Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(525 Reviews)

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


LT
LONNIE T.
Alameda, CA
Honda Accord
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2019
honest repair shop
i can count on Fred’s to figure out what’s needed everytime and do a thorough job of it.

BZ
BRYANT Z.
Alameda, CA
Nissan Altima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2019
Great service
Very honest mechanics not trying to nickel and dime you . Fair prices and fast turn around.

PM
Paul M.
Alameda, CA
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/12/2019 Category: Service
Paul said the custom service was good.

JH
James H.
Alameda, CA
Chevrolet Tahoe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2019 Category: Service
Spoke with James' wife. She said there is always great service and great people there.

WY
WENDY Y.
Alameda, CA
Honda Civic Si
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/07/2019
Fast Helpful Friendly
Fred was great! He got everything done quickly, made recommendations that were really helpful. And his prices are very competitive also.

KW
KEVIN W.
Alameda, CA
Ford Mustang
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/05/2019
Engine Swap
Fred was very accommodating.

RV
RICO V.
Alameda, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/01/2019
Outstanding service
Outstanding service, honest and reliable.

Would recommend.

Verified Customer
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2019
5 Thousand Miles Service
Service is thorough and fast; staff is very efficient. All my questions answered to my satisfaction. Convenience in dropping my car off in the morning and picking it up after work. Close proximity to my commute transportation.

Verified Customer
Hayward, CA
INFINITI G35 Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2019
Sometimes there's more than one solution
Or more than one component to blame for a problem. The automaker may have one specific way they want a problem fixed. It takes experience to know when the automaker might not know the best way to solve an issue. The staff at Fred's researched the problem and all the associated components to find the right fix for my vehicle. My advice to you is don't rush them. Let them do their job in their time frame and you'll get the best work possible.

AH
ANNE H.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2019
always helpful
Gave me great advice on painting scratches on my car.

JD
Joan D.
Alameda, CA
Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2019 Category: Service
Joan said they do a great job and she has been going there for years.

RI
RALUCA I.
Oakland, CA
Suzuki Grand Vitara
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2019
kind, honest, lovely meachanics
These guys are a local gem! Honest, reliable and caring service with fair prices and no nonsense!

TA
Ted A.
Alameda, CA
Scion FR-S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/01/2019 Category: Service
Ted said the business has great quality work and are very honest and have good professionalism.

KK
KAREN K.
Richmond, CA
Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/29/2019
Good Service, as always
For many years I went to a mechanic in San Rafael (even though I now live in the East Bay) because of his great service. Unfortunately, he retired and closed his shop so I had to find a new garage. Fred's consistently came up as best in the East Bay. Since I work in Alameda, it was a no-brainer.
Every time I take my car in for an oil change, we go over any other repair or maintenance issues that might arise. My car is a 10 year old Hyundai Tucson and as a non-mechanical person, I really appreciate Fred's proactive approach to maintenance. He doesn't do unnecessary repairs, but always gives you the information you need to make an informed and safe decision.
Not the cheapest garage, but certainly one of the best!

JS
JANET S.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2019
Fred's Wrenchouse is a good place
I have had excellent experiences having my 2005 Prius serviced here.