Business Solutions

1998 Dodge Dakota

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(8 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(8 Reviews)

DH
gravatar
DAVID H.
1998 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2019
Verified Review

It just keeps going!

Nothing is more valuable than an old, beatup pickup truck.22 years and 335,721 miles and it just keeps going. There are no new trucks like it. A small/ mid-sized truck with a 6,5' bed. Mine is 4x4 xtra cab, V8 manual transmission. The more I shop around for a new truck, the more I like my old one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

YD
gravatar
YVONNE D.
1998 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/22/2018
Verified Review

Cute-sporty-expensive

I am the third owner of this vehicle there have been some issues with it in the last year. First was a stalling problem which resulted in replacing a computer module (this was after I had done a complete tune-up) and still had the same problem. By researching the problem I saw that this style of vehicle had a history of stalling and Dodge had NO idea what was causing the problem. Now the power steering pump went out which I'm sure has something to do with the age. I previously owned a 1996 V8 Dodge club cab which I LOVED and was stupid to sell. I am reasonably happy with this vehicle - and being a fervent GM owner this is a complement. It is stylish and fuel efficient.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
Steven M.
1998 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/25/2017

1998 Dodge Dakota with a half camper

I like trucks and generally with my lifestyle, find a truck more comfortable and convenient as well as versatile than a car. I like to keep a half camper on the vehicle so that I can enclose the truck bed and secure whatever might be stored or loaded there; the half camper also protects these items from the elements. Of course I make sure the back hatch has a locking feature and that this works. Overall I've pretty satisfied with my vehicle but what is very important is finding a reliable maintenance / repair facility that is trustworthy and reasonable. I've had excellent results with B an B. My vehicle is classy and comfortable and I've enjoyed many com;iments about it. It is also very handy. Being a small truck, it is easily maneuverable in the conventional parking spaces throught this municipal area or anywhere else. My biggest complaint is that for a 6 cylinder it is a bit rough on mileage, usually from 16 - 18 mpg on the highway and 15-16 in the city. I've discovered that when I use 5-30 high mileage Castrol Oil with a Premium Oil Filter i get better gas mileage, sometimes as much as 19-20 on the highway although that is predicated on the speed (55-70 mph), whether or not I'm using cruise control and weather/road conditions. I keep the tires rotated and balanced as well as aligned. It's harder on brakes than the Toyotas that I've owned were.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DE
gravatar
Dan E.
1998 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/04/2017

Good Solid Pick-up

I bought the truck new in 1998. I used it for general personal hauling typical for a homeowner and as a commuter vehicle for several years. After moving from southern Prince William County to Springfield, the annual mileage has been very low. One cooling system hose repair, one brake overhaul, one catalytic converter are all the major service it has required over the years. I just had the main belt, ball joints and sway bar replaced along with a couple of fluid seals and plan to keep if for years longer. Quite comfortable for a pick-up and very dependable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
DAVID H.
1998 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2016

19 years and 300,000 miles, still going

It just keeps going! No reason to replace it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
John M.
1998 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2015

Not my Dodge Dakota

1998, 17 years and only 90,000 miles. I love my Dakota. It is a truck that has hauled lumber, kids to soccer games, and not to mention the interior is still in perfect condition with no tears or rips. Many people have pressured me into trading the truck in but I feel as long as it gets me from point "A" to point "B" and the engine works great....."Then why get rid of it". I plan on holding it and one day give it to my Granddaughter..
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
Steven M.
1998 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2015

A Great Looking Dodge Dakota

I've had my Dakota Club Cab with a matching half camper for almost 15 years and really like it. I prefer a truck as a personal vehicle and this one, with a locking camper shell, fits the bill. Anytime you purchase of transport something whatever it is can be safely secured. It's a six cylinder a not as good on fuel as I would imagine, but even before I bought this vehicle I was warned of that. My fuel consumption usually varies from 15.5 to 18.8 on the highway, usually about 17.5 mpg. Around town it is usually about 15. I purchased this vehicle at the local dealership on January 18, 2002 and not once did the check engine light ever come on until I took it back to the same dealership on November 9th for a tune up. After being serviced at B and B on October 21, 2015 with a new wiring harness it runs runs great. I've gotten a lot of compliments about this vehicle and it is a pleasure to drive and ride in. As it gets older, I will have to trade up but someone with mechanical skills could have a nice vehicle, especially if there is a newer compatible engine available to replace the current one when it wears out. It hasn't burned oil since I've had it. It's handy, versatile and with its reduced size, easily maneuverable in crowded parking areas. , I'm running Goodyear Wranglers at the present time; they're a good all purposed tire. There is no road noise, they're soft so they brake well even on wet pavement and have excellent traction when needed.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
Steven M.
1998 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/15/2015

Greaat Looking but a gas hog

My vehicle is a 6 cylinder, 3.9 cu in 2 wheel drive Dakota Club Cab truck and I really like it except that it is hard on gas. The best mileage I've ever gotten is 20 mpg on the highway. Usually it runs 15 - 16.5 in the city limits and 17 - 18 mpg on the highway, depending on the quality of fuel. By contrast, My wife's car is a Dodge Intrepid and also a 6 cylinder. On the highway I often get 26 - 29 mpg with the same fuel. i like my Dakota as far as style, comfort with driving and functional variety. I have a matching half camper and that is very helpful. It keeps the sun off your neck while driving and keeps everything enclosed and locked up. Appearance sells the job and we Dakota Drivers even have a National Organization of our own. I do like my Dakota, I think my wife likes it even better than me; however I wish that it was better on gas mileage. I run Castrol 10-30 Motor Oil in both vehicles and never synthetics.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 8 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2416 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12412 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores