Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(574 Reviews)

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 13 hours ago

Reviews


JH
JUDIE H.
Alameda, CA
Oldsmobile Bravada
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
Always helpful
I have been coming to Fred's for 3 years now and they have always been so helpful and understanding. They take the time to listen when tippy have questions.

DP
DAVID P.
Alameda, CA
MINI Cooper Hardtop
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/18/2019
Fred's Baled Me Out of a Jam
I had a self-inflicted car problem when a DIY job went terribly wrong, stranding me, and making me miss work. I had the car towed to Fred's (who had worked on it once before). They got to it the same day and properly re-did the job that I botched. Then they only charged me for what the original maintenance would have cost - I expected a "stupid-fee". They were very professional and didn't kid me about it too badly either!

SB
STEFFEN B.
Alameda, CA
Mazda MX-5 Miata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/07/2019
Great service, but price a bit high
Great experience. Dropped off a thirty year old Miata that had trouble starting on Sunday night without announcing it. I feared that not having an appointment would delay the work. Called on Monday morning, added a few small repair requests, and they got to the diagnostics right away. Tuesday afternoon the car started again properly, the oil was changed, the air vents washed out, and the window cranks moved smoothly again. All done well. Communication was pleasant and effective.

What makes me take off the fifth star is the pricing. I replaced the gas pump in the past myself and got the part for $55 at O'Reilly's. Fred's charged $200 for the pump plus $100 for a "used pump assy", not clear what that even is. I expected a shop to charge maybe $100 for the $55 part, but not $300 (all prices excluding labor).

DB
Donald B.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Legacy Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/23/2019 Category: Service
Donald said he is very pleased to have found this business and a mechanic he can trust here. His last vehicle needed a new clutch, he asked him to take pictures, and he did. He was pleased to have that happen, and he was able to view the pictures. Fred checked his vehicle out. He added he had asked Fred if this particular vehicle had a certain device present, and he forgot to ask the staff member when he picked it up if that had been done. He stated it might have been partially his fault for not mentioning it himself, but he thought it should have been brought up to him during the post-inspection. He really likes going there, and he will continue going there. He has gotten very good service with his other vehicle here, and this was the only little disappointment he has had with them. He said he is very impressed with Fred.

KW
KEVIN W.
Alameda, CA
Ford Mustang
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/05/2019
Engine Swap
Fred was very accommodating.

JH
JUDIE H.
Alameda, CA
Oldsmobile Bravada
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/05/2019
Always friendly
Always friendly and have no problem answering questions in laymans terms so their customers understand

TB
Torance B.
Alameda, CA
INFINITI EX35
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/12/2018 Category: Service
Torance said the business did a good job. They forgot to call and tell him the vehicle was done.

SM
Simo M.
Berkeley, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/08/2018 Category: Service
Simo said the cost was a bit high.

JT
JASMIN T.
Alameda, CA
Chrysler Town & Country
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/24/2018
Really great place
The service was great. It was timely and the price was fair. Will definitely be going back.

TK
Tyler K.
Emeryville, CA
Toyota T100
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/01/2018 Category: Service
Tyler said the staff did a really good job. He said he came in due to a certain noise, and they took care of the engine light but the noise is still there. He said he would need to go back but the staff was very nice and personable.

RB
ROBERT B.
Alameda, CA
Dodge Charger
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/22/2018
1972 Charger work,
Freds wrench house has and will be the only place I’ll take my classic muscle car. He is very familiar with all makes and models of the cars in that era. If he is not sure about a trouble shooting issue he knows where to get the right answer. Keep up the great work

AO
Alex O.
Alameda, CA
Saab 9-3
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/02/2018 Category: Service
Alex said this business did a tune up. They did a pretty good job, but his fluid levels are low and he is unsure if there is a problem or if they forgot to fill the fluids.

ET
Eric T.
Oakland, CA
Subaru Outback
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/01/2018 Category: Service
Eric said his visit was really good.

JS
Jakki S.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/08/2018 Category: Service
Jakki said they are great. It took a little longer than expected.

SP
Stacy P.
Alameda, CA
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/23/2017 Category: Service
Stacy said nobody was perfect.