Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(528 Reviews)

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 1 day ago

Reviews


MJ
MARK J.
Oakland, CA
Honda Element
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/27/2020
honest, explain things, not condescending to my daughter, understands older cars.
the only glitch was my prev . 2 visits took a bit of expense to diagnose an ignition switch.
. it may have been tricky.....but repair costs are always fair.
and we trust them ...and my daughter brought in our truck last week. .

CM
Chip M.
Oakland, CA
Volvo V40
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/27/2020 Category: Service
Chip said they explained everything thoroughly, did what he wanted them to do and it was good.

BA
Benjamin A.
Alameda, CA
Nissan Altima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/27/2020 Category: Service
Benjamin said he has been going there for 2 years and they do a good job.

Verified Customer
Hayward, CA
INFINITI G35 Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
The way a business should be run...
I've moved around the country. Each time, I have researched to find a reliable, trustworthy mechanic near where I live. Since I moved to the Bay area in 2016, the one shop that meets my level of trust, honesty and intelligence are the staff that Fred had hired, and Fred himself. Anyone can buy the parts. Competence and experience are why you visit a mechanic. Unless you can do it yourself... and if you can, you are not reading this review anyway.

All you have to do is ask, "what are my options?" and you will get an honest answer. You may not be happy about it, because you love your sports car like I do mine... but the car's problems are not their fault. They are trying to help you understand a possibly complex and difficult problem... whatever the costs may be.

JK
JONI K.
Laytonville, CA
Toyota Land Cruiser
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
I highly recommend this shop! I will be back
I had a great experience at Fred’s Wrenchouse. They communicated very clearly, they took care of every detail that we had discussed, they quoted accurately, and they were able to get it done right away. My first experience at Fred’s was awesome. It inspired me to write a review.

PD
PATRICK D.
Oakland, CA
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Great service
Very busy auto shop but if you schedule in an appointment it’s no problem. They even opened up early and let me drop off the car and go before they were even set up for the day. Staff are great people. Really know their stuff and are happy to explain everything. I’ll be back for sure.

NK
Niall K.
Oakland, CA
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020 Category: Service
Niall said the business does great work and it went well. He said the work that was completed was easy to do.

KK
KAREN K.
Richmond, CA
Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
Great, as usual
Fred and his crew do great work at a reasonable price (great work is always worth more than average work). I can always rely on their thoroughness and proactive approach to maintenance. On top of that, Fred and his crew are really nice guys!

MM
Marco M.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Tundra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/06/2020 Category: Service
Spoke with Randie. She said the staff provided excellent service.

VK
VANESSA K.
Emeryville, CA
FIAT 500
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
tune in check
Great !

ND
Nazdeep D.
Alameda, CA
Dodge Charger
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019 Category: Service
Nazdeep said that he dropped it off and they were flexible with pickup. He appreciates their great work and flexibility with his time.

AH
Aaron H.
Alameda, CA
Volvo V70
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/26/2019 Category: Service
Aaron said he is a long time customer and will travel some distance to go there. He is always satisfied and Fred has always gone above and beyond to take care of him. He added he is honest with fair pricing and the staff is very knowledgeable.

TJ
Tim J.
Oakland, CA
Mazda MX-5 Miata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/26/2019 Category: Service
Tim said he would recommend this business for service.

RB
RICHARD B.
Alameda, CA
Ford F-150
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Very professional
Great service...

RR
REGINA R.
Alameda, CA
Honda Fit
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Always great !
I have been a Fred’s customer for 15+ years. Fred and his son Barry are very smart and honest when it comes to car repairs. They won’t try to get you to fix something that doesn’t need it. They stand behind their work.