2005
Chrysler
PT Cruiser

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(35 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

WG
William G.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/29/2019
Good little car
The cruiser has been a dependable vehicle.At 175k I have had to spend some money on it but just normal wear.It still runs great and I plan to drive it until something catastrophic happens like a head gasket or a rod or something.

Pros
It is surprisingly great in the snow especially if snow tires are mounted.

Cons
The engine compartment is a little bit tight which makes it harder to work on but what car nowadays isn’t.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
GAIL K.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2019
“Mabel” is a GEM!
My PT Cruiser is the BEST! I couldn’t be happier in her performance and the fun we have in our travels! She has pick-up, drives well, and I enjoy the freedom of having the top down. She has been on extended trips to the NW, Canada, SW, and is currently living in the Midwest.?

Pros
Turbo
Convertible
Heat and Air
FUN

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Leslie Ann T.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/24/2019
PT no longer available
I love my car. It's a 2005 convertible. I am sorry that they stopped making them. It still runs good. You can't get a convertible at a reasonable price today. I will keep my car until the wheels roll off.!!!9

Pros
Good price for a convertible. Still good trunk space.

Cons
They stopped making them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
DONNA V.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2019
Love it
I absolutely love this car and I can't imagine why Chrysler stopped making it. It looks cool, rides nice, and it is quite roomy inside for being a small/compact car. It has pretty much been trouble free until lately when probably due to age things are beginning to need work or replacement.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dave* B.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2019
P T Cruiser the best
The car is a dream and fun to drive. It is reliable and dependable with pretty good mileage. Easy to get in and out of. Pretty comfortable ride for a small car. Great car overall. It is such a joy to drive. Handling on curves is fantastic.

Pros
Turbo engine, great handling, comfortable ride

Cons
Turbo does cut back on mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
Hope C.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/11/2018
GT/PT Cruiser
Luv my car.....luv my convertible GT/PT, just luv my car. I need some help with my rear window defrost...there are breaks in the lines and I cannot find anyone to fix the problem. I need my defrost please.

Pros
Almost everything...

Cons
I wish the headlights would not get cloudy. My defrost on the back window does not work. I have tried the fixing kit, it does not work, a mechanic won't try it either cause he says it does not work with defrost kit. I have been told that I must replace my convertible top and replace back window. WHAT!? Someone help me..... :(

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JIM W.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/12/2018
2005 PT Cruiser
I love this car. I knew the first time I saw a PT Cruiser, it was especially made for me. I had one in Hawaii and then when we moved to Arizona, I bought my current 2005 PT Cruiser. It has been great! I love it!

Pros
Good on gas, fun to drive and it looks good. Perfect for around town and easy to park. You would not believe what we pack in the car for vacation!

Cons
It is not real powerful on the highway, but we really only drive on the big highways for vacation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rosina R.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/06/2017
PT Cruiser great but maintain the Transmission
I have a Turbo PT Cruiser and love it, it’s a convertible top, it’s fun. Solid, cute and overall great.

Pros
Fun, speedy, solid and easy to get around.

Cons
Maintain, maintain and maintain.
My was second hand, overall body was great, mileage great but it needed maintenance and maybe my experience would’ve been Ten Stars but it fell short, the purchase price excellent.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
DONNA V.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2017
Love it
I love my car, I wish they sere still making them because I know mine will eventually wear out.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
kathy d.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/06/2017
Honest, dependable always satisfied
Love this rare family style business. I live in Rancho Bernardo but only take car here for all services.
Once your a customer you'll always come back.

Pros
Gas mileage back seats fold down so I can load mote

Cons
No air conditioner and it's a stick shift

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SN
Sam N.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/21/2017
Not impressed.
I’ve had no major problems with the car but it is very uncomfortable riding in it. I definitely would not buy another PT Cruiser.

Pros
I’m not really impressed with the vehicle at all

Cons
Too noisy,you can hear the motor cause it’s so close to the front seats and it’s loud. The leather seats are not comfortable at all. In hindsight I paid too much for this vehicle and honestly wish I had chosen better. Would not buy another one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DIANA C.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/23/2017
O Stars
Worst vehicle I have ever owned. Head Gasket oil leak at 30,000 miles, bad crankshaft at 54,000. No car now and walking everywhere at age 60. Thanks Chrysler.

Pros
Fun to drive and comfortable.

Cons
Going to the junk yard with 54,000 miles. Piece of JUNK

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
FLO K.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/21/2017
Love This PT Cruiser
This has been a fun and enjoyable vehicle to own.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Savannah M.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/18/2017
UUUUGH
significant mechanical issues since day one!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JIM D.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2017
05 Convertable.
Waited for it ro come out. Bought her Dec. 2005. Never seen snow with 47000 on her. Our summer toy. Sorry they are discontinulde. They had a winner.

Cons
Today there are better electronics.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANN S.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2017
P.T. CRUISER
I love my cruiser, it's completely reliable. I like the way it looks. I never get tired of it and it's a 2005 twelve years old.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PAUL B.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/19/2017
I love this car!
What a great little car. Dependable, safe, decent fuel milage, capable of being flat towed, and still a great around-town vehicle. Not bad power for the size of engine.

Pros
Can be flat towed behind my motorhome.
Reliable.
Decent fuel milage.

Cons
A little under powered
Body could be better constructed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DAWN F.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2017
2005 PT Cruiser Convertible GT
I love my PT GT!

Pros
Comfortable, good on gas, easy to drive and pretty.

Cons
Somewhat expensive to fix.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HOWARD (VET) D.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/24/2017
Reliable
Fun car to drive
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PAUL B.
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/21/2017
2005 PT Cruiser
She'll take us anywhere and better yet, she'll be sure to bring us back too. She's dependable, economical, fun to drive, and because she's a standard transmission model, she's flat towable behind our motorhome. She's light weight too, so she's inexpensive to tow. If there's a negative, it's that she is slightly underpowered. Don't get me wrong, she'll do 70 or 75 mph on the freeway easily.

Pros
Dependable.
Great bang for the buck.

Cons
Slightly underpowered for quick starts.
Interior could be better designed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 35 in total