Business Solutions

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5
4.2
(35 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5Overall Rating 4.2/5
4.2
(35 Reviews)

LI
gravatar
LYNNE & SCOTTIE I.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2022
Verified Review

My husband and I both have PT Cruisers and we love them!

We love our PT Cruisers! They can be as nice, comfortable and serviceable as any SUV. My model is a “Limited”and has an leather,heated fromt seat. Chrome detail, Sunroof, front seats that totally recline. back seats flip forward make a full cargo area large enough that I have moved a full size crib in it! I love the large hatch back adjustable shelve area for groceries or shopping. CRYSLER, PLEASE BRING BACK PT CRUISERS. WE LOVE THEM!!!!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LO
gravatar
LORILEE O.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2021
Verified Review

2003 PT Cruiser GT.

I have absolutely loved this vehicle. I purchased it used in 2011 with hardly used mileage. I have only needed to do routine maintenance work every year until 2019, and even then it was routine for the age and mileage, as is now. With the turbo charge, custom pinstripes, and quality, sporty wheels & rims I purchased, this car has been so fun to drive. Plus, with the back jump seats easily removable, and extra space behind, I had plenty of room for my 2 very large dogs. When I moved across the country, I pulled a medium sized U-Haul trailer with ease. I have driven in every kind of bad weather & conditions that one can encounter, and my car has handled well. In Wisconsin our winters could become spontaneously treacherous! And road salt is damaging to the underside. That’s about the only bad side to this car, is it’s tendency to rust. Best to wash frequently and store it in a garage. Now that I live in AZ, it’s the sun that’s hard on a car’s paint job, and the tires. I know that sooner, rather than later, I will need to replace my PTC, but at 18 years old it’s holding up better than is expected.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KS
gravatar
KENNETH S.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/05/2020
Verified Review

The Wife's Dream Car

It's the wife's new baby she is impressed She loves the style and the handling ability And the fule economy isn't bad either She loves how it fits her like a glove She shows it off proudly and would buy a new one if they ever came back
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RT
gravatar
Renita T.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/17/2020
Verified Review

Good on maintenance

As long as you have a good mechanic...the pt will last you a long time; even on high mileage. Its roomy, yet classy. I love the seat folds and the hatchback. Its like an suv but compact. It cruises but has pick up. The best car I ever had.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DT
gravatar
David T.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/08/2020
Verified Review

Love these cars but not for everyone

Love my second PT Cruiser. My first was an '03' Limited, and my current is a modified GT with 300+ WHP. Wonderfully designed until they got to the engine. They shoe horned a 2.4 liter Mitsu-based DOHC from the 90's in a car that should have had a smaller, Turbo-charged 4 cylinder, or a V6 and rear wheel drive. However, interior design & layout, exterior styling, storage & fit/finish is better than most modern MOPAR products. Now the bad, there are some quirky things with the Auto trans, timing belt, engine layout that make this car difficult for people or mechanics who don't understand cars. Also, parts have gotten harder to find since FIAT took over and ruined the company. Historically, poor quality Dealer servicing has been a problem in our region.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CN
gravatar
CHERYL N.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
Verified Review

Reliable with no personality

I have had very little problems with her, BUT the mileage is lousy and it has to be insured as an expensive SUV. Yuk! Great car for a little old lady. Easy to get in and out because the seat is at butt level. Sorry. Sport cars are not elderly friendly.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LI
gravatar
LYNNE & SCOTTIE I.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/30/2019
Verified Review

PT Cruisers are very versatile and great Vehicles

My husband and I have 2003 PT Cruisers. We love the retro look and have found after using ours when we were moving that they are more like a smaller SUV. The back seats can lay down and the entire vehicle behind the front seats can be used for moving or hauling items. My Cruiser has leather upholstery and the drivers seat is heated. I also like the drivers seat adjustment which is electric and can smoothly move forward and move vertically if the driver is short as I am. The Limited version also has a Moon roof and the steering wheel position is adjustable. We have the convenience of an SUV without the higher maintenance cost.We love ours!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DT
gravatar
David T.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/16/2019
Verified Review

PT Cruiser GT - modified

This is my second PT. This is my first Turbo modified. Runs and drives great and well made for a 2003. Mine is modified so I gave it an 8 on performance, otherwise they are pretty tame. Would give it four stars if they designed it easier to do engine work on Five stars if there was EVER a decent MOPAR dealership.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TR
gravatar
Terrell R.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/14/2019
Verified Review

Versatile

Bought it new in 2003. Used it 3 years for work and play. Saw my daughter through college and grad school. I got it back in 2012 and drove it as my primary vehicle. it has 145k on it now. All service records are available.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JULIE G.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/22/2018
Verified Review

Temperamental and problematic

This car has been nothing but a headache. Chrysler should be ashamed of this car. This car gets horrible gas mileage. Cides are never ending, you fix issue and it continues to show problem. Had fog lights and had to disconnect them due to randomly turning on at night and drained battery. No matter how much I spend to maintain, sonething else comes up. Worst buy of my life.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BL
gravatar
brett L.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/19/2018
Verified Review

Everyone says she's a dog but I'ld take her to Westminster.

Everyone I talk to have told me that PT Cruisers were dogs. That they had numerous problems and mechanics hate working on them due to the tight quarters under the hood. Well the second part may be true but with over 257k miles on the odometer and with really no major problems I think it's been one of the best vehicles I've ever owned. Aside from a fuel gauge and a couple of sensors that had finally gone bad well after the 200k mile mark the only work done on it has been routine maintenance stuff such as breaks, belts, hoses, batteries, etc. All the power accessories even still work. It's actually been far more dependable than our 2008 Toyota Rav4.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JL
gravatar
John L.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2018
Verified Review

PT cruiser

Everything was done as expected and the car was ready actually 2 days before I was expecting to get it back. It is actually my wife's car and she loves iIt is so easy for her to drive and it is small enough for her.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
BARBARA M.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2018
Verified Review

Great Car

I love my PT. I received it as a Christmas present!!! I could not have picked a better car for myself. Runs so good and I love how it looks. My sister said she would own one and my nephew loves to drive it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WL
gravatar
WARREN L.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/31/2018
Verified Review

I love our Cruiser.

The body integrity is wonderfull. Over 150K miles and the engine and transmission are running fine. The water pumps are weak and hard to replace. On my third one, first was under warranty. Do it all while in there. Belts idlers oil pump and water pump all at once. Motor mounts are also weak. Engine compartment work is very difficult. Car is as tight as the day I bought it. Great suspension.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RD
gravatar
RUBEN D.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/30/2017
Verified Review

PT Cruiser

It runs!!! And is paid off!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DL
gravatar
DIJANE L.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/22/2017
Verified Review

Standard Trans Cruiser

Thoroughly delighted with my 2003 PT Cruiser! It's unfortunate that Chrysler is not continuing this model in the Chrysler collection!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DD
gravatar
DOMINIC D.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2017
Verified Review

My PT

if you keep up all the maintenance as I have done I have 318,000 miles on the original engine and I transmission replacement, oil change every 3 to 4 thousand miles
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
Joanne B.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/10/2017
Verified Review

Best car ever

My 2003 PT Cruiser GT is a practical yet fun little car. I have a manual transmission, and with the turbocharger, I do not hold up traffic! The performance is exceptional, with quick acceleration and sure-footed handling. A real hoot to drive. The car is also practical. The seats come out leaving enough room to transport just about anything a normal person would require. With the rear seats in place, two people over 6'2" have commented on how much leg and head room they have. That's not an issue for me; I'm not that tall. The cockpit is well laid out, everything I need is within easy reach. Additionally, the body style, to me, resembles the cars from the 1930s that the Chicago gangsters used, at least in the movies, My Cruiser has been a reliable, versatile and roadworthy vehicle that has only required the normal, periodic maintenance required as the mileage rises. I keep the oil changed and the radiator flushed, check the fluid levels frequently, and with help from Coopers Auto in Tacoma, WA, it just keeps purring like a kitten. If this is the last car I drive, I will be happy. It's a good little car and I love it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PC
gravatar
Patrick C.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2017
Verified Review

My 2003 PT Cruiser GT Turbo

I love it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AB
gravatar
ALICE B.
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2017
Verified Review

2003 PT Cruiser

I have had this auto for 13 years and have had only the usual maintenance, oil changes, new tires and new batteries. Have had some brake work done and need some front end work done. That is all so far. Great vehicle, lots of cargo room, easy to drive and has been dependable through the years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 35 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2414 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(216 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12390 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores