Helfman Collision Center

Overview

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7

(3,423 Reviews)

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 2 days ago

Reviews


CS
Chanda S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/18/2020 Category: Collision
Chanda said it was a very expensive vehicle and he got very bad customer service, he spent $10,000 and could not even get good customer service there. He said he is returning the vehicle on Monday so he does not have to go there ever again.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 09/21/2020

He was upset because the free loaner car we offered him wasn't a nice enough replacement for his vehicle and he refused it. After that, there was no pleasing him, regardless of how hard we tried. Unfortunately, we cannot make every customer happy.


KS
Kenneth S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/01/2020 Category: Collision
Kenneth said they did not complete the repair. He said the suspension was not repaired. He said the vehicle was not ready when promised because they not complete the repair. He said they didn't do a thorough estimate. He said they were dishonest. He would not recommend for the reasons stated.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 08/14/2020

Well, all I can say is our history of excellent customer service speaks for itself and not every customer is right.


AJ
Amalio J.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/23/2020 Category: Collision
Amalio said despite his having full coverage insurance, he ended up having to spend over $700 out of pocket for repairs. Apparently the repair facility manager Ira, made some decisions without consulting the insurance carrier. The communication was horrible. He was not notified with the status of his vehicle. Any updates were due to him calling in . The explanation of why there was the out of pocket expense was stated as work performed, and in his view, that is not a very good explanation. The return of his vehicle was delayed by 2 days due to a bad part. The service department has done very good service to his vehicle previously however he is not pleased with the customer service with the body repair facility. The repairs were done well.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 04/14/2020

He was warned about the out of pocket cost before leaving his vehicle with us. His insurance company is notorious for not paying for a complete and proper repair as required by the OEM repair manual. We advised him to seek service elsewhere if he did not want to cover the additional expense. He insisted that he would make the carrier pay and in the end is upset with us because they did not. We cannot provide free services just because an insurance carrier does not want to pay for it. There are many untrained, shady repair shops that do not follow OEM procedures and will perform poor repairs that an insurance company will gladly pay for. This customer could have chosen one of those shops to save some money.


MW
Michael W.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/28/2020 Category: Collision
Michael said that he still has issues with his vehicle. The fog lights don't work. The parking and cruise control lights are on and the check engine light came on. They told him that it would take a week to repair his vehicle but it took a month. The insurance company blamed the facility and the facility blamed the insurance company for the delay. He had to call them for updates.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/18/2020

It is Unfortunate there was substantially more damage than we predicted when he dropped off for repairs. However, he and the insurance provider were notified of this within days of it being discovered. We presented our findings to Geico immediately and it took them 2 weeks to approve the work. So, although he is correct on the time frame, it takes a while to repair $10,000 in collision damages. As for the issues Mr. Wong is experiencing, the vehicle was operating properly during the long test drive we performed before he picked up the Jeep and we have reached out to him to resolve these problems

Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/18/2020

It is Unfortunate there was substantially more damage than we predicted when he dropped off for repairs. However, he and the insurance provider were notified of this within days of it being discovered. We presented our findings to Geico immediately and it took them 2 weeks to approve the work. So, although he is correct on the time frame, it takes a while to repair $10,000 in collision damages. As for the issues Michael is experiencing, the vehicle was operating properly during the long test drive we performed before he picked up the Jeep and we have reached out to him to resolve these problems


OG
Oscar G.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/19/2019 Category: Collision
Oscar said the estimator at this facility did not know how to estimate properly. The communication was fine, but no details were provided. It took 3 weeks after the promise date to get his vehicle back and when he picked it up there was paint on the window.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 12/17/2019

All I can say is, these statements are less than truethful. This was a $14,000 repair that took 4 weeks to complete correctly and he expected it should have only taken one week. Unfortunately this type off heavy collision damage can take quit some time to repair properly. There are many chop shops that could have completed the repairs faster and cheaper but we are not one of those shops. We do it right or we don't do it. 


HS
Henry S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/18/2019 Category: Collision
Henry said the repair looks good but he has been waiting a month and a half for a side-view mirror.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 02/20/2019

It is unfortunate that Henry feels this way. We did a good job in our body shop as his comments reflect. His issue was with a back ordered part from another department that has now been resolved. We hope he now feels differently about our dealership.


PP
Patrick P.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/13/2018 Category: Collision
Patrick said the employees took care of the remaining service issue.

Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/13/2018 Category: Collision
Patrick said he is very upset and he feels like he was cheated out of his money. The insurance company waved his deductible because the accident wasn't his fault. This facility said he still had to pay it so he did. Ira said once he receives a letter for corporate he would return his money to him. He got the letter but he only got back half. They still owe him $250. His insurance company called him yesterday and told him he's owed that money. He hasn't heard from any one and he would like his money back. The vehicle was delayed due to the insurance company.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 12/20/2018

We called Patrick after recieving this survey because we were shocked he felt this way about us. Our repairs could not have turned out any better and we was extremely happy with our service and quality when he picked up his RAM 1500.  Unfortunately, Patrick thought the survey was about the insurance company, Progressive and it's representative. Patrick is very unhappy with how Progressive Insurance handle his claim. The good news is, Patrick is very happy with us and will recommend us to others. 


KK
Kevin K.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/16/2018 Category: Collision
Kevin said his overall experience was pathetic. He had never dealt with anyone that smiled while lying. The repair and communication were sub-par. They did not clean the glass out of his vehicle, so his friend almost sat in it. He returned the vehicle and when they gave it back, he cut his finger on the glass. The glass repair was supposed to take a day. He was not given a reason why they had his vehicle for a week and a half. No one informed him when the repair was started nor called with updates. They performed extra repairs without his authorization. The representative stated he had detailed records of when he called. However, he checked and they spoke 5 times for about 10 minutes each call, when he called the business. There were errors in the estimate. He would like the manager to call him.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 12/04/2018

I spoke with this customer and there was nothing we could do to please him short of turning back time and not allowing his vehicle to be broken in to.  


KT
Kelly T.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/18/2018 Category: Collision
Spoke with Kelly. She said the front bumper needed realignment, due to manufacturer's defect. By the time they got in, the bumper had been scrapped, so it needed to be realigned and painted. At the facility, someone had bumped into the vehicle and the paint had been chipped off. This left two places on the vehicle where the paint was chipped and it was still not correctly aligned. The manager didn't adequately take care of the problem. For these reasons, she would not recommend the facility to others.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 09/20/2018

Unfortunately her vehicle was impacted and not consider a defect by the manufacturer. This out of our control - She had to pay for the repairs and wasn't happy about that. 


JV
Jose V.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/18/2018 Category: Collision
Jose said although he was satisfied with the quality of the repair, he was not satisfied with his overall experience. The air conditioner is not working right. There are stains in the paint which were not there when he brought the vehicle in. There are scratches all over the interior from when they removed the pillars and panels. The dashboard has white stains all over it. He has notified Ira of these problems, but he has not had the opportunity to take the vehicle back, because of his work schedule. Also, it took a long time. The vehicle was there over a month and a half. He was not kept adequately informed. He had to keep calling the business to find out what was going on. Ira, the person who prepared his estimate, went back and forth with the insurance company. When he got the vehicle back, there was still a piece missing from the vehicle. For that reason, he was not satisfied with the thoroughness of the person who prepared his estimate. He was not satisfied with the communication, for reasons already stated. He would not recommend this business, for reasons already stated.

JG
James G.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/21/2018 Category: Collision
James said he had to take the vehicle back 3 times because of mistakes this business made. Ultimately, he was satisfied with the repair. The vehicle was 1 week and a half late because the part was not in. He had to call them almost every day. The phone system was not working well. He could not get to the right person, so he drove back to the business. He will not go back to the business. The person who prepared his estimate told him it would cost $2500, and it ended up costing $7000. When he went to pick up the vehicle the first time, he was told it was not ready because they had to wash it. He did not get it back until 2 hours later. The employees just rolled their eyes and acted like they did not care. After he got the vehicle back, he discovered the light and the parking sensors were not working, so he had to take the vehicle back. The second time he went to pick up the vehicle, the bumper was not on the vehicle. So he took it back. The third time, there was a large gap between the bumper and the light. He notified them about this, and they fixed it while he waited. The business closed at 6, and he received his vehicle back at 645.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 02/23/2018

James isn't completely wrong in his accessment of the repair process. However, he is misleading you to beleive his issues were the shop's fault. The truth of the matter is, the $2500 estimate was provided by Allstate Insurance. Our initial estimate was almost $7000 but it Allstate took 3 tries and 2 weeks to agree to all of the damages. The fit and function issues were a result of NON-OEM parts that Allstate insisting on using and the owner approved against our advice. He claims the vehicle wasn't ready when he arrived to pick it up, well that's because he showed up before he was told the vehicle was ready.As for the negative comments about the staff, PLEASE READ THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER REVEIWS AND DECIDE FOR YOURSELF IF THESE ARE TRUE. We appreciate all of our customers and take pride in our work but sometimes we can't make people happy.


JS
Jason S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/21/2017 Category: Collision
Jason said the staff had his vehicle for almost three weeks. It was supposed to be a three day repair. They needed some paperwork and they never reached out to him. He was unsure of his satisfaction with the person that prepared his estimate. The staff treated him pretty well but they didn't keep him updated.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 10/19/2017

Jason is correct about the time frame - however we reached out to to him and the insurance company several times without positive results. We cannot proceed with repairs until the work is approved and the parts arrive. We did our best with what we were working with


ES
Eddie S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/24/2017 Category: Collision
Eddie said he was not kept informed. He was never told what was going on with his vehicle. Two of his lights are out but he will not take it back. The vehicle was delayed but they were giving him excuses and they did not give him a reason for the delay. He will never return and he will make sure he tells others not to go to this business.

RF
Raymond F.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/21/2017 Category: Collision
Raymond said he would not recommend this business. They had the vehicle for 30 days just to do some minor work and the quality of the paint work was poor. It was delayed but he does not know why. He did not like the way he was treated by the personnel because he is in a wheelchair and they made him feel like he didn't matter. They did not keep him informed or up to date on the status of his vehicle. Their communication was not good.

MA
Mary A.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/21/2017 Category: Collision
Mary said she was not satisfied with the quality of the repair. When she went to pick up her vehicle, she noticed there was a big 4 inch ding in the front that was not there when she dropped it off. Someone could have called and informed about the ding and she would have paid to get it fixed. Instead, they just painted over it. She took her vehicle to them around Christmas or New Years. They had the vehicle at their facility for 7 weeks. They told her the vehicle would be ready in a couple of weeks. Her vehicle was delayed because they had to order more parts and they were waiting on the insurance company to take a look at everything. She was able to get her vehicle right when her allotted time to use the rental ran out. She called them multiple times, trying to figure out what was going on with her vehicle. Ira, her repair representative, was not there towards the end of the repair so it was hard to get information. She said she feels no one made the effort to contact her because she did most of the calling. She wasn't expecting a phone call every day but it would have been nice if she would have received a call at the beginning of the week and at the end of the week to keep her updated. She always has a good experience with the associated dealership. It was her first time using this business and she had a bad experience.