Business Solutions

2006 Dodge Dakota

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(14 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(14 Reviews)

OM
Odette (Leo) M.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2021
Verified Review

Love my Dakota

Can never go wrong with a Dakota 😉 😁. Gets ya where you want to go and can carry a load of rocks or dirt and looks great on the road with it's sleek lines and air-o-dynamic enough for any dirt to fly off down the road & not be a dust collector. Have a Goodie 🤗 😉
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MB
gravatar
Mike B.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/02/2021
Verified Review

This is my second dakota. I love it.

My first one was a crew cab this one's a quad cab definitely a lot more roomier especially when I got my dog with me. Plus this one has four wheel drive my other one didn't. Definitely looking at purchasing another one here in the short future.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MP
gravatar
MICHAEL P.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Verified Review

Strong runner

Bought a 2006 used in 2016. The truck has spent some serious time in shops but when she's running at A1 condition, nothing gets in this dumb V8's way. No bells and whistles, just straight truck. Not luxury, but will get the job done and keep you coming back for more, so long as it's running.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JONATHAN B.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/14/2019
Verified Review

You get what you pay for.

Mid 2000’s dodge was never a great year for any of their vehicles. Nothing shows that better than the 2006 V8 crew cab Dakota. I bought mine used in decent condition with low miles, and ran into eventual issues down the road. A disclaimer here- I’m an aviation mechanic so most things on a vehicle aren’t too daunting for me to fix. First thing to go down the drain, the idle air control valve/switch went bad, letting my truck idle around 2000-2500 rpm. After that, the transmission light would pop up, then turn off when you restarted the vehicle. ( there was no faults found). The AC compressor gave out , and the time for the heater to build up is nothing to write home about. The rear window motor/ winching assembly broke, and the entire assembly hides behind an welded wall of metal, with small cheese holes giving you minimal ability to do anything other than stare at it longingly. The V8 is actually decent for acceleration off the brake, but i wouldn’t test its upper limits. The interior is bare bones, and the plastic is thin, cheap, crap. My center console is one giant piece of molded plastic that wiggles side to side on two rusted screw. On top of it all, the truck shifts into every gear like someone just rear ended you at a stop light. However, here’s the caveat to all this- Because dodge made these vehicles as cheaply as possible, there is no proprietary software/special parts / or extreme levels of maintenance knowledge required to fix any of the numerous faults you will encounter on your cheap-plastic filled journey, because that in turn, would cost money. Which dodge simply won’t put into their products. That means it is super easy to find replacement parts, and no need for a specialized technician-* I’m looking at you BMW* All around, I’m not surprised by most of what happens to this truck, and neither is dodge. The Dakota is cheap garbage, but the garbage sells for garbage prices. 3/5 because Atleast it still gets me where I want to go... for now.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BL
gravatar
BRAD L.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/31/2019
Verified Review

A good truck

First the good. It has been very reliable for the 7 years and 101 thousand miles I have owned it. Only needed normal service and repair. The bad. Horrible fuel economy in the 8 to 10 mpg average. Do not like the rear drum front disc brake configuration.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AM
gravatar
Angeline M.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/11/2018
Verified Review

Dodge dakota

Easy truck to drive, interior is layed out well. The suicide doors offer easy accessibility to the rear storage are. The mileage is OK, good on the highway, not so much when snow plowing. It's nice looking and easy to maintane.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WD
gravatar
WAYNE D.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2017
Verified Review

LOVE MY DAKOTA

Why in the world did the idiots at Chrysler stop making the Dakota? I will always drive a Dakota. No other pickup this size on the market. The PERFECT PICKUP for me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BT
gravatar
BOBBY T.
2006 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/07/2017
Verified Review

Work Horse

After 98,000 miles it's still runs great. Having rust issues but then again all the salt water I've driven through it's no wonder. I've always used A high grade synthetic oil. It has a K&N cold air intake, a Jett computer module and Flowmaster cat back exhaust. Many miles were pulling a 3500 lb race car plus trailer all on a V6. It's been a real Work Horse for me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WD
gravatar
WAYNE D.
2006 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2017

Best Mid-size Pickup Ever Made

Why in the world did those morons at Chrysler quit making the Dakota. I'll drive mine until the wheels fall off it, or until I can find a very low millage, pristine replacement. I won't drive a foreign made pickup, and I don't like the new Chevy and GMC, too small. Get with it Dodge, you can RAM your full size pickups.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
Robert S.
2006 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2017

very good

just wish i could buy a new one
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JOSEPH M.
2006 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2017

had it for 5 years

a few repairs each year
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JOSEPH M.
2006 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/12/2016

06 dodge dakota----on 7-13-16

biggest problem----rust out around rear wheels
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RW
gravatar
RICHARD W.
2006 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2016

2006 Dodge Dakota 4X4 Crew cab.

Best truck I have owned. Love it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BC
gravatar
Barry C.
2006 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/27/2015

Dodge Dakota

Over 100,00 miles on my 2006 Dakota. Still runs great and gets good gas mileage.Too bad Dodge stopped manufacturing this truck. I would look to buy another, when the one I have expires.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 14 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2417 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12412 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores