2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1138 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JZ
Joanna Z.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2019
Awesome When the Turbo Works
The turbo on my 2016 Veloster, which was purchased brand-new, sometimes doesn't engage at all, or it stops working just as I am attempting to pass someone. Then, when the engine is restarted, it will re-set itself and the turbo will work again. Service technicians have been unable to diagnose the problem, however, they suspect that it may have something to do with a sensor.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Holly M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
I love this car!
I fell in love at first sight, and head over heels at first drive! It handles amazingly, it is sporty as heck with paddle shift for manual if that's your pleasure, and phenomenal gas mileage! It comes with so much standard I felt like it was a loaded car! You'll love it, a hot hatch at a great price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dominic C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2019
Lemon
My Veloster has brought me to rock bottom. After being talked into voluntarily repossessing my 2008 Hyundai Accent to get the new Veloster by the sales person was the worse thing I ever did. Breathing in gas for months. Taking it to dealers to tell me nothing was wrong with it. I was rear ended in it and attacked by the driver. I hit a rabbit. Front and back bumper is what kept you from buying it back because you wouldn’t just repair the car out of the funds you were returning back to me instead of repurchasing it. So thanks for the check to keep the car but still making payments and just picked it up from the dealer for the 13th time since I’ve had it. Third engine. Didn’t have my car for two and half months. People constantly ask me what’s going on with my car. I’m embarrassed. No one can understand why you wouldn’t buy back the lemon from me with the minor cosmetic damage or why you are spending so much to keep fixing this car when it seems like it would’ve been cheaper to buy it back or to give me a new car. After being turned away from two other Hyundai dealers because they could never properly communicate with me or fix the car I found a Hyundai dealer in Henderson that helps with rental and doesn’t tell me nothing is wrong with the car. My Veloster has given me nightmares. After being harassed by the manager at abc Hyundai I checked into the hospital because my blood pressure was so high. I just wanted my car fixed and they were nothing but mean to me. I am disgusted by Hyundai.

Pros
I might be able to drive to where I need to go

Cons
I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get to work
I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get to doctors appointments
People tell me I’m stupid for buying this car like I should’ve been able to predict you were going to sell me lemon
People always ask me personal questions to try to get me out of the car like how much do I owe or why don’t I buy a new car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/30/2019
Hyundai Veloster is Great Value
This vehicle is a great value and has great performance. I have had minor issues which I figure is a thing with any new vehicle. The car is very stylish, very comfortable, performs well under normal or inclement conditions, and has great storage space, especially when folding down the rear seats. I previously had a Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 which to any who know it, was a very stylish and sporty vehicle as well as fun to drive. While the Veloster might not be as sporty looking as a Tiburon or Genesis, it's still a fantastic vehicle at a very reasonable price. My only issues is that this year wasn't designed for Apple CarPlay, though I was able to update the system to support it, it runs somewhat slow and requires your phone to be connected via USB instead of simply connected via Bluetooth, and that I wish the fuel economy was a little better, but it's a sacrifice I'm willing to accept as everything else is great. This is the 3rd Hyundai vehicle I have owned and will continue to recommend Hyundai and most likely this will not be my last Hyundai. Hyundai offers fantastic warranties on their vehicles which offers great peace of mind to a buyer. Purchasing this car was the best dealership experience I've ever had, and I've had many. I will continue to visit the dealership I purchased from for service and will continue to recommend them highly. AAA+

Pros
Great performance
Comfortable interior
Great storage space
Great value

Cons
Apple CarPlay could work better, but this vehicles entertainment system was not designed for it, though it can be upgraded to support it but it runs kind of slow.
Fuel economy I would think could be better given the motor and size of the vehicle
Reverse camera sometimes has long delay coming on when vehicle is put in reverse
Had an issue driving cross-state where "Battery Discharge Warning" would display regularly on touchscreen. Contacted dealer but was unable to figure out what the cause was. After turning the vehicle off and back on this warning did not display again. I believe it may have been related to having a media device connected via USB.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Shirley R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
Veloster excitement
Great vehicle that's stylish, reliable and easy on the wallet. We would recommend this vehicle to all of our friends and family. We really enjoy having this vehicle. Bob Mayberry Hyundai does a great job for us!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kim L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
My Veloster
I love the interior of my 2016 Veloster. It has a sporty feel. One of my favorite features is the panoramic sunroof. The car is very responsive and nimble. I plan to get another one for my next car. I will have to get another used one though. I don't like the interior on the 2019. The dash is not attractive. It doesn't have that sporty feel that the Veloster should have. I don't want a sedan and that is what the 2019 model feels like.

Pros
I love the interior styling on my 2016. It's got a very sporty feel.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Elnora F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/27/2019
Stalling won’t buy another
Fix the car it stalling to much to let this go If you know what’s causing this recall them your service department thinks the motor is to big for the engine and the 2019 were changed that the motor & engine are now now stronger to handle the power of the car

Pros
Great looking in and out

Cons
Stalling when taking off and going slow in traffic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Maria D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
Happy
Is our second car from Hyundai and we like as much as the first one if you ever need a car go to Universal Hyundai they will treat you like family lots of cars to choose good services good place to go

Pros
Love it ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
a
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
a

Cons
a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CARLOS P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2019
Hyundai Veloster turbo
Love my car, had the dealership try to convince me to trade it, but I can’t, this car is reliable, and sexy! Have not had any issues with it, other than engine making this clicking noise, but dealership said it’s nothing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/13/2019
Standard, turbo, panoramic sunroof and heated seats
I started to look for a car that was a standard, turbo, had the sunroof and heated seats, but every used car was well over $30,000 - except for the Veloster! I was very excited to find a two year old car with 18,000 miles that cost $18,000. I wish the turbo had a bit more pick-up and I have noticed that the tires slip or skip a bit when I am really leaning on the turbo, but the car is fun to drive. I like it's unique design, gas mileage, and pep. I'm so glad that I found an affordable car with a standard transmission (6 speed) and turbo boost that I enjoy driving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
Timothy E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Hyundai Veloster turbo
The 2016 Hyundai Veloster turbo is a great car has good performance motor runs very strong and the interior is very nice sporty and nice interface and very comfy upfront driver seats has good amount of space and the car does good on the road and off-road I love this car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tracey B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
LOVE my Veloster!!
Perfect sporty, fun and economical car for me! The Veloster is a blast to drive and doesn't break the bank! The interior is very comfortable without sacrificing any of the sports car feel. It's actually roomier than it appears and having the 3rd door on the passenger side makes it easy to climb in and out of the back seat. The exterior definitely turns heads and I have a lot of people ask me about the vehicle. I always tell them how much I love it and how great it handles, as well! Anyone that is looking for a smaller car that's got some spunk...the Veloster is it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Greg G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/11/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster turbo
The engine it very good but the transmission is very terrible. It was never right since I bought it. All Hyundai would do is update the firmware even after it went out. Finally they put a new transmission in the car but I don't know if I trust it.

Pros
Fun to drive and good power. Very good seats.

Cons
Transmission is terrible.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Leonard A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/09/2019
Nice vehicle, inventive design, fair gas mileage.
This vehicle does not get as good gas mileage as others that are the same size. Other than that, this is an inventive design that makes it very useful for an elderly person who needs to transport bulky items to and from their rental properties. The steering wheel cannot be elevated enough for a fairly short person (I'm 5 foot 8 inches tall) to enter the vehicle without snagging their knees on the steering column. The engine stalls at stop lights.

Pros
Value for the money can't be beat by any vehicle on the road. When I tell my friends how much I paid, tax, titles, and license, their universal response is, "You stole a Hyundai Veloster!"

Cons
Average gas mileage. Cumbersome to get into and out of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Henry S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
An awesome vehicle. I could not have made a better choice when I chose to purchase my Veloster. This vehicle has given me and continues to provide the ultimate experience of each Hyundai that I have ever owned. I have been a Hyundai customer for many years and including an Azera. The Veloster was a downgrade from the azera a much rougher ride but the performance, gas mileage, maintenance makes up for that. I prefer another azera but would purchase another Veloster.

Pros
Awesome gas mileage
love the design, inside and outside

Cons
slightly rough ride
did not have a spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Esther A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
I got my 2016 Hyundai Veloster in 2017 and it looked really FINE! My wife said you should get it. I got in, I was in another world. When I got back to the dealer lot I knew that I had to get this. I have totally love to be in this auto.

Pros
The car is everything you could want in a fine auto! you get great mileage on a tank of gas.

Cons
Have not found anything to put down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Rebecca T.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
the back up camera, car phone, radio
Love the car just don't like the problems I have been having since 09/2016 up until now. Back up camera, car phone, and radio. Been in the shop about 15 times or more. Been a pain in the behind. So I would like for something to be done. Thank you.

Pros
love the way it drive good on gas.

Cons
back up camera, car phone radio. Have had problems since 09/2016 still having the same problems now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LESLIE M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Pretty good car!
I wasn't sure how much I would like this car when I bought it being that I travel far for work and how it would last. I am definitely impressed with the durability of this car and plan to keep it a while longer. Not sure I will purchase another one based on I need a bigger family type vehicle.

Pros
Sleek, sharp and very durable.

Cons
Needs to be a little bigger and add a 4th door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
REBECCA M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
I have enjoyed the veloster with the main exception during the summer months I smell gas fumes and do not feel safe. I understand this is a design issue and the dealership was somewhat helpful but not satisfactory.

Pros
Overall I really like the cars performance and the styling. I am a short person and the car fits me.

Cons
Smell gas fumes in the summer
huge blind spot from the passenger side view, must be extra careful turning left!
Sometimes the transmission does not slide into Reverse or Drive, have to go into drive and reverse a couple of times for it to go into gear but it rarely happens

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1138 in total