Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(574 Reviews)

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 2 days ago

Reviews


KB
Kim B.
Alameda, CA
Volvo S40
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2019 Category: Service
Kim said they solved the problem, they were available, they are great, they are friendly and they are reasonably priced.

DP
Debbie P.
Oakland, CA
Honda Accord Sdn
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2019 Category: Service
Debbie said the service was excellent.

SB
STEFFEN B.
Alameda, CA
Mazda MX-5 Miata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/07/2019
Great service, but price a bit high
Great experience. Dropped off a thirty year old Miata that had trouble starting on Sunday night without announcing it. I feared that not having an appointment would delay the work. Called on Monday morning, added a few small repair requests, and they got to the diagnostics right away. Tuesday afternoon the car started again properly, the oil was changed, the air vents washed out, and the window cranks moved smoothly again. All done well. Communication was pleasant and effective.

What makes me take off the fifth star is the pricing. I replaced the gas pump in the past myself and got the part for $55 at O'Reilly's. Fred's charged $200 for the pump plus $100 for a "used pump assy", not clear what that even is. I expected a shop to charge maybe $100 for the $55 part, but not $300 (all prices excluding labor).

DS
Dan S.
Alameda, CA
Dodge Dakota
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2019 Category: Service
Dan said the business was knowledgeable, honest, and prompt. Everything seems to be working with his vehicle.

DB
Donald B.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Legacy Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/23/2019 Category: Service
Donald said he is very pleased to have found this business and a mechanic he can trust here. His last vehicle needed a new clutch, he asked him to take pictures, and he did. He was pleased to have that happen, and he was able to view the pictures. Fred checked his vehicle out. He added he had asked Fred if this particular vehicle had a certain device present, and he forgot to ask the staff member when he picked it up if that had been done. He stated it might have been partially his fault for not mentioning it himself, but he thought it should have been brought up to him during the post-inspection. He really likes going there, and he will continue going there. He has gotten very good service with his other vehicle here, and this was the only little disappointment he has had with them. He said he is very impressed with Fred.

KK
KAREN K.
Richmond, CA
Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2019
Fair and reliable
I can always trust Fred's to do their work thoroughly and on time. But more importantly, they are proactive about maintenance without recommending unnecessary work.
Today they checked the timing belt on my 2008 Hyundai because I couldn't remember when it had last been replaced. If they'd replaced it today, earlier than necessary as it turned out, I wouldn't have known the difference. But instead, I was told that it was too early for a replacement and we discussed when the best time would be.
Thorough, reliable, honest (and really nice guys, too).

EC
ERICA C.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/03/2019
Reliable
I can always count on Fred and Barry to get my car in great working order.

PH
Pat H.
Alameda, CA
Mercedes-Benz ML320
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/03/2019 Category: Service
Pat said she liked the service.

PS
PAUL S.
Alameda, CA
Volvo 240
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2019
225k service onVolvo 240DL
they get the job done. they know vintage models,(88 Volvo)They don't overcharge.

JL
Joey L.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Legacy
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2019 Category: Service
Joey said his experience was great, and the oil change was quick and easy at this place.

EW
Eric W.
Berkeley, CA
Chevrolet Volt
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2019 Category: Service
Eric said the business did a good job.

RC
Ross C.
Alameda, CA
Ford Transit Van
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2019 Category: Service
Ross said he would recommend this business for service.

EB
ERIN B.
Alameda, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2019
Amazing service
Fred and Barry are always honest, efficient and friendly. I am so happy to have found them!

JA
JOSE A.
Oakland, CA
Chevrolet Chevy Van
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
Outstanding mechanic
Not too many mechanics out there that still work on older vehicles. Especially the time they get the job done. Outstanding all around mechanic.

ES
ED S.
Alameda, CA
Ford Fusion
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
Excellent Service
My Ford Fusion wouldn't start. After jump start brought it to Fred. Had the problem diagnosed and fixed within a few hours. Straightforward, no nonsense approach just like I appreciate.I plan on making it my place for future car maintenance and repair.