Business Solutions

2009 Dodge Journey

Average Score

Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(19 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(19 Reviews)

HR
gravatar
HAROLDINE R.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/18/2021
Verified Review

Love my Journey

My Journey is my workhorse, fully loaded, videos to keep Grandchildren entertained while allowing me to listen to what I want, great for Road trips, roomy for large loads, dogs, hauling along with plenty of storage units! Love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EO
gravatar
EBONY O.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2021
Verified Review

MY DODGE JOURNEY

I LOVE MY VEHICLE AND WILL HAVE HER RUNNING LIKE NEW VERY SOON💋💋💜💜 TAKIN MY TIME AND FIXIN HER UP AS I GO ALONG SHE HAS POTENTIAL TO RUN LIKE A BRAND NEW VEHICLE AND I AM DETERMINED TO MAKE SURE THAT MY VEHICLE RUNS A-1
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EO
gravatar
EDWARD O.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/05/2020
Verified Review

Medium

The journey has good interior space and accommodations, a little light on the high end trim, but that's OK by me. I enjoy the comfort of the seats, the excellent sound system with 16 Gigabyte hard drive to store my MP3s for hoouurrrrs of listening. Front brakes have been a problem (known to Dodge and other Journey owners) and trying to recharge AC system is ridiculous. Low pressure port hidden behing engine on firewall and you need to squeeze your arm between top of engine and bottom of windshield fairing/stationary hood in front of winshield. Let's just say if you any decent size forearm you can't get in. Why that port was placed along the right side fender where the high pressure port can only be answered by the crazed, mad design engineer at Chrysler-Fiat in Auburn Hills, MI. If I ever meet the guy in a dark alley . . .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BV
gravatar
Beverly V.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/13/2020
Verified Review

My car

I like the idea that it’s roomy. Bought it used and it has some kinks in it but all in all its something you have to expect in a used car. If I was able I would buy a newer model but maybe one day I will.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PT
gravatar
Paul T.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/02/2020
Verified Review

Nothing like my Darango

I purchased this car because I had a Darango for years. This has a similar amount of space but is lacking in power. It also sits so low to the ground. I chose not to get 3rd row so I could get more cargo space. I don’t think I gained any and now do not have extra seating option
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DA
gravatar
Daisy A.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2019
Verified Review

Comfortable

I've always liked big spacious cars, as I have kids and grandkids, I like the room, space, size and color, just every thing.i love feeling comfortable when I'm in a car, and this car fits that what I love.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SL
gravatar
Simon L.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
03/14/2019
Verified Review

Wish we hadn't bought this

It looks like every other car on the market today so there's nothing special or wonderful about it, buy something else. The build is such that to have any type of repair done, even a simple battery change, they have to take it all apart to GET to the part. This results in higher mechanic bills.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JZ
gravatar
Joseph Z.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/30/2018
Verified Review

Dodge Joureny -- MEH

I use the journey as an all purpose city / farm car. Haul cr*p to Sisson Street recycle and yard trash. Daily commute car an city streets (i.e. a BEATER) AWD goes out in ALL WEATHER. 6 cylinders ran it at 85 mph earlier today on I-95. Comfort so-so. gas mileage not se great, had to replace the transfer case at 30,000 miles. Otherwise it was a lot cheaper than fancy foreign models with less cargo space or leg room. Not sure Fiat Chrysler will keep making this rather out dated model of a small station wagon. I hardly ever use the third row seats (really only for little kids) keep it folded down and covered with protective foam and makes a good work horse of a car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
Michelle S.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2018
Verified Review

Love my car

Kids have outgrown this vehicle but I have a hard time parting with this car and all her miles. Car has been good over the years only minor repairs with maintenance. I would love to keep it for another 10 years but I am almost at 200,000 miles :(
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JZ
gravatar
Joseph Z.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/30/2017
Verified Review

Sturdy little Journey

Bought this car new in 2009 as a city beater. Haul crap to the dump, lug kids or grand kids around, not sexy but reliable. 65,000 miles later still doing well and going strong. Did have one problem and had to replace the transmission transfer case but under warranty and no issue since. All wheel drive and never any problems in rain or sleet or snow. City dings and dents but don't care since it was bought just for that. The ideal small station wagon (they now call these "cross overs" ) but it's really just a small station wagon when all is said and done.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WR
gravatar
WAYNE R.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/21/2017
Verified Review

Journey

Great stability
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DG
gravatar
DON G.
2009 Dodge Journey
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/07/2017
Verified Review

Great car

I have had my car since 2009 when it was new. I have been the only owner of the vehicle and it has been a very dependable car. As long as you keep up the maintenance on the vehicle it won't let you down. The only thing I have had to do to the vehicle is have oil changes, a set of tires and a battery put into in since I have own the car and these are things that wear out on the vehicle which is normal maintenance. That pretty good considering that I have over 123,000 miles on the car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JENNIFER H.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/09/2017

2009

It's nice to look at but I have had so many problems since I bought the vehicle...I guess you get what you pay for...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WR
gravatar
WAYNE R.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2017

Good handling

This has good stability
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
ROBBIE P.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/11/2016

2010 Model was up-graded from 2009

We like most of the features on our 2009 Dodge Journey, i.e., comfortable ride, plenty of interior room for passengers and cargo, really good acceleration for a vehicle of this size, driving visibility is great, handles and brakes great, great looking wheels, exterior paint is first quality plus many other options on this model (SXT). It really is a fine looking vehicle for old folks like us and younger couples with children. The down side to this year model is, it has a timing BELT instead of CHAIN, the ignition module and the "Electronic Key" are rediculously expensive, Ex: replacement cost of just the key, if "corrupted", is approximately $350/ea. at the dealership! Engine tune-up is expensive due to the increased labor of having to remove the intake manifold and replace it's gasket/s and lastly, the vehicle's battery is located within the left front wheel well. However, to their credit, Chrysler Corp. found some of the faults of the 2009 year model and up-graded the 2010's, so I read on the internet..like using a timing "CHAIN"!!!!!! Am I serious?.... Yes I am!!!! This vehicle is currently under a recall notice for the ignition module. Waiting on the dealership to obtain the part. Even though this is not the most favorite vehicle I've owned, I gave it 3 Stars because of the features my wife and I enjoy (refer to sentence one!). It's the most comfortable ride I've ever owned and taking it on a trip outstanding.....unless something electronic or mechanical breaks down! :-/ I would purchase another later model Journey only after exhaustive research and due diligence!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GG
gravatar
GLENN G.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2016

103K miles

Been a good vehicle overall. No major, unexpected problems. First year of production.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

IR
gravatar
Ina R.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2016

Love my Dodge Journey

The vehicle is great
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AH
gravatar
ALONZO H.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2015

Great car

My Journey has been really a great addition to my family.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
Charles H.
2009 Dodge Journey
Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5
03/18/2015

daughter's car.

The auto was given a over all look at, and they found many service items, which was corrected in a timely manner.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 19 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2415 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12395 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores