Business Solutions

2005 Dodge Dakota

Average Score

Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(23 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(23 Reviews)

DF
Don F.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2021
Verified Review

Great dependable truck get lots of compliments

Gotta love those mopars get lots of compliments on factory paint318 magnum is great not the best on gas but power is there when you want to take off still no rust at all will be keeping it for along time
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DM
gravatar
DAN M.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2021
Verified Review

Dodge dakota

I like this truck Had to replace ball joints and instrument cluster at 150,000 but that is normal. Bought it used at around 145,000 other then that runs great.i put some stinger shocks on it. And I like the crew can the way doors open.Its been a good truck.hope it continues.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
Jared C.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2021
Verified Review

Best truck

ill ever have bought as a first truck buyer. Its beautifully tough. And will charge through anything . Its great for extreme conditions and is very child safe. Additon could be made to the style but overall good vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WS
gravatar
WAYNE S.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/21/2020
Verified Review

Needs work

I’ve owned 2 dodge dakotas and they both had serious problems. I bought them both at same time and that was a mistake The dodge Dakota has a rust problem. The body falls apart just about everywhere. I have replaced all the O2 sensors shocks hubs radiators the list goes on. Tranny just went out and it had 120,000 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TL
gravatar
TIM L.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/30/2020
Verified Review

Excellent vehicle

My dodge Dakota has been an Accident vehicle for so many years. I am pleased that it has lasted so many years like it has accident vehicle for so many years. I am extremely pleased that it has lasted so many years like it has.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DS
gravatar
Darnell S.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/21/2020
Verified Review

The best

We have been very satisfied with the 2005 Dodge Dakota. We bought it new and it has performed very well all these years we have had it. We plan on keeping it many years to come. We would highly recommend this vehicle.10
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DAMON J.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/02/2020
Verified Review

2005 Dodge Dakota quadcab, it was good until Dodge discontinued important parts.

So in 2013 or so, Dodge discontinued making a hose and the local dealer had to 'make one' so that I could pass smog, now 2020 is here Dodge has also discontinued making the PCM that I need to pass smog. Thank you for the 5500 pound paper weght jerk wads. Not recommending buying a Dodge Dakota. (Well now it's 'Ram' I guess).
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MB
gravatar
Maryetta B.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2019
Verified Review

Great Truck

I have owned this Dodge Dakota for over 10 years and Love it. It is reliable and meets all my needs. I have used this truck on and off road and has served me well. I like being able to haul garden supplies and take items to the dump and help friends move items.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DF
gravatar
Dona F.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2018
Verified Review

Safe and Insane

For a 68 year old Asian woman, this may sound insane, but this is one of the safest running vehicles you will ever drive, and I have driven many brands and types. Bottom heavy, built like a battleship, wide wheel base so turns corners smoothly, sits up high for a full view of what’s ahead and behind, and when I drive next to a BMW, Lexus, or any other high priced car, they move out of my way. No, kidding aside, I got rear ended once when I was at a stop light, and no damage to my tailgate, but the other car’s front end was smashed in had to be towed. If I didn’t watch her driving into me, I might not have even known I was hit. My first truck died at 350,000 miles. My second one is now past 200,000 miles. Easy to drive in the snow and on ice. A comfortable ride. I can drive for hours, and I do.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
Chuck P.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/29/2018
Verified Review

Good truck

I like the truck now for 13 years. The only complaint I have is rusting. Practically every Dakota I see has the same rusting right above the rear wheels on the outside of the bed. This has to be a design flaw. I’m suprised a class action suit hasn’t brought up about this.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RH
gravatar
Ray H.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/13/2017
Verified Review

Good Mid-Size Alternative...

to other V-6 and V-4 mid-size pickup trucks. At the time of purchase, it was the only mid-size truck that came with a V-8 engine. This provides similar power/performance to V-8 large trucks in a smaller package. It's the right height so that I don't have to step up, or crunch down to enter/exit the vehicle, which is "extremely" good for my bad back/joints. The 4x4 function has provided "excellent" capability when traveling during slippery conditions, off-road conditions, and stump pulling. I rate the vehicle a little above average (I could not get 3-1/2 stars). I down rated due to it's weak ride/handling, weak brakes, and unexpected repairs (exhaust bolt and rear axle spring replacement). I'd love to have an updated vehicle similar to this one. Something like the new Honda pickup with less weight, better styling, and a V-8 (or a turbo-6 hybrid) engine option would be perfect! The new F-150 is on the right track, but it's simply too large.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MZ
gravatar
MERRILL Z.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/02/2017
Verified Review

Dodge Dakota

The vehicle is a 2004 and after 13 years all of a sudden everything seems to be happening all at once. Nothing expensive so far. As far as ever buying new one. Not sure if they are being made by Dodge but I would not buy one again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HW
gravatar
Heidi W.
2005 Dodge Dakota
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/29/2017
Verified Review

It's Good

Nothing special. I like to drive it . Very useful lite duty vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GB
gravatar
Greg B.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/20/2017

love the style

really like it but in needs better durability with 93000 miles I have changed the shocks, replaced the transmission, replaced the all the tie-rods and bushings, and rear drive shaft seals. total of $7,000 in repairs and still have to bad rust on the right rear wheel-well and radio clock doesn't work . but I can not get rid of it I rebuilt it it should last another 100,000 right?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TK
gravatar
Thomas K.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/24/2017

2005 dodge dakota

It has been a very dependable vehicle during all my years of ownership. Never has let me down
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
Chuck P.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/17/2017

Rust

Great truck but low quality on the paint resulting in pre-mature rusting.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
Chuck P.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/17/2017

05 Dakota

It didn't get a 5 because every Dakota I see rusts in the same place; top of rear wheel wells.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NT
gravatar
NANCY T.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2017

My truck

Love it. Goes like a full size but without the size of a full size. Plenty of room. It's to bad they discontinued it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TA
gravatar
TAMARA A.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/02/2016

Two thumbs up

The best truck is a dependable one
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TA
gravatar
TAMARA A.
2005 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/22/2016

It drives nice , I had to replace the radiator and have work done on the Transmission last year now it runs good

It has been a good work truck , and I get ok gas milage it was stored for a few years in back .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 23 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2415 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12402 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores