Business Solutions

2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(27 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(27 Reviews)

GF
GEORGE F.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2021
Verified Review

Extremely reliable and dependable

I have had my Tundra since 2010. I have used it nonstop since I bought it in Visalia. I now live in Southern California and it hasn't given me any problems. I've used it to tow cars and move household equipment and goods.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MD
gravatar
Mark D.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/13/2021
Verified Review

Bed Rust

I had Linex Bedliner sprayed in when new because I have heard that plastic ones get rusted underneath. Toyota had recalls for Tundra and Tacoma frames rusting through. I had mine coated for free yet the bed wasn’t included and it has rusted at every bolt. I brought it up to the service department and got a “Too bad it ain’t covered “. So now I need a new bed and everyone I have looked at is rusted out in the same place. I don’t think I can get a factory new one. It was definitely a design problem as the reinforcements were spot welded with no room to sand and repaint under them. It seems like one way to make you buy a new one. I know woodworking so it won’t be me buying a new one. It will probably become a oak flat bed first.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LP
gravatar
LEON/DEE DEE P.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/24/2021
Verified Review

Still driving it

My truck looks just like the picture. I will let you make up your own mind. Truck has 414,000 miles to date. had to fix transmission at 392,000. I guess they don't make them like they use to. After 12 years the stick on chrome is wafering. Interior has maintained excellently.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TO
gravatar
TOM O.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/27/2021
Verified Review

Maybe the best Vehicle I ever Bought

Since 2000, I have owned three Toyotas. First was a new 4 runner. I went over 250k miles. A few non-maintenance repairs but nothing that major. Then, I bought a used 2006 Tundra with 56k miles on it. I drove that to over 250k miles. Again, a few non-maintenance repairs but nothing that major. Drove great city but when needed the 4 WD always had balls. Now, I am driving this 2008 Tundra. I went over 212k miles today. I bought with about 80k miles. I have done nothing but maintenance (Oli, tune ups, tires) and it still rides great. It has been borrowed to move so many things for friends, It looks great. 4WD is amazing.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MD
gravatar
MIKE D.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/13/2020
Verified Review

Love the engine.

The transmission went out at 120,000. Not very pleased. Rebuilt transmission was $4000 with a year warranty - horrible. The trucks don’t have the latest electronics as they should. Good engine in an AVERAGE truck.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TW
gravatar
Tom W.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
Verified Review

2008 Tunda.

12 years old and no rust. 150,000 plus miles. Runs well and very little maintenance. Good Torque and power. Lots of cup holders and storage. Two little things I don’t like are no transmission fluid dipstick. No compass.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LP
gravatar
LEON/DEE DEE P.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2020
Verified Review

this truck has 389,000 miles on it and has just got a transmission repair.

This truck hauls 2,000 lbs. in the bed of the truck every month I will continue driving it until it gives up. Hauls very large loads with all most no notice on my part. Just change the oil and filter and its ready.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EC
gravatar
ETHAN C.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/19/2020
Verified Review

Wish I would have gone Toyota sooner

What is there to say that hasn’t been said before. I wish I wouldn’t have bought my previous truck without looking at a tundra first. My tundra is the same year and leaps above my old Sierra. I love my truck.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MD
gravatar
Mark D.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2020
Verified Review

2008 Tundra 4x4

Best vehicle I’ve ever owned. It’s been very mechanically dependable with proper regular maintenance required for all vehicles. Bad front rotors warp after a few thousand miles. Rust issues that Toyota will spray the frame but won’t remove the bed to spray the top of the frame. Bed also rusts out from the underside up with a sprayed on liner. Toyota leaves you on your own after the warranty is up. The problem took me 10 years before it came through. I was always going to the car wash for under carriage wash after snow to wash off salt and chemicals.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BD
gravatar
Bryan D.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
Verified Review

175000 miles and running like new still!

I bought this truck with 75000 miles on it and it didn’t take long to fall in love with it. I mean with a 5.7 V-8 381 Horsepower Engine that will run with the big dogs all day long and leave them in the dust that night what more do you want?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RR
gravatar
Roberto R.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2019
Verified Review

Tuff

I've driven all brands that offer basic trucks... Ok, unless the dollars are spent that increase the expense... I'm living this Toyota Tundra. The Tundra may not be American made... but Hot Damn is it made for American's.!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JP
gravatar
JOEL P.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/06/2019
Verified Review

Great overall truck

Great overall truck if you don't need gas savings for long driving if you're not worried about that. One of the best trucks out there if not the best. I have a limited model and I enjoy all the interior features the leather seats that are heated and electronically adjustable also the 5.7 L motor has more than enough power what I use it for
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WM
gravatar
WALTER M.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2018
Verified Review

best pick i have ever had. i have owned them all and there is no comparison.

i have owned every make of pick up in the country, except for the international, and the toyota is by far the best. if you can get people to come in and drive one they will want one. i also own an '07 camry and a '97 sc-400 lexus. i am constantly amazed what a wonderful auto they all are.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EW
gravatar
EVE W.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/29/2018
Verified Review

Great Reliable truck

Bought used and have never regretted it. Great for moving stuff, hauling dog and family and just about any need. Rides good in town and on highway. No complaints except the seats aren’t as comfortable for long trips.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MO
gravatar
MESHACH E.D. O.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2018
Verified Review

Two thumbs up!

Best truck I have ever had hands down. Beats out any and all other truck brands in every category. Dependable, always reliable and never lets me down. All I do is keep up basic maintenance and keep it clean.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BK
gravatar
BRUCE K.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2018
Verified Review

08 Toyota Tundra

I still like like my 08 tundra better than any other truck on the road except for possibly a new Tundra
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BD
gravatar
Bruce D.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/22/2017

Easy failures

The vehicle runs well but numerous and expensive failures are happening, like with electric window movement, tailgate latches and seals in the drive train.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PH
gravatar
PAMELA H.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/14/2017

great for bad weather handling.

Over all happy with our truck. Just wish they made a camper that would fit.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CF
gravatar
COURTLAND F.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2016

5 Star

This has been the best car/truck I have ever purchased. I told my wife she can put me in my truck and into the ground once I pass.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EF
gravatar
ELIZABETH F.
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2016

Best half ton on the market

Best truck I have ever owned. Will not buy anything but Toyota.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 27 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1327 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2240 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22427 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10821 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7660 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores