all the Toyota cars we have owned; it's a shame that it is no longer produced. It has been our "work horse" especially in the winter with it all wheel drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
Dan P.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/27/2020
Verified Review

Very reliable

My car has 168k miles on it and nearly everything is in great working order. It is underpowered but the engine is solid. Doesn't have much noise reduction, if any, so it's a little noisy on the highway.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JK
gravatar
JEFFREY K.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2019
Verified Review

Toyota matrix

The car is good but my license plate light is not on....but it is a good car to drive and fit my familys....thank you island Honda for this car I love it..I will share with families and friends about island honda...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DN
gravatar
DONITA N.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/08/2019
Verified Review

Best car I ever hsd

I’m just sad that Toyota isn’t making them anymore, because I would definitely buy another one. Love the sun/moon roof, the turning radius, the design of the dash dials, the gas mileage, the cargo space and the reliability. Only thing, the skirts around the bottom were a bad idea. No clearance so they dangled and dragged until, one by one, I had to pull them off. Big waste. Hoping it’ll last another 12 years. Oh, clock hasn’t worked for 198,000 of those miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DC
gravatar
DORINDA C.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2018
Verified Review

Fantastic

I love my Toyota Maxtrix. It is a 2006 and I have 288,000 miles on it, as I drive a little over 500 miles a week commuting. We also use it for hauling hay and feed for our rescue farm animals. We can only two bales at a time, but it has been fantastic for using as a mini truck. She is starting to need repairs due to her age, but I expect it to hold up for another 200,000 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FM
gravatar
FRANCES M.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2018
Verified Review

This is the car I never want to trade in

My adult son talked me into this car in 2006. I have thanked him frequently. I have driven this car across the country and back three times, with two Siberian Huskies in the back. I have camped in it (I’m short, ha ha) I have hauled a bale of hay in it, driven it up mountains to snow ski, hauled a kayak and a cargo carrier on top and never missed my previous larger SUV. I have always competited scheduled maintenance and I just had my first brake service at 140K miles. And did I tell you it’s zippy? It has some major zoom. I love, love, love my Toyota Matrix.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PM
gravatar
PATRICK S M.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/23/2018
Verified Review

AWD compares to my Subarus

I was surprised the awd handles so well in the snow. I really wasn't expecting it to do as good as my Subaru's. It has pretty good room for such a small car. I was able to fit me and my two teen boys and our lab in her crate and all our stuff on a family trip. My only.complaint is the low mpg in the city. Usually 23mpg. Pretty sad for a little car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CR
gravatar
Carr R.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2018
Verified Review

Hi Praise for Toyota Matrix

It's the best car I've ever owned. What was Toyota thinking when it discontinued thIs model? The matrix is compact but roomy enough on the inside to carry plenty of gear or in my case plenty of dogs. I'm a dog walker by profession. Often I flip the back seats down put in cushions and carry several large dogs buddies at once. The most important thing about the matrix though is that it's so dependable. Mine's got high mileage but has needed very few repairs over the years. Its hard to imagine my next car will measure up.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DL
gravatar
DAVID, JR. L.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2017
Verified Review

A great car

I’m original owner 186,000 miles. Never had a major issue and my vehicle is great on mileage and practical use.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JOHN G.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/11/2017
Verified Review

240K miles and still looks and drives great!

The only repairs I've needed to have done are motor mounts and the AC fan. Everything still works perfectly... I didn't believe what people said about Toyota's for years as they sounded too good to be true, but they and the reviews are right, these cars last forever. My wife drives a 2017 RAV4. When my daughter gets this car, my next car will be a Toyota.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LR
gravatar
LINDA R.
2006 Toyota Matrix
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2017
Verified Review

My Toyota.

I love my car. With over 250,000 miles on it, it's been the best car ever. I always kept up with my pm on it and I'm sorry Toyota no longer makes the Matrix.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JR
gravatar
Jane R.
2006 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2016

I like my Matrix, first of all, it is easier to get in and out of as it is higher, and you dont have to bend down and gracelessly fall into a sedan.

good gas mileage, very rarely needs any repair with about 125,000 miles on it. I like the structure of being up a little higher too, being able to see very well out the front and sides. Good in the snow also.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BY
gravatar
BETSY Y.
2006 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2016

perfect small car

I hate that Toyota stopped making this model. It is so totally reliable and is the perfect size for carrying dogs, small loads of yard gear, even put a tall tree in !!! I have had mine for 10 years and it is just a gem of a car: nothing is ever wrong with it and the paint job has held up beautifully.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EP
gravatar
Eileen P.
2006 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2016

Matrix

If asked the question, "Would you buy this vehicle again, the answer would be vehemently, 'Yes.'"
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SW
gravatar
STACY W.
2006 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/27/2016

Love the Matrix!

We just got this car but so far, we love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DN
gravatar
DONITA N.
2006 Toyota Matrix
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2015

I love this car!

Reliable. Good mileage. Well-designed. Barely any blind spot. Hatchback very convenient for groceries. Love the choice of slanting or sliding the sun roof. Love the back wiper. Turns on a dime. Only thing, the splash covers surrounding the tires come off and so does that narrow piece of the body that's like a dust ruffle at the bottom. It's just held by plastic snaps. I wish I could replace a fog light cover instead of having to get a whole new assembly. The tire pressure light might be too sensitive -- mine comes back on if I hit a pothole. The ventilation system is great, and the heat, air conditioning and defrost work well.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 20 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1322 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2225 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22373 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10814 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7654 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores