Business Solutions

2002 Dodge Dakota

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(20 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(20 Reviews)

TG
Todd G.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/20/2021
Verified Review

An old friend

A real truck that’s been coast to coast border to border time after time, now having run 170,000 miles while serving in many capacities: pulling a travel trailer, hauling lumber and other building materials, even skidding logs and boulders. And now recently adorned with Alaska plates.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EG
ERIC G.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2021
Verified Review

02 Dakota

This truck will do everything a half ton can do. Also is the perfect size for me right now. Great at towing just about anything a home owner would need. Gas mileage could be better. Only have had to replace normal wear and tear items.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
gravatar
LAIRD L.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/19/2020
Verified Review

This truck is above average. Over the past 19 years, this truck had little issues

Other than regular maintenance, the truck had very little problems: * A repair to the alarm * Change of batteries * Change of tires * Change of a headlamp and tail light * Repair of interior headliner Currently the clear coat is striping off. Rusting of under-carriage components Otherwise this truck served well for well over 200k miles
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BP
gravatar
BILLY P.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/29/2020
Verified Review

Longevity

It's lasted a long time. 18 years and 260,000 miles. Bad design on the front suspension. I go through upper and lower, left and right ball joints. Plus front shock absorbers, left and right. Oh, front drive shaft for the 4x4. The rear U-joint for the front drive shaft cannot be rebuilt. So you are required to change out the hole front drive shaft
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
SUNNIE M.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2019
Verified Review

Love my truck !!!

I've had my Dakota since inception, 17 yrs, I wouldn't trade it, sell it, auction it, or give it away for anything. It's had some rough treatment and tender loving care but it has always maintained it's high standard of quality. My truck and I are like a hunter and his dog, inseparable !
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GH
gravatar
GEARY H.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/16/2019
Verified Review

Ericks is best

Good ride plenty of room for my needs big tires makes it look nicer than most larger trucks that you see on the road 2002 model with a little over 100,000 miles and this transmission work will be the most in-depth so far.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
gravatar
LAIRD L.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/03/2019
Verified Review

2001 Dodge Dakota

This truck has been very good. No major issues. Normal maintennace I ordered the truck through a Used car dealer who visit auctions. This truck was reposessed and was up for sale at the auction. We purchased it in 2003 with only 9000 miles on it. Only my wife and I have been driving it. We have driven over 2 hundred thousand miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
gravatar
LAIRD L.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/05/2019
Verified Review

2001 Dodge Dakota SL

I owned this truck for 16 years now. This has been a very good truck. I am the second owner. I purchased it in 2003 with 9000 miles. I have had no major issues. replaced the battery twice tires twice, brakes once radiator repaired once, Brakes once, and head lamps once.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JACK S.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2018
Verified Review

dependable

I have owned (2) Dodge Dakota's and never had a real big problem with either one. The engines are durable, and I had over 180,000 miles on my first one, before it rusted too bad from being left outside for 15 years. My second one, is now garage kept, and I purchased it with 80,000 miles on it four years ago, and I have almost 102,000 miles on it now, and it runs like new. I did have some rust repaired around the rear fenders last year, but the truck looks like new now, and I get allot of compliments on the condition. By the way, my first Dakota was a 1996, and I passed it on to my son, and he passed it on to a friend, and it is still on the road, amazing truck!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BN
gravatar
Bonnie N.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/15/2018
Verified Review

Dodge Dakota 2002

I like the overall style of the truck and it is super convenient to have the flexibility of the extended cab. Had I not gotten such a great deal on this used vehicle I would have preferred to have gotten one with rear doors
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JOHNNY. S G.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/21/2018
Verified Review

Awesome

I love my truck!!!!,,, It has served me well for having 82k miles!!!! I bought it from a private owner with 25k original miles. The only issue I've had is the main computer that's been replaced twice in the 5 yrs I've had it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LA
gravatar
LEN A.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/25/2017
Verified Review

Just One Problem

My 2002 Dodge Dakota is an excellent vehicle except for one thing. I've had to replace the PCM three times since I've owned it at a very high cost to me. I think this is a design flaw and that the PCM problem should be corrected. I should not have to pay for another PCM. I plan to own this vehicle for at least 3 more years and if this problem is corrected I will definitely buy another Dodge Truck. Thank you for listening.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BD
gravatar
Benjamin D.
2002 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2017
Verified Review

2002 Dakota SLT 4WD Quad Cab

Wish I could have bought it new, despite being 9 years old when I bought it, it has given me good service, and rides amazingly well for a Pickup. I find its size just right, big enough for what I need it to do, and small enough to be manageable when negotiating crowded streets and when parking.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JACK S.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2017

Dodge Dakota trucks have been my reliable source of transportation.

I have owned (2) Dodge Dakota trucks over the last 17 years, and they have been a very reliable source of transportation for me in hauling lumber, landscaping, and work supplies for my apartment business, along with getting me back and forth from my regular job.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LJ
gravatar
LYNDEN J.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/24/2016

I love the power it has. Just a fun drive

I got it used and have been slowly bringing it back to life. I love the power and the ride. I ha taught 2 kids to drive in it will teach my daughter in it. It's the perfect size since I don't want a full size truck. I will buy another one when the time comes.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

VB
gravatar
Virginia B.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2016

Love it!

Drives nice, comfortable, great power, looks good!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
BILL M.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2016

14 years old, and still dependable.

So far nothing major, only routine maintenance. 108,100 miles and runs great.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JN
gravatar
JONNY N.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2016

Dependable

Great vehicle
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CL
gravatar
CESAR NAPOLEON L.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2015

My Tough Truck

Very good
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LJ
gravatar
LYNDEN J.
2002 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/26/2015

beast

I love my little v8 beast. A lot of power for a small truck.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 20 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2415 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12392 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores